IMPORTANT: Shipping options & delivery times have changed and customer service response time has been affected by high order volume.

Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯

Stanley

Quick-Change Retractable Utility Knife

Quick-Change Retractable Utility Knife is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 52.
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_140541, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 65.78ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$7.99
In stock
Model #
10-499
Item #
140541

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Quick change retractable utility knife. Front loading blade release button & swing-out blade storage. cutting notch in handle. 3 position retractable blade. Includes 3 heavy duty blades.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 140541
Weight 0.2800
UPC 00076174104998
Country of Origin US
Package Width 2.9
Package Length 8.3
Package Height 0.8
Model Number 10-499
Brand Stanley
Manufacturer Name STANLEY CONSUMER TOOLS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An improvement on a classic I've used the classic Stanley 99E for most of my career--it's elegantly simple, bulletproof, and just works well. This model is a variation on the 99E which makes the blade change much quicker. I was a bit skeptical at first because it introduces plastic into the design, but after using it I've found it holds up fine under abuse. The quick blade change really is a great feature. I used to try to use dull blades as long as possible to avoid having to stop and put in a new one. Not any more! As a bonus. the yellow blade holder actually makes it easier to find in my tool bag. Good Job Stanley! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quick Blade Change I cut veneer with these and always breaking the tips off. I was hoping this would help speed things up but Quick Change Feature does not work on the one I have. It still works as a regular knife. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ehhhh... It’s ok.... I did like the way the extra blades are placed. I actually cut myself because when lowering the blade it likes to get stuck on the last detent where just the tip sticks out. It gave me the impression it was closed and it wasn’t... other than that though it’s a pretty decent knife. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quick change? The Stanley quick change utility knife has a host of great ideas. Sturdy and comfortable to hold and use, with a drop down blade storage for easy access, and a recessed slot that can be used to cut cord or strip wire when the blade is retracted. My only issue with this knife is the quick change feature. On 2 different examples of this knife I could not get the blade in via the quick change button. Opening the knife as you would with any other, the blade was easily change and worked well with both standard an hook blades. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ruggedly built Great knife strong and reliable holds a hook blade well when cutting shingles blade switch is quick and easy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY BLADE CHANGE This is one utility knife that is actually a quick and easy blade change. I was given another brand of quick change blade utility knife years ago and found it was more of a hassle than it was worth, but this is great and I also like the cord cutter slot. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sturdy I’ve had this for about a month or so now and it’s a good sturdy knife and easy to slide in and out one handed [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick Change Retractable Easy access to replacement blades, retractable lever slides easy, blade insertion was a little problem found metal burr inside of the case, fixed easily [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the quick blade change I used this over the last couple weeks. I love the quick blade change feature. I do not like how smooth the case is. Makes it slippery when it’s wet. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to try a little too hard You can't always improve on a classic, but this knife definitely tried to. It even succeeds, to a point anyway. I really like the twine cutter, and an easy change option for the blades is appreciated too. It just doesn't work as smoothly as I had hoped, and I fear the plastic parts that hold the extra blades will not hold up to the use and abuse that this tool will definitely receive. It also was very difficult to manipulate, although a little wd40 helped some. I really wanted to live this knife and I appreciate the thought and effort that went into developing this product, but sadly it won't be the one I go to first. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great so far We've had a chance to use the knife for about two weeks, consistently, in the workplace. What we like most about the knife is the blade stays in place, even under extreme conditions. Past knifes manufactured under similar conditions have problems with the blade staying in place and not pulling out when extreme exertion is required. So far, this knife has operated very well. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for any toolbox. I would highly recommend this utility blade.The quick change feature is the best. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Product Works well, Fairly stout lock on the blade, Easy grip. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable product I have been buying this utility knife for years now and have only had a couple fail on me. I buy in bulk to give to coworkers and have extras incase I loose them. They are extremely strong and handle cutting tight ropes, striping wire, among many other tasks. It is construction site worthy. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real easy Fine quality. Easy to change blades. Excellent fit for your hands. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome knife I love the features of this knife. It is so easy to change blades. The new flip out blade storage compartment is easy to use. No more looking for the screwdriver to change the blade. Also, they have simplified replacing the blade too and, it is retractable so it can be closed when in your pocket or toolbox. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blade storage a plus This unit has some good features and some not so desirable ones. First the ugly, needs to have some form of comfort grip on the unit very uncomfortable handle grip. A metal or composite blade holder would hold up much better than the cheap plastic one that this unit currently has. My last complaint, who still uses knifes that you have to unscrew to change the blade? Make this one comfortable to handle with a durable blade holder and quick change blade and I might put down my Milwaukee knifes.......this unit not for pros...time is money we need to change out blades without a screwdriver........the good it does strip wire decent in a pinch, nice straight cuts on drywall do to it's nice weight... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great light weight Knife EZ to change blade. nice light weight can use all day long. just don't like the plastic blade cover. other then that it's a great light weight knife. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good knife I like the knife that it has a quick change feature. I dont like the first finger molds in the quick change it's hard to grip the knife at weird angles. It doesnt feelcquick as stout as there other knifes. It has been holding up quit well so time will tell. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this knife! This has always been my go-to knife. I can dull my blades quickly at times, so it is convenient to be able to rapidly switch blades around and have extras stored in the knife itself. The knife is ergonomic, easy to use, and convenient. I have never had issues with it and will always use this knife as long as it is around. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick change retractable full featured knife Easy to find yellow quick change button opens the built in blades holder. It also has a yellow button on the front to lock the blade in place or release it to retract it. Its Also easy to disassemble and re assemble as needed. The built in slotted cutter near the front allows you to slide over items to cut them without the blade exposed. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed/made knife It has been a long time since I have run across a utility knife that was any good, finally we have one here! It is of quality build and the design saves a lot of wasted time changing blades. Most retractable knives jam up with sheet rock dust and I have yet to test for that issue. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great knife Great knife, smooth opening and closing. Able to store extra blades with easy access for quick changes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stanley Trying this out for Stanley great knife free sample products thanks [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good knife with quick blade change I like this knife because of it's weight and the way that it fits my hand it lets me get a good grip on it when I use it for cutting in heavier jobs. I really like the feature of it locking open in three different leangths on the blade so you can set it so as to not make to deep of a cut on what ever you are cutting or if you just want to score drywall or some other material to be able to snap it where you want to have it break. The quick change feature that it has for changing blades is quite handy it makes changing a blade a real quick job with this knife no fussing around with taking it apart and then putting it back togeather again just to change the blade, just press the tab to push out the new blade storage compartment and get a new blade out of it and then just slide it back into the knife. Extend the old blade to the farthest open position push the yellow button to release the old blade pull it out and push the new blade back into the knife while holding the button down, release the button give the blade a little push and pull to make sure the blade is locked in and you are good to go it is that quick and you are back to being productive again. BOOM! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool This is a great utility knife, has storage for additional blades an d quick release changes blades in seconds without tools. Nice metal construction. Not a cheap plastic knife. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick to switch blades I want to use my knife every chance I get specially when it has a sharp blade! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best razor knife ever. Fast easy blade change. Sturdy lock in place feature. The line cut feature really comes in handy. Use razor knife everyday and this is the best razor knife Ive owned. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I need a razor every day in some capacity or another and this is an excellent choice do to the features such as easy replacement and on board storage of extra blades [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Knife I have owned several of these knives over the years. The tool free blade change makes this tool very efficient. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-03-19
  • y_2020, m_6, d_4, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_140541, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.07ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.