Cabot
Deck & Siding Stain, Semi-Transparent, VOC, Cedar, 1-Gallon
Cabot

Deck & Siding Stain, Semi-Transparent, VOC, Cedar, 1-Gallon

Semi-Transparent Deck & Siding Stain, VOC, Cedar, 1-Gallon is rated 2.6 out of 5 by 33.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_149582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47.84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$49.99
In stock
Model #
16316-07
Item #
149582

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Price listed is for a single item. Must be ordered in multiples of 4.
May be purchased individually in store.
Description
Gallon, cedar, voc, semi-transparent deck & siding stain, lightly pigmented oil stain for increased uv protection & color, item may be voc restricted in certain areas, please refer to the restricted items report on mol for a list of items that are restricted in your area.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU149582
Weight9.630000
UPC00080351810411
Country of OriginUS
Package Width7.5
Package Length7.5
Package Height7.63
Model Number16316-07
BrandCabot
Manufacturer NameCABOT/VALSPAR CORP
Rated 3 out of 5 by from coverage is good but too glossy Had our cedar sided home stained with the Cabot semi transparent stain. Happy with coverage but there are areas that are noticeably glossier than others. Very apparent in sun. Will it go away?
Date published: 2018-09-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the Cabot stains I love the Cabot stains as it covers very well and gives me the look I want. My only complaint is when I want to re-stain after a couple of years I can't find the same color as before as they don't offer that color anymore.. That I am not a fan of but the stain works great! Apply 2 coats regardless of recommendations
Date published: 2018-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed July 2, 2017 my son stained my deck...looked beautiful. February 2018...at least 3 planks will need to me sanded and re-stained.
Date published: 2018-02-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing results I purchased and applied this product 6 months ago and spent weeks prepping our existing decks prior to application. The stain was applied according to Cabot’s directions, but the end result is disappointing given the uneven look and flaking. Originally I had planned to go with another product, but was talked into this by the Rodda Paint rep.
Date published: 2018-01-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dull streaky finish My deck was stained with the original oil-based formula in Granite 3-4 years ago. I had my deck prepped and sanded and reapplied a coat of the new 16306 modified oil-base formula (same color). It didn't completely cover, added a second coat and it shows brush marks, is streaky, and is a very flat dull grey. I have used Cabot stains with no problem for over 30 years. Not sure what is going on with this situation - maybe it is the new product formulation?
Date published: 2017-07-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cabot Semi-Solid Color Match Issue Purchased 1 quart Seacoast Gray from Cabot's color chart to check color match with project....The color of the stain in the can was a light cream color but I figured it may darken when dried. Applied test coat, not even close to a gray tone....After reading reviews and issues with stains long term durability/maintenance, I think I'm headed for a solid color on this project.
Date published: 2017-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent log siding stain Have used Cabot semi-transparent stain on our log siding for years with outstanding results. I would highly recommend this product.
Date published: 2017-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product -- 300 series Semi-transparent We have used cordovan brown semi-transparent 300 series stain on our cedar sided house for about 30 years and are very pleased with the appearance and wear. We live in Connecticut and switched to the acrylic product when the state required lower VOC product. The stain was hard to apply, came out glossy and faded. Our solution was to drive to Vermont and purchased the 300 series product. I would highly recommend....
Date published: 2017-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HORRIBLE We started staining our house with the oil based solid stain. We ran out and now nobody is selling it anymore in our area. We switched to the solid acrylic and it does not match up at all. Yes not the same product but that would of been nice to know they were doing away with the oil base before hand.
Date published: 2016-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Most colors not available in store (special order Many nice colors shown in their brochure. But once you have settled on a color and are in the store you find out that most of the colors are not stocked and special order items only. The painters are at my house now, so I cannot wait for one week to get the color I like...
Date published: 2016-10-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Newburyport Blue Does Not Match Color Cabot Sample We are very disappointed with the actual color of the Semi-Transparent stain of the Newburyport Blue on our deck boards. It is supposed to be a darker, navy blue and it came out too bright and not the right shade we were expecting. It does not match the Cabot stain sample nor the color from the can. The can is the dark blue but it does not translate onto the deck. We had this professionally done in which they stripped the old stain, power-washed, neutralized, and when dried, applied 2 coats. The Brickstone on the railings were the only success.
Date published: 2016-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed We built a new 2 tier deck a few years ago. The stairs were built the following year. We stained both deck/stairs/railing at different times and with different stains for contrast. We followed instructions. It peels off so easily. It is embarrassing to have people over on our decks.
Date published: 2016-08-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stands up to high traffic Cabot's has been the only stain that has not peeled, worn, or been damaged by toenails of very large dogs. I had tried several brands of stains prior with some lasting only six months and none completely surviving the winter. Cabot's survived the winter and the high paw traffic and still looks great one year later. Love this brsnd!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Semi Transparent Stain Applied stain last summer over new pressure treated deck, which I sanded before finishing with Cabot - after one winter, about a dozen boards had sections where the stain wore off - just spent the past few days scrubbing the affected boards using deck cleaner, to completly remove remaining stain - once these boards are dry, will sand, and if water doesn't bead, plan on putting on the same stain - now, do I just do the refinished boards, or lay down another coat on entire deck for uniformity - in the future, if the deck remains in good shape, and I want to refresh the appearance, does one have to sand the entire deck to apply a new coat ??
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have used Cabot stains for over 40 years. I have been cabinetmaker, carpenter, deck builder. Most the of the complaints I read on this website are from people who do not understand how to prepare wood for paint, stain, etc. All treated or untreated lumber have been surfaced finshed in a planer which creates bands of wood more compressed..this leads to uneven paint, stain etc. penetration. You MUST sand ALL wood prior to staining, painting ect to remove the alternating dense/less dense surface layers. Also,, stain is not paint, it is not varnish, and cant be expected to behave in the same way. If you want a product you can apply once, without any surface preparation, buy something plastic. Another thing to remember is if you apply varnish or paint, when it comes to time to recoat, you will have to strip or remove the old varnish or paint..and it is a time consuming, expensiver process, regardless if you do it your self or hire it done. With stain, you can administer a light sanding with orbital sander and recoat.
Date published: 2016-04-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blotchy used on wood that was about 2 months old. applied first coat as evenly as possible and it turned out blotchy, tried to cover the light spots and it got shiny like it was over applied. do not recommend
Date published: 2015-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cabot Semi-Transparent Cedar Stain I can't believe that after giving my new "seasoned" deck 2 coats of this stain late last Summer that it is showing a lot of mold. I noticed it in the Spring and used wet-n-forget it, but the mold is so apparent, I don't see much improvement. I actually won deck of the week last year; big difference this year. I hate the thought of having to re-stain again. I thought I would be good for a few years.
Date published: 2015-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hard to get uniform color on deck. I just got done putting this product on my deck and would never use it again. When putting it on it is almost impossible to get a even color match. Either you get poor coverage or it turns darker if you apply a heavier coat. I have done 30+ decks and this is the worst product I have ever used.. I will have to redo the whole deck with another product to get a even color. All the products I have used before were very easy to apply, but not this product. Do not buy this product!
Date published: 2015-08-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great on our 1901 Frank Lloyd Wright House Our 1901 Frank Lloyd Wright House, clad in Cypress board and batten siding, was stained with Cabot's stain according to the close out documents when it was built. We went with Cabot's because the original stain performed extremely well and the house has 95% of the original 1901 siding still in place. We went with Cabot's when the house restored. The performance and aesthetic quality of Cabot's Semi-transparent stain has been awesome lasting on average for 4 years. The key to getting high performance is do the preparation work well and according to Cabot's recommendations. This is a very quality product that performed very well and is quite beautiful.
Date published: 2015-07-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We love Cabot! Cabot is a quality stain. We have used Cabot stains on our deck for almost 20 years and have been totally happy with them. Last week my wife and I just put down more Cabot stain on our deck, which is almost 20 years old, and it looks brand new. We love Cabot stains, and will continue to put them on our deck. We believe Cabot is a great product!
Date published: 2014-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product! I have no complaints about the semi-transparent Cabot stain. We used New Cedar and like the color still. I like to see plenty of grain still and that's what you get with this product. The only gripe I would have is that the coverage says 400-500sf when the actual coverage is about half of that when applied with a deck staining pad and brush (trim). Other that that it's held up well for about 3 years on our front porch and we are now applying to the back decks!
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cabots is the best deck stain! I have a lot of experience staining decks, and will always use Cabot's semi-transparent on new decks if given the choice.  I use Cabot's semi-solid more often, because most of the decks I re-finish are older and have some weathering.  The semi-solid has more pigmentation, and so it covers some minor imperfection, such as weathering, stains, and uneven staining from prior. The semi-solid can last anywhere from 3-5 years before it needs to be re-stained, whereas the semi-transparent lasts about 1-3 years.   On new decks the semi-transparent is best because it penetrates furthest into the wood, is lighter in pigmentation, so it enhances the natural graining, and is more natural looking, and not so obtrusive.   Cabots oil based stains use a linseed oil base which makes the wood look beautiful as well as offering inherent protection from moisture (as oil will repel water). The added bonus is that oil based stains will not peel.  Any water-based coating on a horizontal surface will eventually fail, so I try to avoid using them unless someone else has put it on first.   This is a great product, use it with confidence. One caveat, however, if you live in humid climates, or have a deck in mostly shaded areas, mildew will thrive on oil based stain.  So, it is important to add a shot of mildewcide into the stain to prevent this, and don't hesitate to rinse of your deck once a year or so with a mixture of bleach/water/jomax, etc...
Date published: 2013-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Translucent oil stain A horrible dirty product produces smears, odd colors, and a sticky mess. I'd like to point out that I have a tremendous experience in stains and varnishes. This product is horrible.
Date published: 2013-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good coverage Applied Cabot's Simi Transparent Ceder Clear to my 10yr old redwood deck. Followed spec's with stain removal, sanded and power washed. Waited 48 hrs to apply stain. Knot holes would not accept stain. After 5 weeks the deck is easily marred and sections are starting to fade.
Date published: 2013-09-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Great... Oil based formula - I've had mixed results with this product. Good color selection, good coverage. For the first time used, it seemed to hold up very well. HOWEVER, in subsequent years, it faded, cracked and peeled. I generally re-applied after 3 years, but the most recent application cracked and peeled after 2 years. I get the sense that over time, the more layers of the product on your deck the greater the chance it will stop adhering like it does to wood that was not previously stained. NEVER apply with a roller!
Date published: 2013-08-24
  • y_2021, m_10, d_23, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_149582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.84ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore