Minwax
Tung Oil Finish, Clear, 32-oz.
Model #
67500000
Item #
249798
Minwax

Tung Oil Finish, Clear, 32-oz.

Tung Oil Finish, Clear, 32-oz. is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 47.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_7, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_249798, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 72.83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$25.99
In stock
Model #
67500000
Item #
249798

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Minwax, 32 oz, clear, tung oil finish, creates a remarkably durable, hand-rubbed luster in minutes.
  • Easy to maintain, it is the ideal protective finish for woods that have been refinished because it penetrates wood pores to restore vitality to dry, thirsty wood.
  • Wood finished with Minwax® Tung Oil can be periodically refreshed by simply applying another coat.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU249798
Weight2.380000
UPC00027426675001
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.4
Package Length4.4
Package Height7.3
Model Number67500000
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
California Residents Proposition 65Warning: This product contains chemicals known to the State of California to cause cancer and birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got the Minwax Tung Oil Finish and could not be happier. I refinished a butcher block cutting board. It took a couple of coats to reach the desired finish but it was well worth the extra effort. I will definitely use this again.
Date published: 2022-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I had some old wooden chairs in the shed that needed a make over. The Minwax® Tung Oil Finish did wonders on those chairs. They look almost brand new. I will be using this on all of my older wooden items that need to be restored.
Date published: 2022-04-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Enjoyed using this product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have used this product and would recommend this to anyone. Very easy to apply and goes on smoothly. The smell is a little strong but to me that means it is a quality product. The finish is very luxurious.
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Tung Oil on the Market [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax Tung Oil Finish is the best you can buy for your projects. I recently used it on a 180 year old rocking chair after stripping multiple coats of paint from and cleaning. By applying over 15 coats and lightly sanding between each, the chair looks as if it was just created. With proper preparation and following the directions, the product will provide the best quality end result possible. Clean up is easy with mineral spirits. There is minimal odor, though all tung oil has an odor, but wood workers and restoration people like me enjoy it. I highly recommend Minwax Tung Oil for a lasting protective finish on your wood projects.
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have an old wooden baby crib that I used this Minwax Tung Oil finish on, and I love it! The tung oil is so easy to use and a little goes a long way. I like that it didn't leave a yellowish tone like other tung oil products do.
Date published: 2022-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks so good [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used this minwax tung oil finish on some of boards before I chalk them and it looks really good. It’s easy to use and goes on smooth. It makes the colors of the wood stand out more and shine. I will definitely keep using this on my other wood projects.
Date published: 2022-04-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Renews wood’s luster [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] After using this oil on my beat up , worn furniture, the furniture had a whole new life! It gave it this “pick me up” . The grain shined through, the wood looked beautiful. It went on evenly, no problems with drips . I can’t wait to use it on all my furniture!
Date published: 2022-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressed [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have high hopes for this Tung oil. I have an antique sewing machine that was my grandmother’s and I tried it on the bottom of a drawer. I have before and after photos and I’m impressed with the result. It’s supposed to penetrate and protect the wood. You can add additional layers after each one dries for a glossier effect. I think this would be great for older pieces or wood that has dried and needs to be rejuvenated. You can either wipe it on with the grain or brush it on. If you use a brush it will need to be cleaned with mineral spirits. I simply wiped with the grain using a microfiber cloth similar to applying a stain. I’m very excited to complete the sewing machine and use on a few other heirloom pieces I have. I think they’ll look newer and I love the added protection. It does state that you can reapply on down the road as necessary as the wood will absorb the oil.
Date published: 2022-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Read, Understand and Follow the Instructions [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] First off, if want 100% tung oil then this isn’t the product you’re looking for. As it states on the label this is tung oil finish. For my projects, this is exactly what I need. I get great results every time and save myself a ton of time in the process. Not only does it dry fast, I’m able to reapply it quickly if I need to and the end result has never disappointed.
Date published: 2022-04-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shiny finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I Got this a while back … it’s works Great! We have an older boat which has some teak wood trim and choose to freshen the wood with minwax tung oil and though we’ve not completed; what has been done looks great.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Got this product for my wood chairs and for the wood stool in the shower. Absolutely great product! It helped liven up the furniture and really brought it back to life! The wood had looked dry and crusty before and now the color is vibrant and it looks healthy again!
Date published: 2022-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good quality [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I've been using this tung oil for a few years now. It's always been a great quality product. Consistently the same in every can I've gotten so far. Doesn't seem to yellow as much as other brands. Will continue to buy unless they change the product.
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Minwax [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I just love#MINWAXTUNGOILFINISH. Minwax is a trusted company that has been around for a long time. They have great products and this is just one of them. Very easy to apply and use. Hardly any clean up needed. You can find it just about anywhere and not to pricey. Makes the finished projects just look great.
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Drum Shell Interiors Perfect for drum shell interiors, two coats and you're done, dries quick too, unlike pure tung oil. A lot, if not most, cheaper imported drum sets are not finished on the interior, one of the cost cutting measures. This adds a level of elegance and really makes the grain pop. Great protection from moisture too, some say it brightens up the sound, but hard to tell. Recently did a brand new Sonor AQ2 Bop kit which has a Canadian maple interior. Pics attached, shells are fully dry after two coats.
Date published: 2021-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from STOP USING THIS NAME How is it legal for a company to use TUNG OIL on their name and not be TUNG OIL? I went to my local hardware store and when I couldn't find tung oil, I asked and the attendant told me this was it. It is not a clear finish but rather darkened my NATURAL cherry. I'm so upset! I worked very hard on this project and minwax has ruined it with the deceiving advertising!
Date published: 2021-08-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointed I put this on my new kitchen table to protect it thinking it would absorb into the wood to protect it. It looks like shiny polyurethane instead. I'm not quite sure how to remove it without ruining the table.
Date published: 2021-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for Gun Stocks! I have been using this product frequently for 12 months and find it excellent for finishing gun stocks. Photos are from my most recent refinishing a rifle stock that was slightly damaged in shipping. I stripped and sanded the stock and applied Black Cherry stain. Applied 4 coats of Minwax Tung Oil following directions except for buffing. I prefer not to buff off the excess. I leave it after brushing on lightly and it does not run. I lightly steel wool between coats. On my first gun stock project I buffed it and found it unnecessary on my second project. I also used this on walnut pistol grips with excellent results.
Date published: 2021-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Satisfactory After I bought this I thought about returning it, as I thought I wanted pure tung oil. Then I read more about 100% tung oil on the lumberjocks forum. Turns out it takes a long time to dry. I went ahead and put a coat on my first piece of furniture, a chair-side table. It didn’t smell nearly as strong as some other products I’ve used. It is ready to recoat in 24 hours. The first coat is almost a flat sheen. I am overall pleased with the results.
Date published: 2021-01-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Question about buffing This is really more of a question than a review. I have used Tung Oil Finish (Formby's) for many years. It is my understanding that Formby's in now Minwax. This probably sounds stupid but I am confused about what is meant by buffing after 5 to 10 minutes. I have always rubbed on a very light coat with a cloth, let it dry, used fine steel wool to "sand" or smooth, wiped residue off with dry cloth or clean cloth dampened with mineral spirits, and recoated lightly. I repeat this process until I get the desired sheen and look I want. What am I missing about buffing while still wet? Are the directions suggesting to apply heavily and wipe off the excess?
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Used to be great I'm pretty sure Minwax changed the formula of their Tung Oil Finish. My old container was running low, so I purchased a new one. The finish in the old container was an amber color that looked and smelled like BLO, and took about 24hrs to dry. It always gave me an oiled rubbed finish look that was easy to build up with more coats if I wanted. The finish in the new container is completely different. It's clear and doesn't smell like BLO at all. It dries in a couple of hours, and produces a LOT more gloss that resembles a lacquer/poly type finish which is probably exactly what this is. I wish they would just list the ingredients on the container so that I would've known that the formula changed. It would've saved me from having to redo this project.
Date published: 2020-10-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Live edge bar table Excellent stuff. 1st time using an oil finish, I usually stain and urethane, I love it. Used it on my table top, couldn’t be happier.
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage For anyone that wants to have an oil finish, THIS IS NOT TUNG OIL. I would love to tell you what it is, but Minwax does not list what this product contains on the packaging. It appears I may have to scrap what I am working on, make a new piece, and use real tung oil instead of whatever this piece of absolute garbage is.
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good, not great This stuff takes FOR-EV-ER to dry/cure! After two (very thin) coats with buffing, it's still tacky to the touch -- and that's after a 48 hour / 72 hour drying period. I won't be using this stuff again; you can get better results in half the time using other products.
Date published: 2020-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really happy with the result Used this to refinish an old tiger maple veneer dresser. Used an alcohol-based dye and Minwax tung oil finish as topcoat. I did about 6 coats. Wiped first coat on with a rag and really saturated the thirsty wood (and wiped off residue), wet-sanded remaining coats with 600 grit paper (and wiped off excess after a few minutes). The finish is store quality, looks as though spray coated. Beautiful satin finish, and extremely smooth with no blemishes. This is the best refinish I’ve ever done (not super experienced, but certainly not inexperienced). Two years in and it still looks amazing. If you want to pop your grain and have a really nice finish, this is a great choice.
Date published: 2020-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can I use this Tung Oil on a Charcuterie Board? I have made Black Walnut tables and benches using this Tung Oil, I love it, makes Black Walnut grain & colours pop. I just made a Charcuterie board from Black Walnut as well, was wondering if this product is safe to have meats and cheeses on it, NOT being used a cutting board.
Date published: 2020-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Tung Oil This product is marketed like it's tung oil. It's not. It contains some tongue oil but it's actually just a non-food safe finish. Completely let down by this product and it ruined my new butcher block countertop. If you are looking for tung oil on your butcher block countertops make sure it's pure tung oil and not this product. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Glossy To compare this to Formbys is a crime. This is an entirely different type of oil. Same wood 3 coats on walnut and it was glossy. 3 coats of this Tung oil and my banks are semi gloss at best.
Date published: 2019-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used over 20 years I have been using Minwax brand Tung oil for over 20 years for my business creating custom hand carved hiking staffs for clients around the world. There is nothing better. Applies easily, builds protection against weather with each coat, and holds up over long term exterior use.
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Can I use Tung Oil in a Bathroom Hi, we are currently building a cottage and have used tung oil on our tounge and grove pine ceiling. It looks amazing. In our one bathroom we have pine on the ceiling and in our other bathroom we have used the pine for a accent wall. I would love to know if I can use the tung oil in the bathroom on the pine. Will it protect the pine from mildew and all the moisture and humidity that happen in the bathroom. Is there a certain procedure for application. Thanks Diane
Date published: 2019-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I asked someone to pick up a can of Tung oil for me, and they brought back Miniwax Tung Oil Finish. I used it to finish a natural edge conference table. The result amazing and the customer also lover the finished product.
Date published: 2019-09-19
  • y_2022, m_8, d_7, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_47
  • loc_en_US, sid_249798, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.64ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]