Cabot
Australian Timber Oil, Natural, 1-Qt.
Model #
3400-05
Item #
185993
Cabot

Australian Timber Oil, Natural, 1-Qt.

Australian Timber Oil, Natural, 1-Qt. is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 144.
  • y_2023, m_1, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_185993, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48.5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$29.99
In stock
Model #
3400-05
Item #
185993

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Qt, natural, australian timber oil, precise blend of superb grade linseed oil for maximum penetration, long oil alkyds for durability & pure tung oil for color depth & water repellency, delivers 3 way oil protection, complex translucent iron oxide pigments are added to ensure a lasting uv absorbing surface, rich with color & dimension, item may be voc restricted in certain areas, please refer to the restricted items report on mol for a list of items that are restricted in your area.
  • Three-way oil protection for siding, decks and outdoor furniture
  • 400-600 square feet per gallon
Specifications
Specifications
SKU185993
Weight2.360000
UPC00080351434006
Country of OriginUS
Package Width4.25
Package Length4.25
Package Height5.0
Model Number3400-05
BrandCabot
Manufacturer NameCABOT/VALSPAR CORP
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cabots stain and Australian Timber Oil are my #1 [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The 1st time I used Cabots Stain was a few yrs ago, semi transparent Mahogany Flame was the color, and it looked fantastic after sanding the deck I applied the stain it went down wonderfully, my client was Is ecstatic! Since then I've used cabots products on every deck build, my latest was for Russell J Holmes, (TV personality),I used the Australian Timber Oil Jarrah Brown semi transparant and the results were outstanding, cabots by far is my 1st and only choice for deck staining its a great product!
Date published: 2022-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Cabot has been the only stain I use. Every project with the stain comes out flawless.
Date published: 2022-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cabot Australian Timber Oil has UV protection [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this because it has UV protection & as such I use it on all my natural wood finishes on my out-buildings. Because it has UV protection it keeps my natural wood finishes looking like new.
Date published: 2022-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Use this and don’t replace your deck [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Our home is now 26 years old and retains its original deck and screened porch both of which are done with Cabot’s Australian Tea Tree Oil. All our neighbors have either replaced or discontinued use of their outside structures……they should have used Cabot’s….
Date published: 2022-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a wonderful product. I am so happy with the way our deck turned out.
Date published: 2022-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Needed to Highlight Steps for my Daughter [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We just put down Cabot Australian Timber Oil (Natural) on our deck. I needed a way to highlight the steps for my daughter who has problems seeing the steps. I thought doing the top step would be too much so I put a Cat Paw on it. Used Jarrah Brown from a spray can for the highlight color. She loves it. Thank you Cabot for making it safer for everyone.
Date published: 2022-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubbish Results over 3 years of Trying this produc I've had to redo everything coated in this rubbish every year for 3 years. I live in Minnesota, not Florida or Arizona. Even Thompsons crap outlasts this rubbish.
Date published: 2022-07-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst Exterior Finish The timber Oil was placed over sanded Tigerwood exterior siding. It looked beautiful for about 3 weeks and then it started to fade. By 2 months it was gone, fully absorbed or deteriorated and no longer protecting my wood siding. Mine was applied by a professional.
Date published: 2021-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product - Very Satisfied Results New deck built, with high quality pine for framing, western redwood posts, cedar for the flooring. I used Australian Timber Oil, and couldn't believe how easily it went on. We all know that no two pieces of lumber are the same. So I expected some deviations on how the wood would take the stain. I am old fashion so I used a good brush, waited two weeks, buffed the treated wood with steel wool, and applied a second coat. It looks like a million bucks. I would highly recommend this product. By the way, I'm near San Antonio with lots of sun and 100 plus degree days.
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Color, Finish, Stains are not what I was expecting Bought this weekend to apply to a new deck installed late spring. Used a pad applicator for the first coat and every single spot I lifted the applicator left a dark mark, and other dark sections. Some sections barely took any color and stayed light. The Honey Teak is about 10 shades darker than the sample on pine. The finish is almost a like a urethane you would see on a wooden bartop from the 80's. Upon applying a second coat, there were areas the stain wasn't able to soak in and let what looks like droplets. It's absolutely horrible. Bob Vila's site promoted this as the best option for a new deck and I couldn't be any more disappointed.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse stalls I’m pleased so far with how the Australian timber oil is going on. The wood is southern yellow pine and I’m hoping it will stand up to occasional scrubbing once horse manure and dirt accumulate. I’ve read on other sites that I should apply more than one coat, but time, energy and money will limit to one. I’m VERY disappointed with the Cabot brush I bought as it literally fell apart after one use.
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible for furniture My local paint store recommended this to me as a top notch 1-coat alternative to spar urethane for some pine chairs I wanted to seal. Aside from the fact that this product was a stain, not a clear topcoat (the store’s fault), I thought I would roll with it and see what happens. I used the natural color, and by the time I finished the bottom of a chair and turned it over, big brown drips had accumulated on the top side that I could not blend out, sand out, or correct. The overall look of the finished chair is terrible now, with lap marks all over and very irregular/inconsistent color on the end grain. I hope the store will let me return. 2nd bad experience with Cabot, I dont think there will be a third. Now I have about six hours of work into a chair that I can’t sell and don’t want to keep. Frustrated!
Date published: 2020-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing! Redwood partial heart/sapwood. Two coats. All of it cured indoors for six to eight months before being installed outside. Application is a greenhouse. It hasn't spent one full season in the elements (finished September 15, 2019) and it looks like bare wood. Notes. Wood was seasoned three to five years. Planed in house, then sanded to remove oxidation and machining glaze. First coated added and cured minimum three months indoors (stickers). Second coat added after very light sanding. Pacific Northwest, two miles from the ocean at 1000' ASL. Windy and wet winter. I have two + years on some furniture pieces with Cabot Gold that are still near perfect but showing signs, I will probably have to recoat in fourth year. I wish I would have used Gold on the greenhouse. I wrote Cabot, not a peep.
Date published: 2020-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Meets my expectations. Nice color, goes on easy with brush. Cedar absorbed it well and even.
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product This is a very nice stain - I use the clear on my mahogany porch and it's beautiful. Needs to be touched up every couple years but I think that's typical. For anyone complaining about it not working with a roller, etc. . . . you typically never apply stain with a roller. That is a user error, not a product defect.
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff used another product for 35 years, this is way better
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is simply the Best I purchased this Cabot product over 5 years ago, it is simply the best stain made, period...it holds up in any kind of weather.
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome!!! Recently bought a house with a front deck that went 3 years without any treatment. Used a pressure washer and wood cleaner for prep. It’s pretty dry where we live (Wyoming) so I let the deck dry for only 24hrs. Used an applicator and a good brush for the tight spots. Clean up was super simple with mineral spirits. The results where outstanding!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT! I am so pleased that I used this Cabot Australian Oil product on my deck. This is the fourth time I have re-stained the deck in 12 years and this is by far and away the best stain to use. My deck looks awesome and I am getting comments from neighbors about getting a "new" deck. What a great feeling. Thanks Cabot!
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 years later: I refinished my deck using the Australian Timber Oil. It held up better than any other finish I've used. It was recommended to me by my local paint store. I've refinished decks many times in 2 different homes. This has lasted by far the longest, in great condition.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent with lambs wool applicator First time conditioning a deck. Decided on natural timber oil. Had deck pressure washed. Began application two days later and couldn’t be happier. Application of oil was surprisingly easy and lambs wool allowed for thick coat. The deck looks great. I highly recommend this product. Could not be more pleased.
Date published: 2020-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reconditioned basement doors and trim The wood finish was bad due to fluctuations in humidity and temps. I thought that the timber oil would help to recondition the wood. Excellent results. They look better than when they were installed 23 years ago. I used Jarrah Brown.
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVE this product I've been using the Australian Timber Oil for about 5 years now. My deck is now 30 years old! And in great shape. I had used other products in the past, and many times the deck went 4 to 5 years without being sealed. I finally decided to take proper care of it. We get some pretty severe weather here in Toronto. 5 years ago I gave the entire deck and railings (350sq.ft.) a very severe pressure washing to the point where it was actually leaving the wood rough in some areas. (I didn't sand the deck) I then let it dry completely for a few days and applied the Timber Oil (natural) with a brush. I applied it very liberally, let it soak in for a few minutes (the wood was 25 years old at that time and very 'thirsty') them went over it again while it was still wet. The results were fantastic! I got a deep, rich golden finish. In some areas, I got hazing where I had over-applied it, but after letting it cure for a few days I just took the hose to it and the haze washed away. I did not re-apply the next year. Year 3 I did a light pressure wash and re-applied with a brush. I did nothing in year 4. This year I just sprayed the deck down with the hose to remove any surface dirt, let it dry thoroughly, and re-applied with a roller. So much easier than getting on your hands and knees to brush it on. I used a medium quality low-pile roller; I've learned from past experience that you do not need a heavy coat. The deck once again looked fantastic. A deep, golden, finish with a sleight sheen. Now, you have to be realistic. Especially in areas with hash climates. When the Timber Oil is freshly applied, my deck (remember, 30 years old) looks like it was just installed. Over the course of the summer the 'sheen' of the freshly applied finish disappears. This does not mean that the finish is gone. it's still there in the wood protecting it. Horizontal surfaces, especially where you are walking on them, will loose their sheen a lot faster than vertical surfaces. I didn't need to re-coat my railings this year, and probably won't next year, because the finish still looks like it is freshly applied. Next spring I'll hose the deck down and re-apply a thin coat on the deck with a roller. an easy job that will only take me 1/2 day for my 350 sq.ft. deck. And the deck will look brand new again. Year 31. I love this stuff!
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked well. Brushed it on three years ago, liked the dark color I picked, has held up well in the Michigan winters as I live in the country and the house see's a lot of wind and precipitation,put a second coat on the sun facing rails as it see's a lot of weather, going to use it on my huge back deck if it ever stop's raining.
Date published: 2019-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good First go we had used Behr and it failed horribly..so much in fact that I was refunded. Everyone should know that PREP is 99% of the process. So we used the stripper and power washer and sanded like crazy people. (this wasnt easy considering we are older) Did the front deck last year and this year tackled the back one finally! While my husband was busy on the back deck, I went out front wiped down the deck and applied another coat. Easy breezy application. I have to say that so far WE LOVE this product. To do it right you need to take your time. We have two HUGE decks and over 500 baulesters...Port Orford Cedar...we had a freak snow storm this past Feb/March and it held up, We are trying to beat the rains and so far I can say Im very happy with the product
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't hold up! Deck built in 2016. Australian Timber Oil applied in 2017 and 2018. Finish flaked off in 2019. I'm about to apply another coat this week. This product should hold up better than this.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as expected Honey Teak is very dark, even darker than the color on outside of can, like someone else said, almost reddish. I'm not completely happy, but will live with it. Just applied and it took more than expected....I actually found applying with a sponge roller was better...I must admit, though, that part of the blame must go on the texture of the barn, as well. Maybe it will lighten up and look a little better after some time. It is just okay.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful start I put this on a new deck. It is north facing in lower Michigan. After one year it needed a reapplication. Sand, apply, ready for winter. The next summer / fall was wet and mildew started before I could redress it again. Looked shabby. Spring was again wet and had to wait until mid summer until it was dry. Put deck cleaner scrubbed, sanded, applied. Tone is now darker overall. Some mildew stains can not be extracted and will be ever there now under the new oil. I have accepted that I will have this as an annual task in our moist (harsh?) climate.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This junk is that junk I bought this product because ,I thought for the price it would be good. I cleaned my deck really good an put it on with a brush. The color we bought was Honey Teak or something like that. Because we wanted a light color like the Honey Brown we had on it. This junk is dark and some places it's red and other places it's dark brown. My deck looks aweful now. I hate the color. Wish they would give me my money back.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Fantastic initially, doesn't wear well When initially using the product, it looks just fantastic. However, it doesn't wear well and hold up - especially in higher traffic areas. I expected more out of a premium product
Date published: 2019-07-12
  • y_2023, m_1, d_26, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_144
  • loc_en_US, sid_185993, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]