Mantis

Tiller/Cultivator, 25cc Gas 4-Cycle Engine

Tiller/Cultivator, Gas 4-Cycle Engine is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 766.
  • y_2020, m_4, d_8, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_766
  • loc_en_US, sid_189170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$399.00
In stock
Model #
7940
Item #
189170

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Powered by a powerful 25cc Honda 4 cycle engine, this tiller is easy to start and quiet. Easy to use and comfortable thanks to soft, over-molded grips. Unique tines can bust sod or gently power weed. Dependable and tough with a 1-piece cast gear box. Gets into small spaces and is lightweight with fold down handlebars for easy storage. Just 24 lbs. Tills 10" deep. Includes handy kickstand. 2 year limited warranty.
  • 25cc Honda 4-cycle commercial engine turns tines twice as fast as other small tillers
  • Weighs Only 24 pounds for easy lifting and transport to garden
  • 9" wide for digging and weeding in any size yard or garden and along fences or between plants
  • Tines dig down to 10" deep and around to cultivate or gently weed 2-3" deep
  • Don't hold back! put this tiller through most any challenge!
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 189170
Weight 25.0000
UPC 00615964133598
Country of Origin US
Package Width 13.5
Package Length 29.25
Package Height 9.5
Model Number 7940
Brand Mantis
Manufacturer Name SCHILLER GROUNDS CARE INC
California Residents Proposition 65 Warning: This product can expose you to chemicals including titanium dioxide and carbon black which are known to the State of California to cause cancer. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a good little digger does a good job, so easy to handle. This is our 2nd one. We got one as a gift yrs. ago. it quit so we bought one and now we bought one for our son.
Date published: 2019-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It does do the job and more Starts quick , it has the power , light weight, easy to operate Dug out heavily rooted beds and used to cut out a drainage ditch for outdoor shower Roots do get stuck in the blades but easy removal of blades for cleaning out
Date published: 2019-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Met and exceeded my expectations! Impressed with my new 4 stroke mantis tiller. Breaks through hard Southern Delaware clay and does a very nice job of garden bed prep. Easily cuts through 3/4” tree/shrub roots! Only put maybe 1 hour of time on it so far but it seems like a durable machine that will hold up well to the tasks that I anticipate using it for.
Date published: 2019-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great little tiller at a reasonable price. I owned the large Troybilt in my early years, I missed gardening after selling it so I tried the Mantis and was very suprised by the power, so I bought the 4 cycle for my lady friend (best friend) she loves it and so do I. It's not a Troybilt, but for the money and size it's the next best thing.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Mantis 7940 The tiller 7940 works nicely. The hand controls though are plastic and wondering how long they will last since they take the beating of the grip needed to hold the tiller in place. Also for the price of the tiller, it would be an easy fix but consumers shouldn't have to buy wheels to haul this around when you're done with your project. Otherwise the tiller does the job with a mean streak to breakup soil quickly.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have had for 4 years..... I have had the 4 cycle for four years. It has been flawless. My garden is all raised beds so a full-size tiller was not practical. But the mantis is just excellent. It is easy to transport, take in and out of the raised beds, is very efficient in really working up the soil, is easy to start and easy to store. Larry T
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Compact Tiller with Large Tiller Performance This tiller has amazing power for its size. The Honda motor is quiet and smooth. The machine is compact enough to navigate through small garden beds and wide and powerful enough to till larger areas in little time. I like the reversible tines for tilling or cultivating. A great quality tiller for the price.
Date published: 2019-08-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and effective to use I have rented one of these tillers many times through the years. I finally decided not to rent anymore. I rented it because it is such an easy tool and so very effective for smaller jobs. You will be surprised what you can do with one of these.
Date published: 2019-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best tiller that I ever used Small engine, but very powerful tilling effect. Great.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my new mantis tiller This our second mantis. The first one we just wore out. I used it on jobs that it shouldn't have been used on probably, but it did it's job and a lot more. Excellent cultivator.
Date published: 2019-08-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loose choke lever Only problem choke does lever is loose and does not stay open have to use tape to keep it in place otherwise nice machine
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Highly Recommended Durable, Powerful, Compact, and Reliable Easy to start and starts right up.
Date published: 2019-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it. Perfect for what we needed. Others have described the functionality more perfectly than I could hope to do. Took longer to arrive than I thought it should though.
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for small gardens I bought this one a month ago. It replaces the one that I have had for over 20 years. It is great for the small gardens beds that I have and a lot easier to handle than the larger tillers.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for small spaces Although it is a bit of a workout compared to my large rototiller, it goes where the larger one cannot, fulfilling the need for which I bought it.
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from even better than my old mantis I had a 12 year old , well used 2 cycle mantis tiller. Decided to upgrade to the 4 cycle engine, to simplify fuel handling. This new unit starts easier, and purrs as it runs. They improved the location of the ignition/ off switch. Same great tilling action, and easy to use for final seed bed prep, digging furrows and weeding.
Date published: 2019-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 4-cycle fuel useage U think the 4 Cycle Plus use more them the 2 Cycle. Seems like the 2 Cycle revs up faster. Both are great tillers.
Date published: 2019-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size The machine is easy to lift, start and use. It does it's best tilling when pulling toward you. Gets a little clogged up if your garden is full of weeds i.e., like if you go on vacation for a week and come back to a garden full of weeds. But I think most tillers would. Overall like it a lot.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Work saver This machine is a real work horse, easy to start, well built and quiet.
Date published: 2019-07-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tiller I got works love this tiller. It works as promised. It is the right size for the garden that I have. The edger that I got too is great. Ken
Date published: 2019-07-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durability, performance, and excellent implements The Mantis I bought a month ago was to replace the one that I bought back in 2006. It was working beautifully for 13 years with only one trip over the years to a shop for maintenance. I have 1/3 acre with about 1/4 of it being lawn and I used the old Mantis for dethatching huge parts of it, for tilling some areas, for aerating a lot of it every year. Dethatching helps to keep clover and other crawling weeds in check since it breaks runners and brings them to the surfaсe where I can mow them. I also have a little garden and flour beds and have been tilling, cultivating, and edging them with Mantis every year. The day it broke (the bronze gear in the gear box) I went on line and bought a new one. Hope it will last as long and work as flawlessly and the old one!
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding purchase, one of the best. Rarely does a product live up to the hype given to it in its ads and PR stuff - but my Mantis did! Assembly was simple, it starts easy, it's easy to operate and it runs and does exactly what it said it would. Should have purchased it years ago.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just My Size! Our 2nd Mantis, direct from co. LOVE THE size, easy start, power in that small machine, and mostly that I can handle my Mantis wout asking my husband for help! I'm 60, 5ft, 120lbs. Just wish it would quit raining every other day in Wisc, so the ground could dry out and I'd be using my Mantis more!
Date published: 2019-07-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 2nd Mantis I've owned I've had a 2 cycle Mantis for 20+ years. I decided to upgrade to the 4 cycle model and was pleased to learn any attachments I bought for my old version were compatible with the new model. Was reasonably easy to assembled but read the instructions FIRST I obviously didn't and soon realized to go back and do so. There was a cardboard collar around the tines which made assembly so much easier. I had to reinstall it (easy). Once I had it together, I proceeded to till the remaining 2/3 of my vegetable garden with little effort. Worked very well. The new handle arrangement is great! Less wear and tear on the hands and forearms. I really like the kickstand. It makes so many things easier. I then waited until I had a crabgrass area I had tilled previously but planted with old seed and couldn't grow grass. I ran the Mantis for about a foot and the tines wouldn't turn. Looked up under trouble shooting and was scared to learn I had to reposition the engine. I feared this would be a problem after each use, so I decided to call Mantis. While on hold I suddenly remembered this had happened with my old machine. I hung up before making a fool of myself and verified that there was a stone wedged between the worm gear housing and the inner tine. Removed the stone (shut the thing off when doing this) and the Mantis then performed flawlessly. I suggest Mantis add this note to the troubleshooting section under Problem #1. Again from the owner's manual, make sure to add a fuel stabilizer to your gas can before adding to the Mantis. This is true for any small engine. Also to anyone considering this machine (either the 2 cycle or 4 cycle), to effectively make the best use of the Mantis, always pull it backwards! Its in the owners manual. Actually saw a review ( 1 Star) that said the only time it seemed to work was when the guy pulled it backwards so he didn't bother to read the owner's manual. Thanks Mantis for a great tool, Jack
Date published: 2019-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Improvement over the 2 cycle model I have had the 4 cycle a little over a month. It replaced a old and worn 2 cycle version. I like no hassle mixing oil and gas and the better emissions. I especially pleased that Mantis chose to use a Honda motor - known for their small motor quality. The 4 cycle motor is easy to start. Oil level verification is slightly awkward at first. One pull full choke and a second pull at half choke, the tiller is off and running. The pull cord is easy pull and short stroke. Took about a hour to assembly. There is quick start guide and I recommend reading both the Mantis and Honda included manuals for the full guide of optimal operation. The Honda motor does require 89 octane fuel so an extra gallon can needed for the Mantis. I have been renovating my lawn which requires breaking the turf up and tilling in compost for enrichment. The Mantis chews through the work. The handles and throttle are very comfortable to use for extended periods of time. I feel I have full control over the tiller with the handles. The bonus edger is a real plus. It does a great job edging our large horseshoe driveway with ease.
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light duty tillage I bought this because my wife had one a few years ago and thought it was great. I thought it was worthless. So the new one is the 4 cycle version which makes using it more convenient. It works well in soft soil with no rocks. Unfortunately, we have hard soil with way too many rocks. Still, it's useful in flower beds and as final prep for planting.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Powerful Didn’t work quite as good as I would’ve liked, but plenty powerful and will work great for smaller gardens. I bought this because it takes up little space when not in use. I’m happy with it, just wished it would have dug down further before bottoming out.
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Powerful This mantis tiller/cultivator is the best garden investment I have made. Its performance and power is multiple times better than my previous 2 stroke cultivator of another brand. No mixing of gas and oil in this mantis either. Love it!
Date published: 2019-06-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great I've been using the Mantis 2 stroke tillers for years and have done ok with constant adjustments. So I decided to upgrade to the Honda 4 stroke version this year. I am very pleased with the easy starts every time. This 4 stroke performance every bit as good as the 2 stroke version. I also got the one with the ergonomic friendly handle bars which is another option that I would highly recommend. This unit came with a fold down kick stand which is another plus. I'm very pleased with this 7940 model and would highly recommend this tiller.
Date published: 2019-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT WORKS! Just used for the first time yesterday and it does great for a small machine! Perfect for smaller areas where a larger tiller isn’t practical or can be maneuvered. Like a race horse, it wants to run! Start this Mantis tiller up, pull the throttle and it starts digging! It knows what it’s suppose to do and does it and goes it very well. I was definitely surprised
Date published: 2019-06-28
  • y_2020, m_4, d_8, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.5
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_766
  • loc_en_US, sid_189170, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.