Troy-Bilt
Dual-Direction Rear Tine Tiller, 208cc Engine
Troy-Bilt

Dual-Direction Rear Tine Tiller, 208cc Engine

Dual-Direction Rear Tine Tiller, 208cc Engine is rated 3.5 out of 5 by 53.
  • y_2022, m_6, d_26, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_266110, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42.03ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$1,270.99
In stock
Model #
21AB45M8766
Item #
266110

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
The Mustang Dual-Direction Rear Tine Tiller allows you to till in counter-rotating mode for hard soil when breaking ground and a forward-rotating mode for softer soil once beds are established. Aluminum die-cast housing is sealed to prevent grease leakage and water ingress when tilling in the toughest conditions. Equipped with power reverse to unlock any larger rocks that are bound up in tines or to get out of tight spaces easily.
  • 208cc Troy-Bilt OHV Engine
  • Versatile Dual-Direction Tines
  • Power Reverse
  • 18 in. Tilling Width
  • 7.5 in. Tilling Depth
  • 2-Year Limited Warranty
Specifications
Specifications
SKU266110
Weight269.000000
UPC00043033584192
Country of OriginUS
Package Width22.7
Package Length53.6
Package Height36.4
Model Number21AB45M8766
BrandTroy-Bilt
Manufacturer NameMTD PRODUCTS INC
California Residents Proposition 65Warning: This product can expose you to chemicals including engine exhaust, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer, and carbon monoxide, which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My garden dream TroyBilt Mustang The gear selector is hard to operate and in forward tine motion the machine goes super fast. Hard to hold it back to dig in very well. It is very easy to operate and I love it. Just wish that gear selector was easier to use. Rear tine action works great. Eats up the garden
Date published: 2022-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shifter Great tiller. Only issue is shifter. Poor design, hard to shift foward ,reverse
Date published: 2022-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased this machine is a beast glad i waited till i could find one and didnt just settle for less
Date published: 2022-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A true workhorse Great product! Shipping from factory arrived without any damage. Product was extremely easy to assemble. Started on first pull and every time there after. Very Big and powerful machine! I research this machine for a long time and noted many customers complained about the difficulty in shifting gears. I have had no problems other than the shift rod could be a little stronger, or maybe a support somewhere in the middle but it has not bent so far. The tines do become loose over time and especially if you hit a lot of rocks, but again nothing has bent or broken. If you have a medium to large garden, this is the machine for you! If you have a small garden, but the Pony. Also the tires on this brute are Big and made of real rubber, not that cheap plastic rubber used on so many other tillers out there! Very Happy Customer
Date published: 2022-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Started on first pull out of the box!! A well put together garden Machine!! So easy to operate and virtually does it by itself!!! Would definitely buy again.
Date published: 2022-05-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Professional performance @ good price point Straight forward set...easy to use...did exactly what I was looking for and more...qaulity machine..
Date published: 2022-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great tiller great tiller. easy to assemble and worked straight out of the crate
Date published: 2022-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Solidly Built Has a nice gearbox that has smooth shifting between modes. Solid metal frame, larger wheels make handling easier.
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk Bought this April 5th. $1126.00. Just got it out and within 4 hours discovered the rear pulley was eating at the pulley guard and the belt was frayed and stretched. Can use it until I get a new belt. Made in WHERE? Oh, cant post photos either.
Date published: 2022-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mustang Troybuilt Tiller I love my new mustang tiller. So happy I purchased it, the ground breaking feature is awesome.
Date published: 2022-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t waste your money!! Frame bent on first use, within first 10ft of tilling. Now stuck with a $1200 lawn ornament
Date published: 2022-04-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tiller Great tiller very smooth over hard ground first time tilled, lots of rocks. It had enough power to get even pretty good size rocks up. The transmission and drive are a bit hard to shift and figure out what gear you are in, other than that I highly recommend this tiller.
Date published: 2022-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mustang is the boss! I've always owened a Troy Bilt tiller. I recently purchased the Mustange for its dual tine rotation. Set up was easy and quick. After filling it with gas and oil, I pulled the cord only one time, starting on the first pull! What a horse this machine is, it digs through my garden with ease, yet with so much power. I also used the reverse tines to break ground to expand my garden, it dug through like butter! Switching to forward/reverse/neutral/tine direction is no problem as some have stated. Some complain about the plastic wing nuts, no problem, take them off and go by some steel/aluminum ones at your local hardware, quit complaining. Yes, there is a thick wrapping around the handle bars for added cushion that some guys complain about slippage, then take them off and grab the handles like a man and go play in your garden. Overall, 5 stars, it's a beast that loves dirt.
Date published: 2022-03-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Tires mounted backwards! I bought a Troy-Bilt because of good experiences in the past. I was disappointed when I received my new Mustang. Instructions were fairly easy to follow. BUT, when I went to check the air pressure I found that the tires were mounted backwards, with the valve stem on the inside. Now I have to find someone to assist in changing them since I don't have the equipment necessary to remove both tires at the same time. Unit starts fine and runs good.
Date published: 2022-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Under powered Troy built is supposed to be the best tiller I waited a year to get mine I needed a tiller with forward rotating tines my garden is 10 inches of old horse manure ( very soft ) I tilled twice both times the tiller would go about ten feet and die I had to restart constantly My old tiller only had crt tines but it had enough power to till. I’m really disappointed
Date published: 2021-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressive Tiller I recently had to replace my 25 year old tiller, and after much research decided on the Mustang tiller. My old tiller was a counter rotating tine which I liked for initial tilling of our very large gardens, but didn't give me the fine soil I prefer for planting seeds and transplants. I wasn't aware of tillers like the Mustang which provide both counter and forward rotating tines. The Mustang gives me the best of both options. The only small issue I have is that it is sometimes difficult to switch between counter and forward rotating tines. I always get there but it takes a few attempts to find the sweet spot. Overall I love the Mustang and expect to enjoy using it for many years.
Date published: 2020-08-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Discription is misleading. I bought this last year. It is not a horse. It is a stubborn mule. I challenge anyone to use this 1 handed. I do not find any way to adjust the speed as described. You can't run fast enough to keep up with this tiller. If the speed was adjustable and it could really be used with 1 hand as is said in the bulllit points in the description I would give it 5 stars.
Date published: 2020-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the dual direction rear tine tilling [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Had for a few years. With regular upkeep, works like new!
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome tiller [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Works great, very strong has made working in the garden much easier.
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Good Tiller I purchased this tiller to replace my Troy Bilt Horse that was over 40 years old! I was not expecting the new tiller to be anywhere as good as my old one. I was pleasantly surprised. While it doesn’t weigh as much as my horse it is still a beast in the dirt. I have used it to break new ground and to till previously broken ground. It performs exceptionally well in both! The only reason I gave it 4-stars is the year shift lever. It is not easy to shift it to the proper position without some effort. Other than that this machine is a beast! I will see if it will last as long as my horse!
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from More difficult to assemble and use than expected Just bought a new place in upstate NY. First year for a large garden on a fresh piece of land (previously used as a hay field). Order this Tiller on line - assembly was way more involved than expected. Tiller runs OK but took me a few days to get the hang of it. Switching gears is awkward and the forward setting has a tendency to pull and jerk abruptly. After about a week I was able to manage and control it. Would be helpful if the company included more detail about complexity of assembly and challenges with using (for new operators)
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from craftsman clone works good for shallow tilling -needs more HP for deep tilling. Also is very hard to shift.Gas tank sucks can only get 1/2 full
Date published: 2019-06-19
  • y_2022, m_6, d_26, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_23, tr_30
  • loc_en_US, sid_266110, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 6.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]