Pennington
Smart Seed Sun/Shade North Mix, 3-Lbs., Covers 2,000 Sq. Ft.
Made in Usa
Model #
100543718
Item #
829067
Pennington

Smart Seed Sun/Shade North Mix, 3-Lbs., Covers 2,000 Sq. Ft.

Smart Seed Sun/Shade North Mix, 3-Lbs., Covers 2,000 Sq. Ft. is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 176.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_175
  • loc_en_US, sid_829067, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 70.18ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$18.99
In stock
Model #
100543718
Item #
829067

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Pennington's Smart Seed Sun & Shade NORTH Mix provides the most versatile lawn in sunny to moderately shady areas. It produces a thick, fine bladed, dark blue-green lawn with very good drought tolerance. The MYCO Advantage™ is a unique coating technology that reintroduces beneficial, all natural micro-organisms into your lawn. Naturally occurring soil micro-organisms can become destroyed or depleted over time, which can result in lifeless, compacted soil. MYCO Advantage™ corrects this by attaching to the emerging seed roots, helping the grass grow a denser, deeper root system. And the result is a healthier, thicker lawn that better utilizes available nutrients and fertilizer, and requires up to 30% LESS WATER. Penkoted® seed has been treated with a material containing a specific fungicide, a natural insecticide and a growth stimulant that dry on the seed and are time-released into the soil as needed once the seeds are planted. The coating helps protect each seedling from soil born di
  • For full sun to medium shade areas (4-8 hours of daily sun)
  • Contains Penningtons exclusive Penkote®technology
  • Produces a thick, fine bladed, dark blue-green lawn
  • Contains improved seed varieties that thrive in sun and shade
  • Covers 500 sf of new lawn; up to 1000 sf if overseeding
Specifications
Specifications
SKU829067
Coverage (sq. ft.)1,200 - 4,500
Weight3.150000
UPC00021496022772
Country of OriginUS
Package Width7.5
Package Length3.0
Package Height11.0
Model Number100543718
BrandPennington
Manufacturer NamePENNINGTON SEED INC
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Took me a while to try because of crazy Midwest weather. Finally put it out and directions were easy to understand. It has started to grow in and looks great so far.
Date published: 2022-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fills in Nicely! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was so excited to get this grass seed to sample since I had a couple of bare spots in the lawn after the winter here in Michigan. I like that this includes fertilizer and requires less watering because I find whenever I patch spots, it's the constant watering that I forget to do. I'm happy to say this grass really did come up quickly and very full and green! I'm not a grass expert so I don't know all the different types but I really like the fine blades of this grass and how soft of feel it has. I'm going to for sure use it this fall to overseer my full lawn!
Date published: 2022-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great grass! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I get bald spots as spring sets in especially around the driveway.. I used Pennington Smart Seed Sun & Shade Mix and seeded the bald spots. It was easy to spread the seeds and very simple with the combined fertilizer. Several days later, the seeds sprouted and my bald spots are getting very green. I was very pleased with the simplicity and great results. Where I planted the new grass is now getting lush and green! I would definitely recommend and use again! I was very pleased with w product!
Date published: 2022-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well instructed product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this product in exchange for my honest review. At the time of this writing I have planted the grass seed and it is just starting to grow. It is too early to attest to long term performance, though so far the grass is germinating as expected. I am particularly impressed with the product labeling. It is very clearly labeled with what to expect for the mixture of seeds. There are ample, quality instructions on the panel. Label. There is also a QR code link to instructional videos right on the label.
Date published: 2022-05-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from didn't work [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I put this seed down on the patches that didn't come back this spring hoping to fill them in. We were getting lots of rain and then those spots were watetered on days that it didn't rain. 2 weeks later and none of the grass seed sprouted, so I am pretty disappointed in this product.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good grass seed [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] So far so good. We have had hard time growing grass under our aimer maple tree. It looks like we have some decent sprouts, but I will say I can't give a full review on until the next four weeks. But for what it's worth, if you're looking for a review now it seems okay.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Patchy for me [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I wanted to be able to say that this worked consistently and throughout- however while my sun sprouted, my shade did not. Overall it was easy to use, grew quickly and what came through was very nice, but it wasn't consistent and didn't work in all areas although the ground was the same as was the application. I'd give it another try though.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] It was easy to lay down and stuck to the ground quickly! We started getting sprouts at about 4/5s, we had a couple cold spells here in PA but now it's has taken off and we are happy with it!
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy bare spot relief [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Pennington has been my go to seed to repair spots or totally reseed areas of my lawn for years! Simple to use and almost guaranteed growth.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a great product. I was amazed how well it works. I used this in both sun and shade to compare.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Last year our water company dug up a section of our yard. They put down grass seed twice and it never took and only weeds grew. I received this sample and knew that section would be the perfect spot to test. Within a week we had beautiful grass growing. So far no weeds have grown in this section and the grass is a beautiful green. It's the best section of my grass! I would definitely purchase again.
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Starting to grow! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We've had some soggy weather lately but I'm so happy to see that the patches are growing in and the grass is dense and dark green!
Date published: 2022-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Better Than The Rest [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have tried so many variations of seeds and my issue was the shade that falls upon my lawn during half of the day. None have worked... however with Pennington I have seen results within a month. I see sprouts and i am talking about quality sprouts. Nice, strong, thick and healthy sprouts. I would definitely buy this product again... I have already recommended this to several friends with the same issue as myself and just received positive feedback 2 days ago from one.
Date published: 2022-05-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Just ok [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This seed works ok depending on where you need it. We tried it in two spots, one that is mostly shade and one that gets a lot of sun. The sun spot filled in a little, but the shade spot is having trouble. Weather could have played a factor in this as well so I can't totally fault the seed.
Date published: 2022-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No I didn't have one seed grow from this. I would have given a zero if that was an option.
Date published: 2022-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grass Seed That Actually Takes [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have had mixed experiences over the years with sun/shade grass seed mixes. Some of it is probably on me as I may not be the most consistent waterer - it didn't matter, however, for Pennington Smart Seed. Two weeks after throwing on some bald spots, the former bald spots are weed-free and growing.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Would buy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Nicely packaged. Easy to spread. It is early in the season and this review is about 3 weeks after spreading so full growth not determined yet.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a great product for people who love a green lawn. The only thing that I recommend is plenty of water until it starts springing up
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No sign of growth after a week [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I had high hopes when spreading the seed. It wasn't your normal brown grass seed. Instead, it was a blue/green color which was likely the integrated fertilizer. The ground was kept moist, watered daily manually or via rainfall. After a week I still have no sign of growth. It is possible that I will see something soon, but I expected some of the seed to sprout by now based on my experience with other products. I may have planted too early in the season, given that temperatures at night are rather cool, so I may give this brand another chance in the future.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Quality Seeds in a Quality Package [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I spread Pennington Smart Seed Sun & Shade Mix into a hole in the ground about a foot in diameter in late March 2022 where I pulled out a light post. I added plenty of seed and covered with fresh top soil. I've watered the area consistently and as of May 4, no sprouts have appeared. There were several nights of freezing temperatures in early April so the weather has not been conducive at all for planting grass seed, but because I received this product in early March, I went ahead and tried it out. I'm sure once the sprouts appear it'll be fine, but as of now nothing has grown so I can't say for certain that this product works. I've had good luck with Pennington grass seed in the past so I'm sure it's a fine, quality product, but as of today, no grass yet to be seen. As a result, I can't fully endorse the product to others just yet.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Filled in shaded spots perfectly [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was great for me as my back yard has many trees that shade part of the yard most of the day. This was easy to use and is coming up nicely so far. I just raked the area to break that top soil up, spread the seed and watered and that was it. Pretty easy and no fuss.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't stand up to dog urine [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was hoping this would help to regrow the grass in the dog's bathroom area, but it was a no-go. No a single one of the seeds sprouted any grass! He didn't use the area while trying to grow the grass, but apparently it isn't suitable for such a use.
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unsure yet ! I live in Maine ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] So I have not had the chance to use this product to determine its effectiveness as I live in Maine and planting season has not even begun yet. But the company who provided me with the free product demands a review so here we are. I will come back and write a real review once the ground has warmed enough for me to actually landscape and use this grass seed. We till had snow flurries until a week ago, just saying !!
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Some grass under the tree [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We have large oak trees in our yard and often get very water logged weather- it feels like our lawn doesn't dry out. This seed that is specific for shady areas has helped more than anything with rooting some grass and getting rid of the mud spots!
Date published: 2022-05-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Will it ever germinate? After careful soil preparation 2 weeks ago I spread this seed to establish a new lawn. I have been careful to water the area daily while not overwatering it. To date I have yet to see any grass sprouting. Will I ever?
Date published: 2022-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works for shaded areas [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I like this smart seed because it grows in shaded areas of my backyard. I like that the seeds are bright green in color so I can see where it is spread and it temporarily gives the illusion of grass color. This is easy to use and fills in bald spots in my backyard very well. It works!
Date published: 2022-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grows quick and lush [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] These seeds exceeded my expectations! Put them down in April and it only took a couple weeks to see results. We had a LOT of. Rain which I believe helped them grow. These seeds love water. Will need to buy some more to fill some other bare spots.
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very reasonable [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Took a little while for grass to take off with the off and on again cold weather but it finally has and it looks thick and is coming in nicely. Very affordable. Ended up buying another larger bag.
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from No results just yet... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I planted this grass seed that had recently undergone renovation from a garage re-build. 2.5 weekly later with almost daily watering I dont see any sprouts showing just yet, I'm still able to clearly see the seed in the soil
Date published: 2022-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Waiting for Growth [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We followed the instructions for preparation and seeding but unfortunately have not seen much success with this particular mix in our region.
Date published: 2022-05-01
  • y_2023, m_2, d_4, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_175
  • loc_en_US, sid_829067, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 16.72ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]