IMPORTANT: Shipping options & delivery times have changed and customer service response time has been affected by high order volume.

Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯

Minwax

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain is rated 3.2 out of 5 by 56.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 69.15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.49
In stock
Model #
213104444
Item #
257113

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
1/2-Pt. Satin, Honey Pine, Polyshade.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 257113
Weight 0.500000
UPC 00027426213104
Country of Origin US
Package Width 3.0
Package Length 3.0
Package Height 3.0
Model Number 213104444
Brand Minwax
Manufacturer Name MINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult Very difficult to apply. Stick to stain then poly - not this combined product.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Beautiful! I was nervous about using this product after reading some of the reviews. I am a novice and thought it would be difficult to paint on. It was actually just like painting any piece of furniture or cabinet. Thin application of product helps with drips and coats evenly. I found it to dry quickly and be forgiving. I only used one coat of the Royal Walnut on a natural wood barn door my Dad built for me. The size of the door was 4 feet by 7 feet and it took almost the whole can for one coat. A 1 1/2 inch or 2 inch slanted brush works great. We used a rag on the rough edges of the door for better coverage. I am pleased with the color, so I did not apply another coat, but I’m sure another coat would deepen/darken the color. Overall, a great purchase with only one coat to look great with the protective sheen of the poly built in! I included pics of the before and after.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too light I applied 3 coats of Polyshades Bombay Mahogany and not even close to the color what it's suppose to be. I pre-sanded, used your Pre-stain wood conditioner, and followed all the directions to the t by the way. I have stained wood before so this is not my first time staining. This is my first time using this product Polyshades and all tho I was a little concern with all the mixed reviews, I still went with it because of the Minwax name. Don't be fooled, avoid this product and save yourself money and presious time of having to start sanding and prepping all over again.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Difficult to Apply I do not enjoy painting and staining in general, but also am very particular about the quality of the finish, so I sometimes do projects myself to ensure quality outcomes. I chose this product because I found that the new sliding doors I thought only needed varnish to match the room actually required stain. Since I now had a coat of Minwax polyurethane one the wood, I searched for a stain that I could apply over the existing varnish. Enter PolyShades. I wish I had read the reviews first. This product is HORRIBLE to apply, especially on vertical surfaces like a door. It starts out very watery, which runs badly, and then it quickly turns gummy as you try to fix runs, leaving splotchy areas that are darker - once this process starts, you can't recover. Critical mistake on my part was to go back to an area and try to even out the color. I will now have to sand the wood back down, and start over. I want to cut my loses and switch to a regular stain, but now have to worry about color matching the trim that I have to redo with the door frame that actually turned out ok.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I gave up and just spray painted over it. The stuff could work better as a spray application maybe. But trying to make this stuff work takes MUCH more time and effort than just regular staining.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product Great choice to refinish the dining set. Looks great easy and fast to supply
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I have used this product several times with different kinds of furniture. It can be a little tricky to use as some others have said. The solution lies in the type of wood used. If new wood you have to use the conditioner and always pretest on the bottom to make sure you like the color. Also my trick is that I never use a brush - I always use a smooth foam roller to get a nice even coat. Works every time!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I have pine plank flooring in a bedroom and used 3 coats of the Classic Oak PolyShades. The warm, glossy finish is beautiful. Just a can and a bag of cheap foam brushes is all it took! I waited a day or two between coats. Easy, perfect.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't follow the directions on the can! The first time I used this stain, my espresso shelf looked like it had been painted black - by a two year old. Uneven and much too dark! My husband took one look at it and told me I did it wrong. I told him I followed the directions carefully. He told me to try with a rag on the next shelf and it was a totally different result! So if you want it to look good, saturate a clean rag in the stain and rub it in the wood in circular motions, not leaving anything to "pool" behind your strokes. Before the piece gets too tacky, take a clean rag and wipe in the direction of the grain. You might need to put some elbow grease into it! Make sure no stain dries on the surface. I usually go back after it's cured and sand with fine sandpaper and repeat the process. Gives a more rich color and sheen!
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good but don't paint it on. I use a rag and rug it in to the wood. Rub it in really good and don't let excess sit on the wood and dry. I only use 1 coat.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't recommend Very difficult to use. This product begins to dry and streak after two brush strokes.
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I bought the classic oak (gloss) to touch up an old oak floor that had been peed on by a cat. I sanded off all the old finish in the stained area using 80 grit and a random orbital sander. I bleached the stained area with oxalic acid ( many treatments over several days). I then wiped down the area with a damp cloth and then went over it with a little baking soda and water solution to neutralize the acid. I then sanded the area with 80 and then 120 grit. I applied the stain with a brush as per the instructions and let dry for a day. I went over the area with 0000 steel wool and repeated the application two more times. Finally, I applied paste wax to the area and buffed it out with my vacuum cleaner floor buffer attachment. I waxed and buffed a slightly larger area than the repair to feather the newly finished area into the rest of the floor. The end result was lighter but not terribly so. Here are before and after (first application only) photos:
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent if you follow instructions My project is un-stained birch and alder. Trying to match existing mahogany trim in my home, i stained the material with Minwax wood finish penetrating stain and did not get the color as dark as i wanted. I applied two coats of Bombay Mahogany poly shade and it came out beautifully. The instructions state to stir and not thin the product before applying. The directions also state that using 000 steel wool between coats is needed. I do not see this product as a shortcut but rather an enhancing product. It took days to complete, not hours. Patience and using proper brushes does yield professional results.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Answer to Renewing My Already Finished Doo I purchased this to bring life cover scratches and refinish my 30 year old pine doors. It did an excellent job. I cleaned lightly sanded, cleaned the doors and then applied Polyshades satin. The doors came out beautiful and looked brand new.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hate this product Purchased this product, in Bombay Mahogany, to use on new unfinished poplar. The good, the colour is a very nice shade of rich reddish brown. It takes at least three coats to get it there, but the colour is very nice. The bad, this product runs and sags just by giving it a dirty look. Even applying with a high quality natural bristle brush, so thin that the piece is barely wet. Come back to check on it after a few hours to find runs and sags. I should have read the other reviews before purchasing, by I will definitely not be using a 2 in 1 product again. Back to traditional stain and poly for better results.
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thick gel clumps in bottom of new can Bought this in hopes of cutting down on finishing time. Sadly, I can't say that I'm very impressed with the product. While stirring a brand new can, noticed very thick clumps almost pudding like in bottom of can. Can't seem to get them to mix back into the rest of the solvent after spending quite a bit of time trying. Don't waste your time with this product.
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as directed. The directions on the can do not instruct to stir the product. While this may seem intuitive for most, it is 3 little words that could save a ton of negative reviews. The first coat I put on without stirring and it was obviously much lighter than expected. I put on a second coat that was after I stirred the can and I got the result I wanted. Although the second coat was very difficult to apply.
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep cherry stain I bought the polyshades miniwax bombay color because I wanted a dark cherry finish.
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product I purchase to being life to my pine doors and trim in our bathroom. Worked beautiful, I used a small roller and then brushed out the bubbles and worked it over the door, looks great. If applied even and not too heavy it blends perfect. Thanks to this great product, I will be doing all the doors in our house. I used the pecan
Date published: 2019-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blah to elegant I've only used Classic Black, (on kitchen cabinets) which I am guessing must be the easiest color with which to get consistent results. I applied two coats over existing poly. The oak wood grain looks great with the black satin. (Adding crown molding and satin hardware also helped). I believe most disappointed users are not carefully following the recommended application instructions.
Date published: 2019-10-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! I've stained and sealed all the windows doors and trim in our home with this product. It works fantastic looks great! Stir it up real good and lay on smooth. Three coats does it for me.
Date published: 2019-09-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sheen doesn’t match label. I bought two of the satin finish espresso cans. One came out satin, the second is very obviously NOT satin and the can was mislabeled so now I need to sand it down buy another can and start over so the table matches the chairs I already did. Quality control is lacking.
Date published: 2019-09-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stained wood does not match color on can While I was able to get this product to apply evenly unlike some other reviews, the resulting color was much lighter than the color on the can, and a 2nd coat did not make the color any darker. My project was unstained but poly'ed chair legs that I sanded the poly off and then stained with PolyShades Royal Walnut, waiting about a day between coats. The end result is still a very light color, much lighter than my other furniture with what I'd call a Walnut finish. I'll probably end up sanding off the PolyShades and going with a traditional 2-step stain then poly.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful 100 year old pine floors So, original 100+ year old pine floors were stripped of paint, shellac, sanded to bare wood. Used the Pecan Poly shade and wow, they are beautiful. Love how fast it dried, how easy it applied, and 2 coats so pleased. Gonna do PolyShades on the downstairs next. Would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2019-07-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Never buying again. I'm a DIYer and have used stains & paints for 30 years. I bought this product and used it on end tables for my living room. Although, I DO get compliments on the end result, and it definitely "saved" time...I will go back to stain and poly as a separate product. I found polyshades more difficult to use and I had less ...control over the product...(if that makes sense)
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worse than just waste of money I tried to use this product on new, prepared red oak but it produces inconstant coverage - blotchy results. 2nd coat made it worse. Now I've given up and am just going to paint the the shelves white. PolyShades ruined my ability to do what I wanted to do. Now I have to invest more time and money in re-coating the shelves. Combining the polyurethane with stain sounded like a good idea - but isn't. I the future I'll go back to staining first THEN using polyurethane.
Date published: 2019-06-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy purchased the polyshade stain in mahogany. Three coats to get the dark shade I wanted,. (staining oak kitchen cabinets). I did this on an extra cabinet door I had to see if I would like it and make sure not to difficult since I have never done this before. Did not like the shine on the door. I purchased the satin but it dried with a high gloss finish. I don't want this type of finish on my kitchen cabinets to show the imperfections of the cabinets. Going to try gel stain from a different manufacture.
Date published: 2019-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitchen Cabinet Refresh Our house was going on the market to sell. The kitchen cabinets were tired and needed refreshing. After much research, we decided on the Polyshades in Mission Oak to give our cabinets a new look. Because the cabinets were vertical, I chose to wipe on the stain/finish with a soft cloth. I let that sit for about 10 minutes and went back with a clean, soft cloth and wiped off the excess. The doors remained tacky for about a day and a half. The results were perfect! We changed out the hardware and our cabinets looked fantastic. We got lots of compliments on the cabinets from potential buyers going through. Well worth the time and effort, and the house has sold!
Date published: 2019-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Durability is not a strength Finish flakes off when using .000 steel wool as directed between coats even when using a lube. The finish is nice but flakes off if scuffed and leaves the color of the original wood underneath. More like a polyurethane paint than a stain and clear coat. Get an actual stain and poly and do it separately. Polyshades I used was American chestnut gloss
Date published: 2019-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed! Notice that there are only 5 star reviews and 1 star reviews? What do you make of that? I bought and used this product before having read any reviews. The ability to stain over a pre-existing finish must be the sliced bread of wood staining. After having been extremely satisfied with this product, I read the reviews and I'm guessing that the bad reviews might be the kind of reverse-hype that innovation has to endure (temporarily). Maybe it's not suited to every project (or maybe it is) - personally, I feel paying them wasn't enough, but that they deserve my thank as well. I hope to see MORE of this product in the future. It's not that expensive, really - just buy some and try it out on a test project to see if it does what you need. Maybe you'll like it as much as I do.
Date published: 2019-05-27
  • y_2020, m_8, d_7, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.98ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.