Get FREE shipping to your local participating store. Find a store.

Minwax
1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain
Minwax

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 67.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 101.86ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.49
In stock
Model #
213104444
Item #
257113

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
1/2-Pt. Satin, Honey Pine, Polyshade.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU257113
Weight0.500000
UPC00027426213104
Country of OriginUS
Package Width3.0
Package Length3.0
Package Height3.0
Model Number213104444
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea But Don't Recommend It I bought this to refinish a dining room table (pecan) and I stripped the damaged finish and sanded down to bare wood. I have tried 2 thin coats of the Polyshades product but the results are unsatisfying as it is impossible to be consistent with the amount/thickness applied and the result is lighter and darker shadows. I did wet sand between coats with wet 600 waterproof sandpaper and again after the second coat but still the result is blotchy. I am now going to have to sand back down to bare and use a traditional stain and clear urethane finish. I would only suggest this product for small areas or touch ups and not where you want a dramatically beautiful finish as on my dining table top or furniture tops. I hate wasting my time and effort by having to do a job all over again so take my advice and go the stain, then finish route!
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sub-Par I bought this to try and tint a polyurethane finish. After the first application it was so streaky and just a mess to apply. Figured it just needed more coats. After 3 coats it looks horrible! I don't know why this product even exists. You can easily tint a poly finish using a gel stain, which I totally admit I should have done that to begin with. Guess curiosity killed the cat in this case! Otherwise Minwax makes a great finish and I do really like most of their oils stains. Just not the Polyshade and is suggest the company make more gel stain colors instead.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Espresso stain is orange not dark I stained my table with the Espresso color. It is very orange and no where close to dark. I am very dissatisfied with the color as I was obviously trying darken my table not make it old fashioned orange. I have only done one coat and am afraid to do another since it will just turn more orange.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Proceed With Great Caution I do accent walls for a living and tried PolyShades without fully understanding the difficulty of this product. It does NOT apply easily--especially to larger surface areas like wainscotting with some intricate trim. For a small table or something very flat, I can see where it would work but not where you have wood pieces with grains flowing in different directions. You'd have to be a real pro to get a good look out with this product. Honestly, Minwax should send this one back to R & D and come up with a better formula. No bueno.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ice stain! Easy to use, great result! I used for a couple of wood furniture pieces and very pleased how easy to use.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well as sprayed finish I used this product to refinish a kitchen for a client and had great results. Existing kitchen had a golden oak finish with clear coat. Removed doors, lightly sanded everything with 220. Sprayed doors with paint gun and brushed cabinet face frames, super easy. First finish a little light so after it was dry repeated for darker finish. You need to apply finish evenly to avoid variation in darkness of color, so sprayer for sure is the best method. The face frames I brushed, which was a little harder to control so after drying had to reapply in some light areas and take some steel wool to a darker area. The other option with this job would have involved sanding off existing clear coat and trying to re-stain, which is a huge waste of time. Great product, everyone happy.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful all-in-one poly stain! If you take your time with wood prep and application I promise it will look professional even when DIY. These are dried, pressure treated 1x8 boards used for my classic truck bed and I don't think it gets any better than this. *Remember that stain normally turns out darker than what the label shows so if in doubt go with a lighter tone.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this! I know very little about finishing things, but I found this to be so easy and the results amazing! I brushed it on lightly, let it dry and then did a second coat. SO BEAUTIFUL that I did my old worn bathroom cabinets from 1981 and they turned out amazing. Now I am doing my 100 year old piano before I head to my kitchen cabinets.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed It turns sticky right away, the espresso tint seems impossible to even out, a second coat made things worse, the only lesson learned is to stain and polyurethane separately. Not recommended.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Giant can of worms! I’m a man of few regrets but putting this stuff on my latest project has turned into a nightmare. I’ve spent numerous hours building, sanding, and conditioning a shelf for my dad for Father’s Day and it looks awful now. This stuff is the biggest mess I’ve ever seen. It goes on wet but instantly turns sticking making it impossible to even out. What do I do now? Buy more of this junk to try to even it out to a extremely dark color or strip it and start all over? I wish so badly that I had stayed with traditional stain. Never again!
Date published: 2020-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not recommend I've used Minwax products for years with great success. Recently I tried Polyshades on a refinishing project for a walnut veneer tabletop. I was seeking a uniform color on a table that was only sanded down to the original stain (removed all the old poly clear coat. What a mistake. I tried to put the first coat of Polyshades espresso on as thin as I could, yet the result was still a murky, blotchy, ugly mess. The finish looked thick almost like an espresso paste was applied. Not wanting to chance a bigger mess with a 2nd coat, I sanding the first coat off and then just stripped the table down to bare wood. Reapplying regular Minwax stain followed by their fast-drying polyurethane is the way to go. I would not use Polyshades again, nor would I recommend. I was generous in giving it two stars.
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult Very difficult to apply. Stick to stain then poly - not this combined product.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Beautiful! I was nervous about using this product after reading some of the reviews. I am a novice and thought it would be difficult to paint on. It was actually just like painting any piece of furniture or cabinet. Thin application of product helps with drips and coats evenly. I found it to dry quickly and be forgiving. I only used one coat of the Royal Walnut on a natural wood barn door my Dad built for me. The size of the door was 4 feet by 7 feet and it took almost the whole can for one coat. A 1 1/2 inch or 2 inch slanted brush works great. We used a rag on the rough edges of the door for better coverage. I am pleased with the color, so I did not apply another coat, but I’m sure another coat would deepen/darken the color. Overall, a great purchase with only one coat to look great with the protective sheen of the poly built in! I included pics of the before and after.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too light I applied 3 coats of Polyshades Bombay Mahogany and not even close to the color what it's suppose to be. I pre-sanded, used your Pre-stain wood conditioner, and followed all the directions to the t by the way. I have stained wood before so this is not my first time staining. This is my first time using this product Polyshades and all tho I was a little concern with all the mixed reviews, I still went with it because of the Minwax name. Don't be fooled, avoid this product and save yourself money and presious time of having to start sanding and prepping all over again.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Difficult to Apply I do not enjoy painting and staining in general, but also am very particular about the quality of the finish, so I sometimes do projects myself to ensure quality outcomes. I chose this product because I found that the new sliding doors I thought only needed varnish to match the room actually required stain. Since I now had a coat of Minwax polyurethane one the wood, I searched for a stain that I could apply over the existing varnish. Enter PolyShades. I wish I had read the reviews first. This product is HORRIBLE to apply, especially on vertical surfaces like a door. It starts out very watery, which runs badly, and then it quickly turns gummy as you try to fix runs, leaving splotchy areas that are darker - once this process starts, you can't recover. Critical mistake on my part was to go back to an area and try to even out the color. I will now have to sand the wood back down, and start over. I want to cut my loses and switch to a regular stain, but now have to worry about color matching the trim that I have to redo with the door frame that actually turned out ok.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I gave up and just spray painted over it. The stuff could work better as a spray application maybe. But trying to make this stuff work takes MUCH more time and effort than just regular staining.
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good product Great choice to refinish the dining set. Looks great easy and fast to supply
Date published: 2020-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product I have used this product several times with different kinds of furniture. It can be a little tricky to use as some others have said. The solution lies in the type of wood used. If new wood you have to use the conditioner and always pretest on the bottom to make sure you like the color. Also my trick is that I never use a brush - I always use a smooth foam roller to get a nice even coat. Works every time!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff! I have pine plank flooring in a bedroom and used 3 coats of the Classic Oak PolyShades. The warm, glossy finish is beautiful. Just a can and a bag of cheap foam brushes is all it took! I waited a day or two between coats. Easy, perfect.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Don't follow the directions on the can! The first time I used this stain, my espresso shelf looked like it had been painted black - by a two year old. Uneven and much too dark! My husband took one look at it and told me I did it wrong. I told him I followed the directions carefully. He told me to try with a rag on the next shelf and it was a totally different result! So if you want it to look good, saturate a clean rag in the stain and rub it in the wood in circular motions, not leaving anything to "pool" behind your strokes. Before the piece gets too tacky, take a clean rag and wipe in the direction of the grain. You might need to put some elbow grease into it! Make sure no stain dries on the surface. I usually go back after it's cured and sand with fine sandpaper and repeat the process. Gives a more rich color and sheen!
Date published: 2020-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks good but don't paint it on. I use a rag and rug it in to the wood. Rub it in really good and don't let excess sit on the wood and dry. I only use 1 coat.
Date published: 2020-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't recommend Very difficult to use. This product begins to dry and streak after two brush strokes.
Date published: 2020-03-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better Than Expected I bought the classic oak (gloss) to touch up an old oak floor that had been peed on by a cat. I sanded off all the old finish in the stained area using 80 grit and a random orbital sander. I bleached the stained area with oxalic acid ( many treatments over several days). I then wiped down the area with a damp cloth and then went over it with a little baking soda and water solution to neutralize the acid. I then sanded the area with 80 and then 120 grit. I applied the stain with a brush as per the instructions and let dry for a day. I went over the area with 0000 steel wool and repeated the application two more times. Finally, I applied paste wax to the area and buffed it out with my vacuum cleaner floor buffer attachment. I waxed and buffed a slightly larger area than the repair to feather the newly finished area into the rest of the floor. The end result was lighter but not terribly so. Here are before and after (first application only) photos:
Date published: 2020-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exellent if you follow instructions My project is un-stained birch and alder. Trying to match existing mahogany trim in my home, i stained the material with Minwax wood finish penetrating stain and did not get the color as dark as i wanted. I applied two coats of Bombay Mahogany poly shade and it came out beautifully. The instructions state to stir and not thin the product before applying. The directions also state that using 000 steel wool between coats is needed. I do not see this product as a shortcut but rather an enhancing product. It took days to complete, not hours. Patience and using proper brushes does yield professional results.
Date published: 2020-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Answer to Renewing My Already Finished Doo I purchased this to bring life cover scratches and refinish my 30 year old pine doors. It did an excellent job. I cleaned lightly sanded, cleaned the doors and then applied Polyshades satin. The doors came out beautiful and looked brand new.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hate this product Purchased this product, in Bombay Mahogany, to use on new unfinished poplar. The good, the colour is a very nice shade of rich reddish brown. It takes at least three coats to get it there, but the colour is very nice. The bad, this product runs and sags just by giving it a dirty look. Even applying with a high quality natural bristle brush, so thin that the piece is barely wet. Come back to check on it after a few hours to find runs and sags. I should have read the other reviews before purchasing, by I will definitely not be using a 2 in 1 product again. Back to traditional stain and poly for better results.
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thick gel clumps in bottom of new can Bought this in hopes of cutting down on finishing time. Sadly, I can't say that I'm very impressed with the product. While stirring a brand new can, noticed very thick clumps almost pudding like in bottom of can. Can't seem to get them to mix back into the rest of the solvent after spending quite a bit of time trying. Don't waste your time with this product.
Date published: 2020-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works as directed. The directions on the can do not instruct to stir the product. While this may seem intuitive for most, it is 3 little words that could save a ton of negative reviews. The first coat I put on without stirring and it was obviously much lighter than expected. I put on a second coat that was after I stirred the can and I got the result I wanted. Although the second coat was very difficult to apply.
Date published: 2020-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Deep cherry stain I bought the polyshades miniwax bombay color because I wanted a dark cherry finish.
Date published: 2019-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this product I purchase to being life to my pine doors and trim in our bathroom. Worked beautiful, I used a small roller and then brushed out the bubbles and worked it over the door, looks great. If applied even and not too heavy it blends perfect. Thanks to this great product, I will be doing all the doors in our house. I used the pecan
Date published: 2019-11-06
  • y_2020, m_11, d_23, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_67
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.56ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.