Roku
Ultra Streaming Player, Voice Remote,
Roku

Ultra Streaming Player, Voice Remote,

Ultra Streaming Player, Voice Remote, is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 510.
  • y_2021, m_12, d_2, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_510
  • loc_en_US, sid_274204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53.96ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$102.99
In stock
Model #
4800R
Item #
274204

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Roku Ultra is the ultimate streaming player, fully loaded with all of our best features. Enjoy powerful, smooth streaming with channels that launch in a snap and our best wireless, now with up to 50 percent more range. Stream in extraordinary Dolby Vision HDR picture and experience 3D Dolby Atmos sound when you pair it with a compatible sound system. Stream the newest and most popular channels, plus cast music, photos, and more with Bluetooth. The included voice remote has controls for your TV, personal shortcuts, and headphones for private listening it even has a lost remote finder. Roku Ultra is perfect for cord cutters and people who love to stream.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU274204
Weight1.270000
UPC00829610004143
Country of OriginCN
Package Width6.5
Package Length3.1
Package Height6.5
Model Number4800R
BrandRoku
Manufacturer NameD&H DISTRIBUTING COMPANY
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than the built in Sony TV Receiver I have a Sony 4K OLED XR55AJ90 Google TV. This unit if far superior than the built in Sony receiver. I compared Hulu, Vudu, Apple TV+, HBO Max, Amazon Prime, through a Sony HT-ST5000 Atmos Soundbar and Roku is just better video (HDR, Dolby Vision) & sound (Atmos and below) quality on a wireless connection.
Date published: 2021-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comment on Ethernet 10/100 speed 4K HDR requires no more than 20Mbps bandwidth. A 1G Ethernet port would be a waste of resources. That said, a primary reason that I went for the Ultra is that it has an Ethernet port (like the Roku 3 I used to use). But not for the speed. Where my entertainment system is located, Ethernet is more reliable than Wi-Fi.
Date published: 2021-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One Major Downfall I've always been a huge fan of the Ultras, after I bought one to replace my Roku 3 a while back. The one thing that bothers me more than anything is that the ethernet port is not gigabit. There is literally no reason to have your Cadillac device be using antiquated technology. Not everyone wants their wifi access points clogged up due to streaming data.
Date published: 2021-09-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great WiFi!!! I bought this roku after months of research. I mainly purchased it because the features stated that it was the best WiFi connection and by far it is the best. I have a 3 story home and the connection is awesome!
Date published: 2021-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Good streaming; remote batteries last < 2 months I bought this device at the end of June 2021 and the batteries needed to be replaced in early August 2021. I use the remote normally with minimal use of the voice function or other battery-draining functions. I had a similar issue with my Stick+ models, but the battery drain is slightly less on the Ultra. Roku did offer to replace the remote, but this is the fourth new remote I've purchased in 2 years and all of them drain the batteries very quickly. After having Roku products for over 10 years, I am switching to another brand of devices.
Date published: 2021-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4660RW I have an older model Ultra and have had no problems with it. It would seem that the majority of problems reported are use fault. There are a bunch of types of HDMI cables, so just because it says it is for 4K doesn't mean it supports all the features that can be used through the HDMI cable. If you buy a low priced cable that says it is for 4K, make sure it supports 2-way communication. I have a mid range priced cable from a well known manufacturer and have 0 problems using it with my Roku. Even when I was using Wi-Fi, I had no problems because I have a good router (even if it is old) and the Roku is within its range. You need to make sure even though the Roku has a long range that your Wi-Fi actually is broadcasting a strong enough far enough to use it. If your signal is only broadcast 50' and the Roku is 75' away, it won't work right, but only because of your Wi-Fi, not because of the Roku.
Date published: 2021-09-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing Network Performance It is unacceptable that the Roku Ultra 4800X (2020) firstly has only a 10/100 Fast Ethernet port instead of the 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet port that has been out for years (1999) and they tout a wireless 802.11AC Dual-Band MIMO which would of been great except it is woefully horrible only reaching (110Mbps), this is just 1/4 of the speeds the wireless 802.11ac standard (433Mbps - 1300Mbps). Now playing devil’s advocate 1080p only needs 5Mbps and 4K needs 25Mbps, so 90 to 100Mbps should be plenty, but why limit it to wireless N speeds when you tout wireless AC speeds....keeping costs/price down maybe, but if so then just stick with wireless N (up to 300Mbps) which could still reach more than the 110Mbps it gets now. You say it is a Roku ULTRA but it is really just stretching old technology instead of innovating or improving on your cheaper models, or being competitive. The overall Roku experience is excellent, but when they come out with new products/models in the future I hope they check that it meets the hardware specifications they are stating their devices have.
Date published: 2021-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra amazing What I find funny. Is I see a bunch of people complaining. 1 says he has issues with HDMI cable. A few others mention issues. But I personally own 6 of these and have not had an issue in the last year+. I WOULD highly recommend using the cables provided in the box and not trying to use another HDMI cable.. if you are not using their cables. That COULD cause you an issue.. I made that mistake on my first Roku.. Otherwise I would HIGHLY recommend this device especially if you are someone like me and sometimes misplace your remotes. My only question for Roku is what is the brand of headphones they use. I would love to buy extra of them. Love to volume boost.
Date published: 2021-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from ULTRA Trash Screen flashing on and off with some HDMI warning. All my cables are high speed 4K HDMI so is my TV. I followed the steps, it didn't work. I love my ROKU 4 going back to it. FIX this garbage Roku!!!
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You Won't Be Disappointed We cut our cable by putting the Ultra in our master bedroom and the Streambar Pro in the living room. The Ultra is a great product and the private listening lets me watch my shows without disturbing my spouse.
Date published: 2021-07-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT STREAMING DEVICE ( ROKU ULTRA) I GOT THIS DEVICE TO SEE IF I WOULD LIKE IT. (I LOVE IT !!!!!! )
Date published: 2021-06-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Two duds in a row, I'm out. I've been using Roku devices exclusively for many years, and I've never had the slightest problem with one before recently. A few months ago, I purchased a Roku Ultra (my first) for the 4K TV in my living room. After three months of light use, all programs streamed through it, from any app/service, began experiencing periodic dropouts--every few minutes, the screen would go blank for 5-10 seconds while the audio continued to play normally. After thorough testing of different receiver channels, different HDMI (4K and 8K) cables, and other Roku units I already owned, it became clear that the fault was in the Roku Ultra itself. I'd already discarded the unit's packaging, so I bit the bullet and ordered another Roku Ultra. The new unit gave me fits while trying to get it up and running--immediately after a required update and restart, it kept freezing up, restarting itself, giving error messages, etc. This went on for an hour, and I finally gave up, disconnected everything, and packaged the unit back up for returning. A couple of hours later, I decided to give it one more chance. This time, everything went exactly as it should have to begin with, no problems at all. I stupidly discarded the product packaging (I hate clutter), thinking everything would be fine. The odds of getting two faulty units in a row would surely be astronomical, right? Well, last night, after less than two weeks of proper functionality, I discovered that all programs (SD/HD/UHD) from all services were encountering constant frame stutter/skipping at intervals of 5-10 seconds. I reset the unit several times, tried other receiver channels, other 4K/8K HDMI cables, and other Roku units, and once again the problem came down to the Roku Ultra. My only guess is that Roku has cut production corners drastically in the manufacture of their latest models, or at least for the Ultra. Whatever the case, this appalling lack of quality control is a dealbreaker. As of today, I've switched to the Nvidia Shield, and I'll never buy another Roku product again.
Date published: 2021-06-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4670R vs. 4800R We love our 4670's. Just purchased 4800 hoping for same. 4670 has 32gb cap. SDcard slot for channel and game memory. The 4800 has no SDcard slot. What is the 4800's channel and game memory size? Also, 4800 has Bluetooth, but we can CAST and stream to our 4670's with ANDROID. So, what's the difference? Many kind thanks. Waiting on your good advice. Best Regards
Date published: 2021-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bluetooth earbuds I love this unit, but it would be nice if you could connect my earbuds instead of the wire earphones.
Date published: 2021-06-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from M2ts files is not playing Dts x and dolby truhd and dts hd master audio is not working.
Date published: 2021-05-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best!! Let me start by saying I own the Apple 4K TV and the Nvidia Shield Pro and without a doubt this is the best streaming player out there!! The Apple TV works well but doesn’t pass through Dolby Digital Plus without converting it to PCM which takes a hit on audio quality, Atmos sounds fine, Nvidia Shield Pro can’t match frame rate and stutters all the time which is terribly annoying, but the Roku Ultra plays everything perfect and smooth as silk and passes the audio straight through and the picture is absolutely stunning through this box!! Save your money and get this you will not be disappointed!!
Date published: 2021-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t expect a refund if you return it Bought this two months ago, didn’t realize it wouldn’t also control my existing sound bar so returned the product. Over a month and a half after returning the product and after contacting customer support many times have yet to receive a refund.
Date published: 2021-05-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than I expected... I've been a Roku user for many years and like the GUI very much with the vast number of streaming channels. Last year I purchased a Vizio TV with HDR10+ and Dobly Vision where the image quality is great but the SmartCast OS it runs on has much to be desired. Well last night I finally decided I had enough and purchased the Roku Ultra. So glad I did, I'm back to what I'm used to and like. The Roku OS is very responsive. I can definitely see the difference between regular HDR vs Dobly Vision... It's awesome!!! Note: I did have to go into the TV's input settings and enable "Full UHD Color" in order for Dobly Vision to work.
Date published: 2021-05-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Researched & a workaround to get it to mostly work IWe purchased the Roku Ultra when we upgraded our receiver to the Denon AVR-S750H and our TV to the Vizio V405-G9 40". Both of these units support 4k UHD HDR and Dolby Vision. These are very common units and well-regarded, too. Frustratingly, the Ultra refused to see a 4K connection when I was going through the automated setup. I had the ability to "force" a 4K feed into the system, only to have it revert after going into screensaver mode or being shutoff. Making matters worse was that Dolby Vision looks horrendously washed out compared to the Dolby Vision feeds coming through my UHD Blu-ray player and the TV's SmartCast app. After searching around on the internet for several evenings (and LONG after most consumers would have packed up this unit), I came across this post on Roku's forums from TWO YEARS ago to stop auto-revert from happening: https://community.roku.com/t5/Roku-Device-Features-Settings-Updates/Stop-Roku-Ultra-from-Changing-Resolution-back-to-Auto-Detect/td-p/494963 (Look for the post by redtommy76 on 02-06-2019) I'll cut to the chase for the hack that got my Ultra to mostly work: 1) I disabled the screensaver in the theme 2) I set the resolution at Settings > Display type to force 4K UHD 3) Under Settings > System > Advanced Systems Setting > Advanced display settings > HDR Subsampling, I selected 4.2.2 4) I went through the following sequence to get to the Ultra's "secret menu" to stop the auto-revert 5) I restarted the unit and now it's forcing 4K UHD HDR through I'm not even going to bother trying to get Dolby Vision to work successfully since it was such a labor to get this far. My concern at this point is that Roku will push an update that will overwrite what I did and not allow me access to the menu to stop the auto-revert from happening. What I finally got the Ultra to do, it does well. However, this does not feel like a finished product.
Date published: 2021-05-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from ITS EPIC i used this and i love it its amazing like man this is better than cable
Date published: 2021-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work with Projectors I was planning to use this in my Home Theater setup, the device doesn't support HDMI 2.2, 30 HZ output which is the usual setting for 4K projectors. The biggest issue was with streaming Netflix and Disney+, every time I had to restart Roku for using these streaming apps. Contacted Support and response was it doesn't support projectors, its waste of money if you are expecting high end performance based on the features listed.
Date published: 2021-04-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dolby Vision Doesn't Work Bought this for Dolby Vision - Doesn't work. Three other streaming boxes do Dolby Vision with my TV but not this one. Long time Roku user, now disappointed. Been through Support and the forum - not helpful or useful.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Pathetic It's 2021 and this device doesn't have gigabit ethernet yet? And the wireless can't do more than 80 or 90 megabits which is very slow. I haven't owned a device with 10/100 since like the early 2000's and you can't tell me that a chipset with gigabit is anymore expensive there's no way it is it's been around for 20 years and is in millions of devices it's cheap to manufacture. Skip this device go buy Nvidia Shield or Apple TV they are better and future proofed where as the Roku your paying for outdated hardware so they can save a few pennies per device "Ultra" my @($)($).
Date published: 2021-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst. Roku. Ever. Do not buy this device! Like so many others, I suffer from the failure of the device to connect wired to my internet. I have done all the thinks Roku says to do. Use a new cable. Reboot the router. Reboot the Roku. Oddly, none of the other devices I have such as a Switch, a Blu-Ray player, my TV, etc. have a problem. It's only the Roku.
Date published: 2021-04-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Voice problem I bought this model after my other model had a problem after I had used it for less than a year. So, I bought this model and after a month the new Roku had the same problem. Both had a problem with the voice... it becomes static and you can not hear. So, you have to unplug and replug during a program. It happen three times in an two hours.
Date published: 2021-04-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy this piece of garbage The unit comes with a defective ethernet port. I wanted to use this unit wired to get the best results, but all I get is the internet dropping out. All other older Roku wired devices I have are working fine. I have seen multiple complaints on this issue and Roku is doing nothing about it. All you get is "Try another ethernet cable". I have tried more than a dozen cables and still getting intermittent results. If I unplug and replug the cable, it will start working again for a few minutes and then craps out again.
Date published: 2021-03-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Broken from the start Keeps asking for update, resets to the main screen. Will not go any further. No support for this issue.
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent. Everything I Was Looking For I've been using my Roku Ultra for about 3 months now and I love it so much I've decided to completely do away with cable. For the price of what I was paying for cable TV (including the monthly rental fees for the 2 cable boxes), I am able to pick up all of the streaming services I want including Hulu, Prime, Netflix, HBO Max and Paramount. Not only is this Roku player saving me money by being able to ditch cable, but it saved me hundreds because I didn't have to upgrade to a new SMART TV. Setup was a breeze. I"ve had no connection issues. Also, I'm pretty impressed with the speed and smoothness of how you can transition from app to app. The search feature if fabulous. It's also nice that you can arrange the streaming apps in the order that you want so you can put your most-used streaming services at the beginning. I love this so much that I'm ordering one of the more basic Roku players for my Aunt. She'd benefit from a remote with fewer functions.
Date published: 2021-03-06
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Remote is a deal breaker No where on the product page for the Ultra does it mention that the IR ONLY controls volume on the TV. You cannot set the remote up for volume on a A/V receiver or sound bar like every other streaming device known to human beings. And turning off the TV is thru CEC, not IR. Quirks like not being able to manage Tablo from the Raku channel for it I can live with but the remote issues are a daily frustration that outweigh small bright spots in the Ultra. And those bright spots don't justify spending MORE money on a universal remote.
Date published: 2021-03-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Too many issues This product worked for a month but now freezes, looses sound, disconnects, or restarts frequently. I've tried factory resetting, power cycling, and switching HDMI ports. I regret making this purchase, it's my 3rd Roku device, I hoped the Ultra was better/more reliable than the Roku Express but it's just as troublesome.
Date published: 2021-02-23
  • y_2021, m_12, d_2, h_19
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_510
  • loc_en_US, sid_274204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.83ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore