Your company account is blocked and you cannot place orders. If you have questions, please contact your company administrator.
Model #
18225
Item #
105589
Scotts

Turf Builder Sun & Shade Seed, 3-Lbs., Covers 1200 Sq. Ft.

Turf Builder Sun & Shade Seed, 3-Lbs., Covers 1200 Sq. Ft. is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1131.
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1131
  • loc_en_US, sid_105589, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 79.02ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$17.99
In stock
Model #
18225
Item #
105589

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Scotts, 3 LB, Turf Builder Sun & Shade Seed, 1200 SQFT Coverage, Scotts most versatile mix. Stays green-even in extreme conditions of dense shade or scorching sun. Aggressively spreads to repair thin and bare spots.
  • Coverage: 1,200 sq. ft.
  • Seed is surrounded in a super-absorbent coating
  • Holds water and helps seed to stay moist to help prevent it from drying out and dying out
  • Enables seed to germinate faster than uncoated seed
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 105589
Weight 3.5000
UPC 00032247182256
Country of Origin US
Package Width 8.0
Package Length 4.0
Package Height 12.0
Model Number 18225
Brand Scotts
Assembled Width 12.0
Assembled Length 7.5
Assembled Height 4.0
Manufacturer Name SCOTTS LAWNS
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage I bought Scotts again. What was I thinking. Every place I seeded I have some kind of weed. Every were, it was a big bag.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed completely My daughter and I bought this a month ago to fill in some small bare spots for my yard and for hers. We scratched the dirt and used a little potting soil None of it has germinated at all. I suspect the seeds were old but I am very disappointed with a Scotts product.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Disappointment...Huge Used this product by first prepping the area, adding loose black soil, raked in seed mix. Watered religiously. I'm a gardener I know how to plant things. I've got a few grass sprigs after about 4 weeks. I'm so disappointed and have used Scotts products for years. A gardener likes to plant things and watch them grow, this was a huge frustrating disappointment. I"m just going to buy sod and find a new fertilizer for the rest of the lawn.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will never buy again! Bought this and it has been over two weeks and I have hardly any grass starting to grow. I prepped the soil and put it down and hardly anything has grown. Will not buy this product again!!
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor results I bought this seed last year for repair around a new driveway. Even with straw cover and twice a day watering the only thing that grew was a parsley like weed. They backed their guarantee with a full refund but the straw, water and my time were on me. Still pulling out those weeds this year.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted Time and Money My wife purchased this seed for repairing areas of our lawn that are shade and sun. I prepared the area and followed the directions. I have made sure to faithfully water and wanted to get as much benefit from the spring rain. After 3 weeks of effort my lawn looks the same as when I first laid the seed. I still have bare dirt and only thing growing is weeds. Not what I was expecting for the amount paid.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really thought it would work I bought a 20lb bag since I had so many places to use it. Part of my yard is very sunny. Part is very shady. I water it daily and followed all the instructions and nothing. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissappointed bought the 20 lb Bag to fill bare spots in my yard. prepped and worked the ground well and put down the seed and watered it faithfully. As of today, it has been one month.... I still have nothing coming up. This is my first time using Scotts brand.... I have never had this happen with any seed I have planted before. I thought I would splurge and buy the premium brand... big mistake I guess,and I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I bout this product three weeks ago put it down after breaking up the top layer of dirt I now have grass at least two inches tall after three weeks very pleased with its growth and filling in patches and only watered for about ten minutes once a day
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep up the great Scotts products I used it as a patch for bald patch in lawn. It worked great and provided professional outcomes. I wouldn't buy anything but Scotts. Quick results with beautiful views. I finished up with Scotts Starter fertilizer with quicker sprouts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from agreat for Fall reseed! Applied this product in early October after thatching and prepping lawn. I watered it every day with my sprinkler system. Growth started in about 14 days. had great growth and green lawn by 1st week November. This seed did the job. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not do what I expected Our large yard receives sun at different Times depending on the time of year. I thought this would work well under some of our trees where the ground reeives minimal sun. It didn't grow as well as I expected - only saw a minimal increase of grass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iIs the best seed I have ever used. I have shade & sun....work perfect for me....there is no better seed that cane be used. easy to use for an old man. Works on flat,or uneven ground. best lawn on block...uses little water. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for patching bare spots. Great for patching bare spots in my yard but tried to over seed an area with limited success. Patched several areas in my yard by scratching the surface with a rake and then spreading the grass seed. Need to keep areas moist for about a week. Grass grew very thick. I tried to over seed an area with a lot of weeds with very limited success. Watered area as I did with bare spots.. After several months I applied weed killer to the area but very little grass was growing. Had to redo several times to fill in area with grass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Had never used this product for grass seed. It worked to fill in several small areas on my lawn. I have very sandy soil and it grew fast and strong. Would use again. The packaging was of great quality and very nice to use and store. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Green Grass again I have a large tree in back yard that grass won't grow under. My yard is tall fescue. I would on several occasions sew tall fescue seed under tree. The grass would grow for a while and die out. This time I used Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade mix. I prepared the site and sewed the seed covering with straw. Watered the seed daily till germinated. I now have a green lawn again under this tree. Now my whole yard looks great. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This Grass seed works good and quickly as long as you keep it moist. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must For Bare Spots This grass seed has worked very well in shady areas. It doesn't need constant soaking to get rooted and sprout. It has come up fine in spots close to trees that don't allow a lot of sun. I have bought a different brand before and never got the results I wanted. With this product I saw the results within weeks. You can't go wrong with a Scotts product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I had a terrible 14 foot round mud area in the backyard where our trampoline had been. In addition, several other patches of dead areas from my two dogs. I bought 2 bags of this and it covered all the areas well. Within 7 days sprouts of grass. By day 10 it was an inch. I didn’t think it would work that well but was pleasantly surprised! I watered twice a day for about 10 minutes each time and did not use any other products. We simply drenched the areas, raked the mud up slightly, laid the seed, watered, and VOILA! My backyard is also half in the sun and half in the shade. Excellent product!!! Will buy again if we have any more patches.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like it says, works both sun and shade Just be sure you follow directions and water consistently until just after spouts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product that produced a beautiful lawn My front yard was nothing but mulch when we moved in and I desperately wanted to have a lush green lawn for my kids to play but didn't have the money purchase sod at the time so my husband and I researched grass seed and we both agreed to give Scotts turf builder sun and shade mix a try. We pulled out all of the mulch and tilled up the yard to prep for the seed. At first I was worried because I only saw patches of thin blades coming up but I kept up with taking care and keeping the soil wet throught the day. A few short weeks later, we went from a yard full of dirt to a yard covered in thick green grass! We were able to do this all on our own and saved so much money. I wish I could post pictures here. I am still amazed at how incredible my yard looks.
Date published: 2018-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very good grass seed My grass looks better than it ever did after using this seed in the spring. I purposely waited to review it a little longer to see how it would grow in and if it would hold up. My grass is still green and lush. Recommended [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Almost nothing grew!! I reseeded 2 areas that were probably a total of 6 square feet. The soil had been replaced with new topsoil as well. We are now going on 6 weeks and I have approximately 10-12 total sprouts. Very disappointed with the results to say the least!
Date published: 2018-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Results! I used this product as an "over seeding" to a troubled lawn with great results. The lawn can back rich and lush as if it were new sod. It did help that we got a lot of rain to supplement my watering. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-08-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very unhappy with this product, varies a lot from bag to bag I was sold on the technology of the blue coating, but in reality found this is really variable product. This time my lawn was covered with just broadleaf grass where ever I sowed it. It’s a much lighter green color than the previous few bags that I sowed the original lawn with (even though it’s the same brand and sun/shade mix) and it’s growing much faster than my regular grass - it’s all a broadleaf grass. I presume the batch wasn’t properly mixed up and now think I may have to rotavate my lawn and start again... unhappy customer and feel that Scott’s have really let me down.
Date published: 2018-08-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Blue Lawn...No Grass Purchased one bag of this horrible product and absolutely nothing happened. Not a single blade. Accidentally purchased another because I forgot which brand it was and I didn't realize my mistake until I opened the second bag of blue sawdust, so I couldn't return it. Never again.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can't recommend as seed got drowned out. In the past Scoots seed has worked pretty good but this year I was trying to sow the grass seed next to some sod next to our new condo and I didn't realize how much they watered new sod. It got to much water and to top it off when they mowed the new sod ( they let it get to tall in my opinion -12" tall ) they blew the dead grass over the area I had seeded. Seed never had a chance. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Summer in the NE and still growing Later start this year for all outdoor planting. Decided to seed a new lawn the last w/e of June 2018 in Upstate NY (heatwave). Mostly shaded area with some afternoon sun. Knowing it was a bad time of year and very hot I have been watering WELL at LEAST 3x/day. GRASS IS GROWING! Prepped ground by loosening hard soil, added some topsoil and Scotts Turf builder lawn soil, rake out add seed rake gentle lots of water. so far so excellent!
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix grows well I used a mixture of Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix®, EZ Seed mix and Turf builder starter fertilizer over fresh top soil. The key to success is to water the area three times a day for three weeks. If possible perform this before the Summer heat is in full swing. Great results. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-07-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This seed ruined my lawn! I purchased 6 bags of Scotts® Turf Builder® Grass Seed Sun & Shade Mix and am completely dissatisfied! I used the seed to reseed areas the were winter damaged (We had a lot of snow this year) I planted and watered as directed. EVERYWHERE I used this seed I have mostly a broadleaf grass. At this point I am afraid of what kind it is. It is lighter than my main grass, my yard looks like a giraffe! I would wonder if it was caused by something else, except there are areas that I missed seeding and they do not have this mess! VERY upset about this mess!
Date published: 2018-06-29
  • y_2019, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1131
  • loc_en_US, sid_105589, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.09ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.