Toro
20-Volt Cordless String Grass Trimmer / Edger, 12-In.
Model #
51484
Item #
190062
Toro

20-Volt Cordless String Grass Trimmer / Edger, 12-In.

20-Volt Cordless String Grass Trimmer / Edger, 12-In. is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 95.
  • y_2022, m_10, d_6, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_190062, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 58.15ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$115.00
In stock
Model #
51484
Item #
190062

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
This cordless string trimmer features a 12-in. cutting width, auto feed line system to keep the trim line at the right length and converts to an edger in seconds with a simple push button. Plus, the guide wheel helps you roll along smoothly & prevents scalping, telescoping aluminum shaft & adjustable assist handle provide extended reach, work grip handle reduces hand fatigue. Includes 2.0 ah battery & charger. Uses .065" single line, for replacement spool use #88532.
  • 20-volt max lithium-ion battery delivers lightweight power
  • 12-in. cutting head gets jobs done fast
  • Telescoping handle adjusts to fit your height
Specifications
Specifications
SKU190062
Weight6.000000
UPC00021038514840
Country of OriginCN
Package Width9.1
Package Length41.3
Package Height5.9
Model Number51484
BrandToro
Manufacturer NameTORO CO M/R BLWR/TRMMR
California Residents Proposition 65Warning: Cancer and Reproductive Harm www.P65Warnings.ca.gov.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this trimmer on June 9th or 10th of 2019. I live in South Dakota where Summer is roughly 4 months long and do the yard work once a week. I figure I used it no more than a total of 20 times last Summer. This Summer I used it twice and then it went dead....won't do anything. I've made sure my battery is being charged correctly and is holding it's charge. Pretty bummed as I thought TORO was a good brand.
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Quit working after a year After a year of use it has stopped working. The battery indicator says it has a full charge but it does not work at all. I might get a new battery to see if that is the problem but I hate to spend the money and then find out that that is not the problem
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent features, but poor battery choice This is a useful cordless trimmer for smaller to medium sized lawns. The only choice for a 20-volt battery appears to be somewhere between 1.5 - 2.0 amp-hours. Even after a full charge, I have ran out of power and had to stop to recharge the battery. Another 20-volt battery is not too far off from the cost of another battery-trimmer combo. It would be better if Toro offered a 4-amp hour battery for sale. Other lower tiered competitors do so and I found myself purchasing one of their cordless trimmers. Theirs perform just as well and they have a larger selection of battery capacities. The Toro trimmer will be sold.
Date published: 2020-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Trimmer great price keep the battery charged I have owned this trimmer since 2012, love it, great design, would buy again. The key to a long lasting battery is don't let it go flat! Keep it charged, throw it in the charger after you use it. This unit works great as a a trimmer and as a edger.
Date published: 2020-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Going on 6 years I have owned my trimmer almost 6 years. I purchased two batteries because I also purchased a blower. I really like my trimmer, it has never let me down, Never. I will purchase another one when that time arrives.
Date published: 2019-12-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst I've ever owned I bought this about a month ago and it has frustrated me from the beginning. The line breaks and does not advance. I remove the spool and find the line so tightly wound that it cannot advance. This happens every 15 to 20 seconds and I find 5-6 inches of broken line in my lawn. I replaced the original (very brittle) line with some I have. I read the directions and put less than 15 feet on the spool and I did not wind it very tightly but same results.
Date published: 2019-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Size This unit is the perfect size for my lot. Plenty of battery life after I finish. It works exactly like I wanted. Wish I had bought this years ago. Lightweight, dependable and easy to use.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toro 51484 12in Cordless Trimmer I purchased this unit in May 2016. I Still have the original battery. I have a little over a quarter acre. When I am done I still have 1/2 battery power. What I found best is to run the unit just before it shuts down. The battery only takes less than two hours to fully charge. The next time I use it the battery runs just fine and I do the same after I use it and run the battery down. It does great for edging on the sidewalk with the swivel feature. I like the unit.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Toro 51484 12in Cordless Trimmer I purchased this unit in May 2016. I Still have the original battery. I have a little over a quarter acre. When I am done I still have 1/2 battery power. What I found best is to run the unit just before it shuts down. The battery only takes less than two hours to fully charge. The next time I use it the battery runs just fine and I do the same after I use it and run the battery down. It does great for edging on the sidewalk with the swivel feature. I like the unit.
Date published: 2019-07-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery life I have had this unit for 3 years. Each year I have had to replace the battery even though I am careful with how long it is in the charger. I also stored the battery indoors over the winter. It does a good job trimming, but I have spent more on batteries than I originally spent on the unit. I will not be putting any more money into this trimmer.
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery life I have had this unit for 3 years. Each year I have had to replace the battery even though I am careful with how long it is in the charger. I also stored the battery indoors over the winter. It does a good job trimming, but I have spent more on batteries than I originally spent on the unit. I will not be putting any more money into this trimmer.
Date published: 2019-07-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery is worthless I wish I had read these reviews before I bought this trimmer. I am so disappointed with the battery life. I worked for about 15 minutes and then it quit. There is no led indicator light working on the battery pack which makes me wonder if it’s defective. It’s a nice trimmer but totally worthless if I can only get 15 minutes of trimming done. So disappointed.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Battery is worthless I wish I had read these reviews before I bought this trimmer. I am so disappointed with the battery life. I worked for about 15 minutes and then it quit. There is no led indicator light working on the battery pack which makes me wonder if it’s defective. It’s a nice trimmer but totally worthless if I can only get 15 minutes of trimming done. So disappointed.
Date published: 2019-06-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor battery The battery is fully charged yet I need to keep releasing the trigger and restarting because it keeps stopping after 15 seconds of running.
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor battery The battery is fully charged yet I need to keep releasing the trigger and restarting because it keeps stopping after 15 seconds of running.
Date published: 2018-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I like the swivel head and the run time on the battery is good. I can do my full yard and half my neighbours on one charge I really like and sure beats pulling on those darn cords to get the gas one going and a lot lighter as well.
Date published: 2017-09-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poor Battery Life If your yard is small and only takes 30 mins or less to mow then this trimmer is for you. Otherwise find one that has a battery life longer than 15 mins. And takes hours to charge.
Date published: 2017-06-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use but battery life is poor Cordless trimmer - quality wise seems good. Easy to use. However, battery life was really poor. 20 minute into use, battery life was already down 2 bars. With in 40 minutes, battery died. if I want to use it for longer then 40 minutes, I will have to invest in another battery.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Easy to use but battery life is poor Cordless trimmer - quality wise seems good. Easy to use. However, battery life was really poor. 20 minute into use, battery life was already down 2 bars. With in 40 minutes, battery died. if I want to use it for longer then 40 minutes, I will have to invest in another battery.
Date published: 2017-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought a second one This trimmer was purchased as a gift for my son, because I bought one for myself last summer and absolutely love it. I particularly like the line feed system; but the balance and ease of use are also pluses.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I bought a second one This trimmer was purchased as a gift for my son, because I bought one for myself last summer and absolutely love it. I particularly like the line feed system; but the balance and ease of use are also pluses.
Date published: 2016-10-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer, bad battery life Great trimmer, but I have a 1/2 acre lot. Needs at least a second battery, and even after recharging, it barely does it all. Definitely should come with 2 batteries. And of course, a second battery costs almost as much as a new trimmer.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great trimmer, bad battery life Great trimmer, but I have a 1/2 acre lot. Needs at least a second battery, and even after recharging, it barely does it all. Definitely should come with 2 batteries. And of course, a second battery costs almost as much as a new trimmer.
Date published: 2016-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TRIMMER AT A GREAT PRICE I have a small yard and bought this trimmer mainly for the price and Toro name. Now that I have used it, it believe it is very under rated. Could easily tackle bigger yard and tougher weeds no problem!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT TRIMMER AT A GREAT PRICE I have a small yard and bought this trimmer mainly for the price and Toro name. Now that I have used it, it believe it is very under rated. Could easily tackle bigger yard and tougher weeds no problem!
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product for Average Yard This trimmer does just as good a job as my older Toro one that needed a 100-ft. extension cord to cover my entire yard. However, the battery runs out after about 15 minutes and needs to be recharged. This can be quite inconvenient if and when large trimming jobs need to be done. A suggestion to Toro might be to offer a second battery at a special offer price in situations such as this.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product for Average Yard This trimmer does just as good a job as my older Toro one that needed a 100-ft. extension cord to cover my entire yard. However, the battery runs out after about 15 minutes and needs to be recharged. This can be quite inconvenient if and when large trimming jobs need to be done. A suggestion to Toro might be to offer a second battery at a special offer price in situations such as this.
Date published: 2016-06-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the power it has. I love the power it has. I would prefer it had 2 wheels for more balance. I find it very wobbly. Also, the rocks and dirt fly up and hit me. I have to hold it at an angle that is a little uncomfortable. The guard should be adjustable so you can fit it to your needs. It should come with 2 batteries. That is key to me. I would recommend it highly. It works great, light weight which is important. Great tool. You just need to make a couple of changes and it would be absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the power it has. I love the power it has. I would prefer it had 2 wheels for more balance. I find it very wobbly. Also, the rocks and dirt fly up and hit me. I have to hold it at an angle that is a little uncomfortable. The guard should be adjustable so you can fit it to your needs. It should come with 2 batteries. That is key to me. I would recommend it highly. It works great, light weight which is important. Great tool. You just need to make a couple of changes and it would be absolutely perfect.
Date published: 2016-05-27
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Ease in using. I am disappointed that the 20Volt battery is not compatible with the other two Toro 20Volt piece of equipment I have. (hedge trimmer and blower). The reason I bought the trimmer is so that I would have batteries that were inner changeable.
Date published: 2016-05-25
  • y_2022, m_10, d_6, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_190062, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.14ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]