IMPORTANT: Shipping options & delivery times have changed and customer service response time has been affected by high order volume.

Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯

Troy-Bilt

Snow Thrower, 2-Stage, 272cc 4-Cycle Engine, 28-In.

Snow Thrower, 2-Stage, 272cc 4-Cycle Engine, 28-In. is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 33.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_254961, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48.6ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$1,559.00
In stock
Model #
31AH7FP4766
Item #
254961

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Troy-bilt, 28", 2 stage, gas snow thrower, 272 cc, 4 cycle troy bilt ohv engine, push button electric start installed, power steering, 28" clearing width, 21" intake height, serrated auger design, steel gears in cast aluminum gear box, large 12" impeller, 6 forward/2 reverse speeds, single hand operation, clutch lock system, ergonomically designed control panel, overhead 2 way remote pitch control, extended chute, rugged 5" polymer chute, d-track drive system creates 50% more ground contact, providing added stability & traction in heavy snow, 3 position lever shifts the machine weight for optimum performance, in dash halogen headlight, heated handles, 5 qt fuel tank capacity, deluxe reversible poly skid shoes, chute clearing device standard, oil included in engine, fully assembled, 2 year limited warranty.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 254961
Clearing Width (in.) 25 - 29
Weight 255.000000
UPC 00043033586004
Country of Origin US
Package Width 31.5
Package Length 49.5
Package Height 34.0
Model Number 31AH7FP4766
Brand Troy-Bilt
Manufacturer Name MTD PRODUCTS INC
California Residents Proposition 65 Warning: This product can expose you to chemicals including engine exhaust, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer, and carbon monoxide, which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best Buy for the Included Features and Build Qual. I believe this Troy-Built unit is the best value in a tracked snowblower that you can purchase anywhere. I am in northern Idaho and have an 800 foot gravel driveway, the initial 150 feet of which is on a pretty severe grade (10 to 20%). Even though I have a pickup and ATV the fact that the driveway is gravel precludes the use of a plow. I looked at many brands, including those that cost thousands more than the Troy-Built and decided on this model. This is the third winter for this unit. Typical snowstorms here average 2”-6” with an occasional 10”-12” storm. Because of the length and type of my driveway it is easy to imagine that a typical use would last more than 10 times longer than what most folks would need with a typical urban driveway. A great torture test to say the least. Although the unit was not problem free, I have a lot of good things to say about it. OBSERVATIONS: First and foremost, I noticed that it performed great in most conditions. The steep portion of my driveway was the ultimate test and it did well, even when faced with the occasional icy conditions. A wheeled unit simply would never have worked with my situation. Hooray! Electric start – be aware that this unit does not have a battery and requires that you plug it into a 120 volt outlet to use the electric start. The thing is that I feel it is not needed and I never used it. Very easy to start as there is little resistance and fires up ion first pull Overall, steering via the Touch N Turn system worked well. Users must note that this type of tracked steering requires a slippery surface to operate, so trying to get the unit to turn on dry cement is not going to happen (will require some manhandling). I consider this a minor inconvenience. I did find the gear ratios to be a bit funky but switching between them was super easy. First gear was just a little too fast to bite through the compressed snow piles that the roadcrew snowplows would leave for me. The fastest gear was just right but there was little difference between 3rd and 5th gears (so at least one of them could be eliminated). There are two reverse speeds with very little difference noted between them. I only used the fastest one as I considered the slow one to be useless. This model has a gravel setting on the height adjustment which was the default setting that I used. The height adjustment is lever operated so I could quickly switch to a standard setting when doing my cement walkways. Due to the length of the driveway you can imagine that each time I took it out that it would be operated for an extended period. Any moderate snowfall would cause me to have to stop at some point to refill the gas tank. I do realize that for most folks that this would not be an issue. Most users know that your gloves will almost always get wet when using a snowblower so the electric hand warmers (built into the handlebars) were great! They only took 5-10 minutes to get to temperature. Headlight. Most folks who use snowblowers at night know that the typical headlight that comes with the snowblower (that doesn’t have a battery starter) is poor at anything below full throttle. At full throttle it is usable but not great. A common option is for folks to purchase an optional LED lamp (or build one themselves). I’d like to see it offered as an option. I liked the electric chute control. I felt it was not a necessity but was still a nice option that was included on the model. Just be aware that it works best when the engine is at a high throttle. Build quality was a bit mixed. First the good. On several occasions I unintentionally discovered just how well made the general metalwork was on the auger, housing and the rest of the machine. The first time I, “Abused” the machine was when we had a snowstorm cover up some tools and miscellaneous equipment (from a garage addition going on). I had it at full throttle when, “Blam”, a pair of pliers went flying out of the chute! Although the pliers were destroyed a check of the augers and other components showed no damage! A few minutes later a screwdriver followed suit, again with no damage to the unit except for a broken shear pin. Replaced the pin and a few minutes later I’m back at blowing snow. As you can imagine the gravel driveway also provided it’s fair share of oversized rocks that caused broken shear pins over time (but that is what they are designed to do). Great job overall Troy-Built! Now for the negatives, which thankfully are just two. The warranty is for two years, a plus. In year three I experienced the main issue which was that the engine would suddenly quit running for no apparent reason. After much troubleshooting the issue was determined to be that the grounding wire to turn off the engine was shorted due to a faulty plastic insulator that vibrated out of its holder (a press/fiction fit). Hopefully they have corrected this issue. The second issue is that the chute control stopped working and required parts replacement. Not really unexpected and was still fully usable via backup controls Overall I feel the build quality is great in metalwork and good mechanically. THE GOOD: • Very good performance overall • Tracked system • Great steering controls • Main metal components take a lot of punishment • Weight transfer/height adjustment system • Heated handlebars • Shifting transmission COULD IMPROVE: • Transmission gear ratios (could remove 2 unnecessary gears) • Attachment hardware/methodology on some engine components [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Many problems Steering function (both ways) does not work. Call to company did not help. Engine runs rough after some amount of use. No local designated service facility. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does well Just what I was looking for at a fair price and well built. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2020-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine! I'm on my third winter with it, my driveway is 450ft long, uphill. 4 passes and i can drive up and down. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Snow Blower I have now used this snow blower twice. Coming from wheeled versions, there's a little learning curve to operating a tracked version. But, I am enjoying the tracks - I no longer have to worry about wheel spin; it just goes. My biggest complaint is the handle controlling the discharge chute (up/down, not side to side) - it seems to always fall to the farthest back position from the machine's vibration no matter where else I try to position it. I'm quite disappointed with this feature, but overall, I'm very happy with the unit as a whole after my two uses. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Eady operation I got this last month because my husband wanted it before we started getting storms here in Fargo, North Dakota. He was able to use it yesterday and will have to use it again today. He has severe shoulder problems, so can not help me shovel snow. I am 51 and he is 61. We have 3 neighbor friends who are also 50's to 70's with medical problems. We live in a mobile home park and the road was plowed yesterday in a lull in the snow storm. My husband easily cleared the snow bank in front of our parking lot and then cleared our lot around our cars. He then continued to do the same for our 3 neighbors. After putting the snow blower back in the shed, and easily cleaning it up, he came back into the house and couldn't stop praising his new "play toy". This is the first winter, in the 20 1/2 years of our marriage, that he has not complained constantly about the snow. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-12-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 stage blower is a poor design and waste of money Two outer augers get clogged unless you are blowing dry power snow. Pushes the snow better that blowing. Move 10 feet, stop and clean augers. Poor design and would not purchase another three stage. My neighbor has a two stage and cleans his driveway in a quarter of the time it takes me. I live in mountains of Colorado and we seldom deal with wet snow and the auger head still gets clogged at the two outer augers then pushes snow better than blowing it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from needed a track driven snowblower have a steep driveway and tracks go up and down easily [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of Operation--Great Traction My biggest concern in buying a snowblower was the 4% grade of my brick paver driveway coupled with 17 years of sealer that are on it. It is so slippery that after a snowfall, you can stand on the top and without moving your feet, slide all the way down to the bottom. I have a concrete co. (43 years) and up until this year, have had my Bobcat parked in the garage for snow removal. After getting rid of my Bobcat, and reading the reviews on this snowblower, I decided to give it a try. This snowblower is amazing! Not only will it practically drag me up the slippery driveway, but it will throw the snow almost all the way across it, at 42'. The ease of operation is also extremely beneficial as I am 70 years old. I have only owned it for 3 months now, but I figured I gave it a pretty good workout, as we have had the snowiest Feb. in Mn. history this year. Thank You for a great product.
Date published: 2019-02-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from workes very good on deper snow have used my 2890 for 42 months in Yakima Washington
Date published: 2019-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Reserving Judgement Just had it delivered. Tried working my way through the User Manual. WHAT A JOKE! #1, there should be an easy-to-follow online video available to show how to assemble the snow thrower. #2, there should be a specific video and User Manual for each variation of the snow thrower. In other words, the User Manual should be specific to the EXACT model that was delivered. Why should your customers have to figure out which of five different chute designs that came with their unit? #3, the unit was shipped with just enough oil to hit the LOW mark on the oil stick. Now I have to go out in a snowstorm to buy oil before I can safely use the unit. I can see where you might not want to fill the oil to brim for shipping and handling purposes, but would it have killed you to ship a small container of oil with each unit? Not off to a very good start. Hopefully I can get it assembled correctly and filled with the correct oil. I've made a big investment in this snow thrower and we're off to a disappointing start.
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a Beast! I bought this snowblower to replace my old one that finally cost more to repair than it was worth. I did my research and this brand is highly rated and this model gets high marks too. My driveway is on an incline and is 3 cars wide at the top and narrows to 2 car width at the street, about 50 feet long. This wide 28 inch unit makes quick work of the drive. The track drive is great on the incline and the power steering makes turning around a breeze. This unit is heavy and seems well constructed but easy to maneuver. Easy to pull start. Engine seems powerful. Bought from my local dealer which definitely increased my confidence to buy it and so glad that I did!
Date published: 2019-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I bought this last November. Used it all winter. Always started on first try and made clearing my 300 yard driveway a breeze.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works good! does not spin like tire would. I have almost a year! hard working unit. no problems with unit yet. heated grips are nice.
Date published: 2018-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One season too late Last year winter 2016-17 we were hammered with snow here in Oregon, they shut down the gorge for a couple of weeks. I was using a single stage 2-stroke pusher, I worked the heck out of it in 18-20 inches of snow, I clear for 12 houses. This year I wanted to be better prepared. I read reviews both good and bad about this blower for 2 months, pulled the trigger and bought it before the snow came. It arrived well crated and in excellent condition. I followed the directions and had it ready for the snow in about an hour. This snow blower didn't disappoint. I plugged it in for the first start and it was running as soon as my thumb hit the button, very impressed. My driveway is 17 degrees which is why I ordered the tracked version. It was pulling me up the driveway, I set it up a notch and cleared a path around my house again going up 17+ degrees of lawn throwing the snow and not the grass... very pleased. The only complaint I have if you can call it that is on dry concrete it doesn't turn well due to so much traction. But I've found if you tilt it back on the tracks it turns just fine. If you're on snow it turns just fine. This year we only had 8 to 10 inches at a time and it cleared as though there was no snow at all. I think I'm the only one on the street hoping for more snow this year. I would recommend this product to any homeowner.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Real Life Saver! I own a cabin In the mountains at around 3800 foot elevation. Last winter, which was one of the heaviest snowfalls in the region in 50 years, I had to shovel snow by hand off of the cabin roof and driveway area. This took place before I took delivery of my Storm Tracker 2890 Snow Thrower, and ultimately landed me in the hospital with a diagnosis of cold weather fatigue/exhaustion. My 2890 literally was a life saver. Later that winter (2017), I blew through snow berms higher than the hood of the machine, as we had nearly 4 feet of accumulation. This winter, I have blown out the area twice with a snow depth of around 30 inches each time. I spent quite a few evenings researching many different brands and models, and I am convinced that I made the right choice. Because this machine is outfitted with tracks instead of wheels, it is way better suited for extreme snow removal tasks such as I have to deal with. I usually have to start it in sub freezing temperatures, so as long as the power is on, I just plug in the electric start. To those who have had operational issues or complaints, here are some tips from my own experiences: In deep snow (28"+), make a complete swath on the opposite side to which you are throwing the snow. Then, just take half width bites if necessary. Never try to turn the machine into the snow side, but away from it because the side hood will not push the wall of snow out of the way and your outside track will just spin. Same for backing up. You can't turn the hood into the snow, or the track will spin out. There is nothing wrong with the steering, one just has to learn how to properly operate the machine. Believe me, when working with deep snow, I have learned how to make the machine work for me, and not have to manhandle it around. This is one amazing piece of machinery. You will not be disappointed in purchasing one.
Date published: 2018-03-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tracks are the way to go Bought this unit to replace a 15 year old Yard King 10/29. I have used it through 5 storms so far and it has exceeded my expectations in every way. The tracks allow variable down force so I can set it to skim over the top of my gravel driveway leaving stones undisturbed, or move a lever to apply down force and scrape it down to bare pavement. Heated hand grips are great and the power steering means just about anyone can use this machine with ease. Having had several wheeled snow blowers, I can honestly say that I will never buy one of those again! The tracks are awesome.
Date published: 2017-12-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2890 Review I purchased the blower in November and used it in 2 storms. The first storm dropped ~8" and the blower did a great job. The tracks allowed me to walk up a fairly steep driveway without issue and the blower cleared a path with ease. The second storm dropped ~12" and in the process of clearing a driveway, the main gearbox (for the stage 1 auger) failed. Shear pins did not break nor did I hit anything but snow. The unit was repaired under warranty. The repair shop had to negotiate on my behalf to get a new gearbox...as the unit was brand new and not even scratched yet. The apparent cause of the failure was a lack of (factory) lubricant within the sealed gearbox. The factory finally agreed and replaced the gearbox with a new one. My issue is it took 4 weeks to get the part to the repair house. I've since used the repaired snow thrower and it works as expected. This failure happened in the dead of winter. I was lucky that we did not have any significant snows while my unit was in for repair.
Date published: 2017-03-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Machine Works great. The only thing keeping me from giving it four stars is the fact that the power steering doesn't work very well. Seems to work okay only occasionally. This is the second one they sent me and I am still disappointed with the steering performance. I still have to wrestle it to turn.
Date published: 2017-01-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from five star I was very lucky I decided to get this unit. I clear the snow around my yard then head down the street and clear the drive way next door. It has started on the 3rd pull every time even at zero degrees .
Date published: 2017-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good investment I purchased this specific model because of its good reviews. I have used it twice in the last week and so far it has lived up to the reviews. My driveway is gravel, 1,000 feet long, with a moderate incline (40 feet elevation change top to bottom). I also have a concrete pad at the top and a large gravel area in front of my barn. The first snow was only about 4 inches but I decided to see if it would clear the concrete pad. I had no issues and the blower did a decent job with the small amount of snow available. The second snow was heavier, but due to the high winds there was no consistent amount to measure. Some parts of my drive were bare and some drifted to 18 inches. I made four passes in the dark on the driveway, which cleared the entire width. I had it set on the gravel setting and had no issues with throwing gravel into the grass. One item to note - the light was insufficient - had it not been a full moon I would have had difficulty seeing. The following morning I did the concrete pad, the driveway again, the area around the barn, and a small portion of the grass (for the dogs). I had no issues with the performance of the blower on any of the surfaces or inclines. I marked durability as average because the machine is too new to decide. I marked down ease of use because it would take three hands to keep the machine blowing snow while changing directions and still throwing the snow where you want it (I have no recommendation on how to improve that - just offering my observation). I marked down ease of starting because after refueling it didn't start on the first pull like it did when it was cold (unheated storage location). To put this all in perspective, under identical conditions last year it took my son and I nine hours with shovels to do what I did in about two hours by myself with the blower. I spent a couple weeks reading reviews on all the different makes and styles of blowers before I purchased this specific blower and after the purchase I was still wondering if my money was well spent. Now that I have had reason to use it I'm confident my money was spent wisely.
Date published: 2016-01-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with selection Setup was easy, but the cable adjustment for the auger and drive was a bit confusing because only one of the two identical bolts is used to tighten, the other is just a guide for the bracket. Also there is typo on the drive adjustment instruction. This engine Is so easy to pull start, I haven't had to use electric starter! The steering triggers are wonderful, as is the one hand control (track lock), fast chute direction change, and heated grips. My 4 star rating on durability is based on the rather flimsy feel of the handle when you go to move or turn the machine. Seems like they should be more rigid to match the weight of the machine.
Date published: 2016-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product This was purchased to upgrade from the Storm 2410, as my driveway isn't fully level due to cracks and heaving. The tracked unit is great as it has adjustments for surface grades. The steering feature also helps as the unit doesn't require pivoting on the skids.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver "I'd hate to live here in the winter" is the general response I get from people visiting my house and looking at my long, steep driveway. I searched for a long time to get a snowblower that could handle the often slushy and deep NJ snow. This is the snowblower of my dreams. It goes up (and down) the driveway easily but never out of control. In fact, if I stop it midway down it won't even roll on it's own. That proves to be annoying when I want to move it without starting it, but otherwise it's a necessity. You won't be disappointed with this. The headlight is great, it never clogs, and starts on the first pull every time (it has electric start that I've never used).
Date published: 2015-02-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exactly what I needed I needed a machine that could handle my extremely steep and uneven driveway. It is basically a mountain trail with side slants and some 23% grade inclines, which is really too steep for a driveway but if you want to live on the side of a mountain that's part of the price. Winter is always an adventure at our house It's so steep that a previous large wheeled thrower couldn't climb it due to lack of traction and I couldn't keep it in a straight line to save my life due to all the bucking and side jumping in the rough uneven spots. I needed something that could not only climb back up the hill but throw snow at the same time. My 2890 arrived today. Only took a few minutes to set up and get it started. A few minutes on level ground getting used to the controls then down the hill I went, praying this monster could get itself back up the hill because there was no way I would be dragging it back up. It not only climbed back up, easily throwing snow the whole way, but it was extremely icy underneath the snow in some spots and almost impossible for me to walk on and this machine basically drug me up the hill with it. It saved me from landing on my face and kept me moving uphill in a smooth, non stop fashion. It has such great traction and lots of power. I found it easy to steer and keep in control and oh boy can it toss snow. I drove it out into an open area with month old, dense, wet snow settled to about 8"-10" deep now. Cut right through it down to the grass and tossed it plenty far enough away. I'd read where some people complain about how tracked throwers turn, but I find this one turns on a dime quickly and easily. As big as it is I was a bit concerned about controlling it but that concern quickly disappeared as I maneuvered it into some tough angles and weird spots. Some reviews expressed concern that reverse speed is too slow in this series of throwers. To me reverse is just to reposition. The thing basically does a zero turn so I just spin it around to go back rather than backing up in reverse for any distance. Don't muscle it, let it do the work with maybe just a little pressure from you now and then and it does great. Its got 6 forward speeds and I doubt I'll ever use them all. I went the 300' down one lane and back up the other lane in 4 mins and 20 seconds in 2nd speed and I felt like I was traveling plenty fast enough. I am extremely happy with this purchase. I know I wished others would have provided more detail so I hope this review is helpful Actually looking forward to the next big storm now.
Date published: 2015-01-22
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_33
  • loc_en_US, sid_254961, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 12.97ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.