Bosch
Multi Wall Scanner
Model #
GMS 120
Item #
214395
Bosch

Multi Wall Scanner

Multi Wall Scanner is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_214395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42.28ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$99.99
In stock
Model #
GMS 120
Item #
214395

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Multi-mode detection - For wood studs, metal objects (rebar, studs and steel/copper pipes) and live wiring
  • Latest three sensor technology - Offers a wide range of detection performance - up to 4-3/4-Inch (121mm) deep in cured concrete
  • Three selection modes (Wood, Metal, AC Wiring) - With automatic calibration for easy and precise detection
  • Illuminated Graphical LCD Display - Indicates mode, detection strength, and more
  • Audible Detection Signal - With On/Off button
Specifications
Specifications
SKU214395
Weight1.260000
UPC00000346423228
Country of OriginMY
Package Width6.5
Package Length10.25
Package Height3.0
Model NumberGMS 120
BrandBosch
Manufacturer NameROBERT BOSCH TOOL GROUP
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for hanging TVs [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I use this for hanging TVs and it makes my life easier
Date published: 2021-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does The Job [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Purchased the other day and seem to work perfectly fine for wood. I did not try the other options but impressed with the build.
Date published: 2021-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bosch is the Best [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I’ll just answer the next question for my review! YES I would recommend this product to a friend, so they STOP borrowing MINE!
Date published: 2021-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work This device fails to find wall studs all the time. Then changes it mind where the stud is on pass after another. Totally useless.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This has got to be the most expensive worst scanner I have ever used. I can knockon the wall with better results.
Date published: 2021-03-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cant find anything Tested it on a gyproc wall , the wall is open on the side , i can see the thrusts whit my bare eyes and the detector doesnt find it , and when it finds something !! You put your mark and put the detector on the mark aigain ... it says its clear and now the thrust is 6po left in the void ??? I cant imagine someone working whit electric detection its dangerous
Date published: 2021-02-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It's ok I find it's a little unreliable with studs and is less sensitive than a cheaper one I have for detecting hidden live wire, but one must also understand how it works. They all have a temperament and you can do experiments to figure out how it works best before starting to rely on it. It is handy that it has so many features, like tracing copper pipe which isn't terrible. That all said, for what I do get out of it, I feel it could have been priced a little lower considering it performance. I'd pay a little more for more accuracy.
Date published: 2021-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use! Just ordered this scanner to find studs to hang shelves and this tool made the job of finding studs so easy!!
Date published: 2020-12-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work This device simply does not detect wood. It damages your reputation.
Date published: 2020-12-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not so sensitive anymore. I bought this product about 10 months ago and at first it was great and was able to detect also live wires very accurately. I just needed to use it this month to scan a wall to ensure there are no live wires and it did not detect anything. As a safety check I scanned where I am sure there is a live wire behind the drywall and it was not detecting it. This us very upsetting as I used to love this tool but not trusting it anymore now. It sounds like it lost its calibration or sensitivity.
Date published: 2020-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The worst Bosh product ! I am so disappointed about that stud finder that not only did I dispose of it at our local recycling center I promised myself to avoid Bosh tools next time... Its an over engineered product - its way too complicated to use and the user manual is difficult to follow to calibrate unit such as finding which button is no 5 on the unit and then the name plate orientation etc... The tools comes with a nice pouch and produces a nice light show but it simply cannot consistently locate a wooden stud quickly without any erratic results. I still cannot believe Bosh is still offering this product after so many negative reviews.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Total rubbish I only buy and use Bosch pro tools and have been very happy with all until now. I bought one and thought it was faulty as it said my doors had electrical wires in them my whole bathroom was electricized. could not find any studs said the whole dry wall was solid. I had it replaced and the same thing. Taking it back tomorrow and getting a better one that works..
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Gosht material detection, not reliable Tested in some many different surfaces and every time I got wrong readings
Date published: 2020-07-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sensitivity Easy to use. Moving it slowly over the walls seems more accurate in the rebar or stud locations.
Date published: 2020-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Completely useless device. Does nothing Had this for a couple of years, and its simply never worked. I've had pretty good luck with Bosch branded tools, and was hoping this would be a step up. Instead, a step down, basically, all the way down to zero. Its worth nothing....at all. Doesn't find wood, doesn't find metal, doesn't really find anything. Rapping on the wall with my knuckle is way more accurate. Worthless
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Good Should have read these reviews 1st. Used the scanner to find studs under tile in order to install grab bars for my elderly mom. Consistently was off and drilled into dry wall - not a wooden stud.
Date published: 2019-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good tool This easy-to-use stud/metal/wire finder is great, Quality good.
Date published: 2019-11-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GMS-120 Could Be Better My expectations were high, after all this is a Bosch product. Studs were found but it took a few repetitions. I like that you can mark through the tool with a pencil. It is most important to move slowly, at a constant motion and flat to the wall. My walls are textured and this was somewhat difficult. I did not think that the display was bright enough and hard to read unless you were in front of the screen.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from GMS 120 not worth to buy I bought my GMS 120 3 months ago and I regret. I specifically was looking for a detector of live wires. This Bosh 120 struggle even to detect a exposed wire. I took it back the store and exchange it for another GMS 120 and I got the same results. I am a big fan of Bosh tools but I will not recommend anyone to buy the GMS120
Date published: 2019-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Straight Trash!!! I have had this "dud" finder for a year now and it does nothing but give false readings for everything, can barely can find a stud, and cannot be trusted. I cannot express my disappointment wasting the money that I did for this piece of junk. All the other Bosch product I own are great but this stud finder is furiously disappointing!
Date published: 2019-09-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worthless tool This scanner generates erroneous data Bosch refused to properly support me in replacing this tool Do not buy this scanner
Date published: 2019-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Just doesnt work I was feeling confident after ten or so passes at every interval that the marks would at least hit wood if not the center. Nope several inches off on one side or another for four out of five studs.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Using it So far so good. Lighting helps in dark spaces like under a counter.
Date published: 2019-02-22
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Voie pas les fils électrique J'ai essayé l'appareil chez moi j'ai trouvé facilement les montants mai pour les fils électriques il les a pas détecté
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes Walls Invisible I used my Bosch GMS 120 for the first time during my garage organization project. My outside walls are concrete or stucco, inside and ceiling are dry wall. The hurricane resistant construction uses a combination of steel and wood studs. The versatility and accuracy of the GMS 120 made my project a breeze.
Date published: 2018-10-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from useless junk I bought this unit last week. It's going BACK to the store. Mostly missed the beams and wires. Drill holes in the walls ALL missed the beams 8 drill holes missed the beams. Sorry Bosch but it's an expensive piece of junk.
Date published: 2018-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A lot of false reading Its giving a lot of false reading, I am not using it any more
Date published: 2018-01-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Frustratingly Inconsistent I had and used a Stanley for years that was good/acceptable. When it was lost, I felt it as a contractor it was a good time to upgrade to what I considered a no-brainer “best” as I have many Bosch tools and lasers, and they have been my go-to when I want assured reliability. This unit has been a complete disappointment. I’ve used it many times with disappointing results that I always considered may have been environmental or challenging conditions. But most recently, when attempting to scan a clear, flat, new drywall surface in a new home for TV hanging, it failed to detect a stud over a 6’ span, even though there was an access hole that I was able to use a mirror to see wood studs, and there was an electrical receptacle mounted to a stud. In fact, I could find a stud with the mirror, tap on the wall to find a confirm it, screwed into it, but ran the detector ran over it as though there was nothing there at all. At different times it registered full red and center stud for areas where there was nothing. With the homeowner watching, it was actually embarrassing. Surprised and disappointed and need a reliable solution.
Date published: 2017-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Testing Stud finder Bought the stud finder to locate metal studs in a trailer behind plywood. Seems to work fine but the audio is a frequency and audio level that I can't hear.
Date published: 2017-08-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works better than standard stud finders I've had this for a year now and used in several situations. It takes a bit to get used to, AKA read the directions. But works better than standard stud finders I've used in the past.
Date published: 2017-08-17
  • y_2022, m_8, d_12, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_49
  • loc_en_US, sid_214395, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.32ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]