Scotts
Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass, 3-Lbs.
Scotts

Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass, 3-Lbs.

Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass, 3-Lbs. is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 82.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_153577, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 45.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$12.49
In stock
Model #
21701
Item #
153577

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
With Scotts® Turf Builder® Starter® Food for New Grass, your seedlings will benefit from a combination of nutrients that will satisfy their special needs. The Starter® Food gives new grass a quick start by promoting faster root and blade development, and the 24-25-4 fertilizer ratio provides the ideal nutrient balance for your developing lawn. Improves seeding results while also being great for sod and grass plugs. New grass grows 70% thicker AND 35% quicker versus unfed grass, which will have you on your way to the lawn you've always wanted--faster. Safe for any grass type, whether you're planting new grass, starting a new lawn, or reseeding an existing one.
  • Grows new grass 70% thicker, 35% quicker versus unfed grass
  • Improves seeding results; also great for sod and grass plugs
  • 24-25-4 fertilizer ratio provides the nutrients for developing lawns
  • Safe for any grass type, whether you're planting new grass, starting a new lawn, or reseeding an existing one
  • Not sold in the state of Florida
Specifications
Specifications
SKU153577
Coverage (sq. ft.)4,000 or less
Weight3.340000
UPC00032247217019
Country of OriginUS
Package Width3.5
Package Length9.0
Package Height12.0
Model Number21701
BrandScotts
Assembled Width9.2
Assembled Length4.2
Assembled Height30.0
Manufacturer NameSCOTTS LAWNS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great I am the only one on my block that doessn't hire a lawn service to cut and maintain their lawn. With this product my lawn looks as good as everyone else, in other words, Great. It is easy, and more affodable then alawn service.
Date published: 2014-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works I just moved into my newly built home at the end of July 14. My land had top soil applied with hydroseed. I had been watering daily and had a lot of sprouts but also had a lot of bare/dry spots. I started researching and read some good things about Scott's products. I started researching and came across the food for new grass. I picked up a few bags and a spreader. I followed the instructions and applied on August 20 (5 days ago), just after my first mowing. I've continued my normal watering schedule and I am amazed at the difference I have seen in 5 days. The sprouts have really thickened up and taken root and the bald areas are starting to see more sprouts. I'm sure that as the weeks go by, the lawn will look better and better. In fact, my neighbors had their lot hydroseeded probably a month or more before mine and they even commented how much better my lawn looks than their own. I told them I watered, they said they did, also, I told them I used scott's fertilizer, they said, ahhhh.
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy and Effective I have been using this product in various places throughout my yard. I was able to see the results right away when I started to patch some bare spots. I did some spots with the Scotts® Turf Builder® Starter® Food for New Grass and some without. The areas where it was used flourished quicker.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thickens the new lawn I experimented and did not put the fertilizer in one small area. Within 10-14 days you could see the difference that Turf Builder Starter makes the new seed pop out of the dirt.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worked well for patching I used Starter Food in an area where I fixed numerous small bare spots in a well-shaded area. It helped the spots fill in quickly and turned a patchy mess into the best area of my yard! I thought the price was a little high for the size of the bag, but I will definitely use it again.
Date published: 2014-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I used Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for my lawn when I reseeded and I ended up with great results. It definitely added to my grass growth.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Restored what Army Worms Destroyed I hired a local landscape company to install 4 pallets of Bermuda Sod in mid June. Thirty days later, Army Worm eggs in the sod hatched and nearly decimated the new growth within a three day period. Once the worms were eliminated, I purchased a bag of the starter fertilizer and watered for two weeks. I now have a thick deep green lawn again.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Would recommend to a friend I have sodded my lawn two summers in a row. Its an ongoing process. And I've added this starter each time. The results are obvious. I would totally recommend this to anyone planting new grass.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I'm an avid Scott's user and I love this product . I use it anytime I plant new grass or fill in spots and it's never let me down. Really helps the grass grow when used correctly. I could tell a huge difference when used and not used.
Date published: 2014-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product played as a huge successor in the start of my lawn. I am a very proud owner of a new lawn. I all of my success to the lawn food. It has helped with the development and the strength that it has. I am sure that the lawn will with stand the test of time. Thanks for the help.
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scotts® Turf Builder® Starter® Food for New Grass REALLY worked! For years, I had been battling trying to grow grass on one side of my house, where this portion of my lawn received the least amount of sun during the day. A friend of mine recommended Scotts® Turf Builder® Starter® Food for New Grass, to me and really urged me to give it a try. I purchased a bag and put it out the same afternoon. I am so pleased to say that I now have gorgeous, thick, rich, green grass on the side of my house, that used to be so sad looking and dingy! I cannot recommend Scotts® Turf Builder® Starter® Food for New Grass enough! THANK YOU Scotts® for an amazing product!!
Date published: 2014-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is really works for a newly sodded lawn. I used this product to my newly sodded lawn. It worked!!!
Date published: 2014-06-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product works great as advertised Put new sod down it late may. My backyard is full sun all day used new grass fertilizer 1 1/2 weeks after sodding applied and it rained the next day.
Date published: 2014-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT ! This fertilizer works great. I have used it 2 weeks after I over seeded my lawn with Scott's sun and shade mix and results are fantastic. new seedlings growing nice and thick and my established grass looks healthier. I am in love with Scott's products.
Date published: 2014-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Green and Thick Quick! I over seeded the 1st of April and used this product right after re-seeding. It definitely made my lawn healthier, and bounced back quick from the bad winter we had. I received a lot of compliments from neighbors on how great my lawn looks! Used it as instructed. It was a brand new home built last summer and the sod was put down in the heat of summer that hurt it and looked like a mess. When September finally rolled around, I used Scott's Turf Builder WinterGuard Fall Lawn Food in early September and once more after the last mowing (November sometime). Those (2 applications of Scott's Turf Builder WinterGuard Fall Lawn in September and November along with Scott's Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass in early April since I re-seeded) definitely helped make my lawn thick, healthy and green! It really looks amazing. Some of the different variation of grass length in the picture is due to a new underground irrigation system that the lawn is recovering from still.
Date published: 2014-04-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for New Grass I just had my yard hydro-seeded recently. My yard consisted mostly of clay so I brought in some nutrient rich top soil which was spread around the yard 2-3" deep. After the grass began to germinate and grow, it was obvious that in certain areas the dirt was not spread evenly. The grass was growing slower in those areas (still healthy just slow in comparison to the rest of the yard). So at week 7 of our hydro-seeded lawn I used 'Scotts Turf Builder Starter Food for New Grass' to help advance these slow growing areas. I followed the instructions on the bag and spread it with a Scotts spreader set to my area. This product work fantastic! We are approaching week 9 and I can see significant growth happening in the slower areas as well as a rich thick grass in all other areas. I plan on using the Starter again in 4 weeks to continue this pattern of growth and build a solid root system for our new fescue grass.
Date published: 2013-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not impressed We purchased this product because our local "big box" retailer recommended it and said it was one of Scotts best products. We followed the directions exactly as the bag said and well I am looking at my lawn this week (2 weeks later) and I see a ton of crabgrass, clover, and other weeds and only a little grass. I am very disappointed we paid so much for the product and we have a bunch of weeds. I would not recommended it at all, especially for the price we paid per bag.
Date published: 2013-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Reclaimed a neglected lawn fast! We had moved into a home with a lawn that had been overtaken by ivy on one side. It was nearly fall and we worried too late to start a new lawn. We used the water-smart seeds, this fertilizer, and lime, and hoped for the best. We were so impressed with the results! It's a thick, green lawn barely three weeks after seeding. We didn't expect that at all - everything exceeded our best hopes! Thank you!
Date published: 2012-10-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from wow...quickly restored a tired lawn while propogating new seed! In the past, i had experienced burning with the combination weed and feeds. This was the advised product to use as i'm overseeding and repairing damaged sights since it won't interfere with germination. In combination with the autumnal rains, this greened up a summer distressed lawn to match the newly germinating growth...what a pleasure to look out the window at that incredible color again!
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent growth that starts almost immediately! I bought a bag of this while overseeding this Fall and I am very impressed with this product. I've been waiting to overseed this gross lawn which had a huge ring of death after the round of Scotts Fertilizer with Plus 2 Weed Control I put down when we moved here in the Spring. This Starter fertilizer definitely works as advertised--it even made the existing grass shoot up with new growth! I'm using it again next Spring when I overseed.
Date published: 2012-10-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to grow Very easy to grow. Watered 2 times a day and on day 6 we had new grass growing. A few weeks later it already needed to be mowed. I recommend this seed for anyone that needs to plant seed.
Date published: 2012-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time user, what a difference I got a small package when I bought some seed and I figured I would try it. Well it was fantastic. I have always had trouble getting new seed to start an take hold and this starter worked so well I bought a big bag the next time.
Date published: 2012-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must buy! Whenever I seed in the fall I must apply a bag of starter fertilizer. The results are amazing. It's like my lawn is on steroids. Greener and stronger then ever. My neighbors always ask me how I do it as if it's some big mystery. It's always the same answer...just use Scotts!
Date published: 2012-09-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great stuff I had a red clay and sandy area that wouldn't grow grass.I bought some mof the bermuda seed and this starter fertilizer and now I have beautiful grass.I had left over and I spread it out on the rest of my grass and it went bang.It's great stuff.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect!!! This is the 5th year since building our home that we have used Scotts products. This month we over seeded and used the starter fertilizer after dethatching the lawn 3 weeks ago...in Central PA. Today is 28 Sep 2012 and the results are great, the lawn has recovered and the young grass is showing. As always Scotts provides excellent products!
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New sod put dowm helped root growth Excellent for new sod put dowm Sod marks disappeared fast came in green and roots took
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product for my new grasss fertilized with this product before spreading new seed. The results are absolutely amazing.
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works the FIRST go around! Our yard was oe of the first four of a larger subdivision...where the first 4 yards were not sodded...the othe 25 were!...our yards looked awful. We tried a couple fo things with no success, ten we tried: weed and feed, seed,and fertilizer...your first tree steps...easy!...we got beautiful green stand of grass..and eveyone commented on ow nice it now looks and the other 3 homeowners without sod,like us waanted to know our secret..we shared:) It is a bit pricey, but..it works the first time...so, we will cont to use these products along with the great suggestions!
Date published: 2012-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected I planted Bluegrass and Fescue mix 12 days ago in some pretty big spots in my yard due to the drought conditions in Ohio this past summer. I did prep the lawn before seeding. I applied the starter fertilizer with a spreader 3 days later. I had sprouts that were visable after only 9 days. This is not Rye grass I am talking about. I have never seen results like this with these types of grasses before. I will never plant grass without Scott's Starter again. I am a believer that the small extra cost is well worth it.
Date published: 2012-09-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value to use when overseeding in fall Purchased this fertilizer to use with my recent fall aeration and overseeding project. Both this year and last, my lawn stayed nice and green throughout the fall and winter. I think it also helped with some of the new grass growth that I had in bare spots.
Date published: 2012-09-27
  • y_2021, m_10, d_19, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_82
  • loc_en_US, sid_153577, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore