Extreme weather Pet Door, Small
Model #
PPA00-10984
Item #
247368

Extreme weather Pet Door, Small

Extreme weather Pet Door, Small is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 62.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_7, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_247368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 11.08ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$80.99
In stock
Model #
PPA00-10984
Item #
247368

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Small, extreme weather pet door, for pets 1 to 15 lb, energy efficient choice, 3 flap extreme weather system offers best protection from elements, energy efficiency is 3.5 times more than a single flap pet door, adjustable & flexible, tinted flaps paintable plastic frame with snap on closing panel, can be installed in panel doors, wood, storm, pvc & metal doors 1-5/8" to 2-1/4", interior & exterior walls, cut out measurements 6-3/8" x 10-1/8".
Specifications
Specifications
SKU247368
Weight2.300000
UPC00729849109841
Country of OriginMX
Package Width8.75
Package Length3.38
Package Height13.38
Model NumberPPA00-10984
Manufacturer NameRADIO SYSTEMS
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Flaw in the design makes it useless There is a serious flaw in the design. The flaps on both sides have magnets which should keep them closed when connecting to the magnets in the frame. This works to some extent. When the flap closes it needs to close at the right angle and speed for the magnets to connect properly. The magnets will repel each other when the flaps close either too slow or too fast - which causes the cat door to remain open and cold and wind coming in. Quite useless.
Date published: 2021-04-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolutely NO WAY to lock pets in or out We had the small Extreme Weather Pet Door professionally installed. I planned to put the cover panel over the door at night to keep my cat in the garage and to keep other animals out. Every morning the panel was off. It absolutely will NOT stay on unless you put something very heavy in front of the panel. Other brands have slide in panel that locks in place-this product has no such feature. Last night I had a stray tom cat in my garage--he chased my cat off and marked inside my finished garage. We live on a farm and the possibility of having an opossum, skunk, small raccoon, snake or many other unwanted animals sneak in is highly probable if I can't keep a panel LOCKED in place. Anxious to see what their remedy for the design flaw is.
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Jury still out Cats hesitate to go through it. When the go slowly, the magnets don’t seal the door. The cover is extremely hard to get on and off.
Date published: 2020-12-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good but, not great. we have had the extreme weather medium dog door for about 5 years. Because this back door is on the side of the house and had no roof covering, we knew we had to have something that would keep rain out. It keeps most out, but over time the flaps have bowed and become misshapen and no longer keep out the rain. I have no idea if these flaps can be replaced or if I have to replace the entire kit. Plus mold has been growing on the for some time. We have never been able to seal the sides. So hot/cold air has never been stopped. How can we fix all these?
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works perfect for German Shepherds in NEK We bought the house with this PetSafe Extreme Weather Pet Door installed and are extremely happy with it. Our dogs learned to use this freedom very quickly. Worked perfect even in the coldest Vermont winter days and nights, not letting the weather in. I recommend this product!
Date published: 2020-06-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sucks! Not easy to put together. Came with plastic screws that started breaking after slightly snugging.
Date published: 2020-02-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not great for extreme weather conditions I have been so happy with all of my Petsafe products. I got this door 2 years ago. One of the plastic flaps ripped off the first winter. Petsafe supplied me with a new plastic flap (the outside one). Then, last winter, the yellow flap came off. I had to buy a replacement for that one. Now, this winter, the entire plastic part that holds the piece to the door came flying off!!!!! So we have one flap (thank god) still attached - but it's ripped at the top and will be off soon i predict. The other piece is inside my house with the outside flap and the yellow flap attached. I am not sure why they call this an extreme weather door because if ti's not meant to handle winter time temperatures... why produce it?
Date published: 2020-01-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from It's okay I have had this dog door for only 2.5 years and the plastic can not withstand extreme cold. The 3 flaps are very nice and definitely help with keeping drafts out. But with it being advertised for extreme cold it should be made out of higher quality material.
Date published: 2020-01-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage in the cold My dog has now shattered 2 of these in a year. They are made of plastic and absolute junk in the cold the flaps dont work and the plastic shatters.
Date published: 2019-12-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from decent door for cold climates The door itself and insulated flaps are good. I bought one for my house in Northern Michigan and it worked great, except one key feature that made me select this door was the cover. If my dogs ran into the opposite side if the cover, it came right off. My cats could pry it off from the side the cover was on. I found I needed to prop something heavy against the cover if I wanted it to stay on. The door is heavy enough that it usually stays closed unless it's super windy, it does a good job of keeping rain and snow out, and seems to have less of a draft than non-insulated doors I had used in the past. When I moved, I purchased another of these doors as the first one didn't survive being removed from the old door. I've had the same problem with the cover on this one. I think I'm going to put some brackets on the door to better secure the cover. If they ever redesign this door, I would highly recommend something like that as an addition. Otherwise it's a good product.
Date published: 2019-11-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from very disappointed We moved to Texas where there is real weather from central California where there is no weather so was looking forward to the insulation qualities. It installs ok and, when there is no wind, it does its job. Our Corgi learned it easily. Now the problem and it is big. The snap-on security door is useless. Our dog pops it off from the outside like it isn't there. We can't lock him our nor any other varmint that might want to walk in. The brand of door we had in California had a panel that slid into aluminum channels and even had a little lock tab for security. That door prevented a burglar from reaching in and unlocking the main door. Yours can't do that. Even worse, a medium strong wind blows the door off and the flaps let the cold wind in. You need to redesign it with a better security panel.
Date published: 2019-11-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy I bought this yesterday and the security cover snaps on instead of sliding up and down in groves like their past models. It does not unsnap easily for small or elderly people. (I could not unsnap the cover from the frame even to install it for fear of breaking the cover.) Plus, it doesn’t take too much imagination to believe that a snap on cover will not work and will be unfuctionable after a short period of time. They have improved the design by making it harder to use and to make it ware out faster. DO not buy this!
Date published: 2019-11-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Lasted 2 years, my old metal one is still going This dog door was great for 2 years, but than the vinyl started to bow in the middle, allowing cold air in the sides. Probably from the dogs head hitting the middle of they vinyl while going in and out. This bowing than causes tearing and the door had to be replaced at my expense. Very very expensive to buy 2 of these. Replacing the vinyl was as expensive as buying a new door. The door frame is now a fairly cheap plastic and plastic screws. Terrible idea for "extreme" weather. I live in Minnesota, but this pet door just goes from house to garage. My old metal frame that goes from garage to outside is still going strong after 10+ years. Switch back, or I will certainly not buy this product again
Date published: 2019-08-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features I really liked the sturdiness and extra weather protection flaps
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good door but has its flaws. It's a good door once you get it to fit. Unfortunately it took some modifications to get it to fit in a standard door. My biggest complaint is the cost of the flaps. Our dogs have chewed the inner and outer flaps and eventually will have to be replaced. Honestly we can buy a complete door for what 2 replacement flaps are going to cost.
Date published: 2019-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Purchased in 2015 - Outer flap broke off I bought this dog door in 2015 and while it’s not a 100% perfect seal it has worked quite well year round in Northern Ontario. My only negative experience is coming home one day this winter to see that the outer flap had broken off. It seems it just cracked and then fell off. As we are nearing the end of winter I’ve left it as is for now, but I will need to replace the entire dog door. I’m not sure if I should be happy that it has lasted almost four years or disappointed it didn’t last longer.
Date published: 2019-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional. Bought a large regular door 3 years ago. Has been hammered buy 3 60ish lb. Dogs ever since. The summers are hot and the winters are brutal. I needed more protection from wind, cold ect. My wall is 14inches thick, so it's not standard installation. My dog door hole is very exact. I bought extreme door large. It was exactly the same size. The insulated side and interior door were all one piece. I used my own screws because of choice and non standard wall. Never even had to go outside to install. Can still use my existing outer flap and now have a spare. Everything fit perfectly. The doors are realistic. Functional day in and season out. The owners obviously have dogs and know what thease doors have to put up with. My thanks and gratitude.
Date published: 2019-03-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Door broke quickly Door does not hold up to cold temps well. We purchased this door about 2 months ago, and it worked great, until the outer door just snapped off when our dog went through it just a few moments ago. Its a bit brisk today, so if you live in an area that gets below freezing, beware of this defect! The inner door is fine, but the middle and outer door snapped right off. We bought this model because it wasan "extreme weather" door. No, not so much.
Date published: 2019-01-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Rubbish dog flap Had a dog flap fitted into French doors a year ago now . So thought yeah will be good double glazed. It not sealed well makes my room cold. Two plastic screws have had to be replaced with mettle ones. The plastic slide cover now got two corners brocken due to it getting stuck. And now another part is broken. And going to have to pay for someone to put back the original glass back in. Poor fitting and poor quality
Date published: 2019-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 9 year old Petsafe Extreme Weather Dog Door We purchased a back door with a Petsafe Extreme Weather Dog Door. The only problem we had was our then puppy Bella loved to eat the magnets off the bottom of the flaps! Eventually we had to get replacement flaps and we cracked the top of the frame over screwing the screws. None of our flaps have ever fallen or bowed outward. I just ordered a complete Extreme Weather Dog Door including the frame. We ordered a large which was the extra large. After reading some of the problems others have had I'm still glad we ordered from Petsafe!!!
Date published: 2018-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great! This is my second Extreme Weather door. It worked great in Montana, so I purchased an identical one when moving to Illinois. I am shocked to read of all the negative reviews. I have just one issue...…...the cover. My cockapoo has learned to pry off the cover when he really wants to get out (something exciting going on outside). I wish there were an alternate cover I could get because I am replacing my house doors and will need to purchase a new pet door.
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not buy this My biggest complaint is that the snap on door panel is very cheap plastic and the slightest vibration makes it fall off. It does NOT snap on. The rubber flaps are a bit to narrow and I can feel the outside air coming in the house. I did not pick this out , our contractor picked it out which I now regret. I would of bought one with a cover that slides on. A small person can come into the house through this pet door because I don't have a secure cover .
Date published: 2018-09-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We've used this door for 5 years - still great We have used this doggie door for 5 years, but only seasonally. We have a slide-in Petsafe door in our sliding door, and I built a 'tunnel' out of 2x4s -about 2' long - and mounted the Extreme Weather door on the end. We're in N. Illinois and the wind pushes the door open and rain was coming in - the 'airlock' keeps all that rain and snow out! Now we are moving to Wisconsin and are mounting it in an exterior wall so they can have the same freedom. I'm going to reverse the airlock and put the double-layer door in the exterior wall, and a single-layer door at the end of the airlock. The only thing I wish is that the Extreme Weather door had a slide-in cover or locking cover option - it won't take long for the raccoons to figure out if they push hard they can get into the house. Hopefully the dogs will keep that from happening.
Date published: 2018-07-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like aluminum frame Just enstalled door was easy to do. Directions and pattern helped with install. Do not like plastic screws to easy to break. One question why can’t you offer a clear door flap instead of frosted. I think pets would use the door quicker ,because they can see where they are going.
Date published: 2018-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much better than most!! I purchased normal doors for Montana life only to find Alaska winds can blow them open and really ruin your day!! Then I found this weather door and it is 100% better. However, I designed mine into a cabinet door! It fits within reason and I have the original door plus another so it's a tunnel. Pro: I'm not heating the outside and dogs love the freedom! Con: small dogs or cats struggle with the weight of the door but most can still use it. 2nd problem is that giant breeds using this steadily will cause an issue with the hinges and ripping the flaps off.
Date published: 2018-05-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from CRACKED outerframe worked great with 3 dogs til winter hit and as the others said the outer frame cracked and flap on the ground... is there a replacement frame for this item or even am up grade,, overall love it but NOT for extreme IOWA winters
Date published: 2018-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from You'll be sorry The poor design of this product makes it extremely difficult to install. The components are so flimsy they break easily. Because of the awful design and cheap parts the instructions "suggest' using duct tape to keep a sub-assembly together long enough to install the unit in the door. This product should be recalled.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for New England winters Second extreme pet door and same issue. Gaps on sides allows wind to blow right through. Has nothing to do with original cutout. Door has to replaced in order to keep cold out. Dog will have to learn to tell us when she needs to go out.
Date published: 2018-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor quality I have owned the extreme door for 2 years. This will be the 3rd set of flaps I have replaced due to warping. I have 2 dogs that use this door, not a pack! Product needs to be improved to prevent this accelerated wear and exhorbenant cost of purchasing replacement flaps.
Date published: 2018-01-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Outer Frame Cracks - Can't Withstand Extreme Cold I have owned this door for about 6 years. I live in North Central WI, and needless to say, at times, the cold weather here can be brutal. I have 4 dogs, and I also work with rescues and frequently have foster dogs... so this door gets lots of use. Over all, we are happy with the door's function and durability... with one major exception. The problem is with the outside door frame easily cracking in the extreme cold where the screws are. In turn, this causes the outer flap to fall off completely.... and whalla... so much for my expensive Extreme Weather Door. When the temp drops well below zero, the slightest movement from the dogs using the door causes the plastic to very easily crack. I see I'm not the only one with this issue. Would be nice if your designers would address this issue and resolve the problem. Extreme Weather Doors should be able to handle Extreme weather. This just happened today for the second time, and it is bitter cold outside. Very frustrated....
Date published: 2017-12-29
  • y_2022, m_8, d_7, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_6, tr_56
  • loc_en_US, sid_247368, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]