Minwax
Helmsman Spar Urethane, High-Gloss, 1-Gallon
Minwax

Helmsman Spar Urethane, High-Gloss, 1-Gallon

Helmsman Spar Urethane, High-Gloss, 1-Gallon is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 140.
  • y_2022, m_5, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_433029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 42.16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$62.99
In stock
Model #
13200
Item #
433029

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Gallon, high gloss, helmsman indoor/outdoor spar urethane, item may be voc restricted in certain areas.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU433029
Weight8.250000
UPC00027426132009
Country of OriginUS
Package Width6.3
Package Length6.3
Package Height7.5
Model Number13200
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful results [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax® Helmsman® Spar Urethane Minwax has a long history of quality products. When you have been around that long with happy customers, you know what you are doing. I used this to refinish my bathroom cabinet when selling my house. It provides protection from the moisture in the room. It provides a shine that lets potential buyers this house has been cared for. The instructions where clear. The product worked as advertised. My cabinet came out looking very nice.
Date published: 2022-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethan has made our front door look amazing. Very easy use. We only had to recoat once and the door looks great. I would recommend this to urethane to friends and family to use.
Date published: 2022-04-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Drying time I’m using a can I’ve had for several years. After leaving it on surface all night it still feels tacky. Will it dry?
Date published: 2022-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dries evenly and doesnt leave brush strokes [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I make outdoor signs and was looking for a looking for a clear coat to protect against the elements. I got the satin finish so it is not super glossy or flat. The Minwax version works very nicely. I am excited to try it on a couple of window sills and trim in our house that need to be re-cleared.
Date published: 2022-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Five Stars! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This stuff is awesome. I used this on my fiberglass front door. It's been 30+ days since it was applied, and it has been holding strong. The Helmsman Spar Urethane is simple to apply and gives any project a professional appearance. This is one of those products that is fantastic if used right. It's simple to use, dries rapidly, and you may apply many coats in one day. In comparison to oil-based products, it is also easy to clean. To achieve optimal results, you must stir thoroughly before and even during application. Highly recommended.
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winwax Helmsman Spar Urethane [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I’m a big fan of this product because it is easy to use, it brings the wood back to life by pulling out the natural elements. It gives a coverage of protection from sunlight, moisture and temperature changes. I like that you can see the beauty coming back to your wood with the first coat but I like to apply at least three coats because I want my items to last for a very long time and Winwax Spar Urethane does just that!
Date published: 2022-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very useful for projects [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I really liked this polyurethane. I was able to use it for several different projects which was nice. It also help up really well and it is a good quality. We are always doing different projects around the house so this is good to have on hand.
Date published: 2022-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Brand!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This brand is fantastic and does a great job. I love how the stain on the wood came out and looked. I made a porch sign and stained it with the Weathered Oak which came out a nice weathered gray color. I then coated it with the clear sealant to protect it from the weather outside from being ruined or damaged. I absolutely love how my welcome porch sign came out, it looks amazing. Definitely would recommend this brand product, it does everything that it says it does plus more.
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this a few weeks ago for the first time and it works great! Easy to use and looks great. No reside or harsh smells either. I used it in a new outdoor shed I had built. I will definitely purchase this for future projects!
Date published: 2022-04-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy process [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] What a major difference MinWax Helsman Spar Urethane makes. The application was a breeze. A good stir and then apply with a brush. Our wooden picnic table needed a good coating of urethane so this was the perfect change to give MinWax a try. The urethane went on smooth but a little cloudy. Since it is a well used table, we did do a second coat. I allowed approximately 8 hours to dry in between coats. I also gave a light sand which is recommended. This is a great way to bring wood items back to life!
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Milwaukee urethane [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I just love this product I just brought a couple bird houses and painted them after I put the minwax urethane on them and what a nice shine it gave them I just hope the smell doesn't last to long so the birds will come to there new house
Date published: 2022-04-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always the best [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax® Helmsman® Spar Urethane does not disappoint minwax is my go to for varnshing and staining needs. Goes on smooth no bubbling and dries evenly. Always leaves a perfect finish. Would recommend for all your varnishing needs.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth, durable finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I tried the clear satin finish for some faded oak windowsills that really take a beating from our intense New Mexico sun. The sills were sanded a few times and then stained. I then applied Minwax Helmsman Clear Satin finish over the dried stain. My photo doesn't quite capture it, but I love the beautiful finish--It really pulled out the oak grain and gave it a clear durable finish with just a hint of shine.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice and easy! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax Helmsman Spar urethane satin finish is ideal for outdoor furniture. I believe it comes in a gloss finish as well. I decided to go with the a satin finish. I wanted to refurbish an old style radio that I've had for many years. It was an eyesore in my front foyer. So before throwing it away, I applied one coat to it and it definitely looks better. I'll definitely try a second coat or perhaps sand it completely down and staying at. The brush on formula is super easy to use! They say to wait 4 hours between coats which is super quick compared to other varnishes or glosses that I've tried. I ran into no problems! The gloss vaeration has  UV protection from the sun for outdoor furniture. That will be my next adventure! I like the fact that it comes in two different variations as far as application is concerned. You can choose either the brush on version or a spray on as. Great I would assume for getting into nooks and crannies evenly. The brush on version was very simple even I could do it without hubby's help and that's saying a lot! Highly recommend trying this before throwing away that peace of furniture that maybe has been in your family for years or it's just looking beat down. There may be hope for this old radio heirloom after all!
Date published: 2022-03-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like the finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I refinished my front door and used Minwax Helmsman Spar Urethane to protect the finish. Follow the instructions was key to my success. I had to do a couple of coats to get the finish that I wanted. Be prepared to take your time. I’ll definitely use this for other projects.
Date published: 2022-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dries quickly, one coat worked well, dried clear! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I'm going to start with the fact that I am a novice furniture flipper! I enjoy finding small pieces like side tables and chairs, wooden, and painting/refreshing/sometimes distressing. I usually layer different colors, and distress for an aged or vintage look. Sometimes shabby chic! I have been please with my work so far but was nervous about needing a top coat to keep the integrity of the paint and keep it from staining from water/household use. I read a lot about others drying with a yellowed tint so I was nervous to try this on my almost stark white table. The spray went on very evenly, was easy to apply, dried fast (but not too fast as to leave streaks or anything while overlapping the spray strokes), and dried completely clear! I may have over sprayed, but I did one "thick" coat and so far has stood the test of time with kids, adults, and pets! I would definitely use again and did exactly what I was hoping it would!
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helmsman Spar Urethane Makes the Door Gorgeous [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We have a new wooden front door that my husband wanted to hand finish. This urethane made the door look so high-end and gorgeous. I'm proud to see it as I enter our home and everyone has said the new door gives the front of my home an upgraded look. It was easy to use and I would recommend it to others for similar projects.
Date published: 2022-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I really love this. The instructions was easy and clear to understand. I used this on my cabinets and it went on really easy and looks so smoothly and clear. My cabinets never looked better and had a better finish then this. Plus I love how it is fast drying too so not really messy.
Date published: 2022-03-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This clear coat has really worked well on my wood picnic table. I refinished it because it's left outside year round and it's been holing up very nicely with all the different weather changes. I am very happy with this!
Date published: 2022-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] So I have bought a new house and it has wood framed windows. In the inspection it was noted the windows frame needs to re sealed because of rain causing some slight water stains. This went on smoothly and dries quickly. It leaves a nice finish and I know it will help protect my windows for a long time. I'm pretty confident in this brand now I have used it for a great purpose. I now have the urge to find things to use this product on.
Date published: 2022-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] After doing some research and learning the difference between spar urethane and polyurethane I used Minwax Spar Urethane on some shelves that I knew would have to stand up to condensation from drinking glasses. Follow the directions, use in a well ventilated area, and for an even smoother finish gently use some steel wool between coats. I’ll be using this to refinish my front door soon, it will look amazing.
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Fan, Works Great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is the first time I have used Minwax Spar and it has become my new go to for outdoor urethane. I was able to do double coats of two outdoor wood benches, one cedar and one teak, and both came out with a beautiful and long lasting solid sheen after two coats. The final coats were completely dry to the touch after about 36 hours and the odor was a lot less than other brands of Spar I have used before. It also cleaned up a lot easier, using less mineral spirits then I am used to. Time will tell the longevity as the benches usually get treatments every two to three years and remain in the elements about 9 month of the year. Hoping it'll last here. Very pleased so far.
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this stuff [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love this stuff and so would have came in handy years ago. Makes my job so much easier then before i found this product. Also remember not to use during hot humid days as it just wont dry and will ruin the varnish. Also make sure you are working in a well aired out place or in out in the opening.
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fast drying [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was surprised at how fast drying this oil based Spar Urethane was. I was able to put multiple coats on in a 24 hour period. It was easy to use and had a nice flow in the application. The finish I choose was gloss and I love the shine
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Crazed immediately. Ruined the piece. I was exited to be at the last stages of finishing a pub table. Just finished toning and wanted to try a more flexible finish being it was going in the garage. This finish is trash! I should have known better and stayed with a higher quality product.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My doors look like New! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] To me it seemed like we needed new doors but turns out they just needed a bit of TLC. It only took Helmsman Clear Stain to give my alder wood doors a newer look. I cant express how easily and clean it was to stain the doors. I can honestly say that with the first coat I was very pleased but when we went with the second coat I was thrilled. I have been asked several times by our family and neighbors if we replaced our doors. We are no experts this DIY project was much easier and way better than we expected.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super satin finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got the semigloss clear satin finish for a retro table I was lucky to find in someone outgoing trash. I sanded stained and applied Minwax Helmsman Clear Satin finish over the dried stain. WOW! It really pulled out the grain I the wood and gives it such a clear hard semigloss finish to an otherwise old dingy piece of furniture. Love this stuff finish and how easy it goes on and dries to a smooth finish. Will definitely apply to other jobs I have around the house to other furniture I plan to redo.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Finish! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this to try on one of my projects and wow!! It works great you need to follow the directions with sanding but it leaves a great finish on the project that you want to do I’m usually use varnish but it is hard to find so I thought I’d try this and it works great! I redone a sewing cabinet from about 1938 and it definitely did it Justice!! Great product would definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Outdoor Finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Provides a strong durable finish for outdoor products. Use in a well ventilated or outdoor area as it has a strong harsh odor. Final finish is smooth and durable. I used it on my fiberglass wood look front door and it was easy to apply and left a beautiful finish.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Takes a bit of time to dry [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have serval outdoor projects that I have used it on. The only draw back is it takes for ever to dry if you don't have a warm climate above 60*. Once it did dry, it can take a UV beating. I apply additional coats about every two years or so if it looks like it needs it.
Date published: 2022-03-20
  • y_2022, m_5, d_23, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_140
  • loc_en_US, sid_433029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.06ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]