Choose a store for the best shopping experience and the most up-to-date inventory.
Minwax
English Chestnut Wood Finish, 1/2-Pt.
Minwax

English Chestnut Wood Finish, 1/2-Pt.

1/2-Pt. English Chestnut Wood Finish is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 86.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_197582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 51.67ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$7.29
In stock
Model #
223304444
Item #
197582

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Minwax 1/2-Pt. English Chestnut Wood Finish.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU197582
Weight0.660000
UPC00027426223301
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.86
Package Length2.86
Package Height3.0
Model Number223304444
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product Works well, easy to apply and give a good looks to your wood. I did a lot of project with it over the last 5 years.
Date published: 2021-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dark Walnut vs Provincial Great product! Dark Walnut on the top and Provincial on the bottom. Used Prestain Wood conditioner. 1 coat each on Oak.
Date published: 2021-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product I only use minwax oil stain. As a small business owner quality and price are two deep concerns. Minwax has delivered a high quality product. When others ask me if I use different stains, I tell them I solely use minwax!!
Date published: 2021-02-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax is my go to ! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been a regular user of Minwax products for years ! As a designer I specify them regularly and also use them myself in my person projects ! Always great quality and color options ! This product was no different, everything I’ve come to expect with Minwax !
Date published: 2021-02-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Mines Wood Finish leaves your furniture and cabinets looking breathless. I used this on a few items and each one came back looking almost like when I first brought them. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to bring anything back with a wood finish
Date published: 2021-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite varnish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax is my go-to varnish. Price point is good and easily found in stores. What I like is that it doesn’t emit a very strong odor as other brands there. Depending how large furniture is, i typically wait about 3-7 days to be on safe side to use my furniture after varnishing.
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wood [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is some cool Deck paint. It made my deck really come to life and I Received numerous compliments on the job, like it was newly built. I put a few coats on there so it would really last. Wasn’t a messy job
Date published: 2021-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks amazong [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used a grey stain from minwax. It was very easy to work with and turned out better then I expected. There was no hard fumes and clean up was a breeze. Can’t wait to do some more projects with this great product.
Date published: 2021-01-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax Wood Finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received the Minwax Wood Finish in exchange for a review. The Minwax wood finish comes in a variety of colors for all your staining needs. The finish is thick which is super nice sense it makes drying much quicker. It also makes for easy application. The wood finish makes your projects pop with its vibrant colors. I love Minwax Wood Finish.
Date published: 2021-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love minwax wood finish. First of all it’s easy to apply and stain any piece of your choice. It’s goes on smooth and you don’t have to apply to many coats for your wood to look great. We have older furniture wood with many Scratches we applied Minwax wood finish on the older wood furniture and it made it look new again. Love it would recommend to friends.
Date published: 2021-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Use this finish to stain my new dog food holder. Color is a great match in my kitchen we're the holder will live. Easy to apply with simple instructions on how to apply and use. Will be staining my old nightstand with it next.
Date published: 2021-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stained [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Used this stain on a older refurbished cabinet! Color turned out Beautiful! Golden Oak in color choice! Went on smoothly and evenly mixed easily in can. Feel comfortable with it sealing and protecting the wood. Dried quickly.
Date published: 2021-01-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax is always my choice [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax has always been my choice when staining wood. Always a superior product and you always get your desired effect on your wood products. I used this to stain a desk I had purchased and it turned out beautiful.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax wood finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love this Minwax wood finish. I sanded down my kitchen table and was able to refinish it. It dries quick and leaves it looking brand new again. Definitely beautiful color for redoing projects. Super easy to use as well.
Date published: 2021-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this to use on my kitchen table. This is great and dries within 2 hours. This has a oil based finish and made my table look amazing. I was actually thinking about buying another table. I am so glad I decided to go with this wood finish first. The outcome looks great and this was so easy to use. This is a great quality product.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great wood finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this can of Minwax wood finish and I couldn’t wait to use it on my front deck. I power washed it first then used the finish on It and it turned out beautiful. I will purchase another can to do my back deck.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Color on label is way, WAY different for reality! I bought Gunstock 231 to use on a woodcraft project. The label looked a lot like the Early American that I had been using, NOT! It is reddish orange. I should have tested the color but in the past the colors were very much like the label. Never again! I will go to the other big box for the other brand for my business in the future.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes wood look great [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love this minwax wood finish I use this on all my wood tables and chairs I sand down my table and use this wood finish on it . After it dryes it looks so pretty brings new life to all wood makes my kitchen table shine like it's new . Every time I use this I love it It drys fast and does not get sticky after and makes all wood look beautiful.
Date published: 2021-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for any DIY. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My entire family has been using Minwax since I could remember. My dad has used it, as well as his dad before him. This is the best wood finish to use. It brings out the naturalness of the wood and doesn’t coat it like other varnishes would.
Date published: 2021-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be patient for perfect results Lovely results from a steadfast company. Very well used oak end table lovingly restored in beauty with these products.
Date published: 2021-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful finish! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I absolutely love this stain and will not purchase any other brand. It is not overwhelming in the smells department and it is absolutely beautiful. I do a lot of woodwork and this is hands down the best product that I have used thus far!
Date published: 2021-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from special walnut Loved this stain and wanted to use it throughout my home. However, can only find it in semi-transparent. Changes the color totally. So disappointed that it seems we can't just get a non-transparent stain.
Date published: 2021-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax wood finish [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Oh my how wonderful is this wonderful wood finish it stained my piece of furniture wonderfully it now has a great richness and nice stain to the finish i only had to apply one coat which that makes me happy this is so very easy to use and apply and I didn't have any issues with any drips by using this I must say I had wonderful results after using this I am very satisfied I love it!!!
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this finish! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great finish!! I love this stuff, great coat and smooth finish. Not too overwhelming smell and works well for newly done wood floors. Non sticky or super slick coating and works well for all colors and shades of wood ^_^
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Minwax Penetrating Stain - English Chestnut 233 I'm working on a project with my daughter-in-law using the Minwax Penetrating Stain - English Chestnut 233 product on Arkansas clear pine wood dimensional lumber. She stained the the 1st twelve pieces of lumber and then I took over completing the remaining twelve pieces. Unfortunately, I didn't have the pieces she stained to compare until I was completed. Using the same can of stain (she passed on to me) on the same pieces of lumber that were purchased from the same lumber yard at the same time the difference in color was astonishing. I'm totally perplexed as to the reason for the variation and looking for you guidance on how to proceed with the project and getting acceptable matching stain color. Attached is a picture for your reference.
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from "Same" stain, different colors My main issue with this product is that with the new formula, the same Red Chestnut 232 stains are different colors. I noticed the difference in the color representation on the cans (new formula on left; old formula on right), but was hoping it'd be the same on wood. Lucky I did a test first! The new formula does not have the same red tone or depth as the old version. I would argue it's not even red anymore. I still had about 10% of stain left in the old can and was able to mix them to get a closer match for the baseboards I was midway through staining. Aside from color, the new stain also doesn't absorb into the wood as well. This meant that I used less stain, but it doesn't have as deep of a color to me (despite same wait times for new and old versions). I think the stain is fine so long as you're aware of the formula change and know you won't be getting the same color as you used to.
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Minwax has always been my go to! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have used and loved Minwax for years! their colors are perfect, the coverage is exceptional. I have been refinishing furniture for the past two years and Minwax Stain has turned cheap furniture into show pieces! it goes on easy and drys so nicely.
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Red Mahogany Stain This product do not need to be processed put it out of it's misery
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Cherry 235 too light... I'm using "Cherry 235" Wood Finish stain on Pine wood that has been pre-treated with "Pre-Stain" which seems to give me a very light color compared to real cherry wood even after 2 or 3 passes so I decided to try "Cherrywood Gel Stain" on the very same board under the same conditions and preparations and what a better and different result although both products don't match in color as "Cherrywood Gel Stain" is much more richer and has a yellow cast which I like plus has more saturation. I wish I could I achieve the same color result using "Wood Finish" Stain instead the of the Gel version just because in my opinion it's much easier to use and for some reason the drying time seems to be faster and doesn't get the end grain of the boards too dark like the gel stain does.
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Stain is not drying after 2 days I followed all steps and instructions, however the stain is not drying after 48 hours. I bought the minwax stain and seal combined and says it dries in 2 hours
Date published: 2020-08-18
  • y_2021, m_9, d_23, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_86
  • loc_en_US, sid_197582, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 14.5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore