Minwax
1/2-Pt. Aged Oak Gel Wood Stain Finish
Minwax

1/2-Pt. Aged Oak Gel Wood Stain Finish

1/2-Pt. Aged Oak Gel Wood Stain Finish is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 35.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_173955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 86.38ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.99
In stock
Model #
260204444
Item #
173955

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
1/2-Pt. Aged Oak Gel Stain Finish, For Wood Or Non Wood Surfaces Including Fiberglass Doors, Non Drip Formula, Use To Achieve The Same Color On Diffferent Woods & Surfaces, Oil-Based For Exterior Durability, Use Clear Shield As Topcoat.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU173955
Weight0.600000
UPC00027426260207
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.7
Package Length2.7
Package Height2.9
Model Number260204444
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this to use on my new front porch and it was wonderful!! It was not messy and no smell like the other stains out there. I am so pleased with this product. I will definitely recommend this to all my friends and family.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! I bought this for a project I never did so when I needed something for the trim in my daughters room I decided to try it. It dried to a nice deep color and I had no problem with coverage. Most of it only required one coat. I went back over places where there were imperfections in the wood. I will definitely use this product again!
Date published: 2020-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked great, no complaints Used on exterior wood door. Very pleased with its performance.
Date published: 2020-09-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Stain is Wonderful I love gel stain. It is easy to apply and covers very nicely. It also covers lots of things besides wood. You don't have to remove the old varnish and gel. You sand lightly and it is ready to stain.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product. Completely transformed our kitchen. Picked the perfect color.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stick with their normal stain So my stupidity for buying into the 'ease of use of gel stain', as it is not easy to use nor does it produce the same results as Minwax's other normal stains. I did some research before I stripped and sanded a hutch and decided to try the gel stain. The gel stain is thick and if you don't super quickly start rubbing it in, you are left with a very uneven coat. I learned this the hard way. I had to use a thinner to remove the first coat and start over. You have to work in very small areas, quickly rub it in before it starts to go to pure glop and then it doesn't move. Not worth the time wasted.
Date published: 2019-11-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! I used this on a very heavily varnished hutch that I didn’t want to spend days sanding. I scratched up the surface a bit with a sanding block and wiped it down with water. Using the gel stain was easy but I didn’t leave it on for 3 minutes first before wiping. I wiped it into the surface almost like you would do with a regular stain. I then used a dry brush to even put some of the areas that you could see imperfections. Looks awesome!! So happy with the results that I did two more tables and my mantel!
Date published: 2019-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 5 days later still waiting for it to dry.... I got this because of the great reviews and ease of use. Well there goes a week of my life. Literally a week. I’ve been working on this cabinet for a week. I stained the inside of the cabinet on Tuesday and here it is Saturday and it’s still not dry! I read some helpful hints and asked some experts and they said give it time and then to wipe it with some mineral spirits to get the tacky off. Well I was like it’s been five days so I gave it 3 more than the guy suggested and then resorted to the mineral spirits and it just took it all off. I didn’t press down or use too much. The only spots that have stain are the grain. Maybe I got a bad batch. Maybe I don’t know what I’m doing. I’ve only refinished several other pieces of furniture and made a few. Maybe I didn’t read and follow the 3 directions provided. Maybe I should just stick to products that I know and not waste my time and effort trying to figure out a new one! *I used Minwax antique furniture refinisher (3 bottles) with steel wool (2.5 bags) to remove old varnish. I used a purdy brush especially for stains... even said nice smooth finish. I used antique black and applied a small amount - enough to cover and evened out my strokes. It was hard to move product once applied. It went on like a thick paint and I tried to sheer it out but did not provide coverage. I tried then using a rag and it was even worse. It accumulated in the corners and congealed and was tough to remove. In the place where I hit the hardware (I tried removing but the screw was acting funny) it dried like paint. If I wanted a paint I would have gotten paint.
Date published: 2019-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fighting with this I wish I had read the review from someone earlier who wrote about how this is a terrible product when refinishing a table. I have followed the directions exactly three times now and each time the stain does not apply colour evenly. I'm so mad at this point as I have wasted a MONTH working on this one table and it looks terrible. I am going to try to switch to another product and hope that I have not damaged this project beyond repair. This is an antique table that cannot be replaced. If you're doing something important - DO NOT use this product.
Date published: 2019-09-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NEVER AGAIN I decided to refinish a Lane 1960's Acclaim large coffee table that I had since 1991. I researched and was told gel would be the best product. I called Minwax and spoke with a tech to confirm my thought processes was correct. The beauty of the veneer and wood on this table have been covered up by the Gel and does not enhance the wood's beauty. I've had to strip it twice which is not good for the wood. It is drying out. I've spent way too much time on this project and it still does not look great.When I finally got a look I felt I could live with I was told to use the wipe on Poly. It streaked and looked awful.I looked at videos as well as spoke again to a minwax rep. about how to apply.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It takes more stain for a large piece $$ Really not very good results. I ended up with a worse finish on a piece of pine furniture than I would have with premium penetrating stain. Gel is better than that awful stain with polyurethane that Minwax sold, but I still prefer a penetrating stain with lots of pigment (not the cheapest of the product line) for wood. Gel is useful for metal or fiberglass and works okay on some woods, but it's not for me on furniture. The guy at the paint store warned me to just use premium stain but I wanted to try gel. He said that the gel stain had been at the store a long time and wouldn't sell. It must have been old, because no matter how much I stirred, it was still full of lumps - not like in the video.
Date published: 2019-08-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gummy - excess does not wipe off I spent 4 weekends removing the paint and sanding the 12" x 30' interior frieze board on the front porch of our bungalow. Now, I am looking at having to re-sand 3 feet of it to remove the remnants of this product. It was 83 degrees with 60% humidity when I applied it. I did a final light sanding and cleaned the entire frieze board, painted a liberal coat of gel stain on a three foot section, and set a timer for 3 minutes. After 3 minutes, when I tried to wipe off the excess, it was so gummy and thick the excess could not be removed. The rag didn't even put a dent in it. I resorted to grabbing a container of mineral spirits to try to remove the coat of it covering the board. Yes, I should have tested it first to get a feel for it, but I never imagined that it would harden like glue in just 3 minutes. I will not be using this product again.
Date published: 2019-07-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Had never used or even heard of gel stain. Used this product on a Lego table for kids. This stain gives a uniform color across different woods used on the same project piece. My only question is where has this been all my life?!
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible results I have used almost every product of minwax and loved the product line and results. I used the gel stain for the first time on my front door and the results are horrible. It looks like brown paint, it dripped, all the wood grain is gone and now i am trying to figure out how to remove it. At least there is no varnish on it. beware before you use this product.
Date published: 2019-06-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best stains I have used Minwax stains for many years while building houses. This new gel product is easier to use, more forgiving, better coverage. I recently used it on very difficult to stain maple cabinets and it worked fantastic, very even coat, no blotches, wonder natural look. Most highly recommended.
Date published: 2019-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Update to Coffee Table Bought Gel Stain about 6 weeks ago to paint a Formica coffee table. It went on easy and was given 2 thin coats. After it was thoroughly dry 2 thin coats of satern polyurethane was applied. Finished job came out awesome. Only time will tell how well the gel stain adhered to the Formica as far as chipping goes.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy to use Had to stain a fiberglass door and it worked great!
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth patina every time. I have used Minwax since I was old enough to open the can. I see no need to change. Always a predictable result. Thanks.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Stain with Gel Stain I like the Minwax Gel Stain. I get a consistent color and a long shelf life.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to work without any problems. I used this on my oak front door. It looks beautiful.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the job Main thing -wife loves the finish on the antique piece
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Easy to Use This stain goes on so easy. It produces an even coat every time. I used both a rag and a brush to apply it with equally great results.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY TO APPLY I USED THIS PRODUCT TO RE-STAIN MY FRONT DOOR TWO YEARS AGO AND IT CAME OUT LOOKING EXACTLY AS I PICTURED IT. NOW, AFTER TWO YEARS IT LOOKS THE SAME AS WHEN I APPLIED IT.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ease of application I relished my front door and found this product easy to use. I have had many compliments on how beautiful the door is.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful natural wood stain colors. My hobby is intarsia, making wood images of animals, birds, etc. I love your products for finishing my projects.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Fiberglass Door SALVAGE Project...GREAT SUCCESS This Project is from 3.5 years ago yet the doors remain beautiful and I still brag about the project. Refurbish Vs. finance new doors!!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gel Stain I bought this month or so ago. Best paint for vinyl or fiberglass outside doors and window shutter. Easy and beautiful. Even leaves the wood grain on door. . Throw a mini wax clear coat on it. Looks new.
Date published: 2018-11-06
  • y_2021, m_1, d_22, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_35
  • loc_en_US, sid_173955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.22ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.