Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯High order volume has affected shipping options and delivery times, customer service response times, and availability of certain items.
Dap

5.5-oz. Alex Plus Acrylic Latex Caulk

5.5-oz. Alex Plus Acrylic Latex Caulk is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 23.
  • y_2020, m_5, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_162925, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 54.25ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$2.49
In stock
Model #
18128
Item #
162925

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Superior quality, multi-purpose acrylic latex caulk plus silicone. Highly flexible and durable. Excellent adhesion. Cured caulk is mildew resistant. Interior/exterior use. Paintable. Water clean-up. 35 Year Durability Guarantee. Exceeds ASTM Specification C 834.
  • 5.5 oz
  • Superior quality
  • Excellent adhesion, flexibility, durability, and paintability
  • Interior/exterior use
  • Water clean-up
  • 35 Year Durability Guarantee
  • Low VOC
  • Exceeds ASTM Specification C 834
  • Color: White
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 162925
Weight 0.6000
UPC 00070798181281
Country of Origin US
Package Width 0.53
Package Length 0.46
Package Height 0.88
Model Number 18128
Brand Dap
Manufacturer Name DAP INC
California Residents Proposition 65 Warning: Cancer and Reproductive Harm-www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent adhesion. Easy clean up. No complaints! I've used a lot of caulking sealants in the past. Most are adequate, but can be a little messy. This one has a nice flow to it without being too runny. I find some are either too thick or too thing. Forgive the Goldie Locks reference, but this one is just right. I can't comment on if it can be painted easily, but the white is a nice clean bright white. It's forgiving when pushed into cracks with a fingertip and smooths out nicely. Drying time was fine, although not fast. It maintains a little flexibility so I expect will last many years. Definitely recommended. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Power of Silicone, Easy of Acrylic... Great combo!!! I love this product! Typically silicone can be hard to work with, but this combination of materials that make up this sealant are outstanding. I used this around my exterior windows and doors (just moved into a new house) and wanted to not only weatherize them but also keep the bugs out. This product worked great, not only in its coverage, but also its application and cleanup (for the times I over applied). Greatest part about the product... the lifetime on it! Silicone based material will last! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I lobe how easy it is to use dap. I have recommended to several people. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works better than expected I had a couple of windows that had developed large gaps. I was concerned that if the caulk would shrink too much it would pull away and wouldn't work. The gaps were slightly larger than recommended by most caulks. The DAP product filled easily. It painted well and now after a couple of weeks there is no sign of leakage. I got this tube as a sample, but it is now my go to caulk. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from alex latex caulk very smooth and easy to apply. compared to other products celan up was much quicker. I would purchase this product in the future [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding Caulk! I used this caulk a day or so after receiving it in the mail. I found it easy to use, neat and no trouble to hold or dispense. After setting, it seems strong and should last for years. Great product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2017-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I trust this product I have had nothing but success with this product. Part of that success is using it as intended as specified on the tube. Joint fill is only as good as your preparation of surfaces. Clean,dry surfaces no more than a 1/2" applied at at the appropriate temperature and humidity. It's really that easy. I will continue to have success with this product for years to come.
Date published: 2017-02-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I would buy this product again When I paint
Date published: 2017-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointed in the clear Alex I have tried over 20 tubes on my greenhouse windows only to have to dig out and replace what I did one month ago
Date published: 2016-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from pretty good stuff This is a very good product. It should be know that in the instructions it says there is a 10 minute tooling time. That doesn't work for me. at room temperature I'll run about 10' of of a straight bead, less for more detailed work, before tooling it. Once even a slight skin has formed you wont get a nice clean face. For deep cracks I recommend not filing the whole void, fill less than a 1/4" or so if you can. This will greatly reduce the amount of shrinkage you'll get. If you want to fill deep voids plan on doing 2 or more coats with a day or more dry time between them.
Date published: 2016-11-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Alex Plus is my first choice Alex Plus has been my first choice all-purpose caulk for decades, first in New Jersey where rain and humidity where the primary exterior challenges, and now in north-central Nebraska where temperature extremes and intense sun are the challenges. I consistently get excellent results. My first and most often repeated lesson as an apprentice was, "Understand your medium." Wood moves. Some species more than others. Some environmental conditions cause more movement than others. That's the basic understanding the wood medium part. Caulks dry differently, adhere differently, and harden or remain flexible differently. As long as one understands and selects the right medium for the job, and matches media that are complementary, there will be success. But when one attempts to bind up a board and batten wall with caulk, for instance, product failure and dissatisfaction are bound to follow. The board and batten system was designed to accommodate the movement of the wide boards, so let them move, or find a caulk that cures with the elasticity of a glob of chewing gum on hot pavement.
Date published: 2016-09-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! How about you other reviewers stop trying to use a basic multi-purpose painters caulking because you are too cheap to buy higher end DAP products designed for siding. Also, try prepping your walls first. Did you even remove the old paint or caulk? And Norm, how about not being dense and use white if you had planned to paint or a fast dry sealant. Stop blaming the caulk for your stupidity!
Date published: 2016-08-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have built a 10' giraffe with Alex Plus Caulk Plus My friends said I couldn't have a giraffe. So I just decided to build a 10' giraffe. I have used SEVERAL tubes of Alex Plus chalking so I named my giraffe "Alex", I'm actually on my 4th case of Alex Plus caulking. He is so awesome.
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing, ruined our whole paint job Applied to seams on a board and batten exterior of an older house doing one wall at a time have not even finished the project and caulking on the first walls have allready started to crack and pull apart. It has ruined the entire paint job
Date published: 2016-07-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Excitement to frustration. I was excited to get this product for sealing around my exterior home; window, trim, etc. Excellent flexibility (I need that for cedar siding!), adheres to wide range of surfaces, shrinks less (in my opinion it shouldn't shrink at all), waterproof (oh, a must --- I live in the Pacific NW!), etc. What could be wrong about this product? Oh, joy! Grinch time --- there it is in small print in 2 different sections; "Caulk ...dries clear in 7 - 14 days" and "Allow to dry clear before painting" (Seriously? 14 days?). So, when it is cured, it is clear. In 14 days. Really?!?! But the real kicker is "Don't apply when rain/freezing temps, are forecasted before full cure can occur." And, based on their label, that is 7 to 14 days. So, if there is a chance of rain within 2 weeks and you want to caulk, seal, and paint your home --- don't buy this product. Wishing now I would have purchased the "....paint within 30 minutes. Can apply in rain..." alternative brand. :(
Date published: 2016-07-03
  • y_2020, m_5, d_24, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_162925, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.