BioLite
500-Lumen Base Lantern
BioLite

500-Lumen Base Lantern

500-Lumen Base Lantern is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 71.
  • y_2022, m_5, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_225141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 52.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$109.99
In stock
Model #
PLC1001
Item #
225141

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
The BioLite BaseLantern is the world's first flatpack lantern that combines breakthrough edge-lighting with Bluetooth connectivity to bring you a portable lighting solution that doubles as your own miniature smartgrid. Enjoy complete lighting control, timer, proximity activation and real-time energy feedback right from you smartphone or tablet. Designed with multiple USB charging ports to power phones, tablets, and other gear. Connect multiple SiteLights for overhead string lighting.
  • 500 Lumens
  • 7800 mAh Battery
  • 2 USB out Ports
  • Bluetooth Enabled
  • Compatiable with Android and iOS
  • 2 SiteLight Ports
  • IPX4
Specifications
Specifications
SKU225141
Weight1.320000
UPC00853290004469
Country of OriginCN
Package Width14.76
Package Length2.95
Package Height6.69
Model NumberPLC1001
BrandBioLite
Assembled Width5.08
Assembled Length1.73
Assembled Height5.0
Manufacturer NameBIOLITE INC
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Light, Love the App. I have had my BaseLantern for a few years now. I go camping quite frequently and the battery on it still holds a charge very well. I love it so much that I bought 2 more of them. I have not noticed any degradation of function or longevity. Sometimes it takes a bit longer than I would hope to sync with my phone, other times it finds it right away. One feature I wish they had was the ability to name the lanterns in the app. It shows a device-id, but it would be nice to be able to name them like, "Camp Left" and "Camp Right" as an example.
Date published: 2020-05-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hello Be careful plugging in your charging cord I drug mine across the wrong outlet on the side and shorted it out. And everything I did wouldn’t let me charge it up again and it’s only a year and a half old
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great while it worked I received my BaseLantern through their Kickstarter campaign. I've used it only sporadically since receiving it and have fully re-charged it only a few times. Recently after using it I tried recharging but without success. I'm unclear why but it will not hold a charge even though the LEDs flas indicating that it is charging. It is a nice product but not durable.
Date published: 2020-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Overall really good Super lightweight I have smaller house and even use it to read in the living room while my wife nurses baby. So far battery life has been really good. Haven’t used the app or Bluetooth function but manual use is awesome.
Date published: 2020-04-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Love at first but after 6 months on side stopped w We love it at first until one side stopped working. We went to the garage on night and saw one side randomly on. No matter what we tried we could not get it off until we let it run down.
Date published: 2020-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from doesn't turn on just received my XL biolite lantern today... and the thing just doesn't power on. even after charging for hours and pressing power button for 10 seconds per manual.. no sign of life.
Date published: 2020-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Brightest Rechargeable Lantern this is the second one I own of the base lantern xl, as well as many other BioLite products.
Date published: 2020-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I loved it while it worked... For some time I thought it was a really good product, I even went and bought another (the small SunLight) but then it suddenly stopped working. No harm was done to the lantern, and also no sign was given from it that could make us think it was having problems. Now it is a very expensive brick.
Date published: 2020-04-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great light , but app needs work The light itself is really bright and battery lasts a long time. construction is very solid. Edge lighting works well. My only beef, and why I’m giving it 4 is because of the app. One of the main features to me was being able to see my battery life, but it doesn’t work on the app.
Date published: 2020-03-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I own 2 sitelite XL's and neither will charge and/ Originally I loved this product. So much so I went and purchased another one. However sadly, neither will turn on and/or hold a charge. They don't even register that the product is attempting to charge. So although the light itself is beautiful if and when it works. There are obviously many tech issues that need to be ironed out.
Date published: 2020-02-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Way too DIM My 250 lumen Biolite Sitelite is twice as bright as my fully charged 500 lumen Powerlite XL. Pressing button on top cycles through dim white, dim red,light and even dimmer white light. Only have a flip phone.
Date published: 2020-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Instructions Great light just work on the instructions It was hard to get the light to just stay white and not keep going through the rainbow
Date published: 2020-02-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BaseLantern This was such a cool product, I've given 5 for gifts. Gave one to a family after a tornado trashed there property and it was very useful.
Date published: 2020-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One light to rule them all :) What a great light to have for car camping, cabin time and emergencies!
Date published: 2020-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sheo Made life much easier by providing a massive light in such a small package.
Date published: 2019-12-24
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Short life span My first lasted 20 hours of use over a year and a half.
Date published: 2019-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing features! Great portable lantern and charging station. Full of amazing features!
Date published: 2019-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used during a power outage My husband used the lantern to read a book during a power outage. He loves it!
Date published: 2019-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lantern,Yes... App,No!!! Just received the base lantern, the app will not show the correct battery/time remaining. Very temperamental app, crashes constantly.
Date published: 2019-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cool I pair this with the site light xl and it lights up most of my little house. The phone app is great, the shortcuts are helpful, and I don’t have to get out of bed to turn it on. The color effects are awesome, and the battery life is great. It can charge my phone and flash light and still have hrs of light. It charges great with the solar panel, a day of good sun gives dozens of hours of light.
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BaseLantern XL This thing is amazing. It's a staple for overlanding or camping trips!
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great camping lantern Bought this for my RV along with the Site Light and Site Light Mini. This makes not only a lot of light, but also a great atmosphere. The lights are dimmable making them flexible for utility lighting or just partying. The mobile app. gives you tons of control and the proximity feature is just phenomenal. I love the entire set up and recommend them highly.
Date published: 2018-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from X2 Picked up a second baselantern xl a few days ago I have had the first one for almost a year and love them great for power outages and for camping The ability to check the battery on the phone is great although I wish you could change from time left to the battery percent instead of being locked to one or the other depending on whether or not the unit is being charged Also battery updates on the phone seem to be faster in the original version of the app and they are in the Current version Overall though really like this product so much of that like I said I bought a second one really recommend picking one of these up
Date published: 2018-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Modern Lantern, don't buy anything else! I backed this on Kickstarter and am so happy with it. Its not something to go backpacking with but at a campsite its perfect. I also use it all the time in our camper, and currently I use it as my sons bedroom light, I'm able to change the color to RED so he knows that when it is RED its quiet time and when the timer runs out and it shuts off and he knows its bedtime. I've been using it for two weeks straight and it runs every day between 4-6 hours and it still has 51 hrs left on the gauge!! This was also a lifesaver when we got hit with a hurricane and had no power for over 7 days. Its not cheap but its well worth it.
Date published: 2018-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Idea This light works really well. It's super easy to use, and the app makes it more fun and gives us so many options! I also love how the stand gives us many variations for placement. If you're a camper, a hiker, or even looking for some extra light in weird spots in your home, this is a great addition!
Date published: 2018-01-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Weddings & Events I use these lights to light up a room. They are perfect to soften a wedding space creating a more elegant event. I can rent these for $50, come in the room, place them in the designated location and walk away. No more extention cords to take away from the look of the room. Clean and easy. Saves me time and labor cost.
Date published: 2017-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome for a disaster kit The actual function of the light is impeccable. I'm slightly skeptical of the battery size given how quickly it charged, but I left it on overnight on the lowest power and it still shows full charge, so that's neat. Construction is nice, the legs unfold to give many different configurations. My only real criticism here is that in order to use the bluetooth control, you have to have location services and bluetooth enabled, so it drains your phone incredibly fast. Much faster in fact than the lifetime of the battery, so the app is kind of useless unless you intend on burning up a huge portion of the biolite battery charging your phone. Since you don't need the app to work the device, I still give it 4/5 stars. Biolite customer service gets 5/5 stars though, because I had the predecessor and it stopped working and I was promptly reimbursed, allowing me to afford this one.
Date published: 2017-11-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Lot's of options, lots of fun. I will start off with I love this little lantern, it was like a waiting for Christmas morning for it to arrive in the mail. I have used it on few camping trips thus far and love the flexibility of control it provides for the lantern and for the attached site lite minis. My only complaints are that the blue tooth takes a few seconds to reconnect, every time I open up my phone to adjust and the range isn't as far as I was expecting. Also you cannot charge from it unless the lantern is on so you are getting extra drain by having it powered on even low. The BPM Match is cool in theory but it is really just a strobe light of many colors and doesn't constantly adjust to your music. Would any of this change me from recommending this product? HECK NO, but it is some feedback from me. I would also recommend having the charging cord attached in a fashion like the light house mini from another manufacturer. All and all, I love this thing and you should get one too!
Date published: 2017-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Coolest Lantern EVER I love my BaseLantern XL. It was actually on the truck out for delivery last year when the recall went out. :( I was so bummed and confused when I saw the tracking change on the order. I respect their concern for safety and making a product you can rely on and waited along with everyone else. It took a little time but they delivered such a home run with its design and functionality. I love CHILL mode the best. The lights look fantastic and the way it changes color and melts into another is so cool. I took it to Disney World and it was the coolest looking lantern at the park. Walking thru Pandora with all the bioluminescence and the BioLite BaseLantern blended in and made it easy to walk thru the darkened paths with the colorful glow leading the way. It was the coolest lantern in the park....and the battery lasts forever because of its high tech design and the low power LED system. Thanks Biolite.
Date published: 2017-07-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Lamp Received my lamp a week ago and im really excited to try it on my next trip! Im giving 3 stars not because of the lamp but the customer service needs improvement. Overall the lamp is great but mine came with a slight glitch, the LED lights wont turn off, I contacted Biolite and after a long wait I spoke to a representative who said they will send me a new one but im still waiting on a return label.
Date published: 2017-06-08
  • y_2022, m_5, d_25, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.27
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_225141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.65ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]