BioLite
500-Lumen Base Lantern
Model #
PLC1001
Item #
225141
BioLite

500-Lumen Base Lantern

500-Lumen Base Lantern is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 71.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_225141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44.16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$109.99
In stock
Model #
PLC1001
Item #
225141

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
The BioLite BaseLantern is the world's first flatpack lantern that combines breakthrough edge-lighting with Bluetooth connectivity to bring you a portable lighting solution that doubles as your own miniature smartgrid. Enjoy complete lighting control, timer, proximity activation and real-time energy feedback right from you smartphone or tablet. Designed with multiple USB charging ports to power phones, tablets, and other gear. Connect multiple SiteLights for overhead string lighting.
  • 500 Lumens
  • 7800 mAh Battery
  • 2 USB out Ports
  • Bluetooth Enabled
  • Compatiable with Android and iOS
  • 2 SiteLight Ports
  • IPX4
Specifications
Specifications
SKU225141
Weight1.320000
UPC00853290004469
Country of OriginCN
Package Width14.76
Package Length2.95
Package Height6.69
Model NumberPLC1001
BrandBioLite
Assembled Width5.08
Assembled Length1.73
Assembled Height5.0
Manufacturer NameBIOLITE INC
Rated 2 out of 5 by from 2 stars, one for each year it worked I can't tell you how much I enjoyed this product. Along with the SiteLight daisy chain, the BaseLantern accompanied me on several trips and worked splendidly each time... except this last time. On our annual father/son camp it just died 10 min into setting up in the dark. Purchased for Christmas in 2018. Bummer, Starting the warranty process to see where we go. I really hope to continue to support this company for many years to come... but not if they wont stand by their product. As of now, would not recommend, will update is status changes.
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BaseLantern I bought this light for my son for Christmas and he loves it. Delivery was quick. I’ve ordered a few Biolite products and am very impressed with them and the company.
Date published: 2020-12-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BioLite Lighting. Perfect emergency and outdoor system. With the solar panels and small light connections it can support a whole array of activities. I also like the LED colors that allow you to put some fun in the party. I cannot wait to use my lights this coming summer.
Date published: 2020-12-27
Rated 4 out of 5 by from A bit pricy, but worth it I love the design and weight. It feels solid and seems to be working well so far (I've only used it twice). I like that you can adjust the brightness and warmth of the light. Also bought the hanging lights that connect to this unit. Kind of wished I bought the XL but it was out of my budget.
Date published: 2020-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Elegant portable Lamp this is my 2nd lamp. I bought it for my emergency kit. Elegant, keeps charge for a long time. I use it all the time...and colors are great. Wish the perimeter sensor worked better.
Date published: 2020-12-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice product good design very well build unit. i like the bluetooth function. the battery lasts for a long time depending on the brightness.
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Pretty ok Seems alright. The warm light, controlled only through the app, is a little “off.”
Date published: 2020-12-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would be 5 stars except for short lifespan I was an original backer for this product on Kickstarter. I loved the BaseLantern XL, at first. We used it on family camping trips and whenever the power would go out due to a winter storm. However, it just recently stopped working and it won't charge. I have a number of other Biolite products, and this is the only one that has been a major disappointment. Too bad it's also one of the more expensive lighting products they sell.
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bright light Great! Multi purpose with USB charger for phone, bright light and can connect SiteLight Minis.
Date published: 2020-12-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Baselantern troubles I just got the Baselantern XL and I was very excited to add it to my lineup of Biolite gear, however I can't seem to get it to charge. I have held the button for 10 seconds to get it out of Demo mode, as well as charged it over night through the USB. It still doesn't seem to want to turn on. I'm sure it's fine and it's user error, but I don't know what else to try.
Date published: 2020-11-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Lantern! The Biolite BaseLantern XL is a solid, high quality lantern and I love the fact I can control with the app on my phone. The different colors are very cool as well!
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wish I hadn't purchased it ! Let me begin by saying I have several BioLite products and love most of them. I had been eyeing this for quite some time and given the holiday discount offered, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to buy one. While the quality is stellar, above and beyond what I expected, the features are less impressive. The light is bright, but it flickers and the colors transition poorly. Sadly, I have purchased much, much, much less expensive lights and they transition from colors seamlessly. The app feature with the iPhone is touch and go. Sometimes it works and other times it doesn't. I've even attempted to delete and reload the app, disconnected the bluetooth, and still it operates at a sub par level. Wish I hadn't purchased it...sorry.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BaseLantern XL won our hearts! This lantern was a really welcomed addition to my Biolite collection, and to our campsites mood! Five day camping trip and it lit us for hours every night. It was great to set a deep purple at night on our campsite under the stars while we had dinner and danced. A very fun lantern! Thanks again Biolite!
Date published: 2020-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very flexible in color spectrum and luminosity I’ve used this unit many time’s during camping. It’s ability to provide light “Main source” and give the opportunity to have a second source and both can be controlled by your Bluetooth phone and manually!
Date published: 2020-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Well Made Not Just a Light Very well made and bright when the need arises. APP works good with light and all of the different lighting features. Have on hand for emergencies and camping.
Date published: 2020-10-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bluetooth issues Every time I want to turn on the light I spend at least 5-10 mins messing with the Bluetooth. I think it’s a problem with the app. I wish it was a quicker and easier process.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Handy light Light is very bright. Lights up a room that is more than 100 square feet. The two kickstands make it easy to adjust where to need the light to shine. Great product.
Date published: 2020-09-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Charging issues right out of the box Wont charge right out of the box. Bought this for a power hub and and lantern for a large back country hike we are about to do, and won't charge. Wont be bringing this on our trip, and will be returning this product and will not be buying another one after reading all these poor reviews. Clearly they have charging issues and they haven't fixed them in over 2 years judging by these reviews. Do not buy this product. Save your money.
Date published: 2020-08-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not last I purchased this a few years ago and have been using it as a paperweight for most of that time. It stopped working a few months into ownership. Finally decided to try to extensively troubleshoot/repair it. No luck. \
Date published: 2020-08-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Software is not good enough Everytime I open software it needs new connection pairing. Software crashes almost everytime. I do not understand why one sided lightining setting does not save in to the shortcuts or open automaically when putting the light on. Everytime one must adjust lightning from the app.
Date published: 2020-08-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Features, but longevity may be an issue Love the features and the ability to expand its capabilities by stringing more lights. There are two optional types of lights and they both serve different functions. I found value in both. (Great feature!) The ability to change colors can really dictate the mood. I especially like using the red color when I need to keep my night vision. It also works well in my 25ft RV and can light the whole space. It's a decent form factor, but is on the heavy side, so I don't see this an ideal solution for backpacking. That being said, it's great for RV life and car camping. If your activity is along these lines, you can easily find a night time use for this product. Lighting is good and is on the cool side. I use the color feature a lot alongside the Bluetooth feature to change colors. Battery longevity is great on the XL. The unit by itself is great and will easily last you many nights depending on it's use. For my use of general color lighting with the both optional string lights, I could easily go 5 days with about 4-6 hours a night. I haven't really tested how long it can go without a charge, but I never had to worry about recharging it during a trip if I didn't have access to a power source. The reason I gave it a low score is simply because with little use (between 80-120 hours, but most likely on the lower end of use) the unit failed. I care for my gear and this unit is no different. While camping it simply stopped taking a charge when it was at 3 of 4 on the meter so I know the battery was not close to being exhausted. The unit basically became unresponsive and simply didn't work. I've had the unit for about two years so there's not much they can do regarding warranty. I get that. That being said, you need your gear to work when you need it. It needs to be dependable. Unfortunately, I also went all-in and bought every accessory available for this product too. Without the BaseLantern these accessories become useless. This would be the only reason I would reconsider this product and hope the electronics do not have the same issue. I can't honestly say I would recommend this product due to it's dependability. With little use and knowing how much this product was cared for makes me think in a more rugged situation it would most likely fail. Not to mention the cost of replacement if you choose to do so.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Design and Excellent Features I love all its features and the app is another plus! I can't wait for a blackout!
Date published: 2020-07-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Base Lantern Bright Light! Dimmable, multi colors. I have not verified battery life. The battery life indicator only show one light, even after charging all night, not sure if the battery level is working properly.
Date published: 2020-07-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great features & abilities packed into a small box The BaseLantern was very easy to set up and I like that I can control the brightness and other settings with my mobile phone. All that I was looking for in a Lantern and more.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Biolite Base lantern Bought my base lantern 8 months ago from a Camping store that’s now out of buisness. I bought 2 of them. One works good, but the one I never used yet isn’t charging. It charged 1 time. Now reading the reviews this is a common problem with these units. It’s basically a 100 dollar paper weight.
Date published: 2020-06-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Some scratches on the unit, but glad overall for the quality
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from BaseCamp XL is a WINNER!! Works as advertised. "Dim" is almost too bright", "Bright" is amazing. I like being able to light just one side or the other. An offset in the center of the legs would allow it to stay "centered" when hanging from a single nail.
Date published: 2020-06-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Crossing my fingers I just received it, so I think it would be a little early to rate this Baselantern - especially given than my previous one took a couple months to die. This is the replacement, and I can only confirm that it works. When I immediately attempted to charge it, it was difficult to push the male end of the usb cord into the unit, because the dark grey rubber panel covering the female charging spot on the unit was slightly misaligned, to the point where I needed to pry it open and force the cord in. I do like the brand, just feedback so that these small details get better refined in future versions.
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 3 lanterns won’t charge So bummed is the summery so far of my experience with my BaseLanterns. I have 2 of the XL versions, and one of the regular versions. NONE of them charge or turn on. All of their other products that I’ve purchased in this system are great - these lanterns are just a doozy. 0/3 is pretty remarkable.
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn’t charge! Never was able to get it to charge! Tried with multiple chargers and nothing works!
Date published: 2020-06-02
  • y_2022, m_8, d_18, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_71
  • loc_en_US, sid_225141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.16ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]