Troy-Bilt
Garden Cultivator, TB225, 25cc 2-Cycle Engine
Model #
21BK225G766
Item #
274226
Troy-Bilt

Garden Cultivator, TB225, 25cc 2-Cycle Engine

Garden Cultivator, TB225, 25cc 2-Cycle Engine is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 98.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_274226, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 59.68ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$274.99
In stock
Model #
21BK225G766
Item #
274226

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Troy-Bilt's TB225 2-Cycle garden cultivator is ideal for cultivating and weeding small beds and vegetable gardens. Lightweight and easy to operate, the TB225 garden cultivator comes equipped with four premium, forward-rotating cultivating tines that can be easily adjusted depending on your desired cultivating width.
  • 25cc, lightweight 2-cycle engine is comfortable for everyone
  • SpringAssist™ technology for easier pull starts
  • Prime, Flip & Go™ system for easy starting
  • Handles a variety of tasks with adjustable tilling width and depth
  • 4 patented steel tines are ideal for cultivating up to 5" deep of tilling depth
  • Perfect for vegetable gardens, flower beds, and tilling around shrubs
  • Pick your speed for efficient power with variable speed control
  • Lightweight for easy use and storage
  • 2-Year limited warranty
Specifications
Specifications
SKU274226
Weight22.500000
UPC00084931844261
Country of OriginUS
Package Width13.82
Package Length27.68
Package Height21.86
Model Number21BK225G766
BrandTroy-Bilt
Manufacturer NameMTD SOUTHWEST
California Residents Proposition 65Warning: This product can expose you to chemicals including engine exhaust, which is known to the State of California to cause cancer, and carbon monoxide, which is known to the State of California to cause birth defects or other reproductive harm. For more information go to www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Bang for Buck [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] As a Landscaping / Turf professional, I wanted to compare this unit to the industry standard that starts with an M, ends with an S, and is a funny looking insect. Those units are twice the price, but at this price point for this mini-cultivator, a home-owner would be more than happy to own one. I'm not a fan of the one handlebar with the safety-type bar that turns the tiller. I like the motorcycle style handlebars with trigger. They're easier to throw around and move while your working the unit. The tiller was really easy to assemble out of the box. A 10 year old could have easily put it together. I didn't like the choke setup, and it's a little confusing as to what is on/off choke. I know how to properly prime, throttle, and choke/ unchoke any 2 stroke engine. I can start blowers and even weedeaters first pull every time. This unit had a little trouble starting. But it ran like a whistle once it was running and didn't die. I did some commercial beds that were already somewhat soft. The detachable wheels are very nice addition. Great design on them. The tiller was a little bit more powerful than I expected, but it doesn't really get to high RPM like my other mini-cultivator. But engine size= Cost, i realize this. I don't see this unit being able to tear Bermuda if needed, but is excellent in topsoil beds or pre-existing gardens, I would assume. I would definitely recommend this to any home-owner or someone trying to start a landscape/ lawncare business, that would incorporate annual planting or compost/ topsoil amendments. I can't speak on durability of the unit, since I've only used it several times, but the tines seem to be really tough steel. And something that Troy-Bilt needs to reconsider is the fuel - oil mix ratio. Most everything uses 50:1. My chainsaws even use 50:1 now, so that could deter some people from buying the unit that use one professionally. All my 2 stroke engines use that ratio. I don't know if it would hurt anything using 50:1, because I buy high quality 2-stroke oil, but mechanics are usually by the book, since it was the design of the engine.
Date published: 2018-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best one yet [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this as a sample and I love it and it is really helping me to do my garden and till the dirt and it tills the dirt fast and works great.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this recently which is great becuase we are trying to redo our flower beds. My husband was able to put it together very easily. It has a nice fold down handle for storing and this came with the oil premix to use. This was very easy to handle. I looks like this is good for small jobs but I'm not sure about anything bigger.
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the small garden area we have [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Absolutely love that this item got through the somewhat difficult soil in our area. I am very pleased with the results so far!
Date published: 2018-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I've used others in past that were so powerful it was almost painful to use. This one is perfect. It does the perfect amount of tilling without going too deep or shallow. I'm a woman and found it super easy to use. It took me about 15 minutes to do my garden and I have a decent sized one. Super pleased.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this cultivator free in exchange for my review! This is a great product, it is easy to start up and control. We were able to cultivate a 14 ft area with ease to loosed the ground and level out an area for our pool in no time. It’s fast and easy and I definitely recommend this product!
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used it on my flowers garden and it was done in two hour. Flower garden is 15'x30' and this tiller is so light and fast to use. It is my first one to have it. I just love it.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from best cultivator I have ever used [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This cultivator is super nice and easy to use. I had an old garden that turned into dirt and weeds. Within 10 minutes, I had the entire area tilled up and looking like I put in fresh new soil. Would definitely recommend this product to a friend. Easy to start, easy to use. Light weight.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Cultivator [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The cultivator was easy to assemble and even easier to use. It tilled the ground very well.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super Easy Setup and Use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] One of the best features about this unit is the ease of setup. Basically you attach the wheels to the appropriate height and swing the handle bar up and lock in to place. Done! The only complicated thing is remembering the start process. But after figuring it out it was pretty easy to get started. Wheel adjustments needed to be made to get a little deeper penetration, but this was rather easy. It was the starting process again that caused the delay. So after some trial and error we were dialed in. Storage space required is a little more than expected. If you're tight on space you may find that this item is a little awkward to store. Overall, I would recommend this product for household use. It definitely saved us a lot of time!
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is great for using in small or large areas that need tilling. I use mine all the time for just about everything "Garden". Hard clay has to be broken up with a shovel first but other than that this thing is powerfull in the soil.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was surprised how well it went through roots of up to one half inch. I was able to go down to a depth of about four inches Planting food plots for wildlife is much cheaper in the long run than spending a fortune on filling wildlife feeders with corn, soybean, etc.
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from easy to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Lightweight and easy to use. Starts right up without any fuss. So far it works good, I tilled up a small in town garden with it. It's not going to do a big garden, unless you want to spend a long time working at it. It'll be good for small gardens or flower beds. My only problems is that is seems to be a little wobbly. When using it the wheel mount likes to wobble and seems like it'd be easy to tip to the side if you're not careful. It's almost like the square tubing the wheel assembly goes into is a little to big for it. The pros: easy to start very lightweight easy to use The cons: Too small for larger projects Wheel assembly is a bit wobbly
Date published: 2018-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing tiller [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Starts easily. I am a bit old and I really like this machine. It starts up on the first push pretty much all the time. It’s also ergonomically designed to be easy on your hands and shoulders while in operation. If you have a home garden - this is the perfect sized unit for you. It can probably tackle bigger jobs too. M
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My new Favorite Gardening Tool [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Troy-Bilt TB225 EC 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator has become one of my favorite gardening tool. I live in the suburbs but like to grow some of my own vegetables and herbs. Having something to make my work just a tad bit easier and faster is always a plus. Right out of the box assembly was fairly easy, a few simple step…..attach and adjust the wheels, put the handlebar into operating position ( its already attached) and making sure I had the proper oil and fuel mixture. That was it I was ready to get to work in the garden. The TB225 EC Garden Cultivator has adjustable tilling width from 6 to 9 inched making it perfect for tilling between my tomatoes. I use it to mix up the soil when adding a compost mixture and to help with preventing weeds. I like that I can adjust the depth, which can go up to five inches. I like this because I don’t wont to disturb the roots of my plants but I want to get the weeds. This has saved me from having to get down on the ground and pull them like I have been. Having the TB225 EC Garden Cultivator saves time and energy with each use, it starts every time and runs like a champ. Its easy to push and for its size fairly light in weight. I recommend anyone who is doing gardening and looking for a cultivator that the TB225 EC 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator is perfect for the job.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can’t be without it in my life [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] At first the Troy-Bilt Cultivator was a bit tricky to assemble, however with keen attention to the instructions included I was able to put it together. That just proves that anyone can assemble it. I have been dedicating all of my free time to gardening and renovating my landscape and this cultivator feels like it was meant for me. It got the job done in one day with absolute ease. It maneuvers accurately, smoothly and precisely. I wanted my backyard cultivated in order to lay sod and Troy-Bilt made that possible without the stress of manually digging thus saving me aches and pain.
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool for my garden, quality product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The Troybilt garden cultivator was very easy to assemble with the provided step by step instructions. Once I had it assembled, I did have a few minutes that I struggled learning to get the machine started. Once it was started though, I was very impressed with its power! I was able to easily dig up my vegetable garden in no time, and the Troybilt dug through all the dirt and rock without losing power or bogging down and cutting out once! I think once I get the hang of getting it started, this machine will be perfect! I would definitely recommend it to others!
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent 2 Cycle Cultivator [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This 2 cycle Cultivator by Troy-Bilt is perfect for what I am wanting to do in my yard this year. We were able to maintain my flower beds and garden area. This 2 cycle gas engine Cultivator handled the job with no problem. The times are made out of steel that can handle the depths you need. You have both adjustable tiling depth and width to get all your jobs done. The motor is a compact 25cc 2 cycle gas engine with a easy to use pull string to start. The variable speed throttle is in a easy location. I love how compact it is the most !
Date published: 2018-06-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gets the job done! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am using the TB225 Garden Cultivator to till my vegetable patch and redo my existing flower beds. Assembly was a breeze and instructions are easy to follow. I did not have any problems starting it up. The tines are thin, but they tilled through vines in my flower garden and broke up the soil for my patch. I ran it for about an hour and it did not bog down or quit on me once. It is easy to handle and is saving my back from not having to use a shovel or other equipment. It is making the time I spend on yard work more enjoyable.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made and versatile. Very strong cultivator for its size and weight. Works so well in raised beds and flower beds. Gets those small areas that larger tillers miss.
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Small Power This little cultivator rips up the tough clay and shale rock with no problem. Brought it home added gas and fired it up. Great for my small needs
Date published: 2018-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I unboxed it, followed all of the directions on how to start it up and it fired up on the second pull. I tried this out yesterday in my neighbors garden to see how it performed. It worked great. It is perfect for light to medium use in gardens. It is small enough to get into tighter spaces so it is very convenient. I am sure that if you maintain this unit properly, it will last for a long time.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The garden cultivator is a nice little machine. It starts up just like a lawnmower and churns up soil like a pro. I've used these before so I was prepared for the technique needed which can be tiring if you're not used to it, but it does the job well. Good product.
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, super easy machine! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] So when I got home my cultivator was waiting on me. It came with super clear instructions and was incredibly easy to assemble. I’m no whiz at putting things together but a snap here and a tighten there and it was up and ready to run! It even came with premixed fuel and oil to get it going! Now since this is a gas powered motor it is a bit louder than some of the machines I have owned and used. It was easy to guide this powerful little machine. It tilled up the soil with ease and I was able to create neat rows. You can adjust the height ( lower or raise the handle) according to your needs. This also means less strain on your back. I must say that I’m very impressed by this mighty little tiller! It rocks!
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to start [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Low speed till but high torque. It is light weight and easy to maneuver. My only negative is, due to it only being 2 cycle it is louder than other garden machinery I have used. Great tiller for small garden projects!
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect for Smaller Yards [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The size of this little cultivator is perfect for the small flower beds and garden plot we have. It goes through regular soil very well, not so great with clay. Starting it was a bit of an ordeal, but after the first time running it is seemed to start right back up. This little thing has more power than I expected for the size.
Date published: 2018-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Tiller [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have a very big garden and it is nothing but clay and this worked great. Had no problems. It tore up my garden with ease. It is lightweight and easy to handle. Also used this to turn over my yard in the front where I have no grass and it did a great job.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I bought this for my retired dad. He wanted a garden for a long time. Once he used this he called and thanked me again, he said it was easy to use and it made straight lines with ease. I am glad I pick this one.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect size [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] It was so simple to assemble and came with everything including gas. It was easy to use like real simple add fuel prime the pump and crank. It works so good runs smooth and the blades are high quality. My little backyard garden was easy to get done with the help of this product. Very happy with this.
Date published: 2018-06-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Truly Amazing For The Garden! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am so excited about this Troy Bilt 2-Cycle Garden Cultivator. It is the very thing I needed for my large beds and borders, making quick work of digging and tilling, removing old roots, weeds and debris, and preparing the beds for new plantings. It is light enough for any adult to use and is easy to push/pull as needed. The 8" tines easily break up soil and aid in mixing in additives. Now I don't have to bother with the back-breaking task of hoisting my regular tiller into beds and maneuvering it through smaller spaces and more delicate planting areas. The compact, slim profile of this cultivator takes up minimal space for storage and rinses clean after use. The motor isn't too loud either. What a find! I will be using this every season.
Date published: 2018-06-04
  • y_2022, m_8, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_91
  • loc_en_US, sid_274226, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]