Miracle-Gro
Moisture Control Potting Mix, 8-Qts.
Model #
75578300
Item #
265465
Miracle-Gro

Moisture Control Potting Mix, 8-Qts.

Moisture Control Potting Mix, 8-Qts. is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 1063.
  • y_2022, m_9, d_30, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_1052
  • loc_en_US, sid_265465, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44.76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$6.99
In stock
Model #
75578300
Item #
265465

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Moisture Control Potting Mix takes the guesswork out of watering. Exclusive AquaCoir formula holds 33% more water than ordinary soils to protect against over- and under-watering, Contains Miracle-Gro Continuous Release Plant Food to feed up to 6 months. Enhanced with MicroMax nutrients for hearty, vigorous plant growth.
  • Size: 8 qt.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU265465
Weight6.650000
UPC00032247557832
Country of OriginUS
Package Width12.0
Package Length4.0
Package Height17.25
Model Number75578300
BrandMiracle-Gro
Assembled Width12.0
Assembled Length4.0
Assembled Height17.25
Manufacturer NameSCOTTS GROWING MEDIA
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Full of fungus gnats - would not recommend I have been battling fungus gnats for months in my store. I couldn’t figure out where they were coming from until I opened my half used bag of Miracle Gro and was swarmed by them. I came here to check out the reviews and it seems this has been on ongoing issue for years. Shame that MG has not done anything to remedy this. I have spent a ton of money on pest control and now have to spend more on new soil to try to get this under control. It’s sad because I thought MG was a good brand but I will never purchase MG products again.
Date published: 2022-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad Bugs the worse ever I have always bought 6 months of potting mix of Miracle Grow and this has been the worse ever. They have hundreds of bugs in the one I used indoors for my plants. and some of my plants are not doing well and not sure if it is due to the invasion of bugs
Date published: 2022-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from DON'T BUY DON'T WASTE YOUR PLANTS OR YOUR MONEY !! Bought 2 large bags to use on my railing pots and my tomato plant. I really should have read the reviews as they are current, from last year and even 2 years ago. Pots that have geraniums in them, the leaves are dying. Marigolds are shriveled up. Tomato plant-I just dumped it because all of the tomatoes are rotten on the bottom...from watering being inconsistent. Isn't that the whole point of this product? Very very unhappy with this product. Some of the reviews go back 3 years, and it just astounds me that nothing has changed on the quality of this product. I should not have to water everyday. It states that the product protects against over and underwatering. Seriously???
Date published: 2022-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible potting soil. I usually use this in my small greenhouse to start seedlings and potting soil for plants. Seeds either would not come up at all or turn into stunted plants. I have two bags that will be dumped out in my garden where hopefully I can dilute whatever is in this soil. The appearance is of ground wood that has not been composted well.
Date published: 2022-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor product I have always loved your potting soil. Not anymore! All it is now is fertilized peat moss. I bought 5 large bags this season for my patio pots and All I can say is I will not be buying your product again until the peat moss is replaced with the original product. I realize that costs have changed but so has the quality. So disappointed in this new product!! What a waste
Date published: 2022-07-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from What Happened??? I have been buying miracle grow potting mic with moisture control for over 20 years. I take pride in my garden and annual pots and I wait all winter long for spring and planting and summer beauty. This spring I bought 40 bags as usual. I thought it looked different but used it anyway. Everything is dying. Plants are simply imploding. It’s like the mix is all peat moss and nothing else. Impossible to keep the correct moisture level. Not only have I wasted money on miracle gro mix but I have lost hundreds of dollars in annuals and totally blown my year of growing. What happened to your QA/QC?
Date published: 2022-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from So many flies! It was time to repot my houseplants. When I opened the new bag of miracle grow potting soil I noticed a few flies coming up out of the soil. I figured it was a minor issue. Well, now I have a whole colony of fungus gnats living I’m my houseplants. I am using sticky tapes to catch the adults-and there are so many! I keep changing the tapes, but the flies just keep coming. I’ve tried other solutions but the flies just keep coming. So frustrating!
Date published: 2022-07-25
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Added Mulch in the soil you buy.. Been using Miracle Grow for years and now this year I noticed you added mulchto your soil very disappointed my flowers are not doing as good as they used to do
Date published: 2022-07-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fungus Gnats Be very careful - I recently purchased this mix to repot 9 of my household plants and within a week my plants and home were over ridden with fungus gnats. All home remedy and over the counter insecticides did not work.
Date published: 2022-07-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Can’t keep watered I am experiencing what seems to be a common problem. I have two tomato plants in a container with a drain hole. Both plants have grown to about 2-1/2’ and stopped. I have started watering every couple of days and the soil is still dry. The leaves on both plants are wilted and obviously lacking water. All of the blooms keep dying. I have watered these twice today so they have pepped up a little. These are the only two I planted. I guess I will have to go to farmers market now. Do you have a recommendation of another product which may be more reliable?
Date published: 2022-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Miracle Gro moisture control I purchased the miracle Gro moisture control because they were out of the one that I normally purchase. This stuff is a nightmare I replant my plants every year using the other miracle gro (yellow bag) and this year my plants started dying off within a couple days. I’ve had these plants for a years and clip them back in the fall. I’m so disappointed especially in the money that I’ve spent on these plants and on this garbage soil!!! It’s like in most of the plants it’s sucking out all the moisture from the plant or seems like they’re overwatered.
Date published: 2022-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gnat Infested Potting Soil I started my indoor planting over 6 months ago and everything was awesome until I thought I would splurge and buy what I thought was supposed to be THE BEST potting soil. I have used their products in the past which is why I bought the soil May 2022; within 2 weeks I had gnats flying around my plants, face constantly and for weeks reading “how-to’s” trying to get rid of these disgusting pests infestation. Miracle Grow should be accountable selling products knowingly infested. I have serious doubt a standard check of the lots before packaging and delivery would not discover infestations. Especially from what I’m reading online now. I suggest all consumers open and examine each bag contents before ruining your garden. I wish someone had told me. I cannot have anyone in my HOME because of this mess. Why should I now have to go out and purchase new soil to repot because MIRACLE grow *caused this problem?* It’s infested in their soil! Their product infested my home. Unbelievable.
Date published: 2022-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed We have used Miracle Grow Potting soil for years. I loved it. This year I purchased 2 60.5 litre bags and immediately noticed a difference. Instead of being light and loamy and moisture absorbing this soil was dry and almost the consistency of peat moss. Very poor water absorption. I used one of the bags an a bit of the second then decided to just use last years soil already in the pots.
Date published: 2022-06-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Absolute Garbage, do not purchase this potting soi Until recently, this was my potting soil of choice. After several bags of hydrophobic soil and one that somehow didn’t have any perlite, I’ve started mixing my own soil. The most annoying part of all of this (besides having to replant using a different potting mix…nothing like double the work!), it’s not something you can just return. What am I supposed to do, scrape all the soil back into the bag and lug it back to the store? Don’t waste your money, or your time. Buy literally anything else.
Date published: 2022-06-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Miracle Gro moisture control potting mix My plants love this potting mix. It helps them to grow faster and healthier. I like that it retains moisture better than regular potting soil especially with the heat wave we are currently experiencing.
Date published: 2022-06-17
Rated 2 out of 5 by from NOT HAPPY!!! I BOUGHT 8 LG BAGS OF RAISED BED MIRACLE GROW & NOT VERY MUCH IS GROWING. I AM SO DISAPPEARED & WONDERING IF I CAN GET MY MONEY BACK. :-(
Date published: 2022-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic potting soil I have been in avid Gardener since about 1992 when I was 12 years old there is not anything that I cannot grow Miracle-Gro potting soul is the only potting soul that I use in my flower pots and did my vegetable and flower beds I love how it has all of fertilizer your plant needs and literally within a week of planting certain seeds you can see them sprouting up it's inexpensive works great can be used in any type of flower bed or flower pot and can be found almost anywhere as you see it's worked wonders in quite a few beds
Date published: 2022-06-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good potting mix for ornamentals and vegetables I have used Miracle Gro Potting Mix for years for both vegetables and ornamentals. The plants grow well and quickly. Make sure to buy your potting soil from a merchant who stores it in a dry place. I think some of the problems people have is because the merchant stores the bags where rain can saturate the soil causing anaerobic bacterial and fungal growth and insects move into the bags. Miracle Gro Potting Mix has good moisture retention without tending to get soggy. Buy from a merchant who stores it properly and you will be happy with the results.
Date published: 2022-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Soil more disgusting every year. Quality worse every year. A gardner of 50 years and very experienced. Mostly peat moss and bark chips.
Date published: 2022-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product has ruined my summer potting season When I opened the bag, a flurry of gnats emerged and have never gone away. Plus the "soil" is more bark and sticks than soil, and it smells terrible when wet. I don't know what is going on with MiracleGro, but this is too much.
Date published: 2022-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gnat Infestation I am so disappointed with the quality of Miracle Grow right now. After successfully propagating some of my houseplants, I bought my usual MG Potting Mix to plant them in. Within a week, gnats were ALL OVER my houseplants. I was literally changing the sticky traps every 2-3 days because of all the gnats on it. I even bought a NEW bag, and changed out all of the planters. Again, gnats EVERYWHERE. GROSS. I don't know what happened to the quality as I have never had this issue in the past with MG brand. I am so disappointed.
Date published: 2022-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from White fungis kattacked my seeds Every year I plant the seeds from my amaryllis plants and have successfully sprouted hundreds of wonderful plants. Some of which I sell, some I give away and some I plant add to my garden. I have relied on Miracle Grow potting mix many of those years to start my seeds. Last year to my disappointment my success was close to 0%. My seeds Amarillis seeds are large flat disks about the size of a penny and are planted standing up in the soil about half in the dirt and the rest standing straight up out of the soil. This made it unquestionably easy to see the cause of there demise. As the first fine hair like root emerged a white fungus attacked and destroyed the sprout. I even tried to spray the soil with a diluted fungicide to no avail. I hoped I had just got my hands on bags which had been exposed to something irregular however, I cautiously planted only one container in fresh miracle grow this year with the same resulting fungus destroying the entire container again this year. I am very disappointed in the quality of what was once soil I could rely on.
Date published: 2022-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Has become comparable to the off brands I’ve been planting for many years and Miracle Grow Potting Mix has always been my go to. This year it’s garbage! I’d say the soil content, wood chips, and perlite are each a third with a sprinkle of fertilizer beads. I literally had to search for them! In addition to the gouged 2022 price, the quality leaves me planning little to no containers next year.
Date published: 2022-05-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy customer!!!!! I've been using Miracle Gro for many years and the plants do grow healthier. First time I ordered online your website is easy to use. My shipment I ordered came within the estimated time. I plan on ordering again in the near future!!!!
Date published: 2022-05-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Creosote Odor in Potting Mix I have bought this product consistently over the last ten years and the quality has consistently gone downhill with this year being the worst. I bought one large bag and besides having much less perlite there is an odor that smells the same as creosote. This is most disconcerting as creosote is cancer-causing. I used to paint horse fencing with creosote and it smells the same?
Date published: 2022-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from 2 bags of Garbage Normally a good product but I question current quality. Recently potted 5 containers with 2 bags of potting mix. However both bags are hydrophobic. It will not take water at all. Just puddles up on the surface. Total waste of time as I'll have to buy mix from a local nursery and re-pot. Will probably switch to that option in the future.
Date published: 2022-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible! Moisture control rots plants I bought this moisturizer control soil last year and thought I over watered when I potted my plants. I had to replace more than a flat of impatiens because of rot. I never had this problem before with your regular potting soil. This year I have been very careful not to overwater! As I read the previous reviews prior to planting. I noticed yesterday that I’m having the same problem again. I just stirred the soil and it’s just packed and very wet. I’m going to lose plants again! FYI I planted 11 flats of flowers and vegetables for our garden and had great success with a different type of soil. Maybe this type of soil would be good for extremely hot and dry areas??? But not overall...I do not recommend!! I’m including photos of the plants with moisture control soil>rot and plants started with a different soil. I would conclude that it’s the soil! It retains to much moisture!
Date published: 2022-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely disappointed Everything I have grown or planted this year so far with this soil has died due to growing white mold due to the soil.
Date published: 2022-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from A plague of gnats I repotted my houseplants with miracle-gro potting mix and now my apartment is full of gnats. Tiny little black flies coming out of the soil. It's like a scene from the mummy returns and this potting mix has truly brought evil into my home. Never again.
Date published: 2022-05-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from First time buyer disappointed today a bag of miracle garden soil and we were disappointed to see a duracel battery inside when we emptied.
Date published: 2022-05-16
  • y_2022, m_9, d_30, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_11, tr_1052
  • loc_en_US, sid_265465, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 9.79ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]