Scotts
Turf Builder Starter Fertilizer Plus Weed Preventer, 21-22-4, 5,000-Sq. Ft. Coverage
Made in Usa
Model #
23200
Item #
161432
Scotts

Turf Builder Starter Fertilizer Plus Weed Preventer, 21-22-4, 5,000-Sq. Ft. Coverage

Turf Builder Starter Fertilizer Plus Weed Preventer, 21-22-4, 5,000-Sq. Ft. Coverage is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 198.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_198
  • loc_en_US, sid_161432, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 48.35ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$35.99
Out of stock
Model #
23200
Item #
161432

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

Out of stock


OUT OF STOCK

Description
5,000 SQFT Coverage, 21-22-4, Starter Fertilizer & Weed Preventer, Safe for seeding! Also great for sod and grass plugs. 2-in-1 formula feeds new grass and prevents weeds. Prevents crabgrass and dandelions for up to 6 weeks. Grows new grass thicker and quicker versus unfed.
  • PREVENTS CRABGRASS BARNYARD FOXTAIL WHEN SEEDING
  • ACCELERATES THE ROOT GROWTH OF NEW GRASS PLANTS.
  • GREAT FOR SOD AND GRASS PLUGS
  • COVERAGE: 5000
Specifications
Specifications
SKU161432
Coverage (sq. ft.)5,000
Weight16.100000
UPC00032247232005
Country of OriginUS
Package Width12.0
Package Length16.0
Package Height3.0
Model Number23200
BrandScotts
Assembled Width12.0
Assembled Length16.0
Assembled Height3.0
Manufacturer NameSCOTTS LAWNS
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy! Huge white/ patches after application I overseeded part of my yard this year, so I used this Step 1 product. Within days of application my lush, green yard developed ugly white and yellow patches. It’s been 16 days since application and it’s gotten worse every day. This is a picture I took today.
Date published: 2021-04-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy this - grass turns yellow Bought this and in a week parts of my lawn are turning yellow to white. Thought I could trust the Scotts brand. Not satisfied with this product at all.
Date published: 2021-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT! I run a landscaping company and have usually gone with specialty seed but after trying Scott’s I will never go back and I only recommend Scott’s to my clients!
Date published: 2020-10-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Scott's dedicated We were dedicated on fixing our lawn this year. It was uneven, had patches from our dogs and weeds along the edges. After resoiling and then reseeding we purchased Scott's turf builder starter food for new grass plus weed preventer, all in one product! We looked at all our options and most you had to kill off weeds, plant grass and wait until it reaches a certain gestation then weed kill. This product skipped months of waiting which we would have had to do and it worked great. Our lawn is looking better than it has in years.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from We bought this seed and planted it 1 week ago. This is what happened to our new seeded lawn. I’m not sure this is what’s supposed to happen— to have an infestation of weeds? Any help?
Date published: 2020-06-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The white grass goes away Saw a bunch of the reviews about white grass and wanted to say I got it as well, but it went away after a couple mowings. I only got a couple patches probably from a different variety of grass in certain areas. I was worried but the whole lawn looks great now.
Date published: 2020-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Issues with Step 1 Seeding Causing White Spots I bought the 4 Step program that included the Step 1 for Seeding for 15,000 sq feet. One area of my lawn showed significant spotting. I hoped it would go away with watering but has not. I put down Step 2 but it seems damage might have already been done and those area are turning brown. Has anyone found a remedy? Has Scotts helped at all?
Date published: 2020-06-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Did not read directions properly I use the Scott's starter food for new grass plus Weed Preventer immediately after I seed it for the very first time on dirt. The grass is looking great no issues to speak of. I read the directions wrong and I did another application of fertilizer 2 weeks after seeding but the directions said to use the Scott's starter food for new grass. It didn't have the Weed Preventer in that sentence so I'm hoping I didn't do any irreversible damage by applying the starter food with the Wii preventer 2 weeks after an initial application.
Date published: 2020-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Grass Turning White I purchased and applied this product according to the instructions approx. 2 weeks ago, in the 38 years of maintaining my yard I have never encountered anything like this. I hope to hear from scotts to help me remedy this problem.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from New grass is dying, old grass is turning yellow We re-seeded some large areas and overseeded the entire lawn in March, then put down this product a month later. About 2 weeks later the new grass is dying and the old grass is turning bright yellow/white. We applied at the recommended Scotts spreader setting. Has anyone else experienced this issue?
Date published: 2020-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Damage to landscape We used this product when seeding using the Scotts drop spreader. No product was applied to surrounding landscape beds. Not only did the product affect broadleaf plants in the lawn area, but also turned turf grass whitish yellow. Plants, specifically salvia Caradonna in the landscape border bed which were not directly exposed to the product started turning yellow, as well.
Date published: 2020-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy - turning grass white When I noticed the Step 1 delivered to me was for Seedling rather than the regular version I've used in the past I called and spoke with a "brand ambassador" prior to spreading. I was assured that the products were almost identical and it was fine to use on my established lawn. That was 13 days ago and I now have huge patches of grass turning pale to white. I have an email from the representative I spoke with and will be addressing this with Scotts but wish I had read these reviews before applying it seeing that there are so many negative reviews, most with this same issue. I'm hoping someone can assure me that this will reverse itself but it has gone from bad to worse in the past 3 days.
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this product with reservations but am now I started a new lawn last year and fought weeds all summer. This Spring I oversewed my lawn.and applied this product with reservations. Weed preventers with new seeds was always a No No. I always used a standard fertilizer in Spring, waited 6-8 weeks and then tackled the mature,healthy,well fed weeds. At first I was disappointed, the seeds sprouted nicely but so did the weeds. In time, I noticed the weeds were getting pale. Weeks went by and most of the weeds were gone and the lawn was much fuller. I applied a second application 6 weeks later and now have a dark green lush lawn almost totally weed free. Scott’s New grass and weed preventer is now my choice for spring fertilizer. Give it time to work and I think you will like this product
Date published: 2020-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It burned my grass!!! As a long time Scott's 4 Step user I've been very happy with the product. However, this year I wanted to do some seeding so I bought the 4 Step program where the 1st Step is for Seeding...what a horrible mistake. It burned my grass and now my lawn looks terrible. It's been down for nearly three weeks and even after days of rain it seems to be getting worse. How do I get my nice lawn back?!? My neighbor did the normal 4-Step and look how nice his lawn looks...you can see a clean GREEN line!
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This did not work as advertised I bought this Fertilizer a little more than a month ago and applied it on March 28th just after I aerated and seeded the lawn. It claims it helps prevent weeds and will help promote new seeded lawns and green up your lawn. It definitely did not deliver. Not only did I continue to have alot of weeds grow on my lawn for the past 4 weeks but my lawn did not really green up as expected. I have literally been outside every other day pulling out dandelions, and they continue to grow all over my lawn- and crab grass is starting to grow as well! . Buyer beware! Do not waste your time and money on this product. You are better off seeding in the fall before the winter and apply the full strength Crabgrass Preventer or weed preventer late March or Early April.
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Yellowing random blotches of grass Went with Step 1 for seeding on April 5th. Looked OK for a week and now (4/25/20) looks lousy with yellowish splotches randomly appearing in lawn. (several others have reported same and mine looks like pictures of previous reviewers) Not weeds; appeared to be good grass. Scott’s products have worked fine in past many many years, not this one!
Date published: 2020-04-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product First review I have ever written for any product, that is how disappointed I am. Use the 4 Step program every year...not sure what we will do moving forward. Bought this product because we were filling in bare spots and overseeding. Lawn looked great for about 2 weeks, then all of the sudden it had spotty yellow/burn spots that are continuing to spread. They seem to be worse on the north side of the house, which just happens to be my front yard, UGH! Usually have the nicest yard on the street...not this Spring. Definitely would not recommend.
Date published: 2020-04-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does Not Work I live in New England. I gave this product a second chance because I had some bald spots that I wanted to touch up. Not only has that seed not sprouted in over two weeks but it is mid April and I am spot spraying for weeds like it’s late July. I put a lot of time and care into my lawn. I have used the Scots conventional program with good success but this product is a dog.
Date published: 2020-04-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inaccurate product description, be careful! I overseeded my lawn with Fine Fescue and Colonial Bentgrass, I made sure to read the packaging as Bentgrass is considered a weed for many. This product made no mention of it. Used it, overseed struggled & bentgrass never established. After further research, I found the weed prevention agent in this product is Tenacity! Which absolutely kills bentgrass! Why wouldn't you list that on the back of your product!? 2 stars because the fine fescue was happy...
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Did The Job! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was a bit skeptical to put a starter food with weed preventer down after I seeded my lawn. I thought for sure it would not work with the seeding. To my surprise my lawn looks great. Knowing how good Scotts products are I should have realized that they have tested it and tested it to make sure it does what it says.
Date published: 2019-10-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazed I was a sceptic before buying and so I bought it. I over seeded and used this product. Now, when ever I look out the window I see a beautiful lawn. Providing that the temp. Was fair with alot of rain. Lately it's been up in the 90s. I keep my lawn watered in the morning and when the evening becomes cool. But, it's been nice to see me lawn flourishing. I recommend this product. P.S. I have a front area of 500 sqr feet. I use about 1 to 2 pounds to spread on the lawn. Happy.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from My approved review is not posted. My review was approved and I do not see it posted. Why? Also I would like to add it took 3 weeks of high pressure watering on the areas ( 20) to wash off the white/yellow coating from existing bent grass/regular grass. When I get my water bill I will be asking Scotts to pay 50% of the second meter (watering) bill. My sprinkler system was just activated and not used to water the grass. Casual watering does not fix this problem.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy with the yellowing...any thoughts? Applied to my newly over seeded lawn, bought a 4 step program as I often do. Used a Scott’s drop spreader recommended setting on the perimeter and rotary spreader inside the perimeter. I have always used Scott’s products...this one is concerning. Used Scott’s Kentucky Blue Grass Seed prior to Step 1. Aerated before seed application. Will Turf Builder or iron help turn the yellow to green?
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from It’s doing its thing Finally a new starter fertilizer that has weed control that won’t harm the seedlings!! I just laid this product down when I newly seeded/overseeded my front lawn and have been watering as usual. So far it’s doing it’s thing to kill the weeds and crab grass but the newly emerged seedlings are greener, thicker and fuller than years past. Now that I have said that, it is very important that you read the directions and everything about this product before using. Due to the way it changes the soil it kills specific weeds but unfortunately certain grass types (typically those found in southern areas like FL where this product is not sold). The weeds and crab grass all sprout up white and die off leaving the rest of the healthy grass to grow and thicken. Overall I am very satisfied with how this product is showing results in just a week!!!
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from After using Step 1 grass had NO weeds! Grass now has appearance of new sod! Great and easy to apply with grass seed!
Date published: 2019-05-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible Used this stuff because I wanted to overseed my lawn this year.I have a 5000 sq. ft. lawn. I bought a 5000 sq. ft. Bag and put it on. It called for a setting of 7 on my Scotts drop spreader. I actually used 6.5 setting and only got half my yard done. And yes my spreader was calibrated perfectly according to Scotts. Now my yard is turning all yellow and looks like it is dying because of too much fertilizer. Pictures enclosed.
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for overseeding in Spring I have used this as a Spring grass food for the past two years while establishing the lawn at my new-construction home with solid results. It helps control weeds but still allows me to overseed or spot-seed thin areas without waiting months for pre-emergent crabgrass preventers to dissipate.
Date published: 2019-03-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Check grass type first (not good for Bermuda) Just a friendly reminder to those in the Southwest who need to use Bermuda or something similar - DO NOT USE THIS ON YOUR LAWN. The pre-emergent weed killer is too rough for that grass. Read the "Do Not Use" section carefully before buying. Look instead for the regular Scotts Turf Builder for New Grass if you are in the Southwest.
Date published: 2019-03-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved It and Buying More! So happy when Scotts came out with this product and it works!! Hopefully, they will come down in price once its been out awhile but saved me a lot of back breaking weed pulling so worth it. Product turns weeds a whitish color as they die so you know it is working. Fertilizer is excellent too!
Date published: 2018-10-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works as I expected it too When I moved into my house my yard was very patchy and had plenty of existing weeds. The guy at my local shop told me this stuff works well for seeding. His exact words was "its a little more expensive, but it works well." I reseeded this spring and my yard looks awesome so far. Most of my seed germinated and grew, but there are a few dandelions here and there, but those can be taken care of with a weed and feed product later in the spring. While I wouldn't expect this to prevent weeds as well as other preventative products, it still did a really good job while allowing new grass seed to grow.
Date published: 2018-05-11
  • y_2022, m_8, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_198
  • loc_en_US, sid_161432, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.92ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]