Choose a store for the best shopping experience and the most up-to-date inventory.
Black+Decker
Cordless String Trimmer & Edger, 40-Volt Battery
Black+Decker

Cordless String Trimmer & Edger, 40-Volt Battery

Cordless String Trimmer & Edger, 40-Volt Battery is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 69.
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_162658, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50.1ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$169.99
In stock
Model #
LST136
Item #
162658

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Black+Decker 40v lithium high performance string trimmer with power command, lithium-ion battery & charger included, maintains consistent power throughout entire cycle, for replacement battery use tv #209-094, fully charges battery in under 2 hours, 13" single line cutting path with an automatic feed spool ensures continuous work without bumping & having to stop to adjust the spool, uses standard .065 diameter trimmer line, af-100 replacement spool tv #722-702, power command dial gives users the option to choose between maximum power to tackle thick weeds or maximum run time to increase battery life, power drive transmission delivers more power from the motor to the cutting string which lets you get the job done faster, easy edger conversion, converts from trimmer to edger with the push of a button, tool free handle & height adjustment. includes 40v 2ah battery and charger
  • Lithium Battery Maintains consistent power throughout entire cycle (LBXR2036 Replacement Battery - TV# 183547)
  • Power Command Dial gives users the option to choose between max power to tackle thick weeds or max runtime to increase battery life
  • Charger fully charges battery in under 2 hours
  • 13-Inch Single Line Cutting Path with an Automatic Feed Spool™ which ensures continuous work without bumping and having to stop to adjust the spool
  • Uses standard .065 diameter trimmer line (AF-100 Replacement Spool - TV # 722702)
  • PowerDrive Transmission™ delivers more power from the motor to the cutting string which lets you get the job done faster
  • Easy Edger Conversion -Converts from trimmer to edger with the push of a button
  • Tool free handle and height adjustment
Specifications
Specifications
SKU162658
Weight10.300000
UPC00885911253062
Country of OriginCN
Package Width4.44
Package Length9.63
Package Height43.94
Model NumberLST136
BrandBlack+Decker
Manufacturer NameBLACK & DECKER
California Residents Proposition 65Warning: Cancer and Reproductive Harm - www.P65Warnings.ca.gov
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst B&D product I have ever owned I have gone through three of these things. Each one has died after about a year (at best) of light use....I trim a small yard about twice month for six months of the year. The rest of the year it just sits. Even when it was running, the line feeder is horrible. Their customer service people have been nice enough to replace it twice, but the problem is the product is honestly junk. Why keep sending someone the same thing when you know it is a bad produc? It does NOT address the issue. Look the all the reviews of it online. It is known to have issues. I have had other B&D stuff last for over a decade. Send a customer something that will actually work for them when it's obvious you have sold them a bad product.
Date published: 2020-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don’t buy this trimmer I have had 4 of these trimmers in less than 2 years. I don’t have that much to trim but the drive in the spools keep burning out. Starts making a grinding sound and then it smokes it. The only reason I kept going back and getting the same one is because the batteries are so expensive, had way to much money stuck in it.
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great works great, so far so good, fast delivery. hope it keeps working great
Date published: 2020-06-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not last I’ve been using this weed eater for about 6 months and the motor gave out. Not up to the Black and Deckers usual durability, I’m sad to say.
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from stopped working I bought the 40V B;ack & Decker cordless trimmer last year and thought it was the best thing ever for my yard because it was lightweight and easy to use. The 2nd time I used it this year, it quit working! I have 2 good batteries for it and neither will get it to work. Maybe a bad switch, I don't know. I sent Black & Decker an email with my problem and hope they can help. Unfortunatley, I don't have the receipt any longer.
Date published: 2020-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LST136 EXCELLENT! I have had this trimmer (LST136) for about 5 years now and I love it! It’s lightweight and the battery charges fairly quickly! The battery runs for approx 30-45min on one charge(same battery I’ve had for 5 -/+ years!) if you turn the dial all the way up it WILL run out faster! But I live in the country and have more than just regular grass to trim and it still lasts around 30min on one charge on medium setting and unless you’re trying to trim briers or baby trees medium setting is fine. The string is super simple to put it/take out but IS sometimes HARD TO FIND! Overall this product has FAR EXCEEDED my expectations and I love it and would definitely recommend it!
Date published: 2020-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great weight and size This is my third summer with this unit before I over worked it and needed another. Realized I got an 20V instead of this one. Returning to get the real thing because this one is awesome for this 65 year old ambitious lady who loves to work in the yard. Absolutely would recommend!
Date published: 2020-04-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Original battery life sucks Battery failed to charge after 4 or 5 uses and the battery date is from 2017
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tried the rest, now I have the best...! I have had this 40 volt Cordless String Trimmer and It is the best...! I have had a lot of units like Craftsman, and gas units. They are all junk...! My 40 Volt Black and Decker works every time and always does a good job. I cut my grass, my daughters grass and her friends next door. The unit last about 30 minutes on a 2 hour charge. I have two batteries. I love it, and will buy another one when the time comes. I use it 3 times a week and I have a very big yard.
Date published: 2020-04-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Only last 1 years with not much use Worked fine, but eats string. I used it a few times in 2019 and used it once this year and the second time the motor simply died. Battery is in good shape. Appears to just be a piece of junk. I had an older B&D trimmer which was electric and it lasted many years until the plastic cover shattered last year.
Date published: 2020-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best weed trimmer ever! My trimmer is around 8 years old and still going strong. Got tired of replacing the gas trimmers every year or two. I mow and trim around three acres and this unit has never failed me. The only problem I've experienced is that the original battery would not charge. Black and Decker quickly remedied the situation by sending me a new battery which I'm still using to this day.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New weedwacker I have an older model that uses an18v Nicad battery. What a difference between that and my new one. This one is much more powerful and lasts a lot longer too. Great purchase!
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from over all a good purchase I bought this trimmer because my lot is large enough that using a cord trimmer would be an enormous pain. The battery is good enough for my needs, to trim around the lot taking my time. It is light enough for me to wield properly (I'm in my 70's). It adjusts for height, which is handy (I'm 6'-2"). The battery recharges quickly. My only concern is the small triangular button you have to push while pressing the trigger to start the machine is awkwardly placed and small. I would suggest the addition of a "lock" feature to enable the operator to lock the trigger "on" - like a gas pump has on the spout. A larger "on" trigger handle would also be helpful, for hand comfort. I've not yet had to replace the cutting cord.
Date published: 2019-09-19
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for 1 1/2 years I have really enjoyed using LST136 trimmer for 18 months. No problems until today. Now the trimmer will not start. I have changed the battery but no luck. I have three batteries and have tried them in other tools and the work. Now trying to decide should I buy another model that would last longer.
Date published: 2019-09-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great yard tool My friend got this for me and it works real well, does everything it says
Date published: 2019-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from light weight I purchased this recently. I already had a similar one with less power and this one with the 40v battery is much better.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good trimmer but overheats easily Originally purchased June 2018 and very happy with overall trimmer performance. However, the motor cooling air openings are very small and easily clog with grass trimmings. Poor cooling design. Despite my care to keep the inlets clean, after only about 11 months the motor overheated enough to burn out. Warranty replacement was very quick and easy. We'll see how long this new trimmer lasts with its inherent cooling issues.
Date published: 2019-09-03
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Battery Troubles I bought the LST 540 String Trimmer in March of 2019. I've used it three times since the purchase. While it has quite a bit of cutting capability, the battery has given me trouble. The first time I used it, the unit stopped working about ten minutes into the job. After reading the instruction manual, I discovered that it had overheated. A few weeks later, I used it a second time. It overheated once again. Today, the third time in use, I used it off and on for ten to fifteen minutes total. It quit again. I placed it in the charger expecting the overheating icon to activate, but it actually told me that it needed charging. This is my first experience with a cordless string trimmer and I'm not impressed. At this point, I will keep using it, but if it continues to overheat and discharge after ten to fifteen minutes of use, I'll need to speak to someone in Support about it.
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Could be better The battery last long but the auto feed doesn’t let any line out. I have to stop and lift the cover off and advance the line. A real pain. I run it at the lowest setting so maybe that is why it doesn’t feed.
Date published: 2019-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have had this weed eater for a while now. I love it. It’s super easy to use. It’s been the best weed eater that I have ever used. Black and decker is the way to go.
Date published: 2019-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cordless string trimer I bought this it has always worked and done the jobs it is for . I love it . Very pleased with it.
Date published: 2019-08-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best purchase for the price! I bought this 2 & half years ago and so happy I did. It is so easy for me to handle and does a great job,and holds a charge to finish the job! Easy and convenient to charge.I am 66 ,and as a woman getting older was very happy & surprised how easily it handled. Love it& recommend it!
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Trimmer/Edger I have owned this trimmer/edger for over two years. It has worked flawlessly. It cuts cleanly and is strong enough for my 2-acre yard. This is one of several 40v products that I own. My only problem with any of these 40v products is that two battery units have failed (I have had at least 6 products with 40v batteries, and I bought two extra batteries, when on sale). It would be nice if B&D added a telescoping 40v tree-limb pruning saw.
Date published: 2019-08-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a time saver over gas powered bump heads For years I have owned numerous brands of gas powered string trimmers. I was always fighting them to start and constantly disassembling the head to make it advance the string. I bought this unit and I can't believe how much time I save. At about 1/3 power level I have about 30 minutes of battery life which is enough to easily keep my 5 acre yard trimmed. The automatic string advance is amazing, except for replacing 6 new string reels I have never had to touch the head to keep it advancing. At full power it will trim thick stands of grass and weeds and uses more battery life but it is nice to have that extra power boost when needed. It is probably half the weight of my gas trimmers which makes it easy to use for long periods of time. Just slap in the battery and go - what a time saver. I highly recommend this trimmer for household trimming.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from WOW! I was truly amazed when I bouight this string trimmer, 3 years ago, and I am still amazed today. Very light, works great, and the battery life is pretty impressive. This trimmer worked so well that I bought a hedger and a crain saw, which all use the same battery, and I am equally impressed with them. Terrific products that I have recommended on a number of occasions.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great trimmer and edger I've had my 40 V Max Sweeper for over a year. It makes my work easy. Always ready when I need to clean up around the patio and pool area. Great amount of power, battery lasts long and I like Lithium batteries that always keep their charge.
Date published: 2019-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from AFS does not work.. Bought this a several months ago used it for 1s time today Auto Feed not working. Plus it cannot handle thick weeds.. very disapointed.
Date published: 2019-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy-to-use but effective trimmer After owning an older model of a Black & Decker trimmer for ~10 years, I decided to buy another one when the original one quit working (after many years of satisfactory use in a residential setting). I like battery-powered devices and my newer B&D trimmer is a significant improvement over the first one: 1)the battery charges up much more quickly (60-90 min vs. several hr), 2)the battery now has an indicator light indicating time left before recharging, 3)the trimmer itself is more powerful, and 4)it is lighter. It was easy to put together, and single charge of the batter was sufficient to trim my entire yard and driveway (~30 min). As noted by other reviewers, because the newer model is more powerful, it uses the line more quickly than the older model; I consider this as a worthwhile tradeoff. The only slight issue is that the battery has to be pushed very hard for it to set properly in the trimmer itself; if you don’t push hard enough, the battery tends to release itself from the trimmer and the trimmer stops. (For that reason, I rated the “quality” of the instruments as 4 stars rather than 5).
Date published: 2019-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use I purchased my Black+Decker 40V MAX* Cordless String Trimmer with POWERCOMMAND this spring. I recently moved and didn’t have a trimmer anymore. I have had amazing luck with Black+Decker trimmers in the past, so I purchased this model. It’s extremely easy to use, charge, wash, and change the string on. I use it to trim the tall weeds and grass in my yard, especially around my chain link fence. It’s super handy for trimming around my wife’s bushes, shrubs, and flowers. Not having a cord to mess with is a plus. I’m extremely happy with my purchase, it works awesome!
Date published: 2019-08-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from head problem The 40 volt max trimmer edger (brush-less) is great except for the head. The head on a load will continually let line out just to have the cutter cut it off. I am in a rural area, we have weeds. My old 40 volt max with small line almost works better because of line use. A lot less frustrating. Get a replacement (improved head) a bump head would great. The way this is made it would need to be with the gear on the end or have the existing shaft altered. Engineered to not be improved on outside of a new model, I have four 40 max units old trimmer, new trimmer, chain saw and blower. I guess next time I will change to different company and batteries.
Date published: 2019-06-09
  • y_2021, m_9, d_17, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_68
  • loc_en_US, sid_162658, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.39ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore