$15 Off $100+Coupon Code: BLACKFRIDAY. Online Only. Ends 11/29. Details
Online Only

$15 Off $100+

With Code BLACKFRIDAY

Valid only on Truevalue.com. Not valid at True Value stores or on their websites. Not valid on Weber®, Traeger, Carhartt®, Kenmore, Ring, Nest ,Dyson, Makita®, Orca, DeWalt, Char-Broil, Hoover, Bosch, items: 242405, 242540. Other exclusions may apply. Purchase price of $100 excludes tax & shipping. Not valid on gift card purchases or with any other coupons, offers, or certificates. Void where prohibited. Coupon code valid through 11:59 p.m. PT on 11/29/20; code may be withdrawn prior to that time at our discretion. In that event, notice will be posted on TrueValue.com and prior purchases with code will be honored. Limit of one coupon per customer.

Cabot
Semi-Solid Deck & Siding Stain, Cordovan Brown, Gallon
Cabot

Semi-Solid Deck & Siding Stain, Cordovan Brown, Gallon

Semi-Solid Deck & Siding Stain, Cordovan Brown, Gallon is rated 2.4 out of 5 by 50.
  • y_2020, m_11, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_149597, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 53.11ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$44.99
In stock
Model #
17437-07
Item #
149597

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Price listed is for a single item. Must be ordered in multiples of 4.
May be purchased individually in store.
Description
Gallon, cordovan brown, voc, semi-solid deck & siding stain, lightly pigmented oil stain for increased uv protection & color, item may be voc restricted in certain areas, please refer to the restricted items report on mol for a list of items that are restricted in your area.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU149597
Weight9.640000
UPC00080351810343
Country of OriginUS
Package Width7.5
Package Length7.5
Package Height7.63
Model Number17437-07
BrandCabot
Manufacturer NameCABOT/VALSPAR CORP
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No longer lasts I used this deck stain 10 and 20 years ago with great results. However, the new formulation is TERRIBLE. I had to strip my deck down again within 2 years and start over. My high respect for Cabot engineers has faded as quickly as the new stain. Maybe all the good chemist there retired?
Date published: 2019-06-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product I used cabot stain on a new redwood deck. The wood was dry and I sanded the whole thing. After applying the cabot Australian Timber oil to the deck it looked terrible the next day, it was very blotchey and un even. I have to re sand the deck and apply a different brand of stain. I should have red these reviews first. avoid this stain.
Date published: 2019-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not hold up even one year on deck I have used Cabot 1406 twice to re-stain the deck that came with our house. The previous owner had used this originally to stain the deck. Therefore, I got the same product to re-finish. On both occasions, I sanded the entire deck down to bare wood, a tedious process. I rented floor/deck sander and bought sanding pads, etc, adding to the expense. I followed the application instructions, etc. The stain goes on just fine and looks great when complete. It just doesn't hold up. The first re-finish job lasted a little over a year before looking beat up. The second job lasted under a year. Maybe the ice and snow takes a toll, the deck is in Minnesota. Maybe despite my time, money and effort I'm not doing it right. I don't know. What I do know is that the work-reward payoff is not in balance. This next time I will strip all the Cabot stain off and try something else...because I doubt anything else can perform any worse. This product has taught me this lesson: If I ever build a deck, I will for sure use maintenance-free decking. The wood deck requires too much maintenance...all the sanding, washing, drying, wood conditioning, drying, staining, drying etc, not only take a lot of time (like taking time off work, burning up weekends), effort, money, and a certain amount of LUCK with the weather, but also takes your deck out of action throughout this process. It's Just not worth it. Even if you only have to re-stain every 3 years (instead of annually, with this product), its NOT worth it. Spend the money ONCE on maintenance-free, versus the frustratingly parasitic drain of time and resources recurring over many years. Thank you, Cabot, for teaching me this lesson.
Date published: 2018-10-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cabot semi solid deck stain I have been using this product for 26 years. It lasts for 6-7 years before I have to do it again. I haven’t had to do the pickets in at least 10 years. I am now 70+ years lady and am doing the deck again. I am brushing it on. I have been in my house for 29 1/2 years and had used Thompson’s water seal in the beginning which lasted 2 years.
Date published: 2018-07-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product. Do not buy this product. It was as thin as water, coverage was terrible, appearance even worse. I had a beautiful custom made knotty cedar chicken coop that I wanted to stain in a light tone to show off the beautiful wood. Now I have no choice but to paint over this garbage and hope it will at least stay put as an undercoat.
Date published: 2018-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very disappointing Stain didn’t even last a season. Stained it in early May 2017 and already coming off in areas where there is no foot traffic and light traffic.
Date published: 2018-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semi-Solide Love this Stain The Key is to sand the wood before always!!
Date published: 2018-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Why change a good thing? We've used Cabot 1406 since 2000 on our deck and pergola without chips or flakes. When going to the same counter for stain yesterday, was told that 1407 is the new replacement - same material. Wrong! The formula no longer soaks into the wood but applies like a paint. Had only applied the new stuff to the pergola. Will not apply it to the deck and rails, but go to another manufacturer for true semi-transparent tintable stain
Date published: 2018-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Coverage I just re stained a 450 SF deck with about 30 steps and all the rails. I used almost 4 gallons. I used the oil based semi solid. I sanded all the top rails and scuffed the decking with green scotch brite pads to make sure it would adhere. Some of the old product of a different brand, was still a bit shiny in places. all the new boards took two coats but the rest covered with just one coat over the old coating. It looks great! If it fails I'll hear about it and will report back here. I made sure there was no foot traffic at all for 48 hours. Also no rain during the curing time. I applied the stain with square stain pads on the deck and furry 4" rollers on the spindles, rails and side boards. In some areas I had to wipe away some bubbles left by the roller before it dried. Myself and a helper completed the job in about 7 hours
Date published: 2017-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible reformulation of a once great stain! I have had similar horrible results from using Cabot semi-solid deck stain. Prior to having a new deck installed two years and a half years ago, I had used the "old" formula for my deck for 25 years and always had perfect results. When the new deck was done, the contractor used Cabot's new formula and I was told I had to wait a year before doing another coat. After that first year, the finish did not look good so I prepped the deck as I always do and applied a new coat of stain. It behaved very differently that the old formula, appearing to not penetrate the wood. Within months huge patches of bare wood appeared everywhere. It looks absolutely horrible. And now I don't know what to do. Certainly using the same stain does not seem to be a reasonable option!
Date published: 2017-04-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great experience using this product!! Built a small pump house using 100 linear feet of Western Red Cedar 0.75x8" beveled siding and used this product to stain all 6 sides of the cedar before installing it. I specifically wanted an oil-based stain. I allowed to wood to acclimate outside and protected from sun/moisture before staining it. The stain went on very well. I threw away the cheap brushes I'd used when I was finished (I wrapped them tightly in Saran Wrap to prevent the brushes from drying out as it took a few days to install all the siding (part time effort). One side of the cedar has a rough texture so more stain adhered to that side that the smooth sides - not a complaint, but a consideration for those with a similar project so I used more stain than I had anticipated I would, ~4/5 of 1 gallon for 100lf with all 6 sides of each board painted with 1 coat. I'm a semi-solid stain believer now as it will not peel like paint does.
Date published: 2016-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cabot stains not recommended I purchased Cabot semi-transparent stain for my new wooden deck because of a referral and high rating. After the stain was applied it blistered up all over the deck boards. I was told that once it dried the blisters would go away. They did not and the deck now looks like reptile skin. If anyone uses this, be sure the instructions are read carefully.
Date published: 2016-09-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very poor results I have a 18x14 cedar deck that needed to be restained. I pressure washed it to get as much old stain off. Then I used 2 1/2 gallons of Olympic deck wash as recommended by Lowe's. Then waited 2 days to dry. I then applied the stain with the recommended staining pad. The results were very splotchy. Some places are shiny and some are not. This stain was recommended by the paint dept at Lowe's. It took 2 gallons to do the deck. The last time I stained my deck it only took 1 gallon of a product called In-wood. Very unhappy.
Date published: 2016-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Utterly amazed Southern Ontario - sanded deck to raw wood last year (no chemical prep) followed instructions - 1 coat... beautiful colour... big deal they all look good the first year... Follow up - after a rough winter... the verticals have maintained the deep rich colour the deck has faded a bit... but the wear is uniform across the entire deck... no peeling or any of the problems we have had to deal with for the past 30 years... so impressed - will be interesting to see what happens after a 2nd snowy winter... will keep you posted...
Date published: 2016-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Deck peeled after less than a year of application I used Cabot because I heard it was the best and didn't mind paying for a quality stain. I followed directions, sanded first then applied. The new boards held the stain , the older boards did not. Do not use this stain unless the wood is brand new.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Poor Dear Sirs: I am extremely disappointed in your product. We built a new cedar deck and waited 1 year to apply your product. As you can see this product did not last even 1 year. I work for a general contractor and will not be recommending your product as we now have to sand the deck to remove.
Date published: 2016-06-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from terrible semi solid deck stain I bought this product spring 2015 and used all your prep products to get the deck ready to use semi-solid deck stain. Now this first or next 2016 spring it looks just horrible, it is peeling off and most is already peeled off. It looks as if it is over 20 years old.
Date published: 2016-06-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible product, very disappointed Completely overhauled my deck less than a year ago: Stripped the old stain with a stripper; washed the deck with a cleaner; rinsed with a pH balancer. Waited 5 days for deck to dry, applied Cabot Semi-Solid deck stain in Cordovan Brown. The deck looked gorgeous, better than I had hoped for! I was so proud! Fast forward to December and I started noticing bald spots where the stain was coming off. Now, in May, less than a year since I did all that hard work, my deck looks disgusting. The stain has come off of almost every horizontal board. Spent all that money on all of those prep products, and all that time, it took me almost 4 weeks to complete. I really don't know what to do now, I'm seriously thinking about just rolling some exterior paint on top of that mess. I'm very disappointed in this product, I will not use again, I will not be recommending.
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not my choice I have used 3 years with each year re-staining. This product does not hold up in the South!!!
Date published: 2016-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from SOLID COLOR ACRYLIC STAIN PEALED OFF I purchased Cabot because I always had the impression it was the best. I purchased and waited a year to apply to new cedar after allowing wood to weather. Wire brushed and cleaned surfaces properly prior to application. It looked great at first, then started chipping and peeling off. My hardware dealer told me the factory had a problem with the formula and was introducing a "new & improved" product. I was told to remove all the old product before re-applying new product. That's a lot of work I am not capable or ready to undertake. How can you help me?
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This stain forments mold growth. We have had nothing but trouble since our contractor stained our house in CT with this stain. Every year, we spend $$$ having exterior mold removed. We had ZERO mold on our home before it was stained with this product. Our contractor now says the only way to stop the mold growth is to remove it, treat the house and repaint with a solid stain. I do NOT want a solid stain. I understand from internet postings that homeowners started having this problem when Cabot changed the stain formula. Cabot/Valspar has been very slow to respond to our contractor about our issues. DO NOT USE THIS STAIN IF YOU LIVE IN EASTERN CT.
Date published: 2016-03-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Rich deep color Had a new deck built off the house this summer and bought this stain because of the recommendation from a painter buddy of mine. It was easy to apply, and it went a long way. I am not a professional, but the job looks like I am! The stain gives such a deep redwood color! The cleanup was easy with soap and water! This was a great finish to our big summer project.
Date published: 2015-10-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst stain i have ever used I have been staining and refinishing for many years. Interior and Exterior. This is the worst stain that i have ever used. it did not go on evenly. the color we chose was not correct. it turned out to orange. was not happy with the result. Now have to redo deck next spring when weather is clear. a lot of time and money to get terrible results
Date published: 2015-09-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks bad a year later There are areas where bare wood is showing through and not just in higher traffic areas. The part of the deck that is under cover looks okay. I bought this brand because I was told it would hold up under the hot sun but that doesn't seem to be the case. I see the comments from Cabot usually put the blame on the homeowner saying the stain wasn't put on properly. It's more likely that this brand wasn't the right product for my deck in San Antonio. A free gallon to do touch up would be appreciated.
Date published: 2015-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from cabot semi solid stain on Trex composite deck I have professional cleaned and stained decks for the past 25years during which I have used several brands of deck stains always seqarching for the most durable , ease of application and cost. when the composite decking came into vogue and the inherit mold problems with some types it was a delema to find a product to clean tthe surface as well as seal it. It seemed that a annual treatment was always in order. I came across the cabot program on line. After alot of research I decided to use it on a composite deck that I have cleaned and sealed every year for the past 4years, This year I cleaned it and used the 17406 semisolid stain tinted to a red cedar color. The results was great and the deck looked like new after completion. Longevity will be determined over time but I aam very encouraged that it may hold up for 2-3 years..
Date published: 2015-08-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from horrible color We bought our stain in foothill as the sample in the store as well as the flyer looked gray. Got the stain home opened a can it looked gray. Finished our 400 sq ft deck and its BLUE!! Not even gray leaning blue this thing is full on country blue! Spent a lot of time and money to strip sand and stain a deck we didn't like only to wind up w a blue deck...on a green house.
Date published: 2015-07-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Team Cabot, please tell the truth what happened to I've used cabot stain for years and the stain lasted between three and five years before I had to re-stain. A great product. But codes on stains have changed the last couple of years and stains now act like paints. They peel, crack and lift. They do not seep into the wood anymore. They call these stains environmentally friendly. I was told it is like back in the seventies when they removed lead from all paints. This is a slow transition that stains are going through now. Pretty soon all stains will act like paint and peel. I don't know why they even call them stains anymore. You can thank the great USA looking out for us and making us spend more money and time staining, or should I say, repainting time and time again. I ask every where I go if the stain I'm buying is the "new" environmentally safe stain. If it is, keep searching. They are still around, but you have to look.
Date published: 2015-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Semi-Solid Deck & Siding Stain This Product went on smooth and wasn`t as hard to apply at all.It has a beautiful color and the clean up was a breeze! Covered PERFECT with one coat. It has a beautiful shine and the smell wasn`t over bearing either. I loved the coloring selections .
Date published: 2015-07-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn't last one winter. I applied this last summer to two pressure-treated decks after thorough prep of surfaces. It looked great - I was very pleased. But then winter. The snow melted and the stain has now cracked and lifted in many areas. It even happened on the deck I never shoveled or set foot on all winter. Very disappointed.
Date published: 2015-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very unhappy with the results Purchased 1400 series with high hopes. Majority of the deck was new wood "seasoned" for about 10 months. Followed the preparation instructions step by step. I completed the staining in August and by the time the snow was gone the next spring the stain was flaking and cracking. Traffic areas were practically bare of stain and even the tops of the railings were flaking. A lot of work and time for no return.
Date published: 2015-04-29
  • y_2020, m_11, d_26, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_50
  • loc_en_US, sid_149597, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.