Stanley
Quick-Change Retractable Utility Knife
Made in Usa
Model #
10-499
Item #
140541
Stanley

Quick-Change Retractable Utility Knife

Quick-Change Retractable Utility Knife is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 73.
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_140541, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44.48ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$7.49
In stock
Model #
10-499
Item #
140541

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Quick change retractable utility knife. Front loading blade release button & swing-out blade storage. cutting notch in handle. 3 position retractable blade. Includes 3 heavy duty blades.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU140541
Weight0.280000
UPC00076174104998
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.9
Package Length8.3
Package Height0.8
Model Number10-499
BrandStanley
Manufacturer NameSTANLEY CONSUMER TOOLS
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Seems to try a little too hard [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] You can't always improve on a classic, but this knife definitely tried to. It even succeeds, to a point anyway. I really like the twine cutter, and an easy change option for the blades is appreciated too. It just doesn't work as smoothly as I had hoped, and I fear the plastic parts that hold the extra blades will not hold up to the use and abuse that this tool will definitely receive. It also was very difficult to manipulate, although a little wd40 helped some. I really wanted to live this knife and I appreciate the thought and effort that went into developing this product, but sadly it won't be the one I go to first.
Date published: 2020-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Great so far [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We've had a chance to use the knife for about two weeks, consistently, in the workplace. What we like most about the knife is the blade stays in place, even under extreme conditions. Past knifes manufactured under similar conditions have problems with the blade staying in place and not pulling out when extreme exertion is required. So far, this knife has operated very well.
Date published: 2020-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Must have for any toolbox. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I would highly recommend this utility blade.The quick change feature is the best.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid Product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Works well, Fairly stout lock on the blade, Easy grip.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reliable product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been buying this utility knife for years now and have only had a couple fail on me. I buy in bulk to give to coworkers and have extras incase I loose them. They are extremely strong and handle cutting tight ropes, striping wire, among many other tasks. It is construction site worthy.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Real easy [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Fine quality. Easy to change blades. Excellent fit for your hands.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love the features of this knife. It is so easy to change blades. The new flip out blade storage compartment is easy to use. No more looking for the screwdriver to change the blade. Also, they have simplified replacing the blade too and, it is retractable so it can be closed when in your pocket or toolbox.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blade storage a plus [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This unit has some good features and some not so desirable ones. First the ugly, needs to have some form of comfort grip on the unit very uncomfortable handle grip. A metal or composite blade holder would hold up much better than the cheap plastic one that this unit currently has. My last complaint, who still uses knifes that you have to unscrew to change the blade? Make this one comfortable to handle with a durable blade holder and quick change blade and I might put down my Milwaukee knifes.......this unit not for pros...time is money we need to change out blades without a screwdriver........the good it does strip wire decent in a pinch, nice straight cuts on drywall do to it's nice weight...
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great light weight Knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] EZ to change blade. nice light weight can use all day long. just don't like the plastic blade cover. other then that it's a great light weight knife.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I like the knife that it has a quick change feature. I dont like the first finger molds in the quick change it's hard to grip the knife at weird angles. It doesnt feelcquick as stout as there other knifes. It has been holding up quit well so time will tell.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this knife! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This has always been my go-to knife. I can dull my blades quickly at times, so it is convenient to be able to rapidly switch blades around and have extras stored in the knife itself. The knife is ergonomic, easy to use, and convenient. I have never had issues with it and will always use this knife as long as it is around.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick change retractable full featured knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Easy to find yellow quick change button opens the built in blades holder. It also has a yellow button on the front to lock the blade in place or release it to retract it. Its Also easy to disassemble and re assemble as needed. The built in slotted cutter near the front allows you to slide over items to cut them without the blade exposed.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Well designed/made knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] It has been a long time since I have run across a utility knife that was any good, finally we have one here! It is of quality build and the design saves a lot of wasted time changing blades. Most retractable knives jam up with sheet rock dust and I have yet to test for that issue.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great knife, smooth opening and closing. Able to store extra blades with easy access for quick changes.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stanley [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Trying this out for Stanley great knife free sample products thanks
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from good knife with quick blade change [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I like this knife because of it's weight and the way that it fits my hand it lets me get a good grip on it when I use it for cutting in heavier jobs. I really like the feature of it locking open in three different leangths on the blade so you can set it so as to not make to deep of a cut on what ever you are cutting or if you just want to score drywall or some other material to be able to snap it where you want to have it break. The quick change feature that it has for changing blades is quite handy it makes changing a blade a real quick job with this knife no fussing around with taking it apart and then putting it back togeather again just to change the blade, just press the tab to push out the new blade storage compartment and get a new blade out of it and then just slide it back into the knife. Extend the old blade to the farthest open position push the yellow button to release the old blade pull it out and push the new blade back into the knife while holding the button down, release the button give the blade a little push and pull to make sure the blade is locked in and you are good to go it is that quick and you are back to being productive again. BOOM!
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great tool [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is a great utility knife, has storage for additional blades an d quick release changes blades in seconds without tools. Nice metal construction. Not a cheap plastic knife.
Date published: 2020-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick to switch blades [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I want to use my knife every chance I get specially when it has a sharp blade!
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best razor knife ever. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Fast easy blade change. Sturdy lock in place feature. The line cut feature really comes in handy. Use razor knife everyday and this is the best razor knife Ive owned.
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I need a razor every day in some capacity or another and this is an excellent choice do to the features such as easy replacement and on board storage of extra blades
Date published: 2020-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have owned several of these knives over the years. The tool free blade change makes this tool very efficient.
Date published: 2020-03-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great design, quick and easy blade changes [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been using this for about a week and really love the quick blade release feature. No more need for a screw driver to switch out blades. Blade holder in the rear is easy to use and store extra blades. I was skeptic at first but the blade is secure and stays locked into the knife handle. Very pleased with the fell of the knife in my hand as well.
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Utility Knife For Heavy Use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I really like this product. As with all Stanley products, it feels very high quality. The design of the frame feels very comfortable, solid and safe when using the knife. The blade storage is a great feature as well! Thanks Stanley!!
Date published: 2020-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from sturdy knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Right amount of heft to make it feel comfortable in your hand. Thumb rest is right where it needs to be to get good control. The knife has a finger cut out in the rear for the pinky adding to a sure grip. Tried different replacement blades from different manufacturers and they all fit the Stanley 10-499. Heavily painted finish and nickel-plated hardware make sure this knife will last. I’ve used other quick blade release knives that under heavy use the blades would pop out. Haven’t had this issue with the Stanley. The Quickchange system that Stanley has developed is far superior to others and have not had a blade pop out inadvertently.
Date published: 2020-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Blade Change This is one utility knife that is actually a quick and easy blade change. I was given another brand of quick change blade utility knife years ago and found it was more of a hassle than it was worth, but this is great and I also like the cord cutter slot.
Date published: 2020-03-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from One of my favorite utility knives but... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have many utility knives and actually had another one similar to this I inherited. That one disappeared, so I chose this one as my first pick in the Stanley sampling program. The first thing you need to do is remove the card that it is attached to. That turned out to be a challenge I finally solved by removing the screw and taking the two halves of the knife apart. It was a bit tricky to put it back together, but I got it on the second or third try. There's also a extra piece of plastic on the top blade storage release lever that you need to remove. I suggest a pair of diagonal cutters and you may need to file it smooth. Now, the great thing is you should never need to open the knife again because you can change blades and add more to the storage with no tools. Also the string cutting notch on the bottom is very handy and much safer than cutting with the full blade.
Date published: 2020-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good utility knife [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Used this utility knife to do so vinyl floor work. It fits your hand well with no slipping. Work well in all the situations it was used in. I recommend this knife for adding to your tool box.
Date published: 2020-03-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My Favorite [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The 10-499 is my favorite of the Stanley razor knifes. I have had several over the years and have never gotten the chance to break one because someone always steals it. I love the quick change blade an easy Access blade storage. I would’ve given it five stars except for the fact a couple of times cI would’ve given it five stars except for the fact a couple of times changing the blade it did jam and I had to play with it. And I do like the feature that allows you to cut string or box strapped without exposing the blade. Who ever is in charge of quality control needs to check out why It jams sometimes changes the blades.
Date published: 2020-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick change feature is awesome! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] The quick change feature is excellent. It's a tool-less cutter that you don't have to open up to change the blades. It also features the safety inner blade for thin corrugates. Unfortunately, it was not mentioned on the packaging but to those who know have used one before will know what it is. The blade storage on the bottom half is the weak point for this product because my palm is directly on top the button. I don't fear it opening by accident because I am gripping it tightly but it does need some getting used to. Overall, the product delivers on it's promise to have an efficient way of replacing cutting blades.
Date published: 2020-03-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product, junky and cheap... Junky and cheap and really a pain to change blades... Expect to own this for a few blades
Date published: 2020-01-20
  • y_2022, m_10, d_1, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_73
  • loc_en_US, sid_140541, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 12.05ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]