Iams
ProActive Health Cat Food, Chicken, 16-Lb. Bag
Model #
71226
Item #
158490
Iams

ProActive Health Cat Food, Chicken, 16-Lb. Bag

ProActive Health Cat Food, Chicken, 17.4-Lb. Bag is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 253.
  • y_2023, m_2, d_6, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_252
  • loc_en_US, sid_158490, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 47.95ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$36.99
In stock
Model #
71226
Item #
158490

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Iams, 16 lb. original chicken flavor dry cat food, more flavor & texture choices for your cat, improved palatability.
  • IAMS CAT
  • ORIGINAL CHICKEN
  • 16LB
Specifications
Specifications
SKU158490
Weight17.400000
UPC00019014712267
Country of OriginUS
Package Width14.28
Package Length22.39
Package Height3.52
Model Number71226
BrandIams
Manufacturer NameAMERICAN DISTRIBUTION & MFG CO
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love IAMS HEALTHY ADULT ORIGINAL Josie's been on IAMS for 4 yrs, I've always had excellent luck with IAMS products they come highly recommend by my vet of 30 yrs. No hairballs no digestive no problems!
Date published: 2016-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saved my cat! My sweet kitty Dori was getting sick all the time. She had urinary tract infections, a blood infection, etc. She lost over a third of her body weight. After being on a special prescribed diet and improving her health some, we put her on this food in the hopes that she would continue improving and that it would strengthen her immunity. I'm happy to say she has not been sick in over a year. She gained all her weight back. She's energetic and playful again! I've got my sweet girl back and I truly believe that this food is keeping her well.
Date published: 2016-03-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy cat My cat loves this brand he's very picky. Its also very healthy he gets complemented all the time. Daddy's little stud.
Date published: 2016-02-19
Rated 3 out of 5 by from its alot of water and oily iams is not as good it has been and I think its getting worse then getting better
Date published: 2015-12-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked a minor miracle I have a foster cat who came to me with horrible skin problems, flea bites, dull coat and generally unwell. He is massive at 17 lbs, possibly some main coon and he is poly dactyl. Iams food has changed his skin and coat. After a visit to the vet and strict instructions to feed Iams, Ernest is a new cat! He is playful and feels so much better. "time for your Iams" gets him running to his food bowl every time. He is vastly different now and with seven toes on each front paw, is capable of some major cat releated destruction.
Date published: 2015-11-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Marty's a Happy Boy! Ever since I was adopted by my American shorthair boy Marty, I've been concerned with feeding him a healthy diet. We tried the very expensive, exotic stuff from the pet store, because it was said to be very healthy. Well, Marty reacted to it about as well as I do tofu, which is also said to be very healthy - he wouldn't eat it. IAMS Original saved the day - Marty eats a healthy amount of it, without over-eating. When I call "Supper!" he RUNS to his bowl. His coat is great and his energy superb. IAMS costs a bit more than the other brands in my local store, but I feel the added cost is worth it, since Marty likes it and obviously has good muscle tone and a normal weight.
Date published: 2015-11-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from constantly changing I am disappointed with the inconsistent quality of this cat food. Have been buying it since 2002 and the product (and ownership) has changed. The kibble used to be more triangularly shaped and harder. Latest product is soft and my cat's reaction is to throw pieces out of the bowl and not eat the broken down pieces in the bowl. Considering trying another brand.
Date published: 2015-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have fed my cats Iams Original for many years. They have yet to tire of the flavor and I believe Iams is the best food for my cats health and well being.
Date published: 2015-09-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Diets Make Beautiful Kitties I used to purchase a few different cat foods for our cats, depending what was on sale, what I had a coupon for, and what I could get cheapest...only selecting from what I felt was top brand cat food (basically all the cat foods you will see Iams list on their comparison list). I thought they were all the same. Then, my daughter decided she wanted to shave our midlength coat, black bombay cat. This gave me an idea to see if we could visually see a difference if we stuck with solely Iams cat food while she regrew her hair. As her coat regrew, we noticed a difference quickly. She's always been a gorgeous cat, but now her coat is so glossy and even more silky. Her trouble with hairballs also cut down tremendously from many times a week to rarely ever, and her hair has been fully grown back to its original length for at least a year. I have refused to buy any other brand since, not only for the cats, but for our dog as well. If it makes that much of a difference in their coats, I can only imagine the difference it makes on their entire bodies.
Date published: 2015-02-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite of a Stray...now our Pet We have had our only cat for 5 1/2 years now. Our vet recommended Iams on the first visit. I have experimented once with another brand. Never again. He actually tries to leave the other brand in the bowl or flings it out piece by piece. If Leo could write a review, I'm sure he would say Iams 5 Stars! I have tried, I mean HE, has tried the Hairball formula, but he identifies with the Original. The Vet office labeled Leo as American Domestic Medium Hair, but we think he favors a runt Maine Coon or Norwegian Forest. So, there's some fur. He found us as a stray. As Leo ages, we may need to revisit the Hairball Formula. But I doubt we will try another brand. It's more important to see him enjoy the food in his bowl. And that's what it's all about, being honorable stewards to our pets.
Date published: 2015-01-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Food ok for 2 of my cats, but 1 did not like it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] 2 of my cats really liked the food and I am still giving it to them, but 1 of them did not like it at all and would barely touch it. I had to give her her old food, and she will not eat it ever since, she never ever barely tried it but will not. I do not know why. The other 2 seem to really enjoy it though so I am happy about that
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat approved [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My cat is a picky eater. I tend to want to try new brands with her so I was happy when Iams sent a free bag to try. I have never tried any Iams brand before. The bag sat for a couple days unopened as I had just purchased a new bag of her food. She tore the bag open with food already in her bowl of her other brand. I was worried she would get sick but did not. She seems to enjoy this food more than other dry foods. I also like that I can get Iams at stores other than pet stores which saves time.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious food that my cat enjoys [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this sample of IAMS cat food, and gave it to my cat to try out. He loved it! He seemed to prefer it over what I was currently giving him, and it seems like a healthy brand of food for cats.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from happy kitties [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have three cats and they all have enjoyed the transition to Iams. They seem to really like the taste and since I switched gradually they didn't have any stomach issues. I like that its made with chicken and seems to be helping their coats. The texture seemed similar to their last food and they just seem very happy overall with their new food.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loved it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My cat has always been a picky eater and often when eating a dry food it did not seem to agree with her. Since starting the Iams cat food she has been eating well with no upset stomach. She has been more playful and very content. She asks for it on the morning and quickly starts eating. We will definitely be using Iams for her.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kitty and Kitty's Person Approved! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been very impressed with Iam's Adult with Chicken cat food, and it really takes a lot for a dry cat food to impress me , and even harder for it to impress my cat, Mudvayne ( yes, names after the band ). Normally , I have to mix a high end wet food with any dry food that I give him, and if I am lucky, he will eat the wet food , maybe some of the dry food. Sometimes he just licks the wet food off of the dry food leaving the dry food behind. So imagine my surprise when I gave him a scoop of the Iams Adult with Chicken, that I received compliments of BzzAgent, straight out of the bag, no wet food added and he began to gobble it right up without any finicky hesitation at all! I was in complete shock that a cat food that was packed with all of nutrients he needs also appealed to his super picky taste buds. I would definitely recommend Iams Adult with Chicken to anyone with a a super persnickety feline in their life, that not only wants a food that their furry love will find super yummy, but will also help keep their fur baby's diet packed with all of the nutrients he/she needs as well. Iams Adult with Chicken will definitely be becoming a staple in our pet food pantry and I would venture a guess that it will become a staple in anyone else's who gives it a try :)
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat Food I feel Good About [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Our cat easily made the transition to Iams. It didn't take much mixing and she was happily eating it within a weeks time. She is happy, at a healthy weight, and has a shiny coat. We feel better feeding her this high quality, nutritious food and are glad we made the switch. My mother in law feeds two stray neighborhood cats and we shared some of the bag with her. One of the cats made the transition to Iams and the other will sometimes turn her nose up at it. She seems to be eating it more frequently but she is still mixing it with the original bag of food she was getting.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My cats favorite [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This is by far my cats favorite kibble. I caught my cat it in at the box when I received it in the mail. He clearly could not wait to dig in. I feel so privileged.To have been selected to offer this to my kitty friend
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from She like it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My cat has always been a bit of a picky eater. We have tried several brands and she doesn't always like what I bring home. This was one of the few she actually seems to like! It took her a couple days to warm up to something different than her usual but after that she had no problems. I like that Iams is a well respected, high rated brand. That I know she will be eating a high quality food!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meeeeooow! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I usually roll my eyes at the high-priced "quality" pet foods but, ever since Tucker, Olifur, and Parker made the switch, I roll no more! The royal triumvirate really took a liking to this food right away. We followed a progressive path until total switcheroo. At no point did I see change in eating or litter pan habits. Iams is definitely a trusted name, and this product makes claims that our kitts will be healthier. The only reason to pick something else is cost, right? I feel the same way. After Iams gave the boys and I a bag to try for free, and seeing their pleasure, the small increase is negligible. I recommend you try this meow.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Porter loves Iams Proactive Health Adult [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I'm now on my second bag of Iams Proactive Health for my cat. He never needed the transition, which really surprised me, and has been loving it since the first scoop. I know because it is an Iams product that it is healthy and well balanced and I appreciate the fiber blend which seems to have reduced some of his digestive issues.Porter is normally a picky eater (I don't know how many other brands I have thrown out), but he loves the chicken flavor of this formula. I like that the formula is designed to help him burn fat and give his metabolism a boost and he seems to be actually eating more evenly throughout the day instead of bolting down half a bowl as soon as it is filled. As I mentioned, we are now on his second bag and I am very satisfied with it. Iams Proactive Health Original Blend is definitely a winner in Porter's book.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fan-cat-stick! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have nothing but good to say about the Iams cat food. From the first day, my cat showed significant interest in eating, something she had previously not enjoyed. I no longer have to bribe her to eat with treats, she enjoys it, and she feels and acts like she used to!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Cat FOOD! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My kitty loves her IAM's! She was so excited when I took the bag out to the box, she ripped the bag opened, while she still had her other food in her bowl, and started to eat the IAMs instead. Needless to say, this is cat approved.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cat loved it [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Our cat is getting up there in age...she's 9. Some food doesn't set well with her stomach and she loved this and the pest part it stayed down! Iams seemed to be really good for her stomach and we have already bought the same kind to keep her going strong!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cat approved [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received a free bag from Iams of their proactive formula. I right away started mixing it in with my cats regular food to transition. She picked through her bowl and only ate the Iams kibble and foo fooed her normal food. For a bit, I was worried she could get sick but did not. After, I just gave her the Iams without mixing. Although healthy, my cat, a recent rescue is slightingly underweight. I have noticed she is filling out a lot and appears to be more playful.She has twice tried getting into the bag which forced me to get a airtight container for it. She never did this with her old brand. So, my cat loves this and I am happy to continue to buy it for her. Quality ingredients and the cost is about the same as her old brand. One thing,though. Her breath stinks now.
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Meow-tastic! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My kitty loves this stuff! I general purchase more natural foods for my pets, but may have to think about switching completely.Tenacious kitty is not a picky eater, but you can usually tell when he really likes something... and he likes this!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Picky Kitty Approves [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have been feeding my cat Sophia Iams Proactive Health Adult Original with Chicken for a little bit over a month now. At first I was scared she wouldn't eat it concedering she can be quite picky. Boy, was I wrong. For the first few days I mixed her old for with Iams as directed. On the fifth day I gave her a serving of just Iams. She devoured it. Sophia appears to have more energy and a shinier coat. She enjoys Iams Proactive Health Adult with Chicken and I feel better knowing that I am feeding her a more nutritious and healthy food. I will definitely be purchasing another bag after this one runs out. Thank you Bzzagent for giving Sophia and I the opportunity to experience Iams!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from MMM its taste so good and good for them too [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] MMM its taste so good and good for them too. Price and the quality is so good. My cats and I are very satisfied and will not use any other brand thanks bzzagent and Iams I got to try it for free!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from My cat is back to eating again! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have a 10 year old female cat, Daphne, who likes (ok LOVES) eating....she is on the chunky side! But the last bag of food I purchased was a lower quality brand of food that I bought due to convenience because we were out and need food ASAP and they didn't have my usual two high quality foods that I like to purchase (Iams is one of them!). And she has just not been eating the same and I was worried, but was hoping it was the food.....and low and behold I started giving her the Iams food and she is scarfing it right up! I am relieved that it was just the lower quality food that I bought and not her health. So it really does go to show that if you buy the better quality food it is not only better for your cats health, but they really do enjoy eating it more!
Date published: 2014-09-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my cat loves Iams [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My cat is picky. One would not have known it looking at his fat before. Lucky for me my cat loved Iams® ProActive Health™ . The cat has dropped a few pounds and seems happier Andover active. If you want a healthier cat I recommend this food.
Date published: 2014-09-18
  • y_2023, m_2, d_6, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_252
  • loc_en_US, sid_158490, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 11.24ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]