Your company account is blocked and you cannot place orders. If you have questions, please contact your company administrator.
Package deliveryExpedited & Express Home Delivery are the only methods to get it in time for Christmas. *Details
Model #
356150000
Item #
211204
Minwax

One Coat Polyurethane Finish, Crystal Clear Semi-Gloss, Qt.

One Coat Polyurethane Finish, Crystal Clear Semi-Gloss, Qt. is rated 3.0 out of 5 by 21.
  • y_2019, m_12, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_211204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49.42ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$14.99
In stock
Model #
356150000
Item #
211204

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Complete projects 3X faster. Maximum durability in just one coat. Crystal clear, non-ambering finish. Dries in two hours. Cleans up with soap and water.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 211204
Weight 2.1600
UPC 00027426356153
Country of Origin US
Package Width 4.12
Package Length 4.12
Package Height 5.12
Model Number 356150000
Brand Minwax
Manufacturer Name MINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and smooth Refinished dinning table from bare wood. Started with oil based, to smelly for the house. Too many layers needed. I got kids time is everything. Let this cure. Sanded and did two coats of this "one coat". SHINE! Almost glass like. If I would have sanded and 3rd coat it would have been glass like. Smelled better. DRIED FAST. I used a brushed. The brush marks leveled out so well. I wish I would have started with this and not the oil based.
Date published: 2019-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Used this as a final topcoat on a bathroom vanity. The vanity was golden oak and I painted it with Alabaster White milk paint. This Polyurethane went on so easy and smooth. It looks great and it truly is non-ambering, which was important because of the color I painted the vanity. I did put 2 coats on but I don't think it is necessary.
Date published: 2019-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Buildup, Easy Cleanup, What's Not to Like? I'm a retired shop teacher. Oh, how I wish we would have had something this easy, low volatile oils, and water cleanup in my day. This produces a nice finish without the time, skill, and number of coats that many other great finishes need. It would not be my first choice for a huge tabletop or continuous surface, but most smaller woodworking projects that can be sectioned off into logical areas to apply finish to are easily accomplished. You do not need to be a pro to use this. I'd not hesitate to recommend this to the occasional woodworker, in fact I already recommend this to another shop teacher. READ THE DIRECTIONS - they won't hurt you! TEST on an inconspicuous place.
Date published: 2019-05-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Some perspective. I've read other people's reviews and I think I can provide some clarifications. Basically, this product is pretty good (I am critical, so I am not giving it "great") but you MUST know how to apply it as it breaks most finishing conventions. If you do not apply it in this manor (if you apply it like a normal poly), it will come out terrible just like many reviewers have mentioned. As a result, its use cases are very specifically in those cases where the way it is applied is how you want it to look: THICK. After a fair amount of trial and error, I've found the following to work pretty darn well: 1) Use a high quality foam roller 2) Seal with as much as your surface will absorb in 3-5 minutes. Allow to dry until the whiskers are sand-able. 3) De-whisker. 4) Ladle on about 3 coats worth of product and spend about 10 minutes evenly distributing it until its as even and thick as possible. At this point you'll have visible roll/brush marks. But if you indeed put it on thick enough then you'll find that 36 hours later when it is mostly dry that 95% of them are practically gone. I've found this surface quality to be acceptable for my application, which is for surfaces which need a high degree of buildup for long-term durability. With time and practice you'll get better at it. Do not expect this to go on like a normal poly. Don't apply more than 2 coats.
Date published: 2019-04-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sorry I bought it! I have done a few projects over the years and have never had a problem with minwax products. I trusted their products so I didn't even bother to read the reviews for this One coat polyurethane. It goes on thick and leaves brush strokes. Reading the 3 reviews giving it 5 stars, even 2 of them put more than one coat on and sanding in between.
Date published: 2019-02-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product The consistency of the product is VERY thick, making it hard to apply a thin coat. I've worked as a professional painter for years, so experience is not the issue. Sadly the product dried and left a blue hue on my beautiful (and painstakingly painted) furniture piece. I either start over or throw out the piece. So disappointed!
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product - Not sure why negative reviews Stuff is amazing! But I think it should be called 2 coat for sure and also I think people are probably not understanding that this is not your traditional polyurethane and works a little different. Dries crystal clear and much harder than traditional poly. Builds 3 times as fast just as they claim. However I think it requires a slightly different technique. I use foam brush and lay down a pretty good coat as even as I can. Use pressure on first pass to make sure you actually get some poly on all surface area. This stuff is like glue out of the can so it doesn't spread on its own. 2nd pass with brush very lightly just to smooth it all out. Work quickly. This coat will feel scratchy and almost bumpy when dry. But since its already built up pretty good you can sand it with 400 grit wet or dry and it smoothes out way better than traditional poly. Sands like a dream. Next coat is your last coat and I go as light as I can with this coat. Use pressure on first pass again with foam brush but this time use less poly. Use as little poly as possible while achieving full coverage. This coat will dry almost smooth. Then I just use Murphy's Oil Soap "clean and shine" spray wood cleaner to lubricate and sand with 400 wet or dry and then move straight to 1000 wet or dry. Love the Gator sandpaper wet or dry. Smooth as butter. I'm no pro with poly but been trying to dial in traditional poly finish for my wood products for a couple months now and been struggling with a mixed wipe on/slash full coat technique that takes 4-5 coats with all kind of sanding in between. Now that I've found one coat Poly I'm not going back. Better finish in 1/3 of the time. I absolutely love it!
Date published: 2019-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great I used this for the first time because I needed a water based finish, due to having to finish the project indoors. It did take some getting used to since it is very thick. It may require light sanding between coats (yes, coats with an "s"). I always put more than one coat on no matter the product because missing spots is all but guaranteed. I used a synthetic brush. It is also useful to use a bright shop light at an oblique angle to help see the work surface, and do not brush over areas that you have sat for 60 seconds or more or it will streak (as with most finishes). I like it because it is thicker and seems to protect better due to that fact. I applied four thick coats in all (I actually flooded the table top on the last coat) and lightly sanded between each coat with 0000 steel wool, making sure to use a tack cloth and a damp microfiber cloth between each. On the final coat, wait two weeks to cure fully then 0000 steel wool again, followed by 1500 grit very wet sanding, then polishing compound, then paste wax buffed to a shine for gloss sheen (same steps as when using other brands and types of clear coats). Very consistent even finish when applied this way. Do not buy this if you are looking to same time - do it the right way, not the "fast way." Also, do not thin with mineral spirits or any solvents--it is water based. There are no recommendations for thinning that I can find, but if you must, water would probably be best? I know it seems counter-intuitive to use several coats, but again, I did not buy this product to cut corners, I bought it because it was the only water-based polyurethane available at my local store. I will say that if you only apply one coat with no finishing buffing to even out the surface (as outlined above), it will look uneven and streaky due to the thicker formula and quick dry time.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice finish. I have used this on a few tables and benches. Easy to use. Spread it on, and move on. Don't back track and it will come out great. I'm currently building a kitchen table with black walnut and currently testing for water marks on a test board. I've applied this product to bottom of my table top, and it again turned out smooth, no brush marks, with a cheap brush from the Habitat Store. I'll let you know how the "water" test went. (ice water glass left, and then let it air dry)
Date published: 2018-12-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good idea. Terrible product I made a nice piece of furniture for a Christmas gift for my daughter. It took a long time. And since Minwax has never let me down before, I thought I’d use the one coat. It streaks even with a good brush. The project looks awful and it’s almost Christmas. Hate this product!
Date published: 2018-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Innovative product I am a painting Contractor with 30 years experience. I used the One Coat acrylic polyurethane on moldings and windowsills, and it was very thick and provides a more durable coating than regular varnishes, but is a little harder to brush out. I was able to get it to level out on the windowsills, but I had to move fast or it will show brush strokes if you go too slowly and brush one area too long... It may be easier to use on horizontal surfaces than on vertical surfaces... The product is better than the Polycrylic but takes some getting used to... At least it doesn't have the odor that causes headaches like the oil-based varnishes, so I didn't have to wear a respirator. The sheen of the satin is a little less shiny than some other satin varnishes....
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Brush marks no matter how applied Super thick. Does not level out. Leaves brush marks regardless of brush or pad quality. On my third coat now and will need to sand it yet again and find another product.(one coat is a joke if you want a smooth finish) I even added floetrol on this last coat.
Date published: 2018-11-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great coverage-dries quickly Purchased 9 November 2018 for tabletop project. I suggest using best quality brush to avoid streaks and brush marks.
Date published: 2018-11-13
  • y_2019, m_12, d_15, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_21
  • loc_en_US, sid_211204, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.1ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.