Ortho
Home Defense Insect Killer, For Indoor & Perimeter, 1-Gallon RTU + Trigger
Ortho

Home Defense Insect Killer, For Indoor & Perimeter, 1-Gallon RTU + Trigger

Home Defense Insect Killer, For Indoor & Perimeter, 1-Gallon RTU + Trigger is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 1073.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_1070
  • loc_en_US, sid_141913, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 49.75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.99
In stock
Model #
0220810
Item #
141913

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Ortho, Gallon, Ready To Use, Home Defense Insect Killer for Indoor & Perimeter RTU Trigger, Kills all common listed household bugs. Up to 12 months protection. Ready-to-use trigger sprayer for larger areas. Active Ingredients: 0.05% Bifenthrin, 0.0125% Zeta-Cypermethrin.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU141913
Weight10.460000
UPC00071549022082
Country of OriginUS
Package Width8.95
Package Length4.88
Package Height12.0
Model Number0220810
BrandOrtho
Manufacturer NameSCOTTS ORTHO ROUNDUP
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Repeals spiders, nothing at all to roaches In our old home I swore by this. While a pest control company had gotten rid of my roaches, they failed with spiders and this done the job...good enough at least. Now I have roaches again, new house. And well no pest control company so far will haul their behinds this far out. I used this for a year when we first moved to where we are now. Roaches and spiders. We have NO neighbors so really this shouldn't be so hard to handle, where they going to go or come from? And yet, still have them going on year three now. I used another of Orthos insecticides the following year and it didnt do anything either. Repeat applications. This stuff doesnt work one day let alone a year as either jug I had stated. Sprayed directly in a roach and I swear it laughed at me as it kept on trucking. They are worse now, though the spiders seem to be mostly sticking outdoors at least. I'd rather have the spiders back though if it meant no more cockroaches.
Date published: 2020-11-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not lasting 3 months I purchased the Bug Defense to deal with spiders and house centipedes. It took a few days after I first sprayed to see results and then 6-7 weeks later, I’m seeing centipedes again. I sprayed inside and outside my house. I don’t know how the centipedes are reappearing.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ineffective Product It is either the roaches in my home are resurecting or this product does not do what the manufacturer says. It hasn't work for me at all.
Date published: 2020-11-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the product-its the wand that always breaks I buy this product to keep the bugs and pests out of the house, it works great, see a bug spray the rooms and no more guys. The problem is with the wand-I buy this regularly -but this the 3rd time the wand would not work-I have only used this one and broke already at least the others worked a while at least
Date published: 2020-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this product!!! I have used this product on my last 4 houses!One was in Colorado, 3 here in the South. I spray my perimeter inside and out every 30 days and have never had any kind of bug problem! In summer you might see ant trails on porch or flying, crawling bugs around porch lights...I JUST grab my easy battery operated sprayer and give a quick spray, gone! Has been reliable all these years!
Date published: 2020-11-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I don't get the hype DOES NOT WORK AT ALL. KILLS ON CONTACT...SLOWLY, BUT FIVE MINUTES LATER, BUGS WERE CRAWLING RIGHT WHERE I SPRAYED IT. HAVE TRIED IT FOR A MONTH NOW.
Date published: 2020-10-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ortho Home Defense is worthlessness for stink bugs I tried to find any way possible to get rid of stink bugs. I found many articles saying Ortho Home Defense was wonderful. Well...it has been a waste of money!! It’s done nothing to stop the stink bugs, or even the lady bugs, Don’t bother with this stuff.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad experience...... Bought the Ortho home Defense max with the comfort wand. The wand provided no comfort only frustration as it would squirt out a stream only and no mist. I should’ve taken it back immediately but figured I would rough it out. I have been transferring the product into another spray bottle that works. Next, the product itself when I spray it directly on flies and cockroaches they don’t even slow down almost as if they’re laughing at me.I am used to insecticide or sprays that when you spray an insect directly it stopped dead in its tracks. I have sprayed the entire house and spots where the occasional roach appears and I have noticed no difference whatsoever. I Would appreciate a refund though I did not keep the receipt hoping that I could make it work which I couldn’t.If nothing else a replacement wand or gallon of product with one would be at least an even break.I will send you a picture of the product to prove that I bought it thanks.
Date published: 2020-09-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sprayer won’t spray Great product. However, the last 2 purchases I have made of this product the sprayer only spits after only using maybe 10 times. Almost a completely full container and can’t use because of this. Not happy!
Date published: 2020-09-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from so many ants I have purchased this product for more years than I can remember. My only complaint is the spray dispenser, it works for only a short period, then doesn't work for us. This happens every time, so saved an old pump spray from old container and switch out. What are we doing wrong?
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Power sprayer quit spraying aft once around house I bought this product today. Assembled the sprayer to the container and started spraying the perimeter of my house. The spray was fairly wide starting out and as I traversed the house, it started to diminish. By the time I got around the house it was hardly more then a single stream. I pulled the hose out of the bottle to let the hose drain thinking that something had gotten up into the sprayer. I hoped by doing that it would clear out. When I reinserted the hose back into the bottle and tried to spray. No liquid would siphon from the bottle, even though the motor was running. Wonder if inserting the hose into the bottle is a one time thing? Will have to wait a little while to rate the killing capability of the product as far as killing insects as hasn't been long enough to determine. Reading some of the reviews, I'm not the only one who had problems with the power sprayer. If I can't get it to work tomorrow, I will have to see how the refund if not completely satisfied with product will work.
Date published: 2020-09-19
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Spray Nozzle Does Not Work The product seems to work, but after using a few times the spray nozzle does not work. It comes out but not very well.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Does not work. Last week, I sprayed Ortho Home Defense around our house's foundation, doorways, and garage - TWICE. We were trying to keep the noisy crickets away. This week, we have crickets in our basement. They keep us awake at night. It sounds like a quartet. They don't stop. I will not recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does its job Ortho Home Defense has been a great solution to bug problems in our home. It is effective for quite a long time. We use it once a year and that is enough to keep pests under control in the house. It even works on spiders which I have been told are difficult to kill with sprays. I find little dead spiders here and there and I know the Home Dafense is working. I have had no problems with ants in the house since we started using this product. An added plus on top of the effectiveness of Home Defense is how easy it is to apply. The comfort wand really is very comfortable. All you have to do is aim where you want to spray and squeeze the trigger. Your hand doesn't get worn out having to pump a trigger like so many other spray products. It is easy to get the job done quickly and accurately with ease and no discomfort. This is a really great product and I am so glad to have it to use in my home.
Date published: 2020-09-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works But Sprayer Wand Sucks! This is the second jug that I have bought and the sprayer just dribbles out the spray on second use. Is the powered wand supposed to be one time use? New jug works great, takes half a jug to spray my condo. A month later I go to use the second half of the jug and the sprayer is jacked, it just spits like a few inches...not a decent spray like first use. Don't buy the powered wand, it is not worth it. Buy a refill jug and dump it into your own sprayer. Ortho hand sprayer and powered wands are complete garbage!
Date published: 2020-09-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from works but does the gallon have an expiration date works but does the gallon have an expiration date?
Date published: 2020-09-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bad design of sprayer, doesn’t kill bugs I bought this in May.. had to take it back due to sprayer part missing. I have used this in my kitchen , emptying out all the cabinets and spraying everywhere Around doors even in my dishwasher !, still have roaches. I planned to try one more time and now the wand will not spray on ... drips even with new batteries. The problem is there is no slack on the tubing when you place it in holder it bends and block the spray I think plus the motor is bad . So between all this I wont be buying this again
Date published: 2020-09-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for Indoors and Outdoors I have used this for years both inside and outside works every single time! A product we can't live without!
Date published: 2020-09-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from HATE THE NOZZLE This is the second time I have purchased this product with the battery operated nozzle. Both times before even half the product was used up the thing does not work. batteries are fine, held it above nozzle to "prime" it, soaked nozzle in warm water and it STILL DOESN"T WORK!! This is a well known issue with these nozzles. Why don't you go back to the original way this product was used? At least it worked!!! Will not be buying a third one for sure! I will just empty the expensive product into a spray bottle and use it up that way.
Date published: 2020-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This WORKS! This product works great! I sprayed inside our house about a week ago and now I’m seeing dead spiders! I saw one spider outside walking around like it was drunk near a patch I sprayed. Then, it curled up in a corner and died. I have also been noticing dead spiders on the walls where I have sprayed. This is GREAT because I have a huge fear of spiders (use glue traps to give you another hand in the war against bugs). It upsets me that a lot of the bad reviews are due to people using the product incorrectly! Let me break it down for you. Firstly, this product is NOT for on contact kill! It is NOT meant to be sprayed directly on insects. It may say ‘Kill On Contact’ but that means when the product is dry. Nowhere in the directions does it say to spray the insect! Pesticides will usually attack the insects nervous system, which is why you may see more bugs after using this product. They can not run and hide when it becomes day due to the product! So NO, insects are not attracted to this product. Secondly, it may take a while to work depending on the type of insect and how much pesticide it picks up. Up to an hour even! So if you see a bug walk right through it, don’t be alarmed, it will probably die later. And by the way, this product only works when it is dry! And lastly, don’t be surprised if it takes a little longer for the pesticide to kill spiders. When spiders walk, usually only the tips of their feet touch the pesticide which means they don’t pick up as much. But I have seen it first hand kill spiders, and the spiders that I do find are so confused I can walk right up to them a smoosh them. I saw one in the middle of the floor just sitting their in broad daylight! Meet my shoe. Never seen a spider do that before. All in all, this is my first time using a pesticide and I’m happy with the results so far! I do believe I am seeing less bugs, although I’m not sure how it holds up outside since I only used it indoors. And once again, no idea if the comfort wand works, I got mine in a spray bottle. By the way, this does indeed have very little odor! It smells a little like Neem Oil when sprayed and only made me sneeze unlike other pesticides that sting my through. Highly recommend!
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kills most bugs I am a continued user of this product. It works wonderful inside and out getting rid of most bugs. It definitely works on spiders which is my biggest worry and annoyance. I love the battery operated sprayer but it seems to not spray as far within a few uses. Also my indoor cats somehow got fleas and it doesn’t seem to work around the inside of the house to rid of them.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Didn’t work! Just bought a new house and we haven’t seen any live roaches but we definitely have seen live and dead earwigs, dead roaches, and other tiny dead beetles in the house. We have also seen live and dead silverfish... I sprayed this a couple weekends ago and the next weekend I still saw live earwigs And silverfish... so I sprayed this again. This is the third weekend we are still seeing live bugs. There was even a wolf spider in our entry way. I’m not understanding if our bug problem is just too bad for this stuff or if maybe I’m using it wrong? I followed the directions. I shook the bottle and sprayed all around the perimeter of every room and the door frames. I’m pretty disappointed with the results. The directions were easy to understand though and the application was so easy, but it just hasn’t worked for me as expected.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works like a charm I use this product regularly. We have a high population of spiders and scorpions in my area so I spray every month (inside and out). The one time I skipped out I woke up to a scorpion stinging me in bed, not enjoyable. Keep in mind that while the product may last for 12 months as stated on the label that needs will vary. Would definitely recommend. Only product that has reliably functioned for me and one bottle lasts a good while. Kills unwanted bugs like a charm.
Date published: 2020-08-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't work.. even after 3 jugs We applied 3 jugs of this across multiple weeks of applications. We did as per the instructions and guidance. The product didn't have any impact on the bugs - in fact we feel like it attracted more!!! What a colossal waste of money. I've never seen any product fail so completely.
Date published: 2020-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bug Pandemic We are living in an older mobile home and are in the process of remodeling every inch of the house. We started on the kitchen first and it wasn't long before we started seeing bugs. I did a lot of research before buying OrthoMax. I sprayed the kitchen today and within a few minutes I had a few on the run from their hiding spots. I sprayed again before bed and when I got up a few hours later, I was horrified, yet strangely satisfied. to see those nasty little buggers upside down in the floor!!!! We are going to spray the remainder of the house and the yard tomorrow!
Date published: 2020-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from has the ingredients changed? ive been using this product for years and have loved it. i would spray the outside perimeter and a little bit inside and would not see any ants/bugs for about 3 months (only needed to spray twice a year).. this year i have sprayed 4 times in the past month and are still over run with ants.. theyre getting into everything! why has it stopped working? we sprayed some directly on the ants, they swam to the edge and continued about their business.. not a good sign.. can you maybe recommend a product that actually works??
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Working On My Brown Widow Issue Bought this and applied to the outside of my house on all edges, holes, crevices, door jams, window seals, etc. a few weeks ago. I was pleased with how quickly Tiger beetles started to crawl out of their holes and die. I rated the product a 3 because it did seem to work on lots of pests other than what I was targeting. I felt optimistic that this would work to help my issue with brown widow spiders, which I was/am finding by the dozen per day. However I noticed by the same evening that more brown widows had made nests on the porch, right above where I sprayed just hours earlier. I saw some responses by ortho on here to allow the pesticide 6-10 days to work on target species. However, now it has been 20+ days since I sprayed and I am still finding plenty of these spiders. The picture attached was taken just a few minutes ago. This is about the 10th one I’ve killed by hand today. All roughly the same size and all with egg sacs, meaning I will be having even more here soon.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inferior Product Now, Wand Sucks This product has gone downhill. The wand is worthless unless you want puddles of product all over. The spray option produces a thick stream, so much for not oversaturating.
Date published: 2020-07-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nothing good Just bought this two days ago sprayed the outside of my house and next day ants all inside my house again! I found the nest and soaked it. Also sprayed the outside of the house again as soon as it finished drying the ants crawled right over it! Could it be a bad batch? It looks like water! What's up with the batteries in the wand good idea if your using the whole bottle but can't see them lasting for a year or more!
Date published: 2020-07-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible. Deserves zero stars Bought this couple of months ago. We purchased this to the popular 'Orthomax' name and it seemed to claim to kill the bugs we're having appear randomly in our apartment. We have followed directions and continued to apply it throughout our indoor and outdoor living areas. All is seems to do is run the bugs from the corners to the center of the rooms. Its ridiculously expensive for it to not kill a bug!! I have personally sprayed it directly onto several bugs and they didn't scramble around or try to run away or appear to die in any way whatsoever. Waste of our time, money and effort. Don't waste yours. If I could rate it zero stars i would!!!!
Date published: 2020-07-17
  • y_2021, m_1, d_17, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_1070
  • loc_en_US, sid_141913, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.