Shipping options and delivery times have changed. Get details.

Minwax

Helmsman Spar Urethane, High-Gloss, 1-Gal.

Helmsman Spar Urethane, High-Gloss, 1-Gal. is rated 3.7 out of 5 by 28.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_433029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 106.7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$42.99
In stock
Model #
13200
Item #
433029

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Gallon, high gloss, helmsman indoor/outdoor spar urethane, item may be voc restricted in certain areas.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 433029
Weight 8.250000
UPC 00027426132009
Country of Origin US
Package Width 6.3
Package Length 6.3
Package Height 7.5
Model Number 13200
Brand Minwax
Manufacturer Name MINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This yellowed my white door that I had just staine This yellowed my white door that I had just stained. very disappointed
Date published: 2019-08-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks great! Smells worse! Used it to finish my hand made coffee table. Looks perfect with 4 coats, but a week later still smells terrible! Should I leave it in my yard for a while?
Date published: 2019-08-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wrong sheen in can? I just bought another can of the clear satin to finish some wood work. The sheen does not match the prior application from a previous can. It is like a semi gloss, so shiny. Wonder if quality control, or labeled wrong. Now in the same room, I have two different sheens on my woodwork. Any suggestions to dull the new shiny one? I have used this for years and never had such a problem.
Date published: 2019-02-17
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The clear finish has a yellow tinting I put the finish over a gray stain and there is a tint to the finish It is suppose to be clear satin I have used ithe finish before with great results and no tinting It is sad when many hours of finish work is undone by a finished designed to protect the work, instead it discolored the final product
Date published: 2019-01-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can was impossible to open with damaging it ! I have NEVER had trouble opening a paint can like I did with this one, after breaking my painters tool, and tearing a hole through the lid with a large regular screwdriver - it finally took a pair of channel locks and the screwdriver together to get the cover off, which created so much damage that the remaining contents had to be thrown away. Can number 2, same problem ! ...never again
Date published: 2018-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and smooth finish I love this product! I make hand carved crochet hooks and knitting needles and use the spray version of this Spar Urethane. It's very forgiving when you apply the spray, meaning it kind of melds into itself creating a very uniform seal on the wood. Very durable, protective coating once cured. Very happy with the product. There is a slight ambering affect. You want to use the Minwax water-based sealer if you do not want a slight yellow/amber tint added to your product.
Date published: 2018-11-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not sure about long term It goes on good with a brush or sprayer. I put several coats on some outdoor furniture I made. After a couple months, the finish turned white. I sanded it down and put on four more heavy coats. It's covered for the winter. I'll see how it does next summer.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product. Spray professional finish I have used Helmsman to refinish my front door, which receives damaging direct sun in the afternoon. I have to sand and recoat every three years or so.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking durable finish! I used the Helmsman Spar Urethane as a topmost ( 3coats) over Minwax stain on a planter. The planter has been out in the weather for over a year and the finish still looks as good as it did when I placed it outside.
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use it in the spray form for my lathe projects a It goes on easy without running and drys smoothly it doesn’t take a long time to dry.
Date published: 2018-11-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super tough! Works great on outdoor projects. It will last for a long time.
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough product great for outdoor use I used this product about 20 years ago to seal a brick porch entry way, and it still looks good today
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product I have been a professional woodworker for 25 years and I can tell you that every product that Minwax makes is beyond excellent. Most of the furniture that I restore is from the 1850's and no one can tell the difference from 1850 stain to today's stain. I will not use anything else. Woodchuck woodworks
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from makes all the wood projects look great I have purchased and used this product many times over the years, just last month on a newly purchased wood American Flag
Date published: 2018-11-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Spar Urethane Coating. I've used this for several years in finishing my scroll saw artworks. Great. I do wish that you made a citrus scented'/infused material however.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to apply and great appearance when dry. We live on a Island close to Sea water and the Salt mist is harsh environment on most finishes this product has held up the best in protecting our wood doors.
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the exterior side of stained doors Used this product at the house I built on the Oregon coast, and it's still looking like the day it was applied. We're talking 20 years!!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helmsman Spar Urethane I have used this product with great success as a waterproofing varnish on two wooden airplanes and have observed its use on many other wooden homebuilt airplanes some almost 40 years old and it protected the wood, the glue joints and also blocked the UVA and UVB rays from the sun
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I USED THIS ON A HANDMADE GUITAR! I build solid body guitars. I have used lacquer on others, but I had a spray can of this so.... It came out beautiful! It was so easy to apply!
Date published: 2018-11-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I still refer to it as "Marine Spar Varnish." My hobbies include making rustic art woodworking projects. The material;s are often reclaimed lumber of which most are designed to endure the midwest's outdoor elements. I am often asked for product referrals and do not hesitate to make the reference of Marine Spar Varnish being used to product teak and mahogany wood on salt water craft. If it can endure these elements, think what it will do in one's backyard.
Date published: 2018-11-06
  • y_2020, m_9, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_28
  • loc_en_US, sid_433029, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.06ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.