Shipping options and delivery times have changed. Get details.

Nutro

Wholesome Essentials Dog Food, Dry, Chicken, Rice & Oatmeal, Adult, 5-Lbs.

Wholesome Essentials Dog Food, Dry, Chicken, Rice & Oatmeal, Adult, 5-Lbs. is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 253.
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_253
  • loc_en_US, sid_169276, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 68.37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$15.99
In stock
Model #
11646
Item #
169276

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Nutro Wholesome Essentials Adult Dry Dog Food Farm-Raised Chicken 5 pounds.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 169276
Weight 5.000000
UPC 00079105116466
Country of Origin US
Package Width 6.0
Package Length 8.5
Package Height 14.0
Model Number 11646
Brand Nutro
Manufacturer Name AMERICAN DISTRIBUTION & MFG CO
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not happy I bought this and after two days my dog was throwing up and has terrible diarrhea. I threw the whole bag away and searched the internet and found where several people are having the same issue.
Date published: 2018-06-13
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wrong Picture, Wrong Product I bought this product a month ago hoping that it would be as pictured; but what I received was the newer product that Nutro has replaced it with: Nutro Wholesome Essentials Chicken, Brown Rice & Sweet Potato Recipe. Be aware that what you think that you are getting is NOT the same product even though the product bar code is the same.
Date published: 2018-01-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bring back the Oatmeal I bought in quantity that I now go to get more and all I find is a sweet potato formula. My dog has a sensitive stomach and I prefer oats for daily food rather than the potato diet. Works for me. Works for her.
Date published: 2017-07-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wholesome essentials Adult Couldn't believe that my "littles"(Chihuahuas) actually dove into this and cleaned up their bowls. Please don't change anything!! They love it.
Date published: 2017-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from New bag My dogs have been on this food since they were puppies! All time favorite food, the only reason i gave it 4 stars is because of the new bags! Half the time im in a hurry and grab the wrong one because there are about 6 different bags all in the same color and its annoying! I liked when the bags were categorized by color! Other than that great food and my lab, great dane and golden retriever love it
Date published: 2017-05-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Potato not good for sensitive stomach Please bring back the original recipe with Oatmeal. My dog has a very sensitive stomach and the sweet potato certainly did not help her. I had to shop around to find a pet store that still had the old recipe in stock but I'm sure this will not happen again. Why change something that was working????????
Date published: 2017-05-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Bring back original formula My dog did great on the chicken, rice, oatmeal blend. Now he can't tolerate any of your foods, and I'm struggling to find something that he can eat!!
Date published: 2017-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy on my dogs stomach My dog has a very sensitive stomach. He does extremely well on the nutro products. He loves it.
Date published: 2017-05-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good My mastiff didn't care for it too much but he's spoiled on wet dog food because he's a growing pup. But my blood hound ate it up like there was no tomorrow and he is picky about dry dog food and has skin allergies. He seemed to respond well to this food.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a Great product My dogs enjoy this food. And it makes their coat shiny.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Obviously a great taste and coat is lookin amazing Got this from PetSmart as a freebie to try and I won't buy anything else now for my Bassett mix. His coat looks amazing and he has plenty of energy now rather than just being a couch potato. This food is amazing.
Date published: 2017-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please bring back regular adult chicken and rice Please bring back the regular adult chicken and rice and oatmeal for sensitive stomachs! I have 4 dogs and they can't eat the new kind with sweet potatoes as it upsets their stomachs! Please bring back the original type! I am scambling to find good dog food again. Help! I can't recommend this product with the sweet potato mess in it.
Date published: 2017-05-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nutro Chicken Sweet potato I have been feeding my dogs this about 10 years. My current dog is 5 and last shipment I got was sweet potato he won't eat. Where is original formula?? He is an English setter and they have sensitive stomachs now what do I do cause what I find is 100.00. Are you crazy. Thanks a lot Nutro
Date published: 2017-05-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So upset you got rid of old recipe My 14 year old Pug and 4 year old Malamute both ate the chicken,rice & oatmeal recipe and Nutro has now changed it to sweet potato and my dogs hate it. Why would you do away with the old recipe??? Should have kept it and added this new recipe as an additional product. Had to scramble to find something else. Do you know whats it like having to change a 14 year old dogs food that has health issues??? I felt so bad for him. My dogs now eat Purina and fell in love with the chicken and rice recipe. I am no longer a Nutro customer.
Date published: 2017-04-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed in the formula change I have been buying this for my dogs for almost 7 years, since they were puppies. I have show dogs and rescue dogs all which loved it. Now Nutro not only changed the appearance but changed the formula from oatmeal to sweet potato and not one, but ALL of my dogs HATE it. So disappointed that they messed with the dog food. I am now trying to manage to find a new food they like and doesn't make them sick.
Date published: 2017-04-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Used to love it, now dog HATES it. I have been buying Nutro for my dog since she was a puppy. She had loved the food. Since you made the change with the "New look, same great taste" she refuses to eat it. She throws it all over the floor and will not eat it. I bought the usual 30 lb bag. It was a waste of money and time. I don't know what is wrong with the food that she won't eat it, but even when I smell the food, it doesn't smell good like it used to. I am VERY disappointed!!!!! I will cook food for her myself, at least then I will know EXACTLY what goes into her food bowl.
Date published: 2017-04-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from mommy to 3 furbabes Our pups [4, 3 & 6m] ate Blue Buffalo since we got them. We found that it was way to strong for them. Constant upset stomachs [horrible gas]. With the guidence of our vet we decided to switch them to Nutro & have been so please. No more upset stomachs or gassy pups. They love their food & we love having peace of mind that we are giving them a high quality food that is perfect for their needs. We have referee many friends & family to make that change to Nutro♡
Date published: 2017-01-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great food without the byproducts We had our dogs on another brand of decent dog food when we had to keep taking Chihuahua to the Vet to have his glands expressed. The Vet explained that some smaller breeds of dogs do have this problem and it's just something that we have to live with. Upon some research, I found that more fiber and food without byproducts could help. We switched to Nutro Naturals a few years ago and have not had one gland issue since. The extra few dollars we spend monthly on the better food more than makes up for monthly visits to the Vet and w pe feel good about giving our dogs a better food.
Date published: 2016-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My boys love Nutro&I feel safe feeding Nutro! My two Rat terriers Jack (24lbs) and Sparkie (17lbs) were switched from a typical brand dog food that was using by-product meal and euthanized dogs and cats in their food, like many dog food companies out there! I was sick to realize what they have been eating all these years. Did some research, a lot of research, and switched them slowly to Nutro. Since I switched their dog food slowly they did not vomit, did not have a upset stomach and did not get sick. They absolutely love this food and can be sometimes picky with their food! They already had nice coats, but I can feel the difference though, a good difference in the softness! The great thing about this food is they can not pick and choose their pieces, this is one way I know they truly love this food! The dog food does not smell or feel greasy on my hands. I feel safe feeding Nutro to my two boys and I know they are getting the proper nutritional valuesin their food now everyday! I do not have to worry about by-product or unknown animal ingredients or euthanized animals in my dog food no longer, gives me a piece of mind! Since they love this food, I do have to buy a couple small bags each month. It is a little pricey for a small bag, but worth every penny knowing it is a safe food for them. My dogs love Nutro, I am a fan and I would recommend this food for any dog owners! I am happy I made the switch and is really worth the health of my dogs and the money is worth it . Thanks Nutro!
Date published: 2014-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistent and great! I have used Nutro Natural Choice products for my dogs exclusively for the past 16 years and am pleased with the very limited number of recalls they have had in their dog food lines over that period of time compared to their competitors. They seem to have integrity in their manufacturing process, and I so appreciate that they use U.S. farm-raised chicken. My rescued shepherd/sheltie mix started on the chicken and rice adult, moved to the lamb and rice adult and then on to the senior in her old age. She lived to be nearly 17 years old and I credit Nutro and lots of long walks for her good health throughout her life. Now I have a new rescue dog, a 5-year old Australian Shepherd. When I rescued her she was on a holistic duck and turkey food and had frequent unformed stools 4-5 times per day. Over the last week I have begun switching her to Nutro Wholesome Essentials Chicken Rice and Oatmeal and like magic she is now on a regular bathroom schedule and her stools are firm enough to pick up. She loves the food so much I even use it as a training treat for her. I have confidence in Nutro for the good health of my dogs.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flatulent dog My dog has suffered from enormous amounts of daily gas. She is a 3year old Plab, a Pitbull Lab mix who likes to gobble her food. Since starting her on this food she is tolerable to be around. Her flatulence has decrease from every 10-15 minutes to less than daily. We no longer need to spray airfreshener all day.
Date published: 2014-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing transformation! We started with Nutro brand when we got our first dog (Chloe) from the breeder. When we decided to adopt a dog (Quincy) from the pound his skin was was red and dry & his coat thin and course. He was plagued with loose, frequent stools. After 6 months on this Nutro product he was a different dog!! Soft silky full coat and no more dry itchy red skin or loose stools! Everyone including my vet were amazed at his transformation! I'm a die hard fan and would NEVER use anything else for my babies!
Date published: 2013-01-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from soft stool, dog's miserably gassy. My dog's been having a hard time with this food. After switching from Nutro's Lamb and rice formula, this chicken first ingredient feed was a big mistake. Not only the dog has diarheea after a romp in the park, his whole body smells like chicken feed. And he's passing gas quite a lot. People are asking me what I'm feeding him, after they see my dog splash diarheea all over the park. If he is just walked, not romping in the park, his stool is soft, at best. After this 30 lbs bag is finished, I am switching back to Lamb and rice, for sure. At $ 50 a bag (30lbs), I can't wait for it to be finished. I want to be able to pick up after my dog, and not be embarassed when he poops.
Date published: 2013-01-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dog Knows What's Best My mom and I used this formula for our 2 Shih-tzu for three years. Then our 12 year old Bearded Collie started getting sicker and sicker with age, we gave her some of this instead of her normal food, and she's almost completely back to her old self :) Around the same time, I moved out with my Shih-tzu and decided to try a different food. She would eat it, but from August until the past couple of weeks, she wasn't acting like herself. Switched her back to this formula and voila, Pixie acting like a pixie once again. I had my Husky/Lab puppy on a different quality dog food that was cheaper. She took one sniff of this and immediately loved it, she even prefers the adult formula to the puppy formula. I guess it's true, the dogs really do know what's best for them!
Date published: 2012-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Allergies galore My sweet little border collie mix has so many allergies it is outrageous. I'm sure they affect her sensitive stomach. I've always fed all my dog's premium food, but Natural Choice Chicken Meal, Rice and Oatmeal is by far the best for maintaining her coat and queasy stomach. I've never changed her to senior food, although she is 13 years old. She may have some mileage on her, but she's still very energetic with a shiny, full coat and all of her healthy teeth!
Date published: 2012-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes dogs happier I had a rash of upset stomaches about four years ago when my normal dog food at that time changed recipies. I have five dogs from 12 lbs up to 72 and all five ill is not a pretty sight. Ended up at the vet thinking I had picked up a bug or something. It turned out they all had upset stomaches. The vet recommended moving to a sensative stomach formula. I tried several different ones before I found this one that the dogs liked and that worked with thier digestive systems. I have been using it since. I have two friends that have moved to it since they saw the change in my dogs. Good food, the dogs will eat without being starved all the time.
Date published: 2012-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My dog was in a "corn coma" for years After reading that what I was feeding my dogs was made mostly of fillers (like corn) I decided to try Nutro. What an amazing difference!! My pit bull mix's fur is thicker, we just thought his coat was thin, and he has so much more energy!!! I honestly believe the other brand put him in a "corn coma.". My dogs love this food.
Date published: 2012-02-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for my dog's sensitive stomach Finally found a food that my dog loves. When I open a new bag of dog food and pour it into the food keeper, my dog can't wait and she starts to eat it while it's falling out of the bag. Would not use anything else but Natural Choice.
Date published: 2012-02-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IS VERY. GOOD FOR MY BULLDOG I started giving this food to my english bulldog and is very good for a nice diet. I really. Recommend for bulldog puppy'sand older dogs.
Date published: 2011-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product We started our dog on the small bites puppy food for sensitive stomachs and recently made the swith to this adult food. She has always been a picky eater and was never very excited about meal time, but she gobbles this food up without even adding her usual bit of canned food! We are thrilled with this product and so is our dog. It definitely makes a difference in her coat, which is shiny and silky smooth!
Date published: 2011-11-14
  • y_2020, m_9, d_25, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_253
  • loc_en_US, sid_169276, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.76ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.