IMPORTANT: Shipping options & delivery times have changed and customer service response time has been affected by high order volume.

Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯

Scotts

Turf Builder Winterguard Fall Weed & Feed, Covers 15,000-Sq.-Ft.

Turf Builder Winterguard Fall Weed & Feed, Covers 15,000-Sq.-Ft. is rated 4.0 out of 5 by 145.
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_128253, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 44.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$75.99
In stock
Model #
50240
Item #
128253

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
5,000 SQFT Coverage, 28-0-6,Turf Builder Winterguard Fall Weed & Feed, Improved formula - up 2X more powerful dandelion and clover control. Cleares out dandelions and clover - guaranteed. Weedgrip Technology gripes the weeds you see and the ones you don't. Feeds to build strong, deep roots for a better lawn next spring. Improves lawn's ability to absorb water and nutrients versus an unfed lawn. Apply August Through December.
  • Improved formula - up 2X more powerful dandelion and clover control
  • Coverage: 15,000 sq. ft.
  • Cleares out dandelions and clover - guaranteed
  • Weedgrip Technology gripes the weeds you see and the ones you don't
  • Feeds to build strong, deep roots for a better lawn next spring
  • Improves lawn's ability to absorb water and nutrients versus an unfed lawn
  • Apply August Through December
  • 28-0-6 Analysis
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 128253
Coverage (sq. ft.) 15,000
Weight 44.900000
UPC 00032247502405
Country of Origin US
Package Width 16.25
Package Length 24.0
Package Height 6.0
Model Number 50240
Brand Scotts
Assembled Width 16.25
Assembled Length 24.0
Assembled Height 6.0
Manufacturer Name SCOTTS LAWNS
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Seeing crazy Nutgrass after application I had a leftover bag of Scotts winterguard from last fall. Used this in late Feb. Immediately after applying my green fescue turned brown and Nutgrass/Nutsedge has taken over my backyard now. Horrible product, wont be using again. :(
Date published: 2019-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not reccomend! Last summer we killed weeds, raked out dead weeds and grass and used easy seed lawn repair. Lawn was beautiful by end of summer! We were so happy. Applied winterguard in fall. All of our new grass (and hard work) is dead and brown. Very disappointed and frustrated!
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of time, money and my lawn I've used Scotts products for the last 20 years always with good results. I applied Turf Builder / Winterguard in October, following all the instructions on the bag. I just raked up the sticks/leaves, etc which had accumulated over the winter and my lawn in coming in clumps - the entire area I raked looks burnt - it's horrible. (I have before and after pictures.) I will have to spend a ridiculous amount of money to basically re-seed and fertilize the lawn. I hope the lawn will survive. This product is horrible and I would never recommend it. I have attached before and after pictures.
Date published: 2019-03-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of money and time Applied winterguard weed and feed to my lawn (East Texas) last year in early October and meant to leave this review sooner. As most reviewers on here say as well, I followed the directions as stated and conditions were allegedly perfect, per the recommendations on the bag. Luckily, I didn’t have any of the problems with burn spots others reported, but it didn’t burn the weeds either. Not at all. I’d honestly like to have what’s left in the bag tested to see if it’s even remotely close to the chemicals and concentrations Scott’s advertised. The only difference I’ve seen after applying this product is a lot more weeds in my yard over the last few months. It’s honestly hard to explain how thick they have grown. I have to wonder if the people with positive reviews are lucky enough to not have a bad weed problem to begin with. My yard was laid with Bermuda sod two years ago and had looked amazing. Half of it is a clover field now. Do yourself a favor and don’t waste the little time it would take you to put this product out. It’s not worth it!!
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 1st year with all Scott's product Applied my second application of Scotts® Turf Builder® WinterGuard® Fall Lawn Food six weeks after the 1st application. Applied per instructions, 3.5 on spreader to a wet lawn but 5 days later noticed approximately 50 small worms(looked like small inch worms-not grub-and I am sure many more dead) on my sidewalk. Why? I did over the two previous years apply GrubEx so I do not believe that to be the isuse.
Date published: 2018-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did nothing I followed the instructions exactly. I bought the spreader, set the distributor to 3 1/2, watered the lawn beforehand, and even followed instructions from the Scotts website of when to use the product. It has been 4 weeks and there is no difference in my yard. I’m really disappointed. This was a total waste of money. Nate
Date published: 2018-10-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Killed grass Always use Scott products and are happy with them until I purchased this stuff.Did exactly what instructions on bag said and within 3 days it burnt up not only the few dandelions but also the green grass in big patches on lawn.I have never been more disappointed in a product in my life.Ill never buy another product from Scott’s if this problem doesn’t get taken care of.
Date published: 2018-09-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dreaded Burn Spots I recently (9/1/18) used this product on my lawn using a Scott's rotary spreader at the setting indicated on the bag (3 1/2) . I really tried to be careful with the application. This particular fertilizer is not comprised of granules, but rather is almost in a powdery form. In 2-3 days I noticed a number of burn spots, elongated streaks roughly a foot long in various areas of my yard. I had been using the "economy" fertilizer and am well aware of how easy it is to burn spots in the yard. To repair them is a pain in the neck because they must be repaired and then watered for an extended period or the summer months will kill the new grass quickly. I began flushing the burn spots daily. Some now appear to have killed the grass in these spots. I am so disappointed. I do not blame Scotts. Rather, I see this as my foolishness. But, BEWARE!
Date published: 2018-09-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This product did not work. I love Scott products but for me this was not good. I applied to my lawn last fall and my lawn is covered in weeds.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Chunky Fertilizer Will Not Work With Scotts Spreader I purchased enough product to treat three acres of Bermuda grass. The six large bags were purchased at a big name home center. When the bags were opened and poured into the spreader, the product was chunky with some solid masses. The chunks plugged up the opening in the bottom of the spreader after a few minutes of use and the spreader had to be emptied out and the bottom slot cleaned. This happened repeatedly. Eventually the Turf Builder had to be poured into a five gallon bucket and broken up with a large hammer before it would flow through the Scotts spreader. All 240 pounds of product was in the same condition. All of the store inventory was in the same condition and I picked out the six best bags from the forty plus that they had on the pallets The trouble I had was with the physical condition of the product as it was packaged. The product now has only been on the turf for twenty four hours and I am not yet sure of the chemical performance. I have always had good results from Scotts products, but I will not pay a PREMIUM PRICE for a product that is this difficult to use.
Date published: 2017-10-24
Rated 3 out of 5 by from How to use Can i apply scotts winterguard weed & feed early fall and late fall in the same year
Date published: 2016-09-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Prepare your lawn for Winter! winter guard with weed & feed gets your lawn looking great and healthy while preparing it for the winter season. I prefer Scoots fertilizers as the product(NPK) is all in 1. Your lawn gets even distribution and even growth. Great product! Take care of your lawn with this product.
Date published: 2016-09-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Winter is over My Lawn is Excellent I liked the early results in December. But when the spring came the lawn looks like a painting its outrageously thick and green like a Crayola crayon throughout. Minimum weeds and coincidently no ants, yet my neighbors both called in exterminators (results from using summerguard twice July and August). The results from using Scotts products, correctly, are well worth the effort and investment. Apply and sit back and watch the grass grow!!!!!
Date published: 2016-05-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Killed my lawn I've been using Scotts products for years and have always been very happy, until this spring. I applied this product as I always have and this spring my lawn has the burned looked of poor fertilizer. Very upset with the product. I had the best looking lawn in the neighborhood, but now it's the worst.
Date published: 2016-04-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not work We used the 4-Step and have used it for years with mixed results. This year our back yard has been overcome with chickweed! During the summer I thought there might be a little improvement but in Sept-Oct, it came back with a vengeance. We used the Winterguard hoping to knock it back before winter. We put it down in the morning with damp grass and got misting rain about 36 hours later. The weeds are now even worse. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works well Applied this October in Pennsylvania. We had very warm Nov and Dec, grass continued to grow. This products killed weeds and new grass flurished. So glad I applied. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Killed my lawn I do not recommend this product due to the fact that it actually killed my lawn!!!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-01-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Winter coverage. I love this product, used it before the Temps got cold, but my lawn thickened up and stayed green into November and until the snow came. Looking forward to see how it did over winter.
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from solves the weed problems When I used this the first time I was hoping for some results better than what I had been using, anything better. But I was so happy with the results, I used it again this fall. Not only does it give the grass a good start before spring, I don't have to worry about weeds making it over the winter. I am very happy with the product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-01-08
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Money and Time I have used Scott's products for years, but am done. The last few times I have used their weed and feed, it has not worked at all. I used Winterguard and spread exactly as instructed with my Scott's drop spreader. Now my yard is covered in weeds, while my neighbor's yard that runs right along with mine is weed free. Not impressed AT ALL.
Date published: 2015-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from my lawn has never ever looked so good When I first applied winterguard I was not pleased my lawn looked a little brownish and sickly. I watered but still not pleased. I thought I would just let it go and work on it in the spring. well here it is December 5 and the lawn looks like a carpet, and absolutely no weeds. I can not believe the results, Neither can my neighbors, one accused me of putting down sod.I have used Scotts Turfbuilder for over 40 years, my father used it exclusively . Summerguard, Winterguard Scotts gives me outstanding results.
Date published: 2015-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have been using Scott's for two seasons with professional results. I have done Scott's for two seasons now. I apply winterguard in early fall, then again 6-8 weeks later. I have the greenest lawn in the neighborhood still. I do the spring weed and feed as soon as it stops risking frost. In June I will apply an application of Summer guard with water smart followed by another application in August. I often get comments about how green my lawn is. I have had minimal burning just when my application overlapped.
Date published: 2015-11-20
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Does not get rid of clover or dandelions I have been trying the 4 step process consistently for 3 years now. I follow the directions to the letter and keep in mind the temperature. I cannot get rid of the clover in my lawn and it has worked on half the dandelions. I am going back to hiring a professional company to take care of the weeds. This is a total waste of money.
Date published: 2015-10-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works but coverage exagerrated I have used Scott's products for years just like my Dad did when I was growing up. The product works for me if I follow the directions, however the coverage of 15K feet is exaggerated. I have a Scott Drop Spreader and the recommended setting is 6. Well, I use that, walk briskly and minimize my overlaps. I use almost twice as much as the package claims. If I spread it thinner to get the 15K, my results are poor. I have a 1/2 acre with a 4,000 foot house and and a 22,000 gallon pool and lots of landscaping so no way I should need 35,000 square feet of product, but that's what it works out to. My recommendation is buy double what you think you need and if you have leftover, use it in the Spring.
Date published: 2015-10-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't buy unless you want to replace your lawn I have used this product two years in a row, thinking I possibly overspread last year. Nope! Same dead lawn within 2 days! The 'fertilizer' is expensive in itself, not counting the resod. I am throwing almost a full 45lb bag in the trash. Will not use again.
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from It killed my lawns What's wrong with it it burns my grass I have used weed and feed many times and it has burnt my grass over and over I do like the your grass seed but I should not have to buy more grass seed every time I treat my lawns for weeds
Date published: 2015-09-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from I havent any luck with the Scott's Products I purchased the complete lawn care throughtout the year and everytime I use the products it burns my lawn. My entire lawn need reseeding not sure why I continued to purchase. I thought maybe I was applying it wrong. Nope followed the instructions everytime. My water bill is through the roof trying to water and keep it looking decent after it burns my lawn. I speaking of the Lawn Food, Summerguard, Weed and Feed and now the Fall Weed and Feed.
Date published: 2015-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fall Weed & Feed This product when applied to wet lawn per the instructions does an effective job of killing most all the weeds and preparing the lawn for winter. I always make sure I buy the fresh stock in the big box store I buy it from. I can tell when it is fresh when the garage that I store it in smells like the weedkiller in the product for a week before i use it. This is a wonderful smell to me
Date published: 2015-09-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Kills my lawn I purchased this product to control dandelions and feed my lawn. Using a Scott's spreader, I followed the product directions and about 30 minutes after applying the product we had a wonderful soaking rain. One week later my lawn is dying and dandelions are growing everywhere. Now I am stuck with replacing whole sections of my lawn and once again dealing with a larger dandelion population before. I don't recommend this product! The cost involved in replacing sections of the lawn alone is large and the time I need to spend to correct this problem makes me quite upset.
Date published: 2015-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from To early to tell...... I am writing to simply ask if I can seed after putting this product down? If so what is the recommended wait time? Also, is it safe to use starter fertilizer?
Date published: 2015-09-02
  • y_2020, m_8, d_8, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_145
  • loc_en_US, sid_128253, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.54ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.