Miracle-Gro
Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix, 8-Qt
Model #
72078430
Item #
690493
Miracle-Gro

Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix, 8-Qt

Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix, 8-Qt is rated 3.3 out of 5 by 137.
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_690493, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 60.13ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$6.99
In stock
Model #
72078430
Item #
690493

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Miracle-Gro, 8 qt. Cactus, Palm & Citrus Mix. Fast-draining formula contains a mixture of Sphagnum peat moss, composted forest products, sand and perlite that is excellent for growing cactus, palm, citrus and other succulents Helps prevent soil compaction and improves drainage.
  • Size: 8 qt
Specifications
Specifications
SKU690493
Weight11.030000
UPC00032247207850
Country of OriginUS
Package Width4.0
Package Length13.0
Package Height17.0
Model Number72078430
BrandMiracle-Gro
Assembled Width4.0
Assembled Length13.0
Assembled Height17.0
Manufacturer NameSCOTTS GROWING MEDIA
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Devastated Last year I decided to not let living in an apartment keep me from growing & keeping plants something I have loved most my life since my grandfather taught me how to garden as a child. So I have only bought Miracle Grow brand soils since the beginning of my endeavor last year. Shortly after I started noticing the gnats not thinking much of it I ignored this (big mistake) within a matter of weeks most my plants were dead dying or not growing & looking sickly after turning to the internet & a few professionals for answers I was told I had a serious fungus gnat problem so serious that I ended up disposing of everything from the plants to my pots & gardening accessories for good measure. Then had to very thoroughly clean every surface & surrounding where my plants had been. Discouraged it took me a while to want to attempt to have plants again but I did this time w/ Christmas Cactuses & some ivys so again I buy Miracle Grow soil the Cactus/succulent blend & some other reg Miracle Grow potting soil in a matter of days the gnats were back I was livid cause never in a million years did it occur to me that it was my dependable name brand soil that caused all this damage. I checked the leftover soil in the bags that were stored in a sealed bucket & sure enough eggs lots of them even showed the soil to a person who works at nursery to confirm & they said it was definitely infested. Should have read the reviews for this I blame myself but I still can't believe a company that's been considered a household name & is so trusted by so many would allow for this to not just happen but continue to happen I get that after something leaves their wearhouse or packing plants that it's hard to control every aspect of the product but surely something could be done to better protect from these things? Now I'm fighting to keep my remaining plants alive since it seems I'm locked into an on going battle with these pests. My Birds of Paradise are starting to look terrible it really is depressing to see.
Date published: 2022-02-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Is it normal? I opened my potting mix today. Little white spots everywhere (I don't know what that is). Is it normal?
Date published: 2022-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Infested with fungus gnats!! I have bought this soil for the past two years and every single bag I have bought has been infested with fungus gnats!! As soon as I open the bag they come flying out so I know for a fact it is not due to overwatering my plants. I will no longer be buying this product as it is garbage and a waste of money. I have switched over to Golf green and you get a bit more for the same price as this soil and the best part it's Fungus gnat free!!
Date published: 2022-01-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this for all my plants, not just cactus I use this soil for everything Not just cactus and palms and the such Honestly a lot of these bad reviews, to me, seem like an overwatering problem Perhaps the mentioning of fast draining gives the impression that you can or should water often My recommendation, cut your watering in half Even if you don’t have an overwatering problem I think you’d be surprised how long plants can go without a drink Just something to consider I know every situation is not the same I’m generalizing
Date published: 2021-11-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Peat moss! Will cause root rot !!! Pretty much killed my big beautiful dracena I’m so angry to see these reviews confirming what I thought. I moved in June and thought it might be stress but when I pulled it out the root ball was soaked-I covered the foliage and laid it on the deck to dry out and after 2 days (brought it in at night) it was still soaked and I had to remove the dirt from the roots with my fingers. I’ll never ever ever buy another MG product as they obv don’t know wth they’re doing. Will be HARD to replace this dracena and I have another dracena that I have to repot now too.
Date published: 2021-09-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from mislabeled? I bought two bags of this specifically because it is advertised as fast-draining, but this is almost completely peat and holds onto moisture more than any mix I have ever used. I added drainage amendment but even so I ended up having to repot all of the plants that I used this mix as a base. I use a moisture meter to test my soil and this mix holds onto moisture very unevenly. I have been using what I have left of this mix in place of peat moss, mixing a small amount with perlite/ bark chips/ and horticultural charcoal. This is absolutely NOT a fast draining formula.
Date published: 2021-08-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Found mushrooms growing I reported my succulent in this about 2 weeks ago now there is fungi or mushrooms growing. I don't know if they are harmful to my plant or not but I do not overwater.
Date published: 2021-08-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not a quality product. I bought it trusting it would be fast draining & non compacting as advertised. It retains a lot of water for a long time. I bottom water and the soil compacts which shouldn't happen. This is a bag of big chunks of wood mixed with fine powdery dirt and a tiny amount of pearlite. It causes root rot. Could be a bad batch. I've used miracle grow watering additives in the past with success and like them but this is a first to use their soil.
Date published: 2021-08-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible for succulents, don't buy I replanted my succulents using this soil because "GREAT for SUCCULENTS". That is misleading to say the least. It has killed multiple of my succulents because it is not at all fast draining, it holds water more than other planting soils I have had. I replanted my succulents 5 days ago, the soil is still not dry and its super moist still. I did follow the instructions as stated but it clearly isn't right for succulents. I will be buying a different type of soil today and replanting them again to hopefully save the rest.
Date published: 2021-05-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from would buy again I'm fairly new at growing succulents. I've only tried 2 brands of soil so I can't say how comparatively good this is to other products, but I did like it just slightly better than the other brand I tried based solely on the size of the wood chunks in the other brand. It wasn't so much better I would hold off buying something else if it wasn't in stock when I went to the store or anything but It does the job. I would buy it again. I usually wouldn't even bother to review something unless I loved or hated it, but I saw a review of a picture of "fungus gnat eggs" and wanted to clarify for people that have never bough a miracle grow product before, that those are NOT gnat eggs those are the fertilizer in the potting soil. It's literally the "miracle gro" part hehe.
Date published: 2021-05-18
Rated 1 out of 5 by from NOT HAPPY! First of all, I have always been a loyal customer, outside & inside I exclusively used Miracle-Gro products all of my adult life. About 2 weeks ago I re-potted a couple of my succulents as they were out growing their pots (I have hundreds of house plants no exaggeration) This weekend, when I went to water, I found Mealy bugs on those 2 plants plus 7 more that were near by. There are 78 total plants that are now in quarantine, have to be treated and watched because someone dropped the ball on the quality...I am so ANGRY!!! I have introduced no new plants to this area and nothing other than this soil in over a year...this is the second time in 6 months that I have had to fight off an infestation of pests from Miracle Gro soil!!! I had assumed the first time, that it was just a fluke. I am not sure what happened to your quality control and to be honest I don't care. I will never buy or recommend your products to anyone!!!! EVER!!!
Date published: 2021-05-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cactus potting soil I have used this for years on all my Cactus plants Great results
Date published: 2021-04-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Gnat Infested I bought the soil a few weeks ago and waited to open it. As soon as I opened it a swarm of fungus gnats flew out. I don’t understand how an infestation can happen in a closed bag. I’m obviously going to have to throw the whole bag out and waste that money :-/
Date published: 2021-04-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used this product when I replanted some mums this past fall and the flowers thrived. The potting mix was very easy to use and to clean up afterward. which is so different from as many other mixes and bramds.
Date published: 2021-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great Been buying this product for at least 17 years and it has always produced the best tomatoes
Date published: 2021-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Soil Bought this over a month ago to start up some much needed indoor gardening projects. Very very happy and glad I did. Was looking for a low NPK soil that is friendly with hydroponic fertilizers without the build-up. So far so GREAT! Love all the different mediums, makes for great drainage and breathability.
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Recommend [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Changed out old soil in my pineapple plant with Cactus, Palm & Citrus Potting Mix and I saw results in a week. I have bought the product multiple times with consistent an hearty growth.
Date published: 2021-02-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could give this zero stars I would This soil does not drain at all. I had 5 succulents and the first 4 I used regular soil and they are all thriving. For my 5th succulent I decided to get a mix that I thought would be better for them but I was very wrong. My poor succulent suffered from root rot because of this soil and I am beyond upset, especially because this succulent was a Christmas gift. I would never tell anyone to get this mix.
Date published: 2021-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Do not buy! Fungus Gnats! I had read all the reviews and still thought it would give miracle pro a shot. I figured I would inspect the soil before repotting my money tree. As soon as I opened up the bag, I saw little bugs moving around and then started to notice the yellow gnat eggs. Pretty disappointed that Miracle Pro is not proactive to this common issue by putting in gnat treatment in the soil.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent for transplanting [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We have over 50 different cactus plants in pots and ground. Over time they need to be transferred into larger pots, or we move them from their pot into the ground. We find that this mix is great for mixing with the native soil.
Date published: 2020-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a MUST for tropical planters! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This potting mix for Catcus, Plam and Citrus Plants works so amazingly well!! I have always killed the plants after a short while, but this potting mixture and the proper watering have proved that this is must for those who plant tropical potted plants!! The right mix of fertilizer and soil ... well done Scott's!!!
Date published: 2020-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible gnat infestation I bought this a few months ago and repotted several succulents including a brand new jade plant i received in the mail. A little over a week after having the jade plant in the soil, i noticed the plant was totally dead and that there was larvae in the soil and at the plant root. I thought it was a coincidence until i started seeing gnats all over my house and my plants. I never considered that it may have been the soil and tried countless remedies to end the gnat infestation. Today I went to research new soil, because I need new plants now that they’re all dead, and I came across these reviews. I am disgusted by miracle gro and today I only have one surviving plant. This soil contains copious amounts of gnat eggs that will hatch and destroy your succulents and other surrounding plants. It ruined plants I had kept alive for years.
Date published: 2020-10-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't drain - tons of fungus gnats I purchased 8 bags of this for about 50 plants that I purchased about 5 months ago. They are all in pots with drainage holes. When I water the succulents the soil doesn't dry out on the top for over a week - and I don't water very much. I also wait until the soil is totally dry down to the bottom before I water again (about a month). I have lost over half of my plants and have fungus gnats flying around the house. First I tried mixing the soil with some sand, and that didn't improve the drainage. So I bought new soil, along with some of your Miracle-Gro perlite and mixed that 1/2 and 1/2 with the soil, and it still wasn't draining properly. The last time I watered I literally had to dug each plant up 5 days later and lay them on top of the soil so the roots could dry out for a few days. This week I purchased some pumice and mixed that about 1/3 pumice to 2/3 of the current mixture - will see if that works. I have lost a lot of plants and had to repot the survivors (which don't look so well, having lost a lot of their leaves due to over-watering) twice now. How can you advertise this as a well draining potting soil for succulents???? I just now have purchased some different mix and will try that when I get it. You seriously need to figure out what's wrong with this product - it's not working.
Date published: 2020-10-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't Dry/Drain Well I've been using this soil mix for about a month now, hoping it would help my succulents grow happy and healthy. However, I have been having nothing but problems to the point where I have had to start over by propagating my succulent leaves to make new babies. When watering I use a "soak-dry" method and it has worked well before, but now it seems to be causing problems. The top of the soil dries fine, but its the soil that's below that is the problem. It doesn't dry/drain well throughout. Yes, the pot holes are big enough for the soil to drain, the sunlight is sufficient. The water sits for a long time in the soil and causes root rot and a sandy white/grey texture and appearance of the soil. I'm pretty disappointed in this soil and the outcome.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from No problems here! I use this product on all my cacti, I never had a problem other then I might of over watered them a couple of times. I leave them out in the summer and bring them in the fallen. I have several different kinds of cacti and each are doing well. I have bought several bags to repot some of them and still not a problem with any bugs, gnats or mushrooms. Well maybe occasional caterpillar from outside. LOL all my cacti were purchased local and starters in 2013. I have had great results with miraclegro potting soil for cacti!
Date published: 2020-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Fugues and mushrooms Bough this to repot my succulents and weeks later notice mushrooms/fugues growing in one of the my pot. Didn't really bother me at first because it was just one pot but then later on all my other pots starts to grow and have thick mushrooms coming out. That's when I really got mad.
Date published: 2020-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from simple to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My wife wanted to make decorative cacti arrangements for the front yard for curb appeal and did not know what type of potting mix to use, lo and behold Miracle Gro came through again for a plant specific product. So far things are looking great.
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Hydrophobic mix I bought this a month ago and it killed all my plants. I needed to report my growing plants that I have had for about 6 years. They have survived multiple moves, but did not survive this potting soil. I have used this produce before and it was great, this time was a disaster. I had multiple cacti, and a ton of succulents. I bought 3 bags of the soil to cover my planting job. It seemed fine the first week, the second week I noticed my Rainbow Elephant Bush looked shriveled. That’s when I realized that the mix I had gotten was hydrophobic. The top layer of soil was wet and draining well, but the bottom layer was bone dry. I was planning to report them over the weekend and Friday evening I started noticing the gnats. By Saturday morning my bathroom where a few of my plants live was infested. I took everything outside and repotted a ton of my stuff but unfortunately 10 of my plants didn’t make it. Super disappointing when you have owned plants for a long time and they die. I shouldn’t have trusted Miracle Gro. Plus now my house is infested with gnats and I have no idea how to get rid of them.
Date published: 2020-09-06
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Work for indoors and outside plants [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Use this product with a potted fruit plant on my patio and for a cactus plant inside the house. This product works with both houseplants and outside plants. Both plants have grown really good. I saw surprised at the results.
Date published: 2020-08-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Higher USDA Zone Number I am far from a plant expert, however in reading reviews it seems that maybe this soil is not being used for the right type of plant. I only use this for my Snake Plants as they require low moisture and must dry out in between watering. This soil keeps FROM HOLDING the water in. So if you are watering (Depending on pot size) more than say twice a month, or not letting your plant dry out completely you will end up with Knats, bugs, etc. USDA Zone for mine is 9a-10b so this works excellently!! Soils are all different depending on plant zone, so make sure you are using this specific mix for dryer plants.
Date published: 2020-08-15
  • y_2022, m_8, d_11, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_134
  • loc_en_US, sid_690493, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.5ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]