Mattel

Blokus Strategy Board Game

Blokus Strategy Board Game is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 38.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_19, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_232560, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 82.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$19.99
In stock
Model #
BJV44
Item #
232560

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Blokus Refresh Strategy Board Game, Challenges Spatial Thinking, Has Even Received A Mensa Award For Promoting Healthy Brain Activity, Goal Is For Players To Fit All Of Their Pieces Onto The Board. When Placing A Piece It May Not Lie Adjacent To The Player's Other Pieces, But Must Be Placed Touching At Least 1 Corner Of Their Pieces Already On The Board, Player Who Gets Rid Of All Of Their Tiles First Is The Winner.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 232560
Weight 0.7100
UPC 00746775363840
Country of Origin CN
Package Width 4.0
Package Length 3.87
Package Height 5.0
Model Number BJV44
Brand Mattel
Manufacturer Name MATTEL INC
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Challenging Game We got this game over the summer. My 7 year old daughter and I began to play it that same night. It was a lot of fun right off the bat. Trying to block your opponent from laying their tiles was a challenge. The more we played it felt like a chess game with lots of strategy. My daughter enjoys this game still. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-09-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Challenging! Blokus is a different type of strategy game, because the game pieces have to connect to each other while blocking your opponents' pieces so they run out of space. The fact that your pieces can only connect at the corners makes it even more challenging. My oldest son is 10 and loves playing this game. It really makes you think carefully where you place your pieces in order to get the highest score. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun game This game is a lot of fun! It is a smaller version of the original. But still just as fun! Game play is about 30 minutes. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun strategy game for all ages This is a great game for the whole family. My children play this with me and my husband often. My son is 6 and he needs a little help, but my 8 year old daughter and 19 tear old son play on their own. There is a ton of strategy involved without a lot of complex rules. Also, the games can move pretty fast sometimes, so it makes a great activity that fits in between other activities. Blokus is a super fun family game that makes you rethink your strategy with each play! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from a game that needs some brain work my kids love the bloks game because it is actually not easy to win. First you have to work out a strategy not play the pieces randomly, and my kids are quite serious about this game, i think it is a good game to let them use their little brains. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Strategic and engaging Gave this game to my oldest who just turned 11 years old. She loves games. Especially live action vs. smart phone/PC gaming. We were a bit confused on the rules to this. (I admit that I thought it was a similar version of TETRIS. I was clearly wrong. So I youtubed it, such an easier way of learning how to play. Trying to read directions while small people are anxious to play is nearly impossible. We really like this game, it's like a larger version of tic-tac-toe & checkers, meaning that you are trying to strategically block the other player. Took close to no time for my 9 and 11 year old kids to quickly catch on. Having a little difficulty with my 6 year old, but that's only because she can't out maneuver the other two. At the moment, it seems like it will be a great addition to family game night. Would recommend, really gets their little minds working. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than Tetris I wanted to wait to review until my daughters birthday, which is in September, but they didn't mind a present. Well as soon as they started to play it, I wanted to join in as well. It's like Tetris but in a way better way. Blokus is a very fun and family friendly game. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Appealing to one's mind Loved this game from the moment I received it. It is very easy to learn how to play. The average play time is about 30 minutes, so you have a chance to play it a few times at a go. Played it with two players and while we enjoyed it, it played much better when there was four of us. It looks like a to easy a game to play but it becomes more and more strategic as you play. The actual game also looks great, sturdy, well made and very colorful. I played with two of my neighbors and they loved it so much they said they would purchase one for themselves. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Truly a game for the whole family Before playing Blokus I was worried we (the adults) would not enjoy it. Usually if the adults like a game, the kids rarely enjoy it at the same level. This game provided entertainment for both kids and adults. Unlike some games, Blokus didn't take all afternoon to play. It was the perfect amount of time and appropriately challenging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good challenging game This game was challenging in a fun way. I played with my 8 year old son and he loved it. When the game was over he wanted to start a new one. It's unique. I've never seen another game like it. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool game. Durability may be a concern long term. Me and the boys have all tried and enjoyed this unusual game. It uses a different kind of strategy to block your opponents from expanding their pieces to the rest of the board. The use of colors is great and the pieces fit nicely on the board. However, they are a little small and it may be unwarranted but I get the feeling the board may not last over a very long period of time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun Game and Interesting Strategy Played this with my six year old and he was able to get the concepts and strategy easily. But the best part is that we were both learning and the intricacies of the strategy changed as we played a few times. Like many good games there are many paths to victory. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great light game to enjoy with friends and family Playing boardgames is a popular pasttime in my household (we have more than 250 games in our collection at this point). Blokus is our latest addition, and it will definitely be getting more gameplay going forward. Major pros: 1) EASY TO LEARN. There is a single rule to follow in this game, which is that every piece you place must touch your other pieces only at the corners. That's it. Our first play consisted of myself, my 7 year old and 5 year old sons, and my 3 year old daughter, and even she was able to participate (fun for a wide age group). Everyone quickly grasped how to play, but I could see for my oldest son in particular that he rapidly started to recognize that there is quite a bit of strategy in terms of which piece you choose to place, and whether you're placing it to help yourself or block someone else. 2) QUICK TO PLAY - both of our games finished in less than 30 minutes (always good when you're playing with kids), although this could go longer if you play with someone who agonizes over every decision they have to make. Cons: The only downside for this game really is that it's an abstract game. You aren't racing cars or fighting dragons, you're placing blocks (think Tetris). If you need a theme in your game to inspire you, you won't find it here, but if you're just looking for a fun game that's simple to learn and won't take hours to set up, play, and clean up, then this will definitely fit the bill. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A nice step up from Travel Blokus A few years ago, while getting ready for a long road trip with the kids, my wife and I picked up the travel version of Blokus, along with a few other games. It was great and our kids loved it. Unfortunately, there were two small problems. One was that it was only a two player game, the other being that the pieces were small and difficult to remove from the board. When I saw the full version of Blokus offered, I jumped at the chance and my kids are thrilled. I barely had time to unwrap it before they were scampering off to the corner to play. Add to this, the fact that they can now play with four players, it is even better that the old way. Fun, challenging and engaging, this is a great family game. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Game Packaging The box is colorful and attractive. With bright colors, it will definitely attract attention and get folks curious about the game. Everything stores easily in the box, but the game pieces are in four separate sealed bags. There is no way to open the bags without damaging them. This makes the bags difficult to use to store the pieces. I opted to just place the pieces on the board for storing. The next time we go to play the game though, this with slow us down as we will have to sort the pieces before playing. Not a huge deal as the pieces are brightly colored, but zippered bags for storing the pieces would have been appreciated. Instructions The instructions are short, well written, and easy to follow. Example pictures of play clear model how the gameplay is supposed to work. There are separate instructions for two, three, or four players games. Play Value Blokus is tagged: Easy to Learn! Great for Families! Both are easily true. Bloukus is a simple-to-learn game, and it plays rather quickly without becoming boring. We were able to play several games back-to-back giving opportunity for more than one player to win. It is a strategy game. The more one plays, the more that that strategy can be developed. It can get very intense with conpetitive players, but it can be played by younger children. I can say that my six year old enjoyed it without really understanding the full strategy of playing each piece. Conclusion I can say that Blokus is a great addition to our family's game shelf and it will get a lot of play. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of Challenging Fun Blockus is a game that will keep you and your children busy for hours. This game makes you use your mind by utilizing different shapes and sizes. You must fit your size pieces onto the puzzle by only using the tip of one of your colors. It gets a lot harder than you think once the board starts filling up with other players pieces. This will have you using your brain and eyes so much. I really recommend this game for people with children. Its not a typical boring game for adults. It is loads of fun and really helps develop those lil' ones brains in a creative way! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hours of fun From the moment we received this game everyone was excited. It is a cooler version of Dominoes. My children really enjoyed playing and some adult friends were excitedcto play as well. They remembered playing dominoes as children. This is a very fun and challenging game. Perfect for a rainy day or just some quiet family fun time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun easy game! The very first time we played it was fun! Such an easy game to play. Even my 5 year old joined in. I like that all the pieces are hard plastic,even the board itself. I'm sure we will get plenty of enjoyment out of this game. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great game for the whole family. This was a great game to add to our family game night. My boys love to have a game of friendly competition and this game did just that. We love that you have to actually think of a strategy to be able to win this game. Would highly recommend. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from EASY TO LEARN AND FUN TO PLAY "It was fun and easy to learn how to play". Jeydan age 6 "It was fun until my husband got so competitive, it was pretty easy to play" Lynn (mommy) I actually enjoyed playing this. As a Dad most board games played with children are boring or incredibly frustrating. Strategy and skill are a part of it, (keeps a Dad entertained) but a 7 year old can surprise you and win with dumb luck. The simplicity of "ONE RULE, ENDLESS POSSIBILITIES!" Is truly great. I think some bags to store the pieces in would have given this 99.9 a 100, but a couple zipper bags solved that minor issue. On first open we played two games in a row and enjoyed both. Overall a great game that as it says on the box is "Easy To Learn" & "Great For Families". [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great family game to play with the kids This block-laying game was a blast to play with our kids. The instructions were very clear and concise. They were simple for the little ones to understand and follow. Gameplay goes pretty fast and holds children's and adult's attention. With a maximum of 21 moves from each player, there are several opportunities for everyone to win in one night. The game board and pieces are constructed of plastic and appear durable, giving this game the chance to be enjoyed for years to come. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blokus has a nice layout, but gets boring fast. I really had high expectations for Blokus especially since it looks alot like Tetris, but the comparisons pretty much stop there. Two players take turns placing pieces on the gameboard and as long as 1 of their pieces touch their other piece then they are good. The point of the game is to get all your pieces on the board or have less pieces then your opponent has then you will win. This was fun at first, but after awhile it got very boring just dropping pieces. I guess its alot more fun playing games like this on a gamesystem then in person. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice game for little girl I have bought this game for my doughter. She is 4,5. She like Tiny Puzzles on my phone most of all. And I was searching for something like that. She really liked the new game. She is very afraid to lose, but here it is not necessarily the most important thing - to find a place for each part. And we can play together, and we can offer it to collect the most items. And she did not need more ports vision through the game on my phone.
Date published: 2015-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Blokus light Bring back the 13x13 board! This one feels as chintzy as the Blokus To Go game.
Date published: 2015-02-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blokus A great game for Grandparents, parents and children. Age recommended is fine! Lots of strategy or just play to play! We spend hours of fun with this garme. The 2 person game is just as fun as we have both!
Date published: 2014-07-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple yet lots of fun! The rules of this game are very simple. You can have the game set up, the rules explained, and be ready to play in minutes. ** I do not feel that this game works well for three players, though, so keep that in mind. Four players is best, two can work, three not so much. ** We've played several times now, and it's been just as fun each time. It's a game that works well for different age players -- in our family that's two adults, a teen, and an 11 year old. We were able to play well together without any one of us having a huge advantage due to age. The more we play, the better we get. It is a strategy game and does require you to think before placing your pieces. It's great for exercising your brain and having fun at the same time. It's the perfect family game night game!
Date published: 2013-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Game!! This is an awesome game, fun for the whole family. I highly recommend it.
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Family Game This is a great game to play with young children. Our 3 kids are currently aged between 7 and 10 and we're having lots of laughs. Great game to encourage critical thinking!
Date published: 2013-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Blokus Game of Strategy It was delivered promptly, in perfect condition. It is much better quality than I expected. It has a lot of pieces and they were all in order, well packed with zip lock type bags for storage, in a good box that should last with normal usage. It's not like any other game I've ever seen -- most children's games I see are just another version of old games. I highly recommend Blokus!
Date published: 2012-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun for family and friends. This is a very fun game that can keep the whole family or a group of friends entertained.
Date published: 2011-06-19
  • y_2020, m_1, d_19, h_13
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_38
  • loc_en_US, sid_232560, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.