Cabot
Australian Timber Oil Wood Stain Finish, 5-Gallon
Cabot

Australian Timber Oil Wood Stain Finish, 5-Gallon

Australian Timber Oil Wood Stain Finish, 5-Gallon is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 130.
  • y_2021, m_10, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_138138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 50.12ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$245.00
In stock
Model #
19400-08
Item #
138138

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock

SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
Cabot Australian Timber Oil, 5 Gallon, Wood Finish, 250 VOC Compliant In All States, All The Benefits Of Traditional Oil, Color Clarity, Deep Penetration, Plus The Benefits Of Water, Low Odor & Soap & Water Clean Up, Use On Decks, Siding & Outdoor Furniture.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU138138
Weight41.800000
UPC00080351810022
Country of OriginUS
Package Width11.75
Package Length11.75
Package Height12.75
Model Number19400-08
BrandCabot
Manufacturer NameCABOT/VALSPAR CORP
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this stuff used another product for 35 years, this is way better
Date published: 2020-06-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is simply the Best I purchased this Cabot product over 5 years ago, it is simply the best stain made, period...it holds up in any kind of weather.
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This stuff is awesome!!! Recently bought a house with a front deck that went 3 years without any treatment. Used a pressure washer and wood cleaner for prep. It’s pretty dry where we live (Wyoming) so I let the deck dry for only 24hrs. Used an applicator and a good brush for the tight spots. Clean up was super simple with mineral spirits. The results where outstanding!
Date published: 2020-05-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT! I am so pleased that I used this Cabot Australian Oil product on my deck. This is the fourth time I have re-stained the deck in 12 years and this is by far and away the best stain to use. My deck looks awesome and I am getting comments from neighbors about getting a "new" deck. What a great feeling. Thanks Cabot!
Date published: 2020-05-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 4 years later: I refinished my deck using the Australian Timber Oil. It held up better than any other finish I've used. It was recommended to me by my local paint store. I've refinished decks many times in 2 different homes. This has lasted by far the longest, in great condition.
Date published: 2020-04-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent with lambs wool applicator First time conditioning a deck. Decided on natural timber oil. Had deck pressure washed. Began application two days later and couldn’t be happier. Application of oil was surprisingly easy and lambs wool allowed for thick coat. The deck looks great. I highly recommend this product. Could not be more pleased.
Date published: 2020-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from reconditioned basement doors and trim The wood finish was bad due to fluctuations in humidity and temps. I thought that the timber oil would help to recondition the wood. Excellent results. They look better than when they were installed 23 years ago. I used Jarrah Brown.
Date published: 2019-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely LOVE this product I've been using the Australian Timber Oil for about 5 years now. My deck is now 30 years old! And in great shape. I had used other products in the past, and many times the deck went 4 to 5 years without being sealed. I finally decided to take proper care of it. We get some pretty severe weather here in Toronto. 5 years ago I gave the entire deck and railings (350sq.ft.) a very severe pressure washing to the point where it was actually leaving the wood rough in some areas. (I didn't sand the deck) I then let it dry completely for a few days and applied the Timber Oil (natural) with a brush. I applied it very liberally, let it soak in for a few minutes (the wood was 25 years old at that time and very 'thirsty') them went over it again while it was still wet. The results were fantastic! I got a deep, rich golden finish. In some areas, I got hazing where I had over-applied it, but after letting it cure for a few days I just took the hose to it and the haze washed away. I did not re-apply the next year. Year 3 I did a light pressure wash and re-applied with a brush. I did nothing in year 4. This year I just sprayed the deck down with the hose to remove any surface dirt, let it dry thoroughly, and re-applied with a roller. So much easier than getting on your hands and knees to brush it on. I used a medium quality low-pile roller; I've learned from past experience that you do not need a heavy coat. The deck once again looked fantastic. A deep, golden, finish with a sleight sheen. Now, you have to be realistic. Especially in areas with hash climates. When the Timber Oil is freshly applied, my deck (remember, 30 years old) looks like it was just installed. Over the course of the summer the 'sheen' of the freshly applied finish disappears. This does not mean that the finish is gone. it's still there in the wood protecting it. Horizontal surfaces, especially where you are walking on them, will loose their sheen a lot faster than vertical surfaces. I didn't need to re-coat my railings this year, and probably won't next year, because the finish still looks like it is freshly applied. Next spring I'll hose the deck down and re-apply a thin coat on the deck with a roller. an easy job that will only take me 1/2 day for my 350 sq.ft. deck. And the deck will look brand new again. Year 31. I love this stuff!
Date published: 2019-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from worked well. Brushed it on three years ago, liked the dark color I picked, has held up well in the Michigan winters as I live in the country and the house see's a lot of wind and precipitation,put a second coat on the sun facing rails as it see's a lot of weather, going to use it on my huge back deck if it ever stop's raining.
Date published: 2019-10-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far so good First go we had used Behr and it failed horribly..so much in fact that I was refunded. Everyone should know that PREP is 99% of the process. So we used the stripper and power washer and sanded like crazy people. (this wasnt easy considering we are older) Did the front deck last year and this year tackled the back one finally! While my husband was busy on the back deck, I went out front wiped down the deck and applied another coat. Easy breezy application. I have to say that so far WE LOVE this product. To do it right you need to take your time. We have two HUGE decks and over 500 baulesters...Port Orford Cedar...we had a freak snow storm this past Feb/March and it held up, We are trying to beat the rains and so far I can say Im very happy with the product
Date published: 2019-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't hold up! Deck built in 2016. Australian Timber Oil applied in 2017 and 2018. Finish flaked off in 2019. I'm about to apply another coat this week. This product should hold up better than this.
Date published: 2019-09-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as expected Honey Teak is very dark, even darker than the color on outside of can, like someone else said, almost reddish. I'm not completely happy, but will live with it. Just applied and it took more than expected....I actually found applying with a sponge roller was better...I must admit, though, that part of the blame must go on the texture of the barn, as well. Maybe it will lighten up and look a little better after some time. It is just okay.
Date published: 2019-07-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beautiful start I put this on a new deck. It is north facing in lower Michigan. After one year it needed a reapplication. Sand, apply, ready for winter. The next summer / fall was wet and mildew started before I could redress it again. Looked shabby. Spring was again wet and had to wait until mid summer until it was dry. Put deck cleaner scrubbed, sanded, applied. Tone is now darker overall. Some mildew stains can not be extracted and will be ever there now under the new oil. I have accepted that I will have this as an annual task in our moist (harsh?) climate.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This junk is that junk I bought this product because ,I thought for the price it would be good. I cleaned my deck really good an put it on with a brush. The color we bought was Honey Teak or something like that. Because we wanted a light color like the Honey Brown we had on it. This junk is dark and some places it's red and other places it's dark brown. My deck looks aweful now. I hate the color. Wish they would give me my money back.
Date published: 2019-07-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Looks Fantastic initially, doesn't wear well When initially using the product, it looks just fantastic. However, it doesn't wear well and hold up - especially in higher traffic areas. I expected more out of a premium product
Date published: 2019-07-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PRODUCT I applies a little over 3 gallons of Australian Timber Oil with a cheap Harbor Freight electric spray gun in about 3 hours... The coverage was GREAT and any runs were easily smoothed out with a cotton rag... Yet to be able to comment on durability because it's the first time I've used this product... So far I'm very pleased with the outcome...
Date published: 2019-07-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointing I've used Cabot Australian Timber Oil #9458 stain on my deck starting in 2008. Super durability and very satisfied. After 8 years it needed staining again. I was forced to use the same product but different chemical make up. (#19548) In 2017 I had it redone again because I had replaced some boards. Enter 2019 and it needs to be stained again! I did the required steps in prepping it every time it has been done. Not very durable! And a very disappointing product. I will offer a word of advice to others, Spraying or rolling may be quick but brushing is the best way to apply it to a deck surface especially if you have gaps between your boards.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Use sparingly Used the expensive Cabot stain brush on the main deck, HUGE mistake! Bristles fell out with every stroke and dense brush caused horrible splotches. I am a good painter but you would never know from how the deck turned out! Used a Purdy cutting brush and foam brushes on the railings, worked out much better. Think a roller was the way to go. Ran out of stain with just 6 rails to cover. Cannot believe this product is only sold by the gallon. Color not a great match for store sample, definitely darker than intended. I would recommend this product but with caution.
Date published: 2019-05-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from New Garage We had a new garage put up last fall and used the Jarrah color to stain. Beautiful. We couldn't be happier. We want to use it on our 35 year old log home to match. Is this adviseable?
Date published: 2019-05-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful finish. I’ve been researching deck stains for a while and found this at my local Ace Hardware. They don’t stock the Pacific Redwood color on the shelf, but I had them tint a gallon for me since they had plenty of tintable stock on the shelf. Product was easy to use. I used it on a pool deck that was put up last summer and had a year to dry out. The wood absorbed the oil quite well. I’ll admit I did no prep to the wood beside getting any loose debris out of the way. So, I did the job very lazily. Had a few drips but I was more concerned with protecting the wood from the pool water, and it not turning that ugly grey and the wood rotting and splintering. This is perfect for that. One step color and water protection. It rained a few days after application and looking at how well it’s repelling water I could not be more happy with it. Plus the color looks quite nice too. I love seeing the wood grain enhanced with the stain. Makes my Modest pool deck look a bit more posh than it really is. One thing though, maybe it was the sprayer I bought. I anticipated just spraying this stain on, but it’s a bit thick for that. But I’ve seen tutorials on the net using a pump sprayer for this product. So, you get what you pay for. Buy a good pump if you want to spray on. I ended up manually applying with a brush. Those rails were a pain in the butt to paint.
Date published: 2019-05-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Overpriced and a blotchy mess This was the most expensive deck stain at Ace so I assumed it was a premium product. It covered well but when it dried it was a hot mess: blotches and unevenness prevailed even though I carefully used a pad applicator as recommended. I noticed all the negative reviews in this site got the same form answer which suggests that these folks really don't care about your experience with Cabot!
Date published: 2019-05-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product for Redwood fence and deck I forget exactly where on the internet I came across the tip on using ATO, but thank God I did. I've used it on all of my redwood projects for last five years (including a picnic table, deck, and fencing) and it is head and shoulders above any other stain/oil I've come across. One single coat was all it took to lock in that fresh-from-the-mill on redwood.
Date published: 2019-03-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Doesn't hold up We loved Cabot timber oil the first time we applied it to our cedar deck, However, when it was time to refresh the application, you could tell the formula had changed. We followed the directions exactly, prepped the surface as directed with the products recommended, even sanded to make sure that all prior product was removed. The new coat didn't make a year before it started looking worn, peeling, etc. Now we are left with a large deck that has to be refinished again. I don't know anyone that has time to refinish their deck from scratch every season -a maintenance coat would be ok, but to have to strip it every year is ridiculous! It seems that according to all the other recent reviews, we aren't the only ones having the same issues!
Date published: 2019-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough and long lasting protection I used this product on wood deck in 2008. Stained it every 5 years. Deck is now 10 yrs old and just put new coat of Cabots on it recently. Deck looks great and water beads on it easily. Very good, no great product.
Date published: 2018-10-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Inadequate label Bought last year for new shed ramp. Couldn’t get to it so this summer waited for dry spell but when opened can product had separated and no amount of mixing re - homogenized it. No warning on label freezing ruins it.
Date published: 2018-10-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing product! Last month I needed the deck in a hurry. So we went out and got the cheapest wood possible. While the posts and the deck itself were made with pretreated wood the rails in the bumpers mermaid with the crappiest Splinter wood you could find! I knew better than to treat the railing directly with the timber oil so in the hottest weather of the year I decided to pretreat with raw linseed oil first. Keep in mind everything was new so I did know wood stripping for cleaning of any kind. I'm glad I pretreated with the raw linseed oil if anyone here is complaining that the Cabot Australian Timber oil didn't go as far as they planned the most likely their wood was very very dry and you needed to pre-treat. Now I know nobody ever says to pre-treat with another oil when using these products but if you want to save a lot of money time and product then do yourself a favor pretreat with raw linseed oil. Anyway after I pretreated I waited one day and then proceeded to put the Amber Australian Timber oil on the deck we used a combination of brushes and rollers and probably broke every rule they said to do. The deck came out amazing! I've never seen wood bead up after a rainstorm like this wood does! When it rains I literally use a squeegee to get the pooling water off! Oh and because I pretreated I only used 1/4 of a gallon on this deck!
Date published: 2018-08-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Outstanding results Before using Australian Timber Oil, I washed the new wood then let the wood dry for two days in the California sun. Then in late evening I started to brushing the Australian Timber Oil. Took about 2 hours then dry for 24 hours. Very pleased with the outcome.
Date published: 2018-08-12
Rated 1 out of 5 by from deceptive product title was expecting more even coverage (mine came out blotchy) with no recourse to add second coat and even out the coverage unlike tung oil and linseed oil, the akyloid oil has a "resin"? that prevents a second top coat. I'm not happy with this product. Deceptive Cover on Can, ease of use
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful finish! I recently bought my second gallon of this product about a week ago. Used it on teak and other hardwood outdoor lawn furniture to my great satisfaction. They are now glistening with a high quality, rich luster. Could not possibly be happier with the results. Highly recommend to others.
Date published: 2018-07-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from So far so good... Trying Cabots Timber Oil for the first time on a 3 year old cedar deck. This product was recommend by our local paint store. So far so good. Will check back next season for a follow up review. Original stain, applied when wood was new, has been removed and boards have been cleaned and sanded. Tried three colors and found one we liked. The first is boards in the corner are treated with Natural, then Mahogany Flame and last, Jarrah Brown.
Date published: 2018-06-19
  • y_2021, m_10, d_26, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.19
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_129
  • loc_en_US, sid_138138, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.37ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore