Scotts

Turf Builder Dense Shade Grass Seed Mix, 7-Lbs., Covers 1750 Sq. Ft.

Turf Builder Dense Shade Grass Seed Mix, 7-Lbs., Covers 1750 Sq. Ft. is rated 4.1 out of 5 by 1160.
  • y_2020, m_1, d_25, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1160
  • loc_en_US, sid_119426, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 51.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$38.99
In stock
Model #
18251
Item #
119426

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
7LB Scotts Turf Builder Dense Shade Mix Grows With As Little As 3 Hours Of Sunlight, Ideal For Seeding Around Or Under Dense Trees, Contains Scotts Exclusive Thermal Blue Kentucky Bluegrass, Aggressively Spreads To Repair Thin & Bare Spots. Survives The Scorching Heat.Coverage: 1,750 sq ft
  • Coverage: 1750 sq. ft.
  • Seed is surrounded in a super-absorbent coating
  • Holds water and helps seed to stay moist to help prevent it from drying out and dying out
  • Enables seed to germinate faster than uncoated seed
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 119426
Weight 8.1000
UPC 00032247182515
Country of Origin US
Package Width 9.5
Package Length 4.5
Package Height 15.0
Model Number 18251
Brand Scotts
Assembled Width 9.5
Assembled Length 4.5
Assembled Height 15.0
Manufacturer Name SCOTTS LAWNS
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Performance you expect from Scotts Needed to control erosion on a newly built retaining wall downslope. Lots of choices for seed but this was the only one specifically designed for dense shade. Yes, it was the more expensive brand but you have to consider quality and end results and this seed delivered faster than expected. The special coating retains moisture longer and brings germination faster than other brands I have tried. From the day of sowing we had lots of shoots in 7 days and the growth rate after that was impressive. To be fair I did use rich soil as well as starter fertilizer. Watered twice a day to assure it never dried out and I couldn't be more impressed. Other reviews stated than they never got a single blade to sprout and I can't understand what happened to them. I have planted lots of grass and in my experience watering properly is key. Great product, worth every penny.
Date published: 2019-08-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This seed Never germinated I bought three bags of this grass seed and none of it ever came up. It was a total waste of money.
Date published: 2019-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Looked Good For aAwhile Purchased 3 20 lb. bags last summer/early fall (2018) to sow a new lawn. Germination was excellent and it looked amazing until the summer of 2019. The grass is doing better in shade to partial shade areas, but in full sun the grass is dead or dying. It can't take the summer temps (usually 2 months of temps in the high 90's into the triple digits). Scott's Turf Builder Summerguard did not help. I plan on spraying herbicide and replacing the entire lawn with St. Augustine grass.
Date published: 2019-08-04
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This grass seed did not grow in good. I planted these seeds in my backyard end of April 2019. It did not grow in fully, leaving many bare brown soil spots after two months went by. Then just recently in July 2019 we had a heat wave with temps in the high 90's degrees with real feels of 110 degrees here in NYC area. The Scotts sun and shade grass is dying out now turning brown. What gives? My yard is small and mostly shaded by trees with some sun. The grass was green and seemed to be filling in well during June, but now end of July the grass is dying!
Date published: 2019-07-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst seed ever I planted this grass seed a month ago and sprayed water on it regulary and this is all I got.
Date published: 2019-07-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Good start with a poor ending I chose this seed because the bag says "grows in extreme conditions including full sun and dense shade". Application is a strip of grass measuring 4 feet x 20 feet in the middle of gravel driveway using NDS Tufftrack grass pavers. The soil depth is 5-6 inches, planted seed on April 14th and by early May it showed excellent results. In mid-June the weather became hot, we watered at least twice a week and by July 4th the majority of the grass had turned brown and died. It appears that this blend of grass could not take the full sun and 90+F temperatures until about 3PM. I will replant in the Fall, and would like a recommendation on what seed to plant. Thanks
Date published: 2019-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect! Germination in 5 days Seeded in shady areas about a week ago, used the left over potting soil and sprinkled over the seeded area. 5 days later Voila! I was surprised that in less than a week the grass is out in July.
Date published: 2019-07-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Grass seed I have three large dogs who have a track made in the yard near the fence line. I was able to quickly spread this grass seed and it sprouted in just a few days. I liked that it covered both the sunny and shady spots without having to change bags of seed out. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage I bought Scotts again. What was I thinking. Every place I seeded I have some kind of weed. Every were, it was a big bag.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Failed completely My daughter and I bought this a month ago to fill in some small bare spots for my yard and for hers. We scratched the dirt and used a little potting soil None of it has germinated at all. I suspect the seeds were old but I am very disappointed with a Scotts product.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge Disappointment...Huge Used this product by first prepping the area, adding loose black soil, raked in seed mix. Watered religiously. I'm a gardener I know how to plant things. I've got a few grass sprigs after about 4 weeks. I'm so disappointed and have used Scotts products for years. A gardener likes to plant things and watch them grow, this was a huge frustrating disappointment. I"m just going to buy sod and find a new fertilizer for the rest of the lawn.
Date published: 2019-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Will never buy again! Bought this and it has been over two weeks and I have hardly any grass starting to grow. I prepped the soil and put it down and hardly anything has grown. Will not buy this product again!!
Date published: 2019-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor results I bought this seed last year for repair around a new driveway. Even with straw cover and twice a day watering the only thing that grew was a parsley like weed. They backed their guarantee with a full refund but the straw, water and my time were on me. Still pulling out those weeds this year.
Date published: 2019-05-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted Time and Money My wife purchased this seed for repairing areas of our lawn that are shade and sun. I prepared the area and followed the directions. I have made sure to faithfully water and wanted to get as much benefit from the spring rain. After 3 weeks of effort my lawn looks the same as when I first laid the seed. I still have bare dirt and only thing growing is weeds. Not what I was expecting for the amount paid.
Date published: 2019-05-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I really thought it would work I bought a 20lb bag since I had so many places to use it. Part of my yard is very sunny. Part is very shady. I water it daily and followed all the instructions and nothing. Very disappointing.
Date published: 2019-05-07
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dissappointed bought the 20 lb Bag to fill bare spots in my yard. prepped and worked the ground well and put down the seed and watered it faithfully. As of today, it has been one month.... I still have nothing coming up. This is my first time using Scotts brand.... I have never had this happen with any seed I have planted before. I thought I would splurge and buy the premium brand... big mistake I guess,and I am very disappointed.
Date published: 2019-04-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results I bout this product three weeks ago put it down after breaking up the top layer of dirt I now have grass at least two inches tall after three weeks very pleased with its growth and filling in patches and only watered for about ten minutes once a day
Date published: 2019-04-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from No grZz I applied the shade blend as well as the PNW blend as directed and neither of them are growing. I applied Scott's soil as directed before spreading seed, water as directed and still nothing after almost 3 weeks.
Date published: 2019-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep up the great Scotts products I used it as a patch for bald patch in lawn. It worked great and provided professional outcomes. I wouldn't buy anything but Scotts. Quick results with beautiful views. I finished up with Scotts Starter fertilizer with quicker sprouts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-04-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from agreat for Fall reseed! Applied this product in early October after thatching and prepping lawn. I watered it every day with my sprinkler system. Growth started in about 14 days. had great growth and green lawn by 1st week November. This seed did the job. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Did not do what I expected Our large yard receives sun at different Times depending on the time of year. I thought this would work well under some of our trees where the ground reeives minimal sun. It didn't grow as well as I expected - only saw a minimal increase of grass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from iIs the best seed I have ever used. I have shade & sun....work perfect for me....there is no better seed that cane be used. easy to use for an old man. Works on flat,or uneven ground. best lawn on block...uses little water. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-03-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for patching bare spots. Great for patching bare spots in my yard but tried to over seed an area with limited success. Patched several areas in my yard by scratching the surface with a rake and then spreading the grass seed. Need to keep areas moist for about a week. Grass grew very thick. I tried to over seed an area with a lot of weeds with very limited success. Watered area as I did with bare spots.. After several months I applied weed killer to the area but very little grass was growing. Had to redo several times to fill in area with grass. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Quality Had never used this product for grass seed. It worked to fill in several small areas on my lawn. I have very sandy soil and it grew fast and strong. Would use again. The packaging was of great quality and very nice to use and store. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2019-01-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Green Grass again I have a large tree in back yard that grass won't grow under. My yard is tall fescue. I would on several occasions sew tall fescue seed under tree. The grass would grow for a while and die out. This time I used Turf Builder Grass Seed Sun and Shade mix. I prepared the site and sewed the seed covering with straw. Watered the seed daily till germinated. I now have a green lawn again under this tree. Now my whole yard looks great. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great This Grass seed works good and quickly as long as you keep it moist. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-10-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Must For Bare Spots This grass seed has worked very well in shady areas. It doesn't need constant soaking to get rooted and sprout. It has come up fine in spots close to trees that don't allow a lot of sun. I have bought a different brand before and never got the results I wanted. With this product I saw the results within weeks. You can't go wrong with a Scotts product. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-10-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!! I had a terrible 14 foot round mud area in the backyard where our trampoline had been. In addition, several other patches of dead areas from my two dogs. I bought 2 bags of this and it covered all the areas well. Within 7 days sprouts of grass. By day 10 it was an inch. I didn’t think it would work that well but was pleasantly surprised! I watered twice a day for about 10 minutes each time and did not use any other products. We simply drenched the areas, raked the mud up slightly, laid the seed, watered, and VOILA! My backyard is also half in the sun and half in the shade. Excellent product!!! Will buy again if we have any more patches.
Date published: 2018-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like it says, works both sun and shade Just be sure you follow directions and water consistently until just after spouts. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]
Date published: 2018-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product that produced a beautiful lawn My front yard was nothing but mulch when we moved in and I desperately wanted to have a lush green lawn for my kids to play but didn't have the money purchase sod at the time so my husband and I researched grass seed and we both agreed to give Scotts turf builder sun and shade mix a try. We pulled out all of the mulch and tilled up the yard to prep for the seed. At first I was worried because I only saw patches of thin blades coming up but I kept up with taking care and keeping the soil wet throught the day. A few short weeks later, we went from a yard full of dirt to a yard covered in thick green grass! We were able to do this all on our own and saved so much money. I wish I could post pictures here. I am still amazed at how incredible my yard looks.
Date published: 2018-09-07
  • y_2020, m_1, d_25, h_14
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.4
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_1160
  • loc_en_US, sid_119426, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.