$10 Off $100+Coupon Code: CYBERWEEK. Online Only. Ends 12/5. Details
Order by Dec. 16th for in-store delivery in time for Christmas.
Online Only

$10 Off $100+

With Code CYBERWEEK

Valid only on Truevalue.com. Not valid at True Value stores or on their websites. Not valid on Weber®, Traeger, Carhartt®, Kenmore, Ring, Nest ,Dyson, Makita®, Orca, DeWalt, Bosch, items: 227554. Other exclusions may apply. Purchase price of $100 excludes tax & shipping. Not valid on gift card purchases or with any other coupons, offers, or certificates. Void where prohibited. Coupon code valid through 11:59 p.m. PT on 12/5/20; code may be withdrawn prior to that time at our discretion. In that event, notice will be posted on TrueValue.com and prior purchases with code will be honored.

Cabot
Medium Base Acrylic Decking Stain, Qt.
Cabot

Medium Base Acrylic Decking Stain, Qt.

Medium Base Acrylic Decking Stain, Qt. is rated 2.5 out of 5 by 52.
  • y_2020, m_12, d_4, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_717207, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 76.62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$21.99
In stock
Model #
1808-05
Item #
717207

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
QT, Medium Base, 100% Acrylic, Solid Color Decking Stain. Less than 100 VOC
Specifications
Specifications
SKU717207
Weight2.250000
UPC00080351418082
Country of OriginUS
Package Width4.25
Package Length4.25
Package Height5.0
Model Number1808-05
BrandCabot
Manufacturer NameCABOT/VALSPAR CORP
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Praise and Compliments from my neighbors. My pressure treated lumber deck is 23 years old. Every 4 years I applied a simple, clear, waterproof sealant (linseed oil and UV protectant) and the deck always faded back to gray. Spent much time sanding to bare wood and then decided to power wash it. After thorough drying I applied the 1800 series Driftwood Gray #1844 with a firm brush carefully 'working' the stain into the grain. Good absorption and adhesion. Let dry 2 days and applied a second coat. Let dry and for durability a 3rd coat where the grain was open to absorption and high sun exposure. It's been two years and looks new. Zero peeling, cracking or fading and I expect 5-10 years as per product specification. Learned not to apply on hot deck or in direct sunlight as product dries too fast for fiber absorption. Careful with the plastic snow shovel and soap and water wash in the Spring. Now neighbors are having me do their decks. Thank you Cabot.
Date published: 2019-09-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Over a year and still looks freshly stained 18 x 14 PT deck about 7 years old was pressure washed and then sanded with an orbital sander and also used an angle grinder in some places and then put down only 1 coat of this cabot solid water based stain. It's been about 15 months and the stain looks fantastic. No peeling and no chalking. Application was with a brush and meticulous with back brushing as per directions. Maybe you just need 1 coat because that is all I needed for coverage and it looks awesome still!! Really surprised by all these negative reviews. We did a teak table with cabot semi about 4 years ago and that also still looks great.
Date published: 2019-07-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Both EXPENSIVE & WORTHLESS I applied this to a customers brand new deck, 1 week later the boards are curling, splitting and pulling screws. This product does not seal the wood as stated and I'll be sure to inform ALL potential customers to steer clear of Deck Correct products.
Date published: 2019-06-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful I was very careful with my prep work, but this stain started peeling after the first winter. Very disappointed. I have used other Cabot products and was very happy with the results.
Date published: 2019-06-25
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product. Others I feel have not prepared pro Used the solid.color acrylic water based stain June of 2018 on a large deck that was roughly about half restored with new PT decking. The older boards were poweresshed and then sanded and stripped with an angle grinder and removal brush then ssmdrd with a orbitsander. Both the new and old decking looks great 1 year later with s somewhat wet and winter in between. I feel the poor reviews are from people that didn't take the time to strip all the old stain prior to application. I had about 60 hours in the prep and yes that is anton of time but I know that any stain will not adhere over old peeling stain. The product is.very good in my opinion.
Date published: 2019-06-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible. Started pealing after 6 months. After 6 months the deck stain started pealing off in sheets. Followed directions to a T including extensive prep work and drying time before applying.
Date published: 2019-06-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Dissappointing I applied this product one year ago onto my deck. It looked amazing with excellent color, however after the winter season, it has began to peel.
Date published: 2019-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dissapointed Had brand new pressure treated deck that weathered for a solid year. The deck was then cleaned and washed. The deck stain was applied 2 weeks later and lasted a year . It began to peel everywhere and didn't last at all.
Date published: 2019-05-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from T.H.E. B.E.S.T!! For 12 years, we have stained/painted our deck with other products only to have it look like ‘depression era’ a month later. Four months ago, we used CABOT tintable solid in a dark brown. Today the deck still looks freshly painted. I had my husband clean & sand the deck before we painted it (and YES, he cussed me every other minute). So glad to be able to have friends over & not have to make excuses for the deck. KUDOS CABOT!! WONDERFUL PRODUCT!!
Date published: 2019-01-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to work well I've used Cabot Solid Color Stain several times now and it has always covered well, no more than two coats. It has also attached well to the wood. We have it on our deck and use our snow shovel on it during the winter. Have had no problem with peeling or chipping. I have to wonder if some of the bad reviews are coming from the executive offices of Cabot's competitors. If you apply it correctly it should do a nice job. Anyway, it has worked well for me.
Date published: 2018-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hides a Multitude of Sins My deck is over 15 years old. About 50% of the deck was quite weathered from being in the sun from dawn to dusk. I power washed the deck and it looked horrible. In some areas the stain had lifted and in other areas it was still adhering to the wood. I knew one coat of anything was not going to cover that mess. However, after two coats of Cabots.. The coverage was 100% opaque. The color is good and it is water repellent - perhaps not as repellent as some surfaces but okay. The coverage is excellent, the deck looks new again. It's been on the deck for four months (over summer) and shows no sign of chalking, peeling or fading. In the photos, the deck is wet. BTW the picnic table has Cabot's stain-the high gloss hardwood looking one.
Date published: 2018-08-11
Rated 1 out of 5 by from failed on Musoka chairs I purchased this product to stain 4 Muskoka chairs I made. I carefully, and with some pride, applied the stain in my garage. I moved them to the backyard and one chair got scuffed up. I was surprised to see bare wood so easily. Right after the first rain, I checked on the chairs and water just laying on the arms. No defined pools or puddles. There appeared to be no water-repellent characteristics. These chairs were a gift for my wife. I am so disappointed in Cabot.
Date published: 2018-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from inferior product Ive painted decks and fences for thirty years, and I have never seen a product fail so badly in such a short time. Within days, just walking on it would cause peeling and sticking to your feet. its cming off everywhere, and all I can see doing is either completely stripping this deck and starting over, or replacing all the lumber in a complete rebuild, and then paint. I know my prep work was thorough and by the book. I have NEVER had a problem like this, and I know it is a failure of the product and not the methodology. Now as a responsible contractor this little routine job is going to cost me 10 times what I made in order to put this disaster right. Never use this product if you care about your reputation as a craftsman. Highly disappointed, and very high personal cost paid by making this mistake. BOOOOOOO!!!
Date published: 2018-07-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed with Cabot Solid Oil Deck Stain Long time Cabot user, have done several decks and porches over the last 15 years, even had my cedar sided home stained in 2016. Never a problem. My complaint is with Cabot Solid Color Oil Deck Stain that I bought and applied in the fall of 2013 on a new, primed cedar pergola. The pictures attached show my annual frustration with dirt, mildew, whatever this disgusting black mess is. I have cleaned it each summer, and this is what I see in the early part of the next summer. Every inch of this cedar pergola is in the same condition. For comparison, I have attached a picture of a deck rail painted at the same time with an economy house paint. Clean and bright, just like new. I takes me 3-4 hours up on ladders to clean this 8 foot tall, 100 square foot pergola. I am really disappointed with the performance of this product and will be restaining it this summer with anything other than a Cabot product! For background, all the cedar was new, primed and stained in my garage. I live 40 miles west of Chicago in a suburb that is semi-rural, low population.
Date published: 2018-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Huge waste of money Last summer, I cleaned my deck and gave it a week to dry. I applied the stain and all seemed well. This spring it started flaking off and looks terrible. I hate I wasted my time and money
Date published: 2018-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Where do you find it? Solid Color Oil Deckg Stain I am in a pickle. I started re-coating a 1500 sf deck with the leftover can of Cabot's Solid Color Oil Decking Stain with a 7606 Neutral base in the color "Sequoia" I need 8 more gallons and can't find it anywhere, calling over eight stores. Can someone locate the stain I need to finish my job? Many thanks!!
Date published: 2018-05-26
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Don't spend money on Cabot Acrylic Deck Stain I replaced most of the boards on my small deck spring of 2017. I cleaned the good boards (3) and let them dry thoroughly. I then applied two coats of the Cabot deck stain and it looked initially beautiful. Lasted all summer and then I saw peeling and cracking this spring and now I have to sand the entire deck and use a different product. My local Hardware store recommended this and I will show them pictures of my disappointing deck.
Date published: 2018-05-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cabot Solid Color Acrylic Siding Stain Failure We have used Cabot Solid Acrylic Stain for more than ten years on our front and back porches, rails, and steps. (I even entered a porch design done with Cabot stain about 11 years ago.) It was a good product but something strange happened last month. My husband stained the back porch last month (November 2017) and this (see the pictures) was the result--it's a mess. The recent application is peeling in a seemingly random way. We're tracking paint flakes in the house, etc.; I am disgusted. I expect much better formulation from Cabot.
Date published: 2017-12-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm a professional I'm just checking on some cleaning products and saw the bad review by the guy who probably didn't prep the surface before using it and thought I'd let you know what the professionals think. We use Cabot for all of our natural wood stain colors and I can say the coverage is phenomenal and in the 20 years we've been using it not once have we had a problem with unusual fading or peeling.
Date published: 2016-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I refinished my 22 year old deck.. floors, pickets, rails, roof, floor joists, posts.... EVERYTHING 4-1/2 years ago using the solid color acrylic deck stain 1806 series. 2 coats of stain to insure adequate coverage. As with any refinish project, the key is surface preparation and cleaning... sanded to bare wood, sanded out any rot or degrading, then pressure washed with HOT water and soap with a heavy hot water rinse, both to clean the surfaces of dust etc, and to open the grain of the wood to allow maximum penetration and adhesion. I let it dry for 48 hours and applied 1st coat of stain. Let dry overnight and applied 2nd coat. This deck looked as if it was just refinished for the last 4 years... this last winter it started to peel slightly in the highest exposed areas. This highly exceeded my expectations for any application let alone refinishing a 22 year old deck! Picking up a few gallons today for another refinish! Thank you Cabot for an awesome product
Date published: 2016-08-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results Our 25 year old Mahogany needs good protection, our contractor used and recommended Penofin so we followed suit for many years. Another contractor made repairs and sanded about 6 years ago and recommended Siekens which we immediately did not care for. The Penofin was far too oily and the Siekens too shiny/waxy. This year the Internet said Mahogany likes Cabot and they were very right! We chose the Timber Oil and we (and the mahogany) love it! Wish I'd been using it for years!
Date published: 2016-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointing Deck was stained with this product and after 1 year, it is pealing off the deck flooring and railing. I expected the stain to last 2-3 years.
Date published: 2016-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Waste of Time / Money Stained my deck last summer and it is already worn and peeling. Stained both old and new boards and both are in terrible shape. Huge waste of my time and money as I now have to redo 500 square feet of decking after less than a year!
Date published: 2016-05-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wasted time I spent days prepping our deck to be stained and chose the Cabot solid color deck stain because of its advertised durability. Within less than a year, the stain had chipped extensively on the floorboards and to a lesser extent on the rails. I would not recommend this product at all. It was a huge disappointment and a waste of time and money.
Date published: 2016-04-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didn't live up to the manufacturers claims We bought this product in the hopes it would reduce maintenance on our decks. We expected it to last 2-3 years as advertised. We followed the manufacturers instructions for preparing and for the application. The product went on easy enough and seemed to cover well. But, it has been less than a year and there is significant peeling and wear even in low traffic areas such as our back deck. Really at a loss as what to do next. To me this wasn't a stain, it was a paint and it failed.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looked AMAZING... at first... Stained my deck at the end of August, early September, initially the deck looked amazing!!! We were so happy for the moment. Winter came, we didn't use the deck much, no salt was used on it. Snow melted and the deck looks terrible. Paint is chipped and pealing, didn't even get a year out of it. I'd upload pictures but the website works as well as the stain.
Date published: 2016-04-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from long lasting quality finish. used the product 6 years ago and it still looks great! using it again today on a new project and confident of the same results.
Date published: 2015-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sold on Cabot I am replacing my patio deck an will once again use Cabot acrylic primer and solid stain.... so that the deck will match the trim color of the house. This is the second deck replacement in 27 years. All stained with Cabot. (Texas sun deteriorates the pressure treated wood but not the stain.) I've never had issues with chalking, peeling, traffic wear.
Date published: 2015-11-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed disappointed I used this deck stain one year ago after washing down with deck wash. Looked wonderful. However both front and back deck and porch have peeling. Some peeling is not where anyone walks. Stains easily. Have washed it down with soap and water and sometimes just with water. I will have to do something to it before winter.
Date published: 2015-09-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Cabot solid stain issue We have always used cabot stain for our home, (20 years). Typically we have to stain every 5 to 8 years. We have never had an issue with peeling but after staining our home 4 years ago it is peeling very badly. We would like to speak with someone concerning this problem. Thanks.
Date published: 2015-09-20
  • y_2020, m_12, d_4, h_16
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_52
  • loc_en_US, sid_717207, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 8.14ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.