Minwax
1-Qt. Cherry Gloss Polyshades Wood Stain
Minwax

1-Qt. Cherry Gloss Polyshades Wood Stain

1-Qt. Cherry Gloss Polyshades Wood Stain is rated 3.4 out of 5 by 89.
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_873973, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 55.52ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$13.99
In stock
Model #
61490
Item #
873973

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
Qt. Cherry Gloss Polyshade Stain.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU873973
Weight2.170000
UPC00027426614901
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.22
Package Length2.68
Package Height1.28
Model Number61490
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Great product. Stained a baby crib and it looks fantastic. the Minwax polyshield totally gave it new life. I would recommend you mix it well before applying, and also apply in thin coats like you do with regular paint. This product is super easy to use and looks great after it dries.
Date published: 2021-01-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow! Awesome [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] It highlights any kind of wood or veneer gives the wood a warm and deep glow and brings out the best graining in all types of wood. It is very easy to use and if you need a darker look ,all you have to do is give your piece more coats.
Date published: 2021-01-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staim [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This product is good for making your projects look great. It's easy to use and I would definitely recommend this product to family and friends to try for themselves and share their experience with others
Date published: 2021-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This Minwax Polyshades in the Espresso shade worked great to refresh our kitchen cabinets that looked a bit worn out. It really gave our cabinets a new and refreshed look. It is easy to use in just one step. I wiped the stain/finish on with a soft cloth and then after waiting for about 10 to 20 minutes I wiped off any excess stain/finish with a clean soft cloth. After drying time our kitchen cabinets look beautiful. This is an easy way to transform the color of finished wood without having to remove the existing finish. I am really happy with the result. Highly recommend it!
Date published: 2021-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love all minwax products! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I antique a lot of furniture pieces and minwax is always my go to for all my stain, chalk paint, or antique needs for my projects. I have redid all the furniture in my house plus some and used it on all my pieces. It’s a name and quality I know I can trust to hold up and be of good quality.
Date published: 2021-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I got this wood finish about a month ago and I really like how it evenly goes on without leaving run marks. This wood finish comes in different shades. The care of the wood finish is easy and the storage of the wood finish can be anywhere indoors. This is a very good quality product and is a great value for all wood products either big or small.
Date published: 2020-12-31
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this stuff! When I first used polyshades I painted it on too thick. As a result the dry time was absurdly long, something like 5 days and the color was uneven. On my second try however I followed the directions carefully, using a good quality natural bristle brush and thin coats. I love the finished product! I only wish they offered more contemporary colors.
Date published: 2020-12-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Finish...... [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this product a few days ago to help my floors look better and this Poly Shade did just that. It had my floors looking smooth with a shiny coat almost as good as new. I strongly recommend this product.
Date published: 2020-12-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Color Not as Advertised and Horrible I bought a can of this in espresso. Prepared my piece as the directions indicated. Opened the can you apply and it was most certainly not a rich dark deep brown but a red brown. The color on wood will most certainly dry red-orange and not deep espresso. So a waste of money as now I have to start again. Absolutely outrageous.
Date published: 2020-12-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Stay away from this product Highly experienced wood crafter with over 30 years of experience and this is, by far THE WORST product. In theory, we thought it would be great, saving time and work. But we were so so so wrong. Carefully handcrafted a beautiful crib and changing table for our new grandson and this stuff pretty much ruined ALL of it. We are so utterly disappointed with the streaky, globby mess. And if minwax wants to blame the way we used it, we tried every single possible method, did the application precisely how they direct and its still looks awful. Minwax needs to remove this abhorrent product from the shelves. If you're using it on a straight, flat surface, it looks "ok" but not on hard to access areas, like crib spindles, any nooks or crannies, etc. You will ALWAYS get massive globs and streaks. Plainly, it straight up looks like crap.
Date published: 2020-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mini wax Polyshade Bombay mahoney I bought this for my grandaughter to put on so.e wood finish craft she was doing. I borrowed it and couldn't stop using it. It was wonderful. Covered cat scrates in my door frame. You can't even tell it was scratched . Ita so shiny and makes everything look new. Out to but more. Will do my beat up doors in the back bedroom. Love this product.
Date published: 2020-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polyshades on pine The species of wood that you are staining makes a BIG difference with this product, as it does with any penetrating stain. If you are working with pine seal it first by applying a coat of clear poly thinned 50/50 with mineral spirits. Let the seal coat dry, lightly sand it with 220 grit paper or a sanding sponge, remove the dust with a vacuum, then apply the polyshades per instructions. Use a soft brush, don't apply too much on one coat, don't over brush it and you will be surprised by the results. Polyshades is basically a tinted varnish and this technique will apply a nice tint to the finish without penetrating the wood pores. A second coat will tint it a little more. You can use the aerosol version if you don't get good results by brushing, but spraying any varnish is a dicey proposition. The overspray is a thin layer of sticky varnish so you must be prepared to deal with it. Once you are satisfied with the tint color apply a couple of coats of clear poly. As with any oil based varnish, sand lightly and vacuum between coats. All varnishes run when applied to vertical surfaces, so keep the coats thin and apply several if necessary. There is no quick and dirty way of applying any type of varnish, so keep that in mind when planning your project.
Date published: 2020-11-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I bought the classic oak polyshade to use on a kitchen table that I had sanded and toned down the orange by applying a final coat of Antique Walnut. I purposefully used classic oak first because I wanted to not end up with dark brown. The key is to apply thin coats using a really good brush like Wooster or Purdy. The end result was a kitchen table that is a very natural looking light brown with the wood grain showing through underneath. Love this product because you can gradually deepen the color to the one you want.
Date published: 2020-11-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible product i am experienced with fit projects. This is the WORST product I have ever used. Very difficult to apply to get uniform surface. Doesn't dry evenly and takes long time to dry. It is worse than a waste of money since I must sand off the mess and start over. Very unhappy with results
Date published: 2020-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome results! I'm a beginner furniture restorer and had asked a fellow office mate what he recommended and he instantly said PolyShades so I wouldn't have to do 2 different steps (according to him, my inexperience would make poly difficult). I read several forums and watched a few YouTube videos before attempting which let me know to sand my heart out to get an even playing field on my old 1920's hutch i was restoring even though PolyShades suggest you can stain without this step. 2 coats later and a have a nice deep color that's even and shiny. I was really worried i'd have streaking since others have complained about this but wasn't a problem at all probably due to the prep i took. Overall would highly recommend and would use again on another project.
Date published: 2020-10-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Garbage! Difficult to work with! Concept is great but just doesn't work!
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible Results I do a lot of wood refinishing. I keep trying to use minwax products with increasingly poor results. This is one of the worst. The finish went on unevenly, it took forever to dry before I could move to the next step. The color is blotchy across the surface and there are many "picks" and debris in all three coats I applied. The directions say to use steel wool in between coats. I had to sand the whole surface to remove the imperfections. Put on a next coat and all of the trash is back in the next layer. The product did not level properly leaving brush marks. Since the color is in the product, the color is uneven where the brush marks show. trying to work them out as the directions suggest only made the whole area worse.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Thick globby mess This product is horrid. I have stained many pieces of wood, always using wood stain and varnish separately. I decided to give modern technology a shot, but boy am I disappointed I did. Polyshades goes on in globs, making it near impossible to apply the thin layer that the instructions require. After two coats, the door I was finishing looked awful. Back to the tried and true method of staining then protecting...
Date published: 2020-10-11
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Awful Ruined my Project I prefer to do two steps (stain then urethane), but this was the only 'brown hue' product I found from Minwax that doesn't turn select pine orange. The product is pretty thin. Because the urethane also contains the color, any runs will immediately ruin your project, as there's no way to sand the darker color of the run out. Because the urethane sets up so quickly, you can't brush out runs that you see within a few minutes, as that just messes up the finish (and bunches up the color. Even in the places where there were no runs, the coloring wasn't as good as doing two steps. It would just be nice if Minwax showed an accurate color scheme on all types of wood, not just oak.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Convenient and lasts I'm a huge fan of the polyshades line. I'm sad to see it get such bad reviews. So I'm going to give a few tips that I think might help others. You can clean your brushes with paint thinner or mineral spirits, but with any oil based product it's a pain and not worth the clean up time in my opinion. I've had great success with even the cheapest brushes on the market. You can stir it or shake it very well - just like paint. I prefer to shake it well. If it's not mixed well you're not going to get an even stain poly mix. So if the color doesn't look right when you start or you can see there's separation between the two, mix again. Keep a wet edge and keep it moving for an even coat, I was easily able to apply it to several feet of wood before it ever becomes tacky. Just like with paint, it's better to do a few thin coats vs a thick one to avoid runs or drips. Wait for each coat to dry, don't ruin your first coat by putting on a second coat too soon. Since the product is thin like water, don't completely saturate your brush, just the tip and wipe the backside against the can so there isn't excess product to drip. Keep the can close to where you are working. I love this product, it has given new life to dressers, a bed, tables, an old desk, windowsills and trim in my home. My favorite shade is American Chestnut, it shows more red undertones in natural sunlight, otherwise it looks like a rich med-dark brown. It's a great match to many of my antique pieces.
Date published: 2020-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Always a nice coat. I'm surprised at the poor reviews on this product. I've used Polyshade more than a dozen times always with success. From the photos of these poor reviews I gather lack of preparation for the poor results more than any issues with the product. Also, you have to ensure a dust free environment! But that is also the case of the staining then putting on polyurethane. Maybe those using it are handy at DIY projects and are blaming the product. The only criticism I have is the small selection of shades and I can't find it in gallon cans.
Date published: 2020-08-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea But Don't Recommend It I bought this to refinish a dining room table (pecan) and I stripped the damaged finish and sanded down to bare wood. I have tried 2 thin coats of the Polyshades product but the results are unsatisfying as it is impossible to be consistent with the amount/thickness applied and the result is lighter and darker shadows. I did wet sand between coats with wet 600 waterproof sandpaper and again after the second coat but still the result is blotchy. I am now going to have to sand back down to bare and use a traditional stain and clear urethane finish. I would only suggest this product for small areas or touch ups and not where you want a dramatically beautiful finish as on my dining table top or furniture tops. I hate wasting my time and effort by having to do a job all over again so take my advice and go the stain, then finish route!
Date published: 2020-08-02
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Sub-Par I bought this to try and tint a polyurethane finish. After the first application it was so streaky and just a mess to apply. Figured it just needed more coats. After 3 coats it looks horrible! I don't know why this product even exists. You can easily tint a poly finish using a gel stain, which I totally admit I should have done that to begin with. Guess curiosity killed the cat in this case! Otherwise Minwax makes a great finish and I do really like most of their oils stains. Just not the Polyshade and is suggest the company make more gel stain colors instead.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Espresso stain is orange not dark I stained my table with the Espresso color. It is very orange and no where close to dark. I am very dissatisfied with the color as I was obviously trying darken my table not make it old fashioned orange. I have only done one coat and am afraid to do another since it will just turn more orange.
Date published: 2020-07-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Proceed With Great Caution I do accent walls for a living and tried PolyShades without fully understanding the difficulty of this product. It does NOT apply easily--especially to larger surface areas like wainscotting with some intricate trim. For a small table or something very flat, I can see where it would work but not where you have wood pieces with grains flowing in different directions. You'd have to be a real pro to get a good look out with this product. Honestly, Minwax should send this one back to R & D and come up with a better formula. No bueno.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ice stain! Easy to use, great result! I used for a couple of wood furniture pieces and very pleased how easy to use.
Date published: 2020-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well as sprayed finish I used this product to refinish a kitchen for a client and had great results. Existing kitchen had a golden oak finish with clear coat. Removed doors, lightly sanded everything with 220. Sprayed doors with paint gun and brushed cabinet face frames, super easy. First finish a little light so after it was dry repeated for darker finish. You need to apply finish evenly to avoid variation in darkness of color, so sprayer for sure is the best method. The face frames I brushed, which was a little harder to control so after drying had to reapply in some light areas and take some steel wool to a darker area. The other option with this job would have involved sanding off existing clear coat and trying to re-stain, which is a huge waste of time. Great product, everyone happy.
Date published: 2020-07-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful all-in-one poly stain! If you take your time with wood prep and application I promise it will look professional even when DIY. These are dried, pressure treated 1x8 boards used for my classic truck bed and I don't think it gets any better than this. *Remember that stain normally turns out darker than what the label shows so if in doubt go with a lighter tone.
Date published: 2020-07-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVE this! I know very little about finishing things, but I found this to be so easy and the results amazing! I brushed it on lightly, let it dry and then did a second coat. SO BEAUTIFUL that I did my old worn bathroom cabinets from 1981 and they turned out amazing. Now I am doing my 100 year old piano before I head to my kitchen cabinets.
Date published: 2020-07-03
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed It turns sticky right away, the espresso tint seems impossible to even out, a second coat made things worse, the only lesson learned is to stain and polyurethane separately. Not recommended.
Date published: 2020-06-21
  • y_2021, m_1, d_25, h_17
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.13
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_88
  • loc_en_US, sid_873973, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 7.43ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.