IMPORTANT: Shipping options & delivery times have changed and customer service response time has been affected by high order volume.

Local True Value Stores Are Open and Ready to Help ❯

Minwax

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain

1/2-Pt. Honey Pine Satin Polyshades Wood Stain is rated 3.1 out of 5 by 51.
  • y_2020, m_7, d_6, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 71.59ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.49
In stock
Model #
213104444
Item #
257113

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
Description
1/2-Pt. Satin, Honey Pine, Polyshade.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU 257113
Weight 0.5000
UPC 00027426213104
Country of Origin US
Package Width 3.0
Package Length 3.0
Package Height 3.0
Model Number 213104444
Brand Minwax
Manufacturer Name MINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed It turns sticky right away, the espresso tint seems impossible to even out, a second coat made things worse, the only lesson learned is to stain and polyurethane separately. Not recommended.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Giant can of worms! I’m a man of few regrets but putting this stuff on my latest project has turned into a nightmare. I’ve spent numerous hours building, sanding, and conditioning a shelf for my dad for Father’s Day and it looks awful now. This stuff is the biggest mess I’ve ever seen. It goes on wet but instantly turns sticking making it impossible to even out. What do I do now? Buy more of this junk to try to even it out to a extremely dark color or strip it and start all over? I wish so badly that I had stayed with traditional stain. Never again!
Date published: 2020-06-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Would not recommend I've used Minwax products for years with great success. Recently I tried Polyshades on a refinishing project for a walnut veneer tabletop. I was seeking a uniform color on a table that was only sanded down to the original stain (removed all the old poly clear coat. What a mistake. I tried to put the first coat of Polyshades espresso on as thin as I could, yet the result was still a murky, blotchy, ugly mess. The finish looked thick almost like an espresso paste was applied. Not wanting to chance a bigger mess with a 2nd coat, I sanding the first coat off and then just stripped the table down to bare wood. Reapplying regular Minwax stain followed by their fast-drying polyurethane is the way to go. I would not use Polyshades again, nor would I recommend. I was generous in giving it two stars.
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Difficult Very difficult to apply. Stick to stain then poly - not this combined product.
Date published: 2020-06-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and Beautiful! I was nervous about using this product after reading some of the reviews. I am a novice and thought it would be difficult to paint on. It was actually just like painting any piece of furniture or cabinet. Thin application of product helps with drips and coats evenly. I found it to dry quickly and be forgiving. I only used one coat of the Royal Walnut on a natural wood barn door my Dad built for me. The size of the door was 4 feet by 7 feet and it took almost the whole can for one coat. A 1 1/2 inch or 2 inch slanted brush works great. We used a rag on the rough edges of the door for better coverage. I am pleased with the color, so I did not apply another coat, but I’m sure another coat would deepen/darken the color. Overall, a great purchase with only one coat to look great with the protective sheen of the poly built in! I included pics of the before and after.
Date published: 2020-06-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too light I applied 3 coats of Polyshades Bombay Mahogany and not even close to the color what it's suppose to be. I pre-sanded, used your Pre-stain wood conditioner, and followed all the directions to the t by the way. I have stained wood before so this is not my first time staining. This is my first time using this product Polyshades and all tho I was a little concern with all the mixed reviews, I still went with it because of the Minwax name. Don't be fooled, avoid this product and save yourself money and presious time of having to start sanding and prepping all over again.
Date published: 2020-05-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Extremely Difficult to Apply I do not enjoy painting and staining in general, but also am very particular about the quality of the finish, so I sometimes do projects myself to ensure quality outcomes. I chose this product because I found that the new sliding doors I thought only needed varnish to match the room actually required stain. Since I now had a coat of Minwax polyurethane one the wood, I searched for a stain that I could apply over the existing varnish. Enter PolyShades. I wish I had read the reviews first. This product is HORRIBLE to apply, especially on vertical surfaces like a door. It starts out very watery, which runs badly, and then it quickly turns gummy as you try to fix runs, leaving splotchy areas that are darker - once this process starts, you can't recover. Critical mistake on my part was to go back to an area and try to even out the color. I will now have to sand the wood back down, and start over. I want to cut my loses and switch to a regular stain, but now have to worry about color matching the trim that I have to redo with the door frame that actually turned out ok.
Date published: 2020-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I gave up and just spray painted over it. The stuff could work better as a spray application maybe. But trying to make this stuff work takes MUCH more time and effort than just regular staining.
Date published: 2020-05-18
  • y_2020, m_7, d_6, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_51
  • loc_en_US, sid_257113, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.66ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.