Minwax
Gel Wood Stain Finish, Aged Oak, 1/2-Pt.
Model #
260204444
Item #
173955
Minwax

Gel Wood Stain Finish, Aged Oak, 1/2-Pt.

Gel Wood Stain Finish, Aged Oak, 1/2-Pt. is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 111.
  • y_2023, m_1, d_27, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_173955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getAggregateRating, 57.82ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
$9.99
In stock
Model #
260204444
Item #
173955

Online price. In-store price & availability may vary.

In stock
SHOP LOCAL STORES

Select a store near you to shop your independently owned local store.

Description
1/2-Pt. Aged Oak Gel Stain Finish, For Wood Or Non Wood Surfaces Including Fiberglass Doors, Non Drip Formula, Use To Achieve The Same Color On Diffferent Woods & Surfaces, Oil-Based For Exterior Durability, Use Clear Shield As Topcoat.
Specifications
Specifications
SKU173955
Weight0.600000
UPC00027426260207
Country of OriginUS
Package Width2.7
Package Length2.7
Package Height2.9
Model Number260204444
BrandMinwax
Manufacturer NameMINWAX COMPANY, THE
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We always reach for minwax [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax gel stain is a great product for many projects. I recently used it to freshen up my kitchen floors while we’re saving for a remodel. It worked wonderfully to cover some scratches and give us a new topcoat. I have also used it successfully on previously stained furniture. A great product that’s easy to use, clean’s up well and works.
Date published: 2022-04-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to Use Nice Results [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I made a mistake and painted a beautiful old end table grey. Before starting I read the instructions and first tried cleaning it well and just applying it over the grey. I didn't like that. So I tried sanding it all off to get a feel of what it would look like depending on how many coats of old paint and stain I took off. I think I found the perfect layer to stop on. The picture shows the different layers with one coat after 24 hours. I think when I do the whole piece I will do two coats to complete the look!
Date published: 2022-04-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful color! I did this today 4/11. So happy I went the Stain Gel! The walnut color is beautiful.
Date published: 2022-04-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to apply [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We got Minwax gel stain in cherrywood for two small nightstands that needed an update. It is thick and we had minimal dripping.We had no streaks,the coverage is good.The color is consistent throughout the process. The gel dries pretty fast so if you need to wipe any excess get to it as quick as you can We used a brush and rags they both worked well,I preferred using the rags. I really like the way the nightstands looked once it was finished.
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent wood stain [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have done several DIY projects for my house and I have always used the standard liquid Minwax wood stain. Today I used for the first time the Gel Stain and I regret that I have never used it before. The application is easier, using les quantity it covers more areas, is not as messy and the liquid one. The finish is shainy and smooth and the wood does not absorb ot as the liquid one. I have seen people that use an orbital polisher to apply it and the results is even better. Definitely I will never go back to the liquid standard wood stain. I recommend it for any type of wood job.
Date published: 2022-04-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy staining [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used this on Poplar wood. The stain was of course easy to apply with a brush. It took well to the wood. I did not use a wood conditioner. Another coat would probably make it a deeper, richer red/brown. I liked that this stain didn't need a second coat or sanding between coats. I could see the color immediately and it was the said color right from the start. No waiting around to see how dark it would dry. I would suggest putting on a wood conditioner before the stain. As you can see in the photos, part of the wood stained darker than expected. A wood conditioner would help tone this down and look more uniform. There is a slight sheen after applied. The directions recommend adding a protective coat to it. A flat protective polyurethane would make a nice finished, look.
Date published: 2022-04-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from superior coating [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax® Gel Stain is great! They have a wonderful tint selection. It is nice and thick so you can do just one coat. Goes on easily and evenly. Dries fairly quickly. The end result is great, very pretty and eye catching. Looks shiny and natural. Being gel, I am confident it will last longer too! Very happy with this product.
Date published: 2022-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This gel stain is great. The gel makes it easy to apply and not run. The color is beautiful. You don't need to use a lot. It soaks in very easily. The directions made it really easy to apply and understand. I love how many shades you can get. The size of the container is a excellent value. I recommend this gel stain to everybody doing diy projects.
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent results [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax - Minwax® Gel Stain is excellent to work with. Not runny like most stains. Extremely easy to control during application. Smooth even beautiful results were easy using Minwax - Minwax® Gel Stain for my furniture refinishing project. I highly recommend this stain.
Date published: 2022-03-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I received this a few weeks ago and was anxious to try it out.I have an old table that I wanted to refinish as it was worn-looking.This gel stain works great.It's easy to apply and the finish is really nice.
Date published: 2022-03-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good No Drip Stain [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I was unsure what to expect from a gel stain, but was pleasantly surprised by how it performed. Upon opening the can it is noticeably thicker than what you think of when thinking of a stain, but it is surprisingly easy to work with whether you use a roller, cloth or an applicator. The real benefit here is the thickness prevents runs and makes it a little easier to get a nice even stain. The outcome is pretty much consistent with a traditional stain just a bit easier to get the result you want if you are less experienced. The thickness creates a larger margin for error in application and is a good choice if you want an even stain without much finesse in the application.
Date published: 2022-03-25
Rated 3 out of 5 by from One and done [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Stain goes on very well and doesn't have much odor. I like that it really makes my wood pop. I like that I only have to put one coat on and let it dry for 45 mins and it's really shinny. Much better than the old school stain that also looked so matter.
Date published: 2022-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smooth Texture [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Minwax Gel Stain goes on smoothly and doesn’t run which I find real handy when I have to stain my cabinets in the kitchen and bathrooms. It comes in multiple colors so I chose coffee since that matches the rest of the house, a big plus for me and my wife! Again, it’s easy to use and dries fast! I recommend using gloves and a gel sponge for the job!
Date published: 2022-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works well [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I used this gel stain to upgrade my wooden porch and it looks so nice. Brought my old wood back to life. This gave it such a nice rich shiny stain. Was easy to use and apply. It all went on flawlessly, no streaks or patchy. Looks very nice.
Date published: 2022-03-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wood gelling. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We stain a few things with this Minwax Gel Stain the color was very good and great coverage. This gel dries pretty quick so you need to be prepared to keep moving. One of the things we stained was fiberglass that looked like wood, With this stain it looked amazing.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good for sensitive old wood [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My wife loves antiques but most of the time the finish I'd ruined or looks awful . We had a hard time finding a stain that was effective but ok for older brittle wood. We gave this a shot and was very pleased. It absorbed well and looks great on our antiques. Didn't have a terrible smell and actually seemed to help some of the wood.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great stain gel! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Love the Minx stain gel. I find it easier to work with and less chance of dripping. It applies well (thicker then regular stains) without streaks! The color on the can is the true color. I needed a second coat for my project (office desk). Its recommended to wait 8-10 hours- follow the recommendations.
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect color! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This gel stain is the best! I have used it on 3 different projects and the color is a true match of the color on the can. It goes on smooth, dries, quickly, and does not leave any splotches or bleed marks. I have not had one issue with drips on vertical surfaces. It has a nice, thick consistency and while, of course, there is a smell, it is not overpowering. Great product!
Date published: 2022-03-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very impressed with this product [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I am a terrible painter and don't enjoy home improvement projects. While finishing an addition to our bedroom I wanted something easy and fast to use to stain the doorway. I'm so happy with this product. The gel stain was so easy to apply. Did not streak or drip. I chose the walnut. I would highly recommend this product!
Date published: 2022-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this stain [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Love this stain and have used it on multiple projects. Check out the decoration I made out of just some shims and nails. This went perfectly in my bathroom. The gel stain is a little cleaner and easier to handle...and I like that.
Date published: 2022-03-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I love the Minwax Gel Stain. We used this on a coffee table we had that was in desperate need of a makeover. This Gel Stain is a wonderful product for all of your projects. It's nice and thick so there is absolutely no worry about dripping. It's real easy to apply. The end result of our coffee table was amazing. I would definitely recommend this product to everyone.
Date published: 2022-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Coverage! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This was my first time using a gel stain and I will never go back to using anythign else. The coverage and thickness was so much better than regular stain. This color was perfect for a medium color, not too dark and not too light.
Date published: 2022-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I put this on the coffee and end tables that I am repainting to help seal the color in. I put one coat and let it dry overnight to see how it came out. It was good so I did one more coat and left it alone. Came out great.
Date published: 2022-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great and gets the job done [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This Gel Stain actually work better than some of the regular stains I have tried. I didn't have to strip anything down it went on with ease and it made it look so beautiful on my stairs. This stain is a 10/10 and I definitely would use it again even for larger projects
Date published: 2022-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy Application and Easy Coverage [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] We were extremely pleased with our Mineax Gel Stain. This stain applies with ease as the gel allows for a consistent and even application. The color we purchased covered our pine wood with the exact color we were looking for. This stain also covered a large area without using much of the stain We have used other stains that were not gel and this certainly was much easier to apply.
Date published: 2022-03-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have never used a gel stain before I bought this product. I will forever be using gel stain from now on. It’s so much easier to work with. My boyfriend even fell in love with this product! We will definitely be sticking with the brand and style of stain from now on!
Date published: 2022-03-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great results! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] This Minwax Stain Gel was very easy to apply. Being a gel it gives you control over the amount you are applying with no dripping and uniform color. It was very easy to apply. The color matched perfectly to the color shown on the can. Available in many stain color selections. I would recommend this product.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Great! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] My cabinets look brand new! I have been wanting to upgrade our kitchen without spending tons of money. We have wonderful, solid wood cabinets but the color was out dated. I decided to sand them down and try the Minwax Gel Stain. The stain was easy to apply and went on well. The color looked like the swatch color and I was happy with how it turned out. The application was simple. The stain is also a little thicker so it is much easier to apply. It created less mess also. Our kitchen has an entire new look with just a quick, easy stain. We are very pleased.
Date published: 2022-03-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] I have always found that my staining projects turn into a big drippy mess. This product prevents that totally. The gel helps to control the application of the stain tremendously. The stain also provides even coverage. I definitely recommend this product.
Date published: 2022-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.] Love using this Minwax gel stain! The color looks perfect and because it's a gel it goes on smoothly. It's very easy to apply and goes on evenly with no streaking. It's great that it comes in many different colors too! Great product!
Date published: 2022-03-13
  • y_2023, m_1, d_27, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_111
  • loc_en_US, sid_173955, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_truevalue
  • bvseo_sdk, p_sdk, 3.2.1
  • CLOUD, getReviews, 10.75ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT
Thanks for signing up!

Please add truevalue@message.truevalue.com to your address book.

Shop a Local Store

Find a Store

Join True Value Rewards

Sign Up

Learn DIY Projects

Explore

Shop Your Local Store

Our True Value stores are independently owned and operated. Enter your City & State or zip code to see stores near you.
You can use the format: [City, State] or [zip code]